RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many"

It is hard to know who was the greatest hurler of all time because there are some many different scenarios to dissect. For example being on a great team winning multiple all Irelands does nt mean you are a better player than a guy in a division 3 or 4 team. It just means you have better team mates. All ireland medals don't dictate how good one was or is. For example Joe Canning has only one allireland medal. Now I'm not saying he s the greatest but I have nt seen a better one and he s my favourite. Henry Shefflin was a class hurler as was D. J. as is T. J.. Kilkenny have produced probably more greats than most but its so hard to pick one. Also eras were different. I never saw Ring play but to many he was the best. On Cork was there many better midfielders than John Fenton. Or Kilkenny Frank Cummins. What about Nicky English. Its do hard to judge but in all honesty Henry was very special.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 31/05/2021 20:13:02    2347160

It's just Joannes patronising style, I am sure he is totally embarrassed with her. Henry is but one of many greats, us and he dont need reminding.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 31/05/2021 20:15:38    2347161

She's no Michael Lyster, personally I don't like her, there's got to better out there.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 31/05/2021 20:27:50    2347169

Replying To arock:  "It's just Joannes patronising style, I am sure he is totally embarrassed with her. Henry is but one of many greats, us and he dont need reminding."
True I worked with some greats and to a man they were always humble and refer to someone else as the greatest.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 31/05/2021 21:12:02    2347183

Replying To Galway9801:  "To go off topic for a moment (very rare I know lol), here in Galway when I was growing up, suicide was so common in my area (ballybane), like it happened once a month, literally, I count about 20 people I know who've taken their own lives.
Thing is, it was with very few exceptions young men who were doing it,and the lack of attention it received was a disgrace.
I always felt that had it been the other way round, the issue would have been given far more publicity."
100%. It was like a lot of things back then, people didn't talk about it. A lot of shame and guilt was attached to suicide and still is. And even in 2021 us Irish men don't talk about what's going on in our heads to each other, too much machismo that a few pints won't release. It's extremely tough on the affected families but I wish more would let it be known that it was suicide so it could be talked about it easier. If you know someone has been depressed for a long time and they're suddenly in great form, that's the time to intervene. High chance they've their suicide planned and are elated that their misery is nearly over.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 31/05/2021 21:22:53    2347190

Replying To Galway9801:  "To go off topic for a moment (very rare I know lol), here in Galway when I was growing up, suicide was so common in my area (ballybane), like it happened once a month, literally, I count about 20 people I know who've taken their own lives.
Thing is, it was with very few exceptions young men who were doing it,and the lack of attention it received was a disgrace.
I always felt that had it been the other way round, the issue would have been given far more publicity."
Galway9801 (Galway),

It's as if you were reading my mind when you sent your post, I used to think for a long, long, time that I was on my own with my line of thoughts, it's much more than a worry now, you could say it's a living nightmare.
Young men badly need pressure groups for help and to show the way.
Thanks again for putting my thoughts into context

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 31/05/2021 21:28:57    2347194

Replying To Galway9801:  "If you don't mind my saying you come across as a bit patronising. She's "very good"? Why not put a gold star on the her forehead eh? Fact of the matter is she's not very good at what she does, regardless of her gender and regardless of whether or not it suits your particular agenda.

Personally I think she's brutal to be honest. I can't stand the way she persistently interrupts the guests, and whereas Lyster used to work the pundits well, I always feel Joanne's trying to catch them out, trying to be part of the argument. Mind you she got them to sack Brolly so she's not all bad lol."
I dont mind Joanne at all, she's good at what she does and she has a solid gaa background but what gets my goat is that almost EVERY programme covering men's sports on RTE nowadays will have a female analyst on it. It seems to be a requirement, regardless of ability, even if they are mediocre or have little of interest to say, as long as they are female they'll get the gig. Recently watched a soccer game where a relatively well known Irish female soccer player was the co-commentator, and every comment she made was either completely bland or such an obvious observation that silence would have been more appropriate. But of course all female sports commentators/analysts are above criticism and if you are a male most certainly you cannot express such criticism as you will be dismissed as a misogynist or a chauvinist. Genuinely I don't care about the gender of the analyst as long as they are a good analyst and have something to say that's thought provoking or incisive. I would hope at some stage we will progress beyond politcal correctness to the stage where female analysts are the specialists for female sport and male analysts are the specialists for male sport. When watching a camogie match I would by far prefer to hear the views and analysis of former camogie stars than to hear the views of a former hurling star no matter how great he is, and ditto with ladies football, I want to hear the views of a player who has played ladies football to a high level rather than some star of the male game. If the same logic was applied to the coverage of male sport it would represent significant progress imo.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 31/05/2021 22:23:05    2347227

Replying To Galway9801:  "If you don't mind my saying you come across as a bit patronising. She's "very good"? Why not put a gold star on the her forehead eh? Fact of the matter is she's not very good at what she does, regardless of her gender and regardless of whether or not it suits your particular agenda.

Personally I think she's brutal to be honest. I can't stand the way she persistently interrupts the guests, and whereas Lyster used to work the pundits well, I always feel Joanne's trying to catch them out, trying to be part of the argument. Mind you she got them to sack Brolly so she's not all bad lol."
It's not patronising at all. You're projecting.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 01/06/2021 11:33:40    2347326

Replying To Breffni40:  "Darragh Maloney is the main anchor for the soccer coverage. I know this doesn't suit your bitter agenda but that's the fact of it. Joanne Cantwell, regardless of her gender, is very good at what she does.

Of course you're entitled to your opinion, but why beat about the bush? Just say you're a misogynist and you don't value women's opinions as much as men's."
The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.
It's fair to say you scanned my post you didn't actually read it properly, my gut feeling tells me you are a woman so for that reason too I want to clear the air and let you see I am not a misogynist, far from it I have great respect for women, so with that and with your permission I will talk you through the post in question.

I started with, "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. ( that is an honest opinion I have, it simply doesn't qualify for an offensive statement.)

The only "one" show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. (Nothing more than the Sunday Game show,. neither is it offensive or of a misogynistic nature)

Like I said my gut feeling tells me you're a woman and my post has offended you, can I add my post was never meant to offend you or any other woman, it offended me more when you suggested I was a misogynist and I don't value women's opinions as much as men's, bitter agendas are not part of my makeup.

Being a prisoner in my own mind is not an option for me, I should have the right to express my thoughts openly and honestly, other than letting them fester in my mind to the point of explosion, no thanks.
Good day Madam.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 01/06/2021 12:07:27    2347341

was the man himself sitting in the studio with her? That'd have a bearing on her comments. Brian Whelehan always gets my vote but the greatest ever is always subjective

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 01/06/2021 12:41:36    2347360

Replying To supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.
It's fair to say you scanned my post you didn't actually read it properly, my gut feeling tells me you are a woman so for that reason too I want to clear the air and let you see I am not a misogynist, far from it I have great respect for women, so with that and with your permission I will talk you through the post in question.

I started with, "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. ( that is an honest opinion I have, it simply doesn't qualify for an offensive statement.)

The only "one" show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. (Nothing more than the Sunday Game show,. neither is it offensive or of a misogynistic nature)

Like I said my gut feeling tells me you're a woman and my post has offended you, can I add my post was never meant to offend you or any other woman, it offended me more when you suggested I was a misogynist and I don't value women's opinions as much as men's, bitter agendas are not part of my makeup.

Being a prisoner in my own mind is not an option for me, I should have the right to express my thoughts openly and honestly, other than letting them fester in my mind to the point of explosion, no thanks.
Good day Madam."
I'm a man and women do not fill all the key roles in rte, no matter how many times you say it.

Joanne Cantwell was and is the most deserving candidate for the role of Sunday Game presenter. She may not be to your liking but you'll just have to suck that up. You can't please everyone.

Also nobody is denying you the right to an opinion or voicing it on here or anywhere else. If you don't want anyone to challenge it then exercise your right not to post it on a discussion board.

The fact an all-star GAA player with years of experience in sports media presenting The Sunday Game is drawing parallels with men's mental health is quite frankly warped. They are not related in any way shape or form. Dangerous whataboutery.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 01/06/2021 12:49:11    2347365

I think the League Sunday and the Sunday Game should be a bit like my favourite pubs, not too civilised. Sunday night's show reminded me if the saying 'it's not what you say, it' s how you say it'. Cooper and McConville are mighty men giving great analysis but there's not much craic out of them. Not convinced Joanne Cantwell is the problem here more than the rigid format they have to stick to. In fairness it's hard for anyone to replace Michael Lyster. He had a bit of the O'Herlihy and McGurk style where he could prod the humour out of analysts and make it great TV. Was probably a lot less restrained in the early days of the Sunday Game too. Television is too PC now, there's probably a list of don't mentions on the wall in the Sunday Game planning meeting.

Contrast it to some podcasts which can, thankfully, basically say what they want. Colm Wooly Parkinson isn't many people's cup of anything but has a great lively pod this season, Alan Brogan and Colm Cavanagh as analysts recently. A lot of interrupting from Wooly and the lads will interrupt back with jibing and banter and a bit of effin and blinding you won't hear on RTE TV. They doo have the advantage though of being able to speak a lot longer on topics, no breaks to show game highlights. Fairly convinced if he had Oisín and The Gooch on he'd knock a bit of craic out of them too but he's less restricted in what they cannot say. But League Sunday is boring in comparison.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 01/06/2021 13:02:28    2347370

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think the League Sunday and the Sunday Game should be a bit like my favourite pubs, not too civilised. Sunday night's show reminded me if the saying 'it's not what you say, it' s how you say it'. Cooper and McConville are mighty men giving great analysis but there's not much craic out of them. Not convinced Joanne Cantwell is the problem here more than the rigid format they have to stick to. In fairness it's hard for anyone to replace Michael Lyster. He had a bit of the O'Herlihy and McGurk style where he could prod the humour out of analysts and make it great TV. Was probably a lot less restrained in the early days of the Sunday Game too. Television is too PC now, there's probably a list of don't mentions on the wall in the Sunday Game planning meeting.

Contrast it to some podcasts which can, thankfully, basically say what they want. Colm Wooly Parkinson isn't many people's cup of anything but has a great lively pod this season, Alan Brogan and Colm Cavanagh as analysts recently. A lot of interrupting from Wooly and the lads will interrupt back with jibing and banter and a bit of effin and blinding you won't hear on RTE TV. They doo have the advantage though of being able to speak a lot longer on topics, no breaks to show game highlights. Fairly convinced if he had Oisín and The Gooch on he'd knock a bit of craic out of them too but he's less restricted in what they cannot say. But League Sunday is boring in comparison."
Here's an idea - why not scrap the punditry and extend the highlights footage instead? All we see for highlights nowadays are the key scores and sendings off.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 01/06/2021 14:40:58    2347406

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Here's an idea - why not scrap the punditry and extend the highlights footage instead? All we see for highlights nowadays are the key scores and sendings off."
I don't bother watching it at all, with GAAGO when I have time and its a game I am interested in I just watch the whole game - great thing about the TG4 coverage is I have no clue what they are saying as all I have the volume on for is the names of the players.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 01/06/2021 16:41:28    2347461

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think the League Sunday and the Sunday Game should be a bit like my favourite pubs, not too civilised. Sunday night's show reminded me if the saying 'it's not what you say, it' s how you say it'. Cooper and McConville are mighty men giving great analysis but there's not much craic out of them. Not convinced Joanne Cantwell is the problem here more than the rigid format they have to stick to. In fairness it's hard for anyone to replace Michael Lyster. He had a bit of the O'Herlihy and McGurk style where he could prod the humour out of analysts and make it great TV. Was probably a lot less restrained in the early days of the Sunday Game too. Television is too PC now, there's probably a list of don't mentions on the wall in the Sunday Game planning meeting.

Contrast it to some podcasts which can, thankfully, basically say what they want. Colm Wooly Parkinson isn't many people's cup of anything but has a great lively pod this season, Alan Brogan and Colm Cavanagh as analysts recently. A lot of interrupting from Wooly and the lads will interrupt back with jibing and banter and a bit of effin and blinding you won't hear on RTE TV. They doo have the advantage though of being able to speak a lot longer on topics, no breaks to show game highlights. Fairly convinced if he had Oisín and The Gooch on he'd knock a bit of craic out of them too but he's less restricted in what they cannot say. But League Sunday is boring in comparison."
I know McConville can be good craic, but do you think that it'd be possible to knock a bit of fun outta the Gooch? Usually Kerry lads are full of devil-may-care and fun, but I find the Gooch, even when he was ever interviewed as a player, to be as dry as weetabix!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1926 - 01/06/2021 17:21:31    2347472

Spot on. It's all stats stats stats, format format format. All people want is a bit of light hearted discussion and some insightful analysis without boring us to death. Cantwell is very hard to listen to and I've seen some top class female sports presenters, the likes of hazel Irvine that did the snooker and golf or Sue Barker from the bbc or indeed Grainne something that sky stole from Tg4. Lyster has been sorely missed

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 323 - 01/06/2021 20:52:18    2347520

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "No Offaly man in your list. It's an opinion re Henry Shefflin in today's era, there have been players down the years who could be regarded as the greatest player ever. A matter of opinion."
To be honest I deliberately left out any Offaly candidates as it would appear I was batting for an Offaly man, which is not the case at all..yes we have a few, who could be mentioned, but the real core point is that this amost obsession that Henry was the best..he wasnt the best...very very good yes...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/06/2021 21:23:21    2347524

Replying To supersub15:  "Galway9801 (Galway),

It's as if you were reading my mind when you sent your post, I used to think for a long, long, time that I was on my own with my line of thoughts, it's much more than a worry now, you could say it's a living nightmare.
Young men badly need pressure groups for help and to show the way.
Thanks again for putting my thoughts into context"
while I am an advocat of alwasy talking about mental health and suicide given how important a topic it is, often to the rolled eyes of those at the morning tea table only obessessed with what they did at the weekend, I will talk to anyone anytime about the topic and listen..how it has crept into this topic is a bit of a mystery...I can get the angle of Joanne Cantwell presenting being discussed but cant see how mental health issues have jumped up here..each to their own and if its a help to someone no bother at all..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/06/2021 21:33:10    2347525

Replying To Maroonatic:  "was the man himself sitting in the studio with her? That'd have a bearing on her comments. Brian Whelehan always gets my vote but the greatest ever is always subjective"
No she had the twins:) Anthony Daly and Derek McGrath last Sunday 30th May when the Henry Shefflin comment was made (again)

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/06/2021 21:36:27    2347527

Replying To Breffni40:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.

Good day Madam."
I'm a man and women do not fill all the key roles in rte, no matter how many times you say it.

Joanne Cantwell was and is the most deserving candidate for the role of Sunday Game presenter. She may not be to your liking but you'll just have to suck that up. You can't please everyone.

Also nobody is denying you the right to an opinion or voicing it on here or anywhere else. If you don't want anyone to challenge it then exercise your right not to post it on a discussion board.

The fact an all-star GAA player with years of experience in sports media presenting The Sunday Game is drawing parallels with men's mental health is quite frankly warped. They are not related in any way shape or form. Dangerous whataboutery."
How can she be "most deserving"???...what does that mean?? is there no other candidate..we are all gone to all sexes included in this country..and yer one from Wexford and she sqauaking about the "half backs being pulled out of position and all this ould modern populist lark"...its not a good show at all, and the presenter doesnt help...or some of the panel...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/06/2021 21:39:46    2347529