Donegal V Dublin

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yes I'd say it will just be a run out for lads that need to get minutes into the legs, pointless game for us otherwise, likely the same for Dublin because if Kerry beat Tyrone there will be no league final,
not sure but I can't see Tyrone being too bothered about showing their hand in Killarney, very likely these 2 could be meeting in the All Ireland semi final."
Agree with both comments above - shows why we need a league c'ship - we now take it for granted that the league is just shadow boxing. We should not be running competitions that nobody cares about. Nobody cares that much about the league, other than to avoid relegation.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/06/2021 17:15:55    2349249

Replying To kiloughter:  "Slightly tongue in cheek but if Dublin have it handy in Leinster and you are correct on that front as it is the weakest province arguably Mayo have it awful easy given they are in the semi final already according to your good self. I do get what you are saying in general and if there was ever a time for an open draw with Covid etc and thus limiting the desire for the tradition of keeping the provincial championships this was the moment. Unfortunately missed. The other point about Ulster though is what makes it a good provincial championship is it has the most teams of a relatively equal standard. That does not make the teams better than in the other provinces necessarily and the record shows that since your great win in the 2014 semi final only Mayo and Kerry have come close to the Dubs at the business end of the season."
You're defending a position that wasn't under attack. Nobody at all is saying that Ulster teams are objectively 'better'. Ulster teams are, as you say, merely closer in standard to each other; but there is something else - we all hate each other within Ulster (in the best possible sporting sense of the word - for instance, I can't stand Donegal inside Ulster, but I will always cheer Donegal to the rooftops once they're playing outside Ulster), and an Ulster team that is objectively inferior to its Ulster neighbour can still, out of sheer spite and doggedness, play above themselves and get an unlikely win. Even though that will be the sum total of their ambition and then they'll happily do nothing in the All Ireland series. Main thing is they've spoiled their neighbour's party; and the objectively-better team they beat would often have done far better. That is the bit about Ulster football that gets overlooked - even the 'weaker' teams will have a cut off you; and even if they can't win, they'll still do their utmost to cut lumps out of you : ) So it's never easy, even when playing teams you're expected to beat handily. In other provinces, the weaker teams, facing a strong neighbour, tend to be beat before they even start, and some of the games look like low-intensity training matches tbh.

Sum up, you can nipped in Ulster by a so-called "weaker" team; and if Dublin was in Ulster, they'd find it more challenging than the objective quality of the opposition might lead them to think.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/06/2021 17:33:46    2349254

Replying To essmac:  "Agree with both comments above - shows why we need a league c'ship - we now take it for granted that the league is just shadow boxing. We should not be running competitions that nobody cares about. Nobody cares that much about the league, other than to avoid relegation."
Darragh O'sé reckons there is no time for teams to be pulling the hand break in these games coming up at the weekend as it only a couple of weeks to championship and 1 slipup after this weekend and it's all over for the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/06/2021 17:50:52    2349259

Replying To essmac:  "You're defending a position that wasn't under attack. Nobody at all is saying that Ulster teams are objectively 'better'. Ulster teams are, as you say, merely closer in standard to each other; but there is something else - we all hate each other within Ulster (in the best possible sporting sense of the word - for instance, I can't stand Donegal inside Ulster, but I will always cheer Donegal to the rooftops once they're playing outside Ulster), and an Ulster team that is objectively inferior to its Ulster neighbour can still, out of sheer spite and doggedness, play above themselves and get an unlikely win. Even though that will be the sum total of their ambition and then they'll happily do nothing in the All Ireland series. Main thing is they've spoiled their neighbour's party; and the objectively-better team they beat would often have done far better. That is the bit about Ulster football that gets overlooked - even the 'weaker' teams will have a cut off you; and even if they can't win, they'll still do their utmost to cut lumps out of you : ) So it's never easy, even when playing teams you're expected to beat handily. In other provinces, the weaker teams, facing a strong neighbour, tend to be beat before they even start, and some of the games look like low-intensity training matches tbh.

Sum up, you can nipped in Ulster by a so-called "weaker" team; and if Dublin was in Ulster, they'd find it more challenging than the objective quality of the opposition might lead them to think."
Fair points made but all are subjective really as while the Tyrone team of the noughties were very good as were Donegal more recently and at times Down were excellent, I don't believe any of those three were of the quality of the Kerry team of 70s/80s or the present Dubs. I think both of these teams in their individual eras would cope admirably with being in the northern province.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 09/06/2021 19:42:35    2349271

Replying To essmac:  "You're defending a position that wasn't under attack. Nobody at all is saying that Ulster teams are objectively 'better'. Ulster teams are, as you say, merely closer in standard to each other; but there is something else - we all hate each other within Ulster (in the best possible sporting sense of the word - for instance, I can't stand Donegal inside Ulster, but I will always cheer Donegal to the rooftops once they're playing outside Ulster), and an Ulster team that is objectively inferior to its Ulster neighbour can still, out of sheer spite and doggedness, play above themselves and get an unlikely win. Even though that will be the sum total of their ambition and then they'll happily do nothing in the All Ireland series. Main thing is they've spoiled their neighbour's party; and the objectively-better team they beat would often have done far better. That is the bit about Ulster football that gets overlooked - even the 'weaker' teams will have a cut off you; and even if they can't win, they'll still do their utmost to cut lumps out of you : ) So it's never easy, even when playing teams you're expected to beat handily. In other provinces, the weaker teams, facing a strong neighbour, tend to be beat before they even start, and some of the games look like low-intensity training matches tbh.

Sum up, you can nipped in Ulster by a so-called "weaker" team; and if Dublin was in Ulster, they'd find it more challenging than the objective quality of the opposition might lead them to think."
If every other leinster county was in ulster they'd find it far easier to win a provincial title.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 09/06/2021 19:54:54    2349273

If Ulster football is so strong when was the last time an Ulster team won an All Ireland Final at Senior , under 21 or even Minor, or a Division ! League Title.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 09/06/2021 20:53:49    2349280

dublin by 12 points

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 09/06/2021 23:33:15    2349305

Another good run out coming up

Again let's hope Dublin continue to use the extended panel and get game time spread out a bit

On top of that you've the stand out starters showing great form

It's been a very successful league so far for Dublin, scoring heavily away from home and looking at a number of up and comings.

I think Mick Galvin summed it up "A league semi-final is a good place to be"

He's right, another opportunity for him to give several lads another good run out, off the back of a successful few weeks.

I've huge time for Donegal and their support. Great County that produce high-end sports people.

Hope it's a good game for both panels to try out a few things coming into the real stuff, or well as close to it as possible given the circumstances.

Up the Mighty Du6s

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2021 12:10:15    2349349

Replying To jimbodub:  "Another good run out coming up

Again let's hope Dublin continue to use the extended panel and get game time spread out a bit

On top of that you've the stand out starters showing great form

It's been a very successful league so far for Dublin, scoring heavily away from home and looking at a number of up and comings.

I think Mick Galvin summed it up "A league semi-final is a good place to be"

He's right, another opportunity for him to give several lads another good run out, off the back of a successful few weeks.

I've huge time for Donegal and their support. Great County that produce high-end sports people.

Hope it's a good game for both panels to try out a few things coming into the real stuff, or well as close to it as possible given the circumstances.

Up the Mighty Du6s"
Fair play to ya jimbo. If I recall correctly, back in the early days of Jim McGuinness tenure you were one of the first on here to predict that Donegal would soon be making people sit up & take notice!

It should be a decent work out for both teams even if a lot of the more established players will be missing. Our squad players should be itching to get a game against Dublin to test themselves and maybe put up their hand for Championship selection. I don't think anyone is predicting a Donegal win. But if our lads go out and show the right attitude and put a decent performance in I'll be happy enough.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 10/06/2021 14:16:42    2349375

Replying To dickie10:  "dublin by 12 points"
Your well named. Lot of boys on here would hope Dublin win by 12 or more so it takes away from the failings of their own county. Donegal mightn't win but they won't go crying about the Dubs getting special treatment, money or whatever else they cry about.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 10/06/2021 15:24:53    2349393

That was an enjoyable game, great to get a run out against the Dubs, that game will do the Donegal panel a lot of good, hopefully we get every man fit for selection again, big game with An Dùn is fast approaching. Well done to Dublin, fantastic team, I know they were only in 3rd gear tonight, I'd have loved to see the league final with Kerry v Dublin, it would have been fantastic to have it to look forward to next weekend, big mistake by the GAA imo.
Tír Conaill Abú

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/06/2021 21:04:58    2349962

Went better than I expected. After conceding goals galore against Monaghan it was understandable we went a bit more defensive today against that Dublin forward line. Good run out with a few fringe players putting their hands up. Mc Fadden Ferry will surely start come championship. If we get everyone back fit we can have a good summer.

Con O' Callaghan is a joy to watch and will have a big say in where Sam winters this year. Pity there isn't a league final. It would have been a clinker.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 12/06/2021 21:18:05    2349968

Interesting game. Donegal contained Dublin fairly well and defensively were well improved from previous games, much better shape. Tracked the Dublin runners well for long spells. We had moments where we could have made it very close, Gallen's goal chance the obvious one. Dublin in 3rd gear some will say, maybe so. Not certain we were anything approaching our best either. Both teams happy to keep ball in the second half it seemed. Without Murphy, Eoin Ban, Peader Mogan, the two Brennans and MacNiallais, McMenamin going off early, I felt it was a solid display. Eoin McGettigan showed very well when he came on and took the goal decisively. O'Callaghan is a superb player for Dublin. Dublin choked Donegal during the second quarter and really won the game during that spell. Made it difficult for us in possession and in attack. They really suck the life out of teams so well and negate your attacking system. But enough green shoots for us today certainly to believe we could have a serious crack off Dublin or Kerry down the line if we navigate the Ulster minefield.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 12/06/2021 21:28:47    2349974

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That was an enjoyable game, great to get a run out against the Dubs, that game will do the Donegal panel a lot of good, hopefully we get every man fit for selection again, big game with An Dùn is fast approaching. Well done to Dublin, fantastic team, I know they were only in 3rd gear tonight, I'd have loved to see the league final with Kerry v Dublin, it would have been fantastic to have it to look forward to next weekend, big mistake by the GAA imo.
Tír Conaill Abú"
Yes a nice game to watch and yes pity we have no league final. Some lovely scores from both sides. Nice to see Donegal do well without Murphy. It will make it all the sweeter when he comes back. I really like McBrearty but he never seems to go for a goal. Ryan McHugh is worth diamonds and great to see McNiallias back. For Dublin Rock is nt being missed due to Costello s brilliance. Con is class as usual and Fenton is Fenton.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 12/06/2021 21:32:47    2349976

Great test that, for this time a year, very, very happy it.

Very happy with the campaign over all.

Thanks for the match lads and best wishes for the Championship, hope I'm wrong but I thought I saw Paddy McB pull up with a hamstring there at the end, just saw it out of the corner of my eye, could be wrong.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/06/2021 21:42:18    2349983

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That was an enjoyable game, great to get a run out against the Dubs, that game will do the Donegal panel a lot of good, hopefully we get every man fit for selection again, big game with An Dùn is fast approaching. Well done to Dublin, fantastic team, I know they were only in 3rd gear tonight, I'd have loved to see the league final with Kerry v Dublin, it would have been fantastic to have it to look forward to next weekend, big mistake by the GAA imo.
Tír Conaill Abú"
Yeh no one busting balls out there, far too risky and for what.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 12/06/2021 21:45:01    2349986

A decent workout. Thought our defensive shape was much improved, although to be fair Dublin were far from full tilt. It was good to see our lads plug away to the end and never threw in the towel.

Negatives were seeing Odhran & McMenamin going off injured. Hopefully just precautionary.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/06/2021 21:46:30    2349987

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "I'd struggle to believe that any of Tipp, Clare, or Cork would be amongst the top 6 teams in Ulster..."
Would you be inclined to review this now? Cavan beaten by Wicklow, Fermanagh beaten by Offaly, Derry just about getting the job done against Limerick. Cork, Clare and Tipperary all have Kerry between them and a Munster championship, and we saw what Kerry done to Tyrone today. If Kerry done that to Clare people would be telling us what a farce the Munster championship is.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 12/06/2021 21:58:03    2349992

Replying To TheUsername:  "Great test that, for this time a year, very, very happy it.

Thanks for the match lads and best wishes for the Championship, hope I'm wrong but I thought I saw Paddy McB pull up with a hamstring there at the end, just saw it out of the corner of my eye, could be wrong."
Thanks, hopefully the next time we face Dublin will be in front of large crowd on All Ireland final day,
I saw Paddy pull up as well after he had that last attempt at a point, hope himself and the other lads all recover ok soon, we need every man fit to hopefully get through Ulster and have a crack at Kerry most likely in the semi final.
Enjoyed the league campaign mostly but we had a few dodgy performances too and lucky to get draws from them but those comebacks might help the mentality too down the line.
Dublin v Kerry league final now would have been a cracker, what a shame it won't happen.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/06/2021 23:09:32    2350024

Replying To TheUsername:  "Great test that, for this time a year, very, very happy it.

Thanks for the match lads and best wishes for the Championship, hope I'm wrong but I thought I saw Paddy McB pull up with a hamstring there at the end, just saw it out of the corner of my eye, could be wrong."
Seen that too about Paddy, took that shot that landed short and started rubbing the hammer. Hopefully just a wee strain. He's be a huge loss the way he's playing!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 12/06/2021 23:26:08    2350028