Kerry Need A Catcher

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "True TippRed. He still a fantastic fielder but his shooting can be a bit askew since he came back from Oz."
Tommy doesn't really have to be a shooter, though; off play to more accurate teammates, and there's enough of them around, after gaining possession, or pop pass on the shoulder.

I'm not saying that Tommy Walsh should start, nor do I believe he has 70 minutes in him; half an hour perhaps. And that half an hour is perhaps the last half an hour of a game. But Walsh does provide Kerry with an invaluable avenue towards goals. From reviewing the last 3-4 Kerry Dublin games, I actually get the hunch that Dublin don't like it when Tommy Walsh comes in.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 29/05/2021 14:00:59    2346284

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Kerry don't need a catcher. They need a burster or a breaker. I already posted this message on the Kerry forum a day or two after the game. Read it, and learn about how to defend under the high ball coming down around the goals.

" I watched the game back again just now.

Both teams when they attack at pace and run at the opposing defense are deadly dangerous. And it's almost impossible to defend against speed and space, when you're on the back foot. So, I wouldn't consider Con's first goal for example, a soft goal. Dublin held the ball very well, seemingly going nowhere fast, but then suddenly they get the angles right, ratchet things up to full speed, and the ball is in the net. I consider that an excellent goal. I doubt if any team could defend against such a maneuver. Similarly, with the Kerry goal that was pulled back for the free.

However, what surprised me, and disappointed me as well, was Kerry's vulnerability under the high ball in around the goals. High balls should be defenders balls all day long...bread and butter stuff. I don't care how strong Con is, not even the great Jacko should be allowed catch that type of ball.

But the good thing is that it's an easy enough thing to coach, or should be. The defender never attempts to catch the ball when going up against the forward. One hand should be holding Con's wrist (a foul yes, but have you ever seen frees given for it? Never). The defender's other fist should go through the ball, and drive it 30-40 yards out the field.

It's one of the most basic skills of the game. Donaghy would be a great man to coach it, I suspect, becoz what I've just described happened to him, time out of mind. Tommy Griffin should have all the defenders up to speed on how to deal with high balls in, and if they meet in the championship again, Con should not be allowed dominate the air...same goes for McShane and McKenna of Tyrone.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 359 - 24/05/2021 13:08:43 ""
Thats were i was coming form A chara, i think it was fairly obvious Kerry struggled with kick and high ball.

To be fair to king Con hes probably one of the best fielders in the game, certainly one of the most productive and skillful of a caught ball. He took one against Roscommon in a S8 game, that should have broke his neck, my heart skipped a beat looking for a stretcher, he swiveled from a crouched position, dropped a shoulder beat his man, and scored from 40 yards out on the Cusack side - thing of beauty. He has such skill in fielding and hes not as tall as most.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2021 14:03:23    2346287

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah now I'm not flattering myself at all. I just know that most of your posts have a Kerry theme to them but fear and hurt will always cause that. Try not to take it personally. We all have our crosses to bear. As the great John B. Keane said "Being a Kerryman is the greatest gift God can bestow on any man. You know when you belong to Kerry you know you have a head start on the other fellow" It's a hard burden to carry but don't be jealous. I as a Kerryman apologise for the hurt either Kerry as a team or a Kerry person as an individual has caused to you. Sure even the main street in Dublin is called after a Kerryman. Finally gaa is a sport so try not to get too upset when counties you don't like win. You are one of those sado s that get more pleasure from other woes than your own successes."
Ah sure Mikey , that's only what you'd expect from a Kerry man. Yeer fierce predictable altogether.
" There's nothing to be feared only fear itself " as FDR stated so I wouldn't be thinking yeed be frightening lads.
There's no need for an apology sure you're only doing what comes instinctively and blowing your own trumpet.
As I said , tis fierce predictable ye are.
As for being sad, sure I'm in flying form and you're after giving me a laugh. Keep the Kerry humour coming. Ye boys are always good for an oul snigger.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/05/2021 15:10:01    2346295

Replying To catch22:  "Ah sure Mikey , that's only what you'd expect from a Kerry man. Yeer fierce predictable altogether.
" There's nothing to be feared only fear itself " as FDR stated so I wouldn't be thinking yeed be frightening lads.
There's no need for an apology sure you're only doing what comes instinctively and blowing your own trumpet.
As for being sad, sure I'm in flying form and you're after giving me a laugh. Keep the Kerry humour coming. Ye boys are always good for an oul snigger."
"He who envies other does not obtain peace of mind".Ah catch jealousy will eat you up and its an unhealthy obseesion with you.You just cant help yourself when a post about your feared Kingdom appears.You are too insecure to admit where you re from yourself and are consumed by serious dislike of the county you fear.I do enjoy your little digs but you should try enjoy the sport instead of finding faults.look at he brilliant footballers that you ve seen play for the mighty Kingdom and the sheer class of some of the greatest players that played gaelic football.Imagine you were lucky enough to see some of the play albeit probably not live.At least we know that you will have one eye always on Kerry.its a form of flattery.Now that's predictable and kind of funny too.Ciarrai abu.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 18:09:24    2346340

Replying To TheUsername:  "Very true, a good 15 mins of madness, via St Stephen saving a penalty, the last 1 mins in the semi Vs you guys as well in 16 i think it was. Definitely been phases were high ball has caused problems but more thinking of games we've lost because of it and there are none really - i remember Keane trying to kick it high and long for the first 15 mins of the second game in 19 and we just gobbled it up and undermined the first quarter for Kerry. Tyrone in the league in 18 (the one were Paddy Andrews broke his jaw) the only one ive seen were been beaten - Davey Byrne got a roasting. We havent really played with a sweeper now for a couple of seasons to my mind, teams dont attack enough against which may they should.

Fair play, one to watch its the time of the year were you want your frailties exposed. We'l take home the Kerry high press we saw in the second half last week and come up with something around that. Thought Kerry were well drilled and coached on our attacking blanket, so that all good. But i think Dublin will be taking home the kicking in to the Kerry back line and high ball.

I agree on the running to, but i think that tactic gives you time to flood back and swarm so you have a 50/50 chance. The problem Kerry have with Dublin is what to do with Fenton, you can put JB on him and nullify him, but Fenton just takes him on a walk and leave space for the half backs to get the Kerry defensive lines - like the finals in 19, i think our half back line won us the All Ireland from an attacking point of view with the sapce left Barry marking Fenton. You can drop the extra man back with 3 in midfield but it leaves you that bit short upfront. A job of work on the attack plan going forward.

Tom O S is a player i enjoy, and best of luck to young Graham, i thought he was a midfielder - big lad if im thinking of the right fella."
No User Graham is a back.a strong lad that can play anywhere in the back six.Agree about Barry and Fenton alright .what we gain one way we lose the other.Its hard to get the right balance and for me teams have to be picked depending on the opposition.Horses for courses.Its always better to find your faults before the championship though.A perfect league can lead to problems come championship.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 18:20:04    2346343

They'll need to go into the transfer market

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 29/05/2021 18:31:42    2346346

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Tommy doesn't really have to be a shooter, though; off play to more accurate teammates, and there's enough of them around, after gaining possession, or pop pass on the shoulder.

I'm not saying that Tommy Walsh should start, nor do I believe he has 70 minutes in him; half an hour perhaps. And that half an hour is perhaps the last half an hour of a game. But Walsh does provide Kerry with an invaluable avenue towards goals. From reviewing the last 3-4 Kerry Dublin games, I actually get the hunch that Dublin don't like it when Tommy Walsh comes in."
No I agree Forever that Tommy is a good man to have and he is so strong and a wonderful fielder that opposing teams panic and seem to lose their focus.he also has very quick hands to slip passes off.However im just saying for a man that gets marks so easily he should score more from them.i mean Clifford or Geaney would be scoring a high percentage I would envisage.But yes im a fan of big Tommy.Kieran Donaghy said he the most naturally strongest player he has seen and yet he s such a clean player like his Dad.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 18:36:52    2346347

Replying To catch22:  "Ah sure Mikey , that's only what you'd expect from a Kerry man. Yeer fierce predictable altogether.
As for being sad, sure I'm in flying form and you're after giving me a laugh. Keep the Kerry humour coming. Ye boys are always good for an oul snigger."
P.S the post was "Kerry need a catcher" not a catch 22 lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 18:38:40    2346348

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No User Graham is a back.a strong lad that can play anywhere in the back six.Agree about Barry and Fenton alright .what we gain one way we lose the other.Its hard to get the right balance and for me teams have to be picked depending on the opposition.Horses for courses.Its always better to find your faults before the championship though.A perfect league can lead to problems come championship."
I think im thinking of Liam Kearney Mick apologies. Mea Culpa.

Is he still knocking around i remember a few had high hopes for him as a solution in midfield this time last year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2021 19:09:11    2346355

Replying To CiarraiMick:  ""He who envies other does not obtain peace of mind".Ah catch jealousy will eat you up and its an unhealthy obseesion with you.You just cant help yourself when a post about your feared Kingdom appears.You are too insecure to admit where you re from yourself and are consumed by serious dislike of the county you fear.I do enjoy your little digs but you should try enjoy the sport instead of finding faults.look at he brilliant footballers that you ve seen play for the mighty Kingdom and the sheer class of some of the greatest players that played gaelic football.Imagine you were lucky enough to see some of the play albeit probably not live.At least we know that you will have one eye always on Kerry.its a form of flattery.Now that's predictable and kind of funny too.Ciarrai abu."
Good Micheál I'm glad you enjoy my contributions as I do your predictability. Only too eager again to talk down to anyone who will listen. I've seen both excellent and some very good lads play for many counties but don't hear half as much noise about them other than from you're own county.
Again, tis only to be expected I suppose and ye boys can't help it.
As for where I'm from, sure what does it matter ? Nobody knows where anyone is from at the end of the day like. If Timbuktu was an option, I could claim to be from there.
I'll give you a hint it's somewhere between the Pacific Coast and the Irish Sea.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/05/2021 19:22:22    2346356

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think im thinking of Liam Kearney Mick apologies. Mea Culpa.

Is he still knocking around i remember a few had high hopes for him as a solution in midfield this time last year."
He got injured but I see he in subs bench for tomorrow. He came on as a sub v Dubs in croker last year in league and played well. Good to see him back.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 21:06:32    2346381

Replying To catch22:  "Good Micheál I'm glad you enjoy my contributions as I do your predictability. Only too eager again to talk down to anyone who will listen. I've seen both excellent and some very good lads play for many counties but don't hear half as much noise about them other than from you're own county.
Again, tis only to be expected I suppose and ye boys can't help it.
As for where I'm from, sure what does it matter ? Nobody knows where anyone is from at the end of the day like. If Timbuktu was an option, I could claim to be from there.
I'll give you a hint it's somewhere between the Pacific Coast and the Irish Sea."
Ah I see. You re a fish. That's why your called catch. Very impressed with your address towards me. I've been Mick Mikey and Micheal. Delighted you enjoyed seeing some of our superstars. Enjoy again and mind the water lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2021 21:09:48    2346383

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah I see. You re a fish. That's why your called catch. Very impressed with your address towards me. I've been Mick Mikey and Micheal. Delighted you enjoyed seeing some of our superstars. Enjoy again and mind the water lol."
That's no bother at all Michaleen ,but no I'm not a fish , I'm a catch so to speak , and oh yes, I do enjoy a good game.
I'll be watching closely as to the progress of all the main contenders over the summer. I bid you adieu for now.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/05/2021 00:17:58    2346425

Replying To catch22:  "That's no bother at all Michaleen ,but no I'm not a fish , I'm a catch so to speak , and oh yes, I do enjoy a good game.
I'll be watching closely as to the progress of all the main contenders over the summer. I bid you adieu for now."
Surely not a mermaid ? Enjoy your viewing and hope you see some lucky players.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 30/05/2021 10:33:17    2346454

Do Kerry need a catcher in the Sky?

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 30/05/2021 12:27:21    2346481

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Do Kerry need a catcher in the Sky?"
We need a miracle Mick.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2021 14:39:28    2346509

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Kerry don't need a catcher. They need a burster or a breaker. I already posted this message on the Kerry forum a day or two after the game. Read it, and learn about how to defend under the high ball coming down around the goals.

" I watched the game back again just now.

Both teams when they attack at pace and run at the opposing defense are deadly dangerous. And it's almost impossible to defend against speed and space, when you're on the back foot. So, I wouldn't consider Con's first goal for example, a soft goal. Dublin held the ball very well, seemingly going nowhere fast, but then suddenly they get the angles right, ratchet things up to full speed, and the ball is in the net. I consider that an excellent goal. I doubt if any team could defend against such a maneuver. Similarly, with the Kerry goal that was pulled back for the free.

However, what surprised me, and disappointed me as well, was Kerry's vulnerability under the high ball in around the goals. High balls should be defenders balls all day long...bread and butter stuff. I don't care how strong Con is, not even the great Jacko should be allowed catch that type of ball.

But the good thing is that it's an easy enough thing to coach, or should be. The defender never attempts to catch the ball when going up against the forward. One hand should be holding Con's wrist (a foul yes, but have you ever seen frees given for it? Never). The defender's other fist should go through the ball, and drive it 30-40 yards out the field.

It's one of the most basic skills of the game. Donaghy would be a great man to coach it, I suspect, becoz what I've just described happened to him, time out of mind. Tommy Griffin should have all the defenders up to speed on how to deal with high balls in, and if they meet in the championship again, Con should not be allowed dominate the air...same goes for McShane and McKenna of Tyrone.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 359 - 24/05/2021 13:08:43 ""
I'd agree on this one - since Paul Galvin exited the scene Kerry aren't at the races when it comes to picking up loose ball up front or down the back. Paul Murphy gets a bit and Gavin Crowley gets stuck in without ever seeming to come out with anything other than a few bruises.

Dublin are very solid under high balls because, while they have 2 or 3 payers in around the goal in most situations, they usually have a player or 2 moving back toward goal watching for nothing only the breaking ball. Cooper and Fitzsimons are clever enough to break the ball in the general direction of the incoming defender, giving them a good chance of coming out with it.

A lot of the Kerry backs seem to think that they have to catch the ball, come away with it and play a bit when they should just be defending and punching the ball away from forwards to make life as hard as possible. It's a common enough sight in games to see Kerry defenders scrambling after one of them has carried into traffic. I rarely see Fitzsimons do anything other than defend. He'll make a tackle, slow up the forward, win the ball or knock it free, then pass it to the next man and get back to defending.

I remember always being matched up against a guy who would just tap the ball out of my hands. I was a way faster than him on the burst, but he'd always make up the ground as I was getting hands on the ball. Most frustrating guy I ever played. He didn't play much football, neither did I, but I wasn't surprised when he but ended up playing a few games for the Kerry juniors and seniors Kerry as a corner back.

kingdom_come (Kerry) - Posts: 76 - 30/05/2021 15:44:36    2346534