Mayo V Meath

Replying To royaldunne:  "How could a amateur team beat the night of Dublin Utd/city and all their money and professionalism in EVERY WAY ??"
The second coming himself, Andy McEntee, on his white horse I thought?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/05/2021 12:21:41    2346902

Replying To royaldunne:  "How could a amateur team beat the night of Dublin Utd/city and all their money and professionalism in EVERY WAY ??"
I should of course add in a ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/05/2021 12:23:06    2346904

All them wonder meath players uve been on about for the last 5 years on here.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/05/2021 13:56:11    2346964

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nearly all of them players with the exception of the full back line are panel players at best.
Starting line up didn't include
Colgan
Keoghan,
Mcentee
Devine/mcentee
Harnan
Jones
McMahon
Walsh
Newman
Morris
O'Sullivan

All of who will play v (if fit ) v Kildare.
We didn't field 11/12 first team starters. So honestly don't know how you can come up with they this that or other, today was a televised challenge match. And I'd be more worried about mayos ambition of all ire title (we have none) but they didn't show that much against a Meath b or c team that would've instilled confidence in me if I were a supporter that they anywhere near the standards of Dublin or Kerry.
I think when we field our strongest team v Kildare we will win with a few points to spare. It may be close but Andy did the right thing in not risking the good players in a meaningless game."
Think it's time to start a campaign to split Meath in two. Maybe North Meath and South Meath, Ah sure throw in an East as well. Mighty squad.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 31/05/2021 14:10:23    2346971

I think Meath have a good chance of beating Kildare, Clare shouldn't be underestimated by Mayo, they're a well organized unit and dangerous opposition.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 31/05/2021 14:15:51    2346976

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I think Meath have a good chance of beating Kildare, Clare shouldn't be underestimated by Mayo, they're a well organized unit and dangerous opposition."
Mayo won't underestimate Clare who are a fine team. We played them in Ennis in the qualifiers a few years ago and they gave us plenty of it in the first half.

As mentioned by another player Mayo tend to play to the level of our opponents.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 31/05/2021 14:22:35    2346982

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "All them wonder meath players uve been on about for the last 5 years on here."
Ahh well at least we take back division one. Doubtful we will be playing rossies next year though

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2021 14:24:44    2346983

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "The second coming himself, Andy McEntee, on his white horse I thought?"
Nah. As has been proven with Man City and Chelsea, unfortunately you don't win titles anymore. They can only be bought. What's it now 6 ??? :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2021 14:26:03    2346986

Replying To Saynothing:  "Think it's time to start a campaign to split Meath in two. Maybe North Meath and South Meath, Ah sure throw in an East as well. Mighty squad."
I live rent free in ir head. Now go lay down there's a good nordie.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2021 14:29:07    2346990

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh no one giving you attention?? If I were u I'd be traveling to Louth to beg Mickey to come back.
Ulster teams we would beat ? Cavan Monaghan, down , Antrim Fermanagh and of course Tyrone. Donegal definitely not. But then neither will any team in ulster. :)"
Ah now in fairness they wouldn't beat Donegal, Tyrone or Monaghan.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 31/05/2021 14:42:37    2346997

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah now in fairness they wouldn't beat Donegal, Tyrone or Monaghan."
Really? Drew with Monaghan last year. And Tyrone needed the ref big time to win by a point after extra time last time we played in championship. Just saying like

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2021 15:02:44    2347010

Replying To Sssthe:  "Mayo's defence plays to their opponents level. It's nothing to worry about. They'll have crap performances against bad teams but do their job against good ones.

So long as were able to go to 70 minutes and not just 50 like last year we will be able to beat either team."
Defence has been poor in the three league games. Just because the defence might play down to a lower division team's level doesn't mean that they will play well against better teams. Meath weren't full strength either, smartly concentrating on the semi final. The experience of Clark and Barret are a big loss to our defence. If it doesn't tighten up against all opposition of all levels we'll have a short summer.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 31/05/2021 15:13:02    2347019

Replying To royaldunne:  "Really? Drew with Monaghan last year. And Tyrone needed the ref big time to win by a point after extra time last time we played in championship. Just saying like"
You said you would beat them both? I am saying you still haven't and wouldn't fancy ye against either in Champ this year. If you do I will be the first on here to congratulate you!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 31/05/2021 15:17:32    2347021

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Defence has been poor in the three league games. Just because the defence might play down to a lower division team's level doesn't mean that they will play well against better teams. Meath weren't full strength either, smartly concentrating on the semi final. The experience of Clark and Barret are a big loss to our defence. If it doesn't tighten up against all opposition of all levels we'll have a short summer."
Clarks retirement seems to be bringing the best out of Hennelly.
He doesn't have Clarks shadow hovering over him every time he plays as No1 now, and his kick-outs are far superior.

Mayo have the players to tighten up, its whether Horan accommodates it into his aggressive playing style.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 31/05/2021 15:24:50    2347029

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah now in fairness they wouldn't beat Donegal, Tyrone or Monaghan."
Sounds like what the "experts" said about Cavan last year. :-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 31/05/2021 15:31:52    2347034

Replying To royaldunne:  "Really? Drew with Monaghan last year. And Tyrone needed the ref big time to win by a point after extra time last time we played in championship. Just saying like"
So ye didn't beat either.
Lets be honest here, and have a bit of honesty and self respect for yourself.

You have put Meath on a false pedestal , and when the inevitable happens you start piking fights with other counties to
deflect away what you already know...

Meath aren't a Div 1 team,
More a Yo-yo team that will inevitably end up jumping back and forth from Div 1 and Div 2.
Tis what it is.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 31/05/2021 15:32:36    2347035

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh well at least we take back division one. Doubtful we will be playing rossies next year though"
Both 50 50 wouldn't mind if both In division 1 we could do with the handy points.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/05/2021 15:43:32    2347042

Replying To royaldunne:  "I live rent free in ir head. Now go lay down there's a good nordie."
You'll have no toys left in that pram the way your going,LOL

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 31/05/2021 16:25:36    2347071

Just saying like, but is that like the time yous needed ref big time in 2010 Leinster final, just saying like.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 31/05/2021 16:29:37    2347076

Replying To BeJasus:  "So ye didn't beat either.
Lets be honest here, and have a bit of honesty and self respect for yourself.

You have put Meath on a false pedestal , and when the inevitable happens you start piking fights with other counties to
deflect away what you already know...

Meath aren't a Div 1 team,
More a Yo-yo team that will inevitably end up jumping back and forth from Div 1 and Div 2.
Tis what it is."
Have the lotto numbers Nostradamus?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2021 17:24:54    2347105