Donegal V Monaghan

Interesting one again this weekend, another Ulster rivalry. Was the Monaghan result against Armagh a surprise for Monaghan fans? Is the feeling that Banty will have a stronger second year?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 17/05/2021 22:04:49    2342948

We are a team in transition lads with too many miles and lads with not enough miles on the clock. Wouldn't be the same beast as few years back so donegal will win this one by a fairly wide margin id say. Impressed by donegal attacking wise but defence not the same animal it was in Jimmy's time to take on likes of kerry, dublin or mayo.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 18/05/2021 08:53:45    2342992

No surprise at all. A lot of young players out against armagh so consensus amongst supporters is that a defeat is acceptable. Few great young players coming through, namely mulligan, Woods and o hanlon. Defense is poor now without corey, wylie and walshe. Very porous and I fear for us with the power running of mc hugh Murphy Thompson and mc gonagle.

We seem to be ravaged by injuries at the moment and game plan doesn't seem clear. Banty will however not take as much flak in this league campaign as he is giving youth a chance and no monaghan supporter can give out about that.

This weekend you'll see mc manus start, maybe Kelly and one of the Hughes. Possibly a more cuter monaghan team than v armagh. I expect a donegal victory although it won't be one sided like last year I feel as I think we have added a bit to our attack that leaves us less one dimensional. If monaghan can deny doengal goals thry are in with a shout but I expect donegal to run away with it and end up with a facile 5 ir 6 point win.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 18/05/2021 09:20:29    2342995

Hard to know. Monaghan have good form against us. We aren't in bad shape at the moment so we should account for ourselves. All on the day I think.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/05/2021 09:37:56    2342999

Donegal were very impressive against Tyrone, yet again winning by less than their dominance deserved over their favourite opponents. The loss to Armagh was maybe a surprise to the uninformed media, but it was expected in Monaghan. They struggled against the Armagh hard runners and have nothing at the moment to deal with Donegal's big hitters around midfield and half forward. The older players are struggling for fitness also.

McEnaney will press the notion of trialing new players but he will likely fail in terms of developing a coherent system with the players available. Experimenting for the sake of it is time wasted.
I would expect Donegal, if they pick a reasonable team, to canter to a win by 7 - 9 points.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 18/05/2021 10:18:11    2343006

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Donegal were very impressive against Tyrone, yet again winning by less than their dominance deserved over their favourite opponents. The loss to Armagh was maybe a surprise to the uninformed media, but it was expected in Monaghan. They struggled against the Armagh hard runners and have nothing at the moment to deal with Donegal's big hitters around midfield and half forward. The older players are struggling for fitness also.

McEnaney will press the notion of trialing new players but he will likely fail in terms of developing a coherent system with the players available. Experimenting for the sake of it is time wasted.
I would expect Donegal, if they pick a reasonable team, to canter to a win by 7 - 9 points."
Agree Eddie- I think Banty is completely out of his depth. Comes across as a passionate man who loves Monaghan GAA etc but can't cut the mustard at the top table. Has to be seen as a backward step appointing him again. He cannot manage the high end of things in my opinion at all. Completely at sea I would imagine with modern scientific approaches and methodologies etc.

Bringing in Donie Buckley was seen as a coup but was it really? Think he is completely over rated. He was involved with Mayo and they never got over the line. Was involved with Kerry when Cork put three goals past them and then allowed Murchin to run through the centre of the defence to get the goal in the final replay and he is meant to be the defensive coach

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 18/05/2021 11:07:52    2343018

Replying To tonguey:  "Agree Eddie- I think Banty is completely out of his depth. Comes across as a passionate man who loves Monaghan GAA etc but can't cut the mustard at the top table. Has to be seen as a backward step appointing him again. He cannot manage the high end of things in my opinion at all. Completely at sea I would imagine with modern scientific approaches and methodologies etc.

Bringing in Donie Buckley was seen as a coup but was it really? Think he is completely over rated. He was involved with Mayo and they never got over the line. Was involved with Kerry when Cork put three goals past them and then allowed Murchin to run through the centre of the defence to get the goal in the final replay and he is meant to be the defensive coach"
You are not wrong there. Banty has done little in senior inter county mgmt since departing the job first time round. Meath and Wexford didn't go well. To be fair he did well with monaghan first time round bringing much needed organisation ambition back to county set up when he got us to two ulster finals and had the county competing at the top table but the game has moved on from those days and it was a backward move bringing him in to replace o rourke. Be like cavan replacing mickey Graham with Terry Hyland when time comes. He is good at playing the media game and bringing in names to the set up but a lot of that is for show and how much actual involvement those appointments have in team matters is debatable. Certainly wasn't much evidence of any defensive system at the weekend.
On a positive note through to be fair to him also he will give young lads game time and thats vital for years ahead as a lot of people forget he actually blooded a lot of the lads like mcmanus Walshe Hughes malone who played a huge role for o rourke. Its the only way to make sense of the appointment as the minor team of 18 will need to be brought through and the county board feel he is the best man to do that.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 18/05/2021 12:33:11    2343048

Replying To seanie08:  "You are not wrong there. Banty has done little in senior inter county mgmt since departing the job first time round. Meath and Wexford didn't go well. To be fair he did well with monaghan first time round bringing much needed organisation ambition back to county set up when he got us to two ulster finals and had the county competing at the top table but the game has moved on from those days and it was a backward move bringing him in to replace o rourke. Be like cavan replacing mickey Graham with Terry Hyland when time comes. He is good at playing the media game and bringing in names to the set up but a lot of that is for show and how much actual involvement those appointments have in team matters is debatable. Certainly wasn't much evidence of any defensive system at the weekend.
On a positive note through to be fair to him also he will give young lads game time and thats vital for years ahead as a lot of people forget he actually blooded a lot of the lads like mcmanus Walshe Hughes malone who played a huge role for o rourke. Its the only way to make sense of the appointment as the minor team of 18 will need to be brought through and the county board feel he is the best man to do that."
'On a positive note through to be fair to him also he will give young lads game time and thats vital for years ahead as a lot of people forget he actually blooded a lot of the lads like mcmanus Walshe Hughes malone who played a huge role for o rourke'

Yes Seanie, he played McManus as a wing back, started Hughes in goals and left Walshe to be roasted as a young lad in the 2010 ulster final.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 18/05/2021 13:00:37    2343066

I would say Bonner and co will be going all out to take the points here as it would almost guarantee safety from relegation. Based on last weekend's results and the fact that Donegal are at home I suppose most people will be predicting a comfortable Donegal win. But I've been following football long enough now, you write Monaghan off at your peril. Every Monaghan team will bring aggression and a steely determination and if teams aren't ready for it, they'll quickly find themselves on the back foot.

It'll be another good test for our lads, hoping to see some game time for MacNiallais and a few others. If we can get the result by doing that it'll be a very satisfactory first fortnight back for the lads.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 18/05/2021 15:43:48    2343124

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "'On a positive note through to be fair to him also he will give young lads game time and thats vital for years ahead as a lot of people forget he actually blooded a lot of the lads like mcmanus Walshe Hughes malone who played a huge role for o rourke'

Yes Seanie, he played McManus as a wing back, started Hughes in goals and left Walshe to be roasted as a young lad in the 2010 ulster final."
Sure everyone knows the Banty made McManus ! Ah no you are right just trying to make sense of fact the great man was brought back to manage us clutching at straws a bit I know. Think he will play the young lads plenty to take the pressure off himself and its probably the right approach particularly in this league where doesn't matter if we don't beat donegal or tyrone (unlikely to win both anyway) as we will end up in relegation play off now no matter what

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 18/05/2021 18:07:33    2343167

Just to the monaghan posters is feeling that the young talent is there and just needs nurturing or that they could go backwards for a period of time. Monaghan have won the last 2 ulster minors and another minors (under 18) a few years before that. They also won an ulster under 21 recently enough. I think they also have two schools playing mccrory Cup (pre covid) so from the outside looking in it would seem quite positive and well organised. I'm curious to know.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 690 - 18/05/2021 18:11:31    2343171

If the job becomes a long term rebuild for Monaghan then the question has to be whether Banty is the man to do that. Rory Gallagher wasn't the man to do that for us after Jim but Declan Bonner has really managed them well and allowed them to flourish in an attacking system. He was also responsible for a lot of good underage teams with those same players. Who would Monaghan fans like to see in the job if not Banty? Malachy is a hard act to follow. Clever manager. Can't imagine he will be allowed wait in the wings forever before some county snatch him.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 18/05/2021 20:55:52    2343214

The issue for Monaghan, and counties of similar size, will always be how to keep unearthing big physical players from a limited pick. Thats not an excuse but a reality.

There are plenty of willing, high quality players in the county of 5'10 to 6'0 who will fill the corner and wing positions. But the 6'3 plus men and the serious physical operators who make the difference don't come around too often.

Monaghan were fortunate to have the likes of owen Lennon, Drew Wylie, Hughes x2, Vinny Corey and Fintan Kelly in their prime at the same time. Obviously mcManus provided the magic but these other lads were what defined the core of the team.

The irony is that while the media have always portrayed Monaghan as a big physical team, they actually always struggled to compete physically at the top level against teams who could field a host of big men. As a generation of great servants to the county cause begins to fade, I personally don't see the replacements coming through for a while. Success at minor level has been wonderful but it disguises this issue to a large extent.

McEnaney can't really be blamed for this situation. However that does not absolve him from criticism around poor game management decisions in his first and now second tenure. The problems with him, in my opinion, are that he fails to learn from game to game, has very poor capacity to make the right calls during matches, and allows bluster and emotion to supplant calm judgment. That was clear in Meath and Wexford too.
If I had my choice, Oisin mcConville would be over the county team. He has done a job with Inniskeen that would seem to suggest a good fit for the particular challenges facing Monaghan.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 19/05/2021 00:28:42    2343255

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "If the job becomes a long term rebuild for Monaghan then the question has to be whether Banty is the man to do that. Rory Gallagher wasn't the man to do that for us after Jim but Declan Bonner has really managed them well and allowed them to flourish in an attacking system. He was also responsible for a lot of good underage teams with those same players. Who would Monaghan fans like to see in the job if not Banty? Malachy is a hard act to follow. Clever manager. Can't imagine he will be allowed wait in the wings forever before some county snatch him."
Who would Monaghan fans like to see in the job if not Banty?....short answer.........anyone but Banty ! he doesn't cut the mustard at this level. Lost that Cavan game last summer all on his own. Coaches like Oisin McConville (manages Inniskeen) , Tony McEntee (family from the county). These fellas know modern day football.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 20/05/2021 20:04:02    2343756

Expecting us to win this in the current form we are in and with maybe another few lads back this weekend, if we do win this we should be able to relax in the Armagh game and give a few lads a run out. Monaghan of course could give us a good test on the day.
Donegal by 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 20/05/2021 20:06:57    2343757

Expect Donegal to win narrowly as well but early season form is hard to read so no surprise if Monaghan up things considerably this weekend. They've a good record against us too over the years and especially so in league. I'm sure they won't be too pleased to lose last weekend to a neighbour just up from Division Two. Be interesting from a Donegal perspective if we can get our best 6 defenders on the field together before championship, unlikely I would feel.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 21/05/2021 11:31:49    2343849

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Expect Donegal to win narrowly as well but early season form is hard to read so no surprise if Monaghan up things considerably this weekend. They've a good record against us too over the years and especially so in league. I'm sure they won't be too pleased to lose last weekend to a neighbour just up from Division Two. Be interesting from a Donegal perspective if we can get our best 6 defenders on the field together before championship, unlikely I would feel."
Monaghan are going to be well short here. Donegal will dominate midfield and win quite comfortably, 6 points plus I would imagine.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 21/05/2021 11:56:29    2343857

9/2 for 7+ is good value

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 21/05/2021 12:02:39    2343859

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Who would Monaghan fans like to see in the job if not Banty?....short answer.........anyone but Banty ! he doesn't cut the mustard at this level. Lost that Cavan game last summer all on his own. Coaches like Oisin McConville (manages Inniskeen) , Tony McEntee (family from the county). These fellas know modern day football."
Agree, McEntee and McConville would be a great duo for any team with a long term view of the future, someone will get them long term and it will most likely be in Ulster. Remember McEntee lost out this time due to the so called dream team Mc Enaney promised which subsequently left at the first opportunity (there were rumours of financial clout as well but....). There is an element of fear to speak up within the supporter base it would seem, however..
As others have said we had reasonable success at minor and U20/21 level so the talent is there to be nurtured. We also don't tend to lose players making the transition to senior like other counties
For the immediate campaign it seems to me that there is a strategy to bring in new players en-masse. This may well prove to be the right strategy at the expense of relegation or at least a playoff. Meath did something similar in Div 2 and last year to good effect, last week when the tighteners came on they knew how to win where they may have lost previously
As regards tomorrow, I would doubt the team picked (if it starts, which I doubt) could beat Donegal who are the real deal and a step up from last week. Complacency could be their only downfall as it has cost them against us in the past.
We lacked presence in and around midfield and at 6 last week, people like Malone (who must be a nightmare to play against) and Kearns are badly missed and needed to win tomorrow. It is interesting times for Monaghan going forward, and predictions are difficult to make with the uncertainty around many things on and off the field
Hoping for, rather than expecting, a good tight match

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 21/05/2021 13:18:20    2343893

As I've previously stated on this thread I'm always wary of any Monaghan team, but particularly one that is being written off. It's exactly the type of occasion that the Monaghan boys could turn up hungry as caged animals and turn us over!

I just think that Bonner will be targeting the result big time here though. Another win and it's almost guaranteed safety and a chance to tinker with things a bit more in the last match.

Donegal by 4 or 5 points.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 21/05/2021 16:11:49    2343958