Galway V Limerick

Kiely watched the footage back, realised he hadn't a leg to stand on, and retracted. Shane O'Neill is probably laughing to himself and he didn't even have to get involved.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 18/05/2021 17:00:15    2343152

Replying To Canuck:  "Simulation crept in big time in the last 5 year and it is disgusting. A certain player got DeBurca sent off when he did a jig on the side line after his unstrapped helmet fell off as Tadgh brushed by him. He knew the refs were watching this because Gleeson had pulled off someone's helmet and should be sent off. To make things worse he spoke at the hearing admitting he was a liar. (Incidentally you can wrap your hand around a neck and pull the guys head half off and you might be lucky to get a free.) This sort of behaviour is horrible but the GAA will do nothing that makes sense. No need to stop the game but review frees and definitely sending offs after games. If there is simulation suspend the offender and that will stop it."
Yet plenty of people will tell you they still can't see simulation in hurling. The mind boggles.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 18/05/2021 17:30:06    2343158

I admire Kiely for apologising. A few minutes after a match is never a great time for calm analysis.

Shows the pressure the managers are under. Let's get on with the hurling now.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 18/05/2021 17:51:34    2343165

Replying To Soma:  "Fair play to him. Lots of things can be said when the blood is up but to come out and put the record straight is all that can be asked and he has done that."
It would be nice if the Limerick posters who were piling in here about "Galway Simulation" would follow John Kiely's example, but I suppose that's unlikely (Updawell??). Fair dues to the Limerick guys on here who were more balanced in their views

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2021 18:10:27    2343170

Replying To Canuck:  "Simulation crept in big time in the last 5 year and it is disgusting. A certain player got DeBurca sent off when he did a jig on the side line after his unstrapped helmet fell off as Tadgh brushed by him. He knew the refs were watching this because Gleeson had pulled off someone's helmet and should be sent off. To make things worse he spoke at the hearing admitting he was a liar. (Incidentally you can wrap your hand around a neck and pull the guys head half off and you might be lucky to get a free.) This sort of behaviour is horrible but the GAA will do nothing that makes sense. No need to stop the game but review frees and definitely sending offs after games. If there is simulation suspend the offender and that will stop it."
Retrospective suspensions for simulation a good idea lad

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11849 - 18/05/2021 18:23:24    2343174

Replying To wexico15:  "I know the incident your referring to, funnily enough the year prior a Waterford player pulled off his own face guard trying to get a Wexford defender sent off."
If he did that is despicable and that is why a review after should have dealt with him. Obviously he was not successful thankfully but your man was. I never made an excuse when Gleeson pulled off a helmet. He got away with one and his name sake Conor was sacrificed to allow Austin play in the final. I will always tell it as I see and can be wrong the same as anyone else.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 18/05/2021 18:27:17    2343176

Replying To DJLuimni:  "John Kiely has retracted his statement and apologised to Galway management and players."
An honourable thing to do, if that's the case. It takes a bit of humility and courage to apologise, so fair to play to him.
We'd asked numerous times of examples of this diving from the various Limerick posters on here, who were throwing around allegations. We've yet to be given even one. All I've seen is a video of a Limerick player faking injury to get David Reidy of Clare sent off a few years ago.
It'd be nice if they showed as much backbone as their county manager on this issue now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2041 - 18/05/2021 18:37:07    2343178

Replying To updwell:  "Any time it got physical on Sunday ye either dived on the ground or would couldn't stand up to the challenge. The Galway team is on Limericks radar now and they'll be ready for the diving, holding and sly cowardly belts . I always liked Galway and thought they played proper hurling but after Sunday I wonder what the likes of Sylvie would think of the bawling and roaring every time ye were touched- must be embarrassing for the county."
No need to apologise. We will take it that John Kiely was speaking for the likes of you too when making his apology.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 18/05/2021 18:39:05    2343180

Time to accept the apology and move on.

https://www.the42.ie/john-kiely-galway-apology-5440743-May2021/

Best of luck to Limerick for the rest of the league ......and here is hoping we get another chance to play ye later in the year.

lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 18/05/2021 19:17:25    2343192

Everything is ok now... J.Kiely admitted he was wrong and apologised. The most important thing is that Galway won the match convincingly.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 18/05/2021 19:57:45    2343200

Replying To baire:  "I have never seen Sylvie hitting any player across the head and I'd doubt he'd ever plan such a thing. He was a tough defender but straight as they come. You talk about simulation/deception, he got sent off one time in such a case, against Tipp - that's going back to the 1980s! Simulation didn't start 5 years ago!"
I was just winding. Sylvie was a teak tough great player. Like many great players he pulled the occasional mean stroke. However he was one to admire and appreciate his talent. Your right simulations may not have started around five years ago but it has grown wings lately. It would have been very, very occasional.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 18/05/2021 20:42:03    2343209

Replying To katser:  "Everything is ok now... J.Kiely admitted he was wrong and apologised. The most important thing is that Galway won the match convincingly."
Would concur with your assessment. Niland looks promising for you. I would say though Limerick may not be going full pelt in the league this year ...

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 18/05/2021 21:03:21    2343217

Replying To Canuck:  "I was just winding. Sylvie was a teak tough great player. Like many great players he pulled the occasional mean stroke. However he was one to admire and appreciate his talent. Your right simulations may not have started around five years ago but it has grown wings lately. It would have been very, very occasional."
True, it's was rare and frowned upon, as it should be.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1799 - 18/05/2021 21:30:49    2343230

Replying To updwell:  "Any time it got physical on Sunday ye either dived on the ground or would couldn't stand up to the challenge. The Galway team is on Limericks radar now and they'll be ready for the diving, holding and sly cowardly belts . I always liked Galway and thought they played proper hurling but after Sunday I wonder what the likes of Sylvie would think of the bawling and roaring every time ye were touched- must be embarrassing for the county."
As a neutral who loves the great game it was good that Kiely apologised. The Limerick supporters on here should remember the wonderful sportsmanship of the Galway team and supporters after losing the final in 2018 and last year's semi final even after their greatest player was injured in a definite no simulation situation.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 18/05/2021 21:55:55    2343232

Replying To carlovia:  "I admire Kiely for apologising. A few minutes after a match is never a great time for calm analysis.

Shows the pressure the managers are under. Let's get on with the hurling now."
So do I takes courage to admit when you are wrong. Now I know no simulation took place, but i always find it funny how it is so frowned upon. But a defender can hold a forwards Jersey and be pulling out of him for the entire match and pull him down where necessary and this is not a big issue for people. Surely they are both equally bad!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 18/05/2021 22:08:50    2343237

Replying To katser:  "Everything is ok now... J.Kiely admitted he was wrong and apologised. The most important thing is that Galway won the match convincingly."
Agreed. Apology accepted. Lots of great hurling ahead. Galway Abu!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 18/05/2021 22:15:49    2343239

Just FYI, the Kiely interview was a bit more calculated than it seems. It wasn't immediately after the game. He went into the dressing room and was late coming out for his interview, roughly 30 mins. Sounds like they had time to come up with something but got it wrong. Fair play to him for apologizing. I think we can all agree that too many frees are being given but the simulation stuff was absolute nonsense.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 18/05/2021 23:03:48    2343248

Replying To Townee2018:  "Kiely watched the footage back, realised he hadn't a leg to stand on, and retracted. Shane O'Neill is probably laughing to himself and he didn't even have to get involved."
Shane can keep laughing to himself. Limerick have two All-Irelands secured and hopefully will add another All-Ireland shortly.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 18/05/2021 23:11:22    2343250

Replying To jobber:  "As a neutral who loves the great game it was good that Kiely apologised. The Limerick supporters on here should remember the wonderful sportsmanship of the Galway team and supporters after losing the final in 2018 and last year's semi final even after their greatest player was injured in a definite no simulation situation."
When Kevin Moran injured Joe that was the last thing he wanted happen to one of the greatest of all time. He said so also.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/05/2021 01:48:18    2343261

Replying To Galway9801:  "So are you denying that the galway players dived? I didn't see the game tbh, but if they did he's right to call it out.
I always felt that Phillip Jordans dive in the 03 final that got Marsden sent off badly tainted tyrones win that day, and if galway players start at that stuff then I won't be defending them.
Embarrassing stuff, embarrassing for the player, the county, and most importantly the game."
Why make insinuations when you didn't even watch the game...as it happens those assertions of diving weren't true.

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 116 - 19/05/2021 10:51:03    2343291