Kerry V Galway

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah here would ya stop. Do you not think that there's a bit of a difference between an average Joe Soap player on a junior C match trying a bit of a drag back and finish against a keeper that's had 12 pints, a couple of Jager bombs and maybe a full fry the morning after, between what David Clifford did on Saturday?

No-one is saying it was an inexplicable bit of skill to win a tight match. It was what it was. A remarkable bit if composure to finish a poor Galway team. Lord above if we're nit picking over something like this we may just follow soccer for "better" incidents of skill in your opinion"
Soccer , jays but I wouldn't bother with that much at all at all.
''Twas something a bit different but that's about it sure.
Talk of pints and Jäger bombers and the fry has nothin to do with it like.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/05/2021 22:21:56    2342954

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Think that 3-5 or 3-6 in any county game by any player is noteworthy."
For sure. Posting 3-5 or 3-6 in any game, no matter what the level or standard is some shooting.
The fact that it came in an inter County match, after months of inactivity, on live TV, from one of the most promising exponents our national games and some posters here nitpicking.....ah here....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 17/05/2021 22:57:17    2342965

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Not just no tough tackling Mick, no tackling at all. The effort level on Saturday was appalling. Zero pressure being put on the ball when we weren't in possession. Whether that was mental or physical (i.e. they just couldn't keep pace), we'll find out soon enough, but either one is an indictment on the management team.
We were miles off the bare minimum work-rate for an intercounty team. I can assure you that there are plenty worried supporters in Galway.
Before even talking about personnel and who should be playing, we have to sort this out.
We've mentioned it a few times already, but our hurlers look on a different level in terms of physical preparation and setup.
As the commentators mentioned during the game, the most we had ever lost a game to Kerry by was 8 points, over 50 years ago. We've had a few beatings close to that in more recent years too, but nothing remotely as bad as what we saw on Saturday. Even a bad footballing team would be able to keep it far more competitive than that, through effort alone. It's not an exaggeration to say Kerry could have scored 9 or 10 goals. Such was the lack of pressure and the amount of space given, almost every attack was a goal chance, if Kerry bothered to work it."
OH Wanpint I agree there was no intensity and was the most timid Galway performance I've seen. I just hope it was rustinrss and a fear of injuries after the lay off. We will know more next week.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/05/2021 22:59:34    2342967

Isn't it great to have football back and fellas back arguing and winding each other up here again!!
Kerry look like they could be the team to stop the mighty Dubs, they should breeze through Munster and whoever wins Ulster better be ready for them, they have the hunger and the talent no doubt about that, also the thing with Kerry is they have the pedigree, they expect to win All Irelands, the rest of us are mostly just hoping and dreaming about winning one.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/05/2021 23:04:30    2342969

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yeah you might be right. He was lucky. He s not skilful but lucky. He s been very lucky so far and I would forecast he will be lucky again..Hopefully he stays lucky. A famous American golfer once said "the more I practice the luckier I get". Someday someday!"
He's a wonderful player full of potential, but am I right in saying his last Championship was that goal against Monaghan in 2018 almost three years ago. Apologies if I'm im wrong I've a recollection of him not getting a goal the year Kerry got to the final, but I could be wrong. Quite a mad stat if true considering his talent and what he has done in the league and his divisional team. Don't get me wrong he's already a very good player, likely
heading for greatness so not running him down, he's great fun to watch (I've actually always had a soft spot for the underrated Sean O Shea as a player so might be a bit biased) but that's quite a mad anomaly if true - though I could well be wrong.

I'm sure he'll get many in his hopefully long Championship career.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/05/2021 23:36:45    2342975

Replying To sligo joe:  "I find your last sentence confusing considering the criteria you reference earlier, you say David Clifford exemplified 1) the ability to do something different, 100% correct, 2) in a high pressure game, 1st round of a modified league, hardly high pressure, certainly not high pressure after 10 minutes, 3) something that gives their team the edge, really? Game over b4 that goal and 4) I'd say Galway were well sickened at that stage."
OK OK maybe it's the fact that we've been starved of watching any sort of live GAA action for months, fair enough I've been guilty of over reacting to Clifford's performance at the weekend.

No.

What are you expecting like? Should he have flicked it up and scorpion kicked it? Or maybe a bicycle kick?

No. If you can't be excited and applaud what we saw from Clifford last Saturday, even if it was "only" a bit of league football against a lethargic Galway team, then sure watch the magical "top 4" playoff super duper extravaganza between Chelsea and Leicester tonight.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 18/05/2021 00:21:55    2342978

Personally prefer Seanie Shea as a player. His performance in the 2019 drawn final was one of the best individual performances I have seen in any All Ireland final. Cliffords not bad either though

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 18/05/2021 13:36:02    2343079

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly nail on head Royal. I've had many a dispute with you on these forums but one thing that can't be disputed is pure and unadulterated quality when it's seen.

Growing up in my early teens, the likes of Geraghty and Giles were the type of players outside your own county in club football that you'd look forward to see. Both had obvious natural talent and physicality granted. But it was their ability within high pressure games to do something different, something which gave their team the edge, and at the same time absolutely sicken opponents with their skill that means that the likes of us are still referring to them on Internet forums to this day.

Clifford last Saturday exemplified that."
That's it. We can all disagree on things. But sheer talent and the ability to do the unimaginable, and the why did he do that ? And what's more he pulled it off moments , that's what sets these players apart from the very good footballers to the very great ones.
Just my opinion.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/05/2021 13:47:03    2343084

Clifford's an exceptional player, but it wouldn't be last Saturday that proved that. He'd face more of a challenge in training than he did from us. I was far more impressed with a point he kicked in the 1st half, than the 3rd goal. The way I look at it is, would I be able to score that goal. The answer is yes, as would any lad who's even played a bit of soccer. Goals like that are scored every weekend in junior soccer. They don't happen often in Gaelic football as the opportunity wouldn't arise, but the skill level needed is pretty basic. However, would I kick one of the scores he got in the 1st half? Not if I was there all day.
There's nothing lucky about anything this lad does though. He's an outrageous talent and a joy to watch, aside from when he's racking up a cricket score against your own team.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 18/05/2021 13:54:22    2343086

Replying To Lockjaw:  "OK OK maybe it's the fact that we've been starved of watching any sort of live GAA action for months, fair enough I've been guilty of over reacting to Clifford's performance at the weekend.

No.

What are you expecting like? Should he have flicked it up and scorpion kicked it? Or maybe a bicycle kick?

No. If you can't be excited and applaud what we saw from Clifford last Saturday, even if it was "only" a bit of league football against a lethargic Galway team, then sure watch the magical "top 4" playoff super duper extravaganza between Chelsea and Leicester tonight."
If people can't appreciate the like of clifford and his skill then it's them who are missing out, the man is a joy to watch and that goal is being talked about so much cos you never see players do anything like that in county game, it was brilliant, i love watching him him play

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 18/05/2021 13:55:49    2343088

Replying To TheUsername:  "He's a wonderful player full of potential, but am I right in saying his last Championship was that goal against Monaghan in 2018 almost three years ago. Apologies if I'm im wrong I've a recollection of him not getting a goal the year Kerry got to the final, but I could be wrong. Quite a mad stat if true considering his talent and what he has done in the league and his divisional team. Don't get me wrong he's already a very good player, likely
heading for greatness so not running him down, he's great fun to watch (I've actually always had a soft spot for the underrated Sean O Shea as a player so might be a bit biased) but that's quite a mad anomaly if true - though I could well be wrong.

I'm sure he'll get many in his hopefully long Championship career."
Yes you are correct Username in that 2018 was his goal v Monaghan and scored 2 hoals v Kildare afterwards (one penalty). Don't think he s scored a championship goal in 19 but I'm sure he will score many more in the future. O Shea is more of a workhorse although very skilful too. Clifford is a maverick. Just thrilled to have both on the team. Clifford's cousin Paul Ó Shea will be another big star in the near future.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 18/05/2021 16:57:42    2343151

Small point but it kind of annoyed me seeing Galway not using their own maroon jersey
seeing as there was no colour clash.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 18/05/2021 17:02:41    2343154

It's actually quite funny the bitterness people have when it comes to David Clifford. It was the same for years with Colm Copper. No matter what they do there's always something wrong with it yet if another player did it it was a different story.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/05/2021 18:08:14    2343168

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Personally prefer Seanie Shea as a player. His performance in the 2019 drawn final was one of the best individual performances I have seen in any All Ireland final. Cliffords not bad either though"
Ah ya. Seanie O Shea would be a better allrounder alright no doubt about it.
I'd have him first on the team sheet everyday ahead of Clifford.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/05/2021 18:46:44    2343182

Replying To oneoff:  "It's actually quite funny the bitterness people have when it comes to David Clifford. It was the same for years with Colm Copper. No matter what they do there's always something wrong with it yet if another player did it it was a different story."
A small group of ignorant people, I'd hope. The vast majority appreciate both of those players for the quality footballers they are/were.
You'll never please everyone.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 18/05/2021 19:07:08    2343190

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Clifford's an exceptional player, but it wouldn't be last Saturday that proved that. He'd face more of a challenge in training than he did from us. I was far more impressed with a point he kicked in the 1st half, than the 3rd goal. The way I look at it is, would I be able to score that goal. The answer is yes, as would any lad who's even played a bit of soccer. Goals like that are scored every weekend in junior soccer. They don't happen often in Gaelic football as the opportunity wouldn't arise, but the skill level needed is pretty basic. However, would I kick one of the scores he got in the 1st half? Not if I was there all day.
There's nothing lucky about anything this lad does though. He's an outrageous talent and a joy to watch, aside from when he's racking up a cricket score against your own team."
Sure, goals like that might be a relatively common occurrence in soccer but the point is that Clifford had the presence of mind to do it an inter-county gaelic football match. The fact is that 99.9% of players in the same situation would have just pulled first time on the ball and the shot would have been blocked.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 18/05/2021 19:28:28    2343196

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Sure, goals like that might be a relatively common occurrence in soccer but the point is that Clifford had the presence of mind to do it an inter-county gaelic football match. The fact is that 99.9% of players in the same situation would have just pulled first time on the ball and the shot would have been blocked."
Whether it was a GAA match or not doesn't make the skill any more difficult. The aim was the same, kick the ball from the ground into an open net. I'd be very surprised if 99.9% of players would have pulled on the ball. The vast majority of GAA players have played soccer, so natural instinct would be to stop the ball after a defender has sold himself. Mulkerrin was already on the ground right in front of him, by the time Clifford stopped it. He was in the way of any shot, so the obvious thing to do was to pull it back. Clifford himself played soccer at a good level underage, as have many GAA players. It's not as if it was some alien skill to intercounty players.
He showed far greater skills than this one in the match in my opinion.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 18/05/2021 20:21:05    2343205

Replying To catch22:  "Ah ya. Seanie O Shea would be a better allrounder alright no doubt about it.
I'd have him first on the team sheet everyday ahead of Clifford."
Why is he a better all rounder? Other than the fact he's not David Clifford?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/05/2021 20:44:48    2343211

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Whether it was a GAA match or not doesn't make the skill any more difficult. The aim was the same, kick the ball from the ground into an open net. I'd be very surprised if 99.9% of players would have pulled on the ball. The vast majority of GAA players have played soccer, so natural instinct would be to stop the ball after a defender has sold himself. Mulkerrin was already on the ground right in front of him, by the time Clifford stopped it. He was in the way of any shot, so the obvious thing to do was to pull it back. Clifford himself played soccer at a good level underage, as have many GAA players. It's not as if it was some alien skill to intercounty players.
He showed far greater skills than this one in the match in my opinion."
Jesus lads, the ball was moving at snails pace, if any player couldn't do the same, they shouldn't be playing at all. Much easier to try when you're totally dominating a game as well. Nothing at all stopping anyone scoring by a volley , bicycle kick or an overhead kick in a game of Gaelic football. Sure beats all these palmed and fisted goals, I'd outlaw them, so credit to him.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/05/2021 21:12:05    2343221

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Sure, goals like that might be a relatively common occurrence in soccer but the point is that Clifford had the presence of mind to do it an inter-county gaelic football match. The fact is that 99.9% of players in the same situation would have just pulled first time on the ball and the shot would have been blocked."
Very well put Gaillimh. You are spot on there. Most players would ve hit it first time. It's the thinking behind the action which makes it special.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 18/05/2021 21:20:08    2343225