NFL Div 2

Replying To MayoDan:  "Do you think if we play differently we will beat Dublin? I don't."
I don't. The only way to play Dublin is to attack and play front foot football. I'm just worried about how much we are conceeding.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 14/06/2021 17:42:41    2350884

Just to add my tuppence worth. If there was a spitting incident then its disgusting and should be dealt with appropriately. Spitting is a horrible act not to mention these times of covid where if one spat at someone on the street one could be charged with a criminal offence. However I just want to mention an incident I was sort of involved with a few years ago in a pub. A man I worked with accused another workmate of spitting at him as I tried to seperate them. I know it was a mistake and sure enough when matters calmed down we realised that that in the heat of the argument while shouting at each other droplets from one guys mouth dampened the other guys face and it was realised it was not done on purpose. Its possible that spray can come from the mouth by accident during shouting. Now I will admit I know nothing of this nor saw nothing only what Andy McEntee said. Maybe MacGill thought he was spat at and told McEntee I don't know or he was spat at. In which case the culprit should ve banned and ashamed of himself. I'm just being the devil's advocate here.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3665 - 14/06/2021 17:47:00    2350886

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Just to add my tuppence worth. If there was a spitting incident then its disgusting and should be dealt with appropriately. Spitting is a horrible act not to mention these times of covid where if one spat at someone on the street one could be charged with a criminal offence. However I just want to mention an incident I was sort of involved with a few years ago in a pub. A man I worked with accused another workmate of spitting at him as I tried to seperate them. I know it was a mistake and sure enough when matters calmed down we realised that that in the heat of the argument while shouting at each other droplets from one guys mouth dampened the other guys face and it was realised it was not done on purpose. Its possible that spray can come from the mouth by accident during shouting. Now I will admit I know nothing of this nor saw nothing only what Andy McEntee said. Maybe MacGill thought he was spat at and told McEntee I don't know or he was spat at. In which case the culprit should ve banned and ashamed of himself. I'm just being the devil's advocate here."
I think that's what most likely happened, to actually deliberately spit on someone is the act of a pure tramp in normal times not to mind now with the covid pandemic ongoing, I've seen it a few times in soccer, I think in our game fellas are a bit more manly than that.
it's a very serious allegation to make and I'd want to be 100% sure before I said such a thing, you could ruin a mans football career by falsely accusing him, on the other hand if it's true then I think a very lengthy or even lifetime ban would be in order.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 14/06/2021 19:10:54    2350909

Will Mcentee be staying on for another year? I can imagine his minimum objective was gaining promotion back to Div 1.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3336 - 14/06/2021 19:23:40    2350914

You won't find a Meath supporter (nor Andy) dispute how bad that performance was yesterday, it was dreadful and the fact we could have brought it to ET would lead me to think Kildare are better than that also as it doesn't say much about the quality of the game.

Regarding the incident, there is some absolute nonsense being spouted here. The last thing in Andys interest is to create a story from yesterday when it needs to be forgotten quickly to recoup for an already bleak looking campaign, and give his critics ammunition to jump on to this deflection narrative, but he also has a duty to speak up for his player from a despicable act.

Anyone who knows Meath football will tell you that isn't in Conors game, never mind unprovoked. He was 100% spat at and it is easily verifiable (which always leaves me dubious of these forums) as to think no one from Kildare or Meath here will know someone involved yesterday I find odd.

If the roles were reversed I'd equally call it out, some posters here embarrassing themselves; if you spit in someones face (never mind during a pandemic) a few light digs is much less than you deserve and the lad who we won't name will know that.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 14/06/2021 19:56:07    2350925

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think that's what most likely happened, to actually deliberately spit on someone is the act of a pure tramp in normal times not to mind now with the covid pandemic ongoing, I've seen it a few times in soccer, I think in our game fellas are a bit more manly than that.
it's a very serious allegation to make and I'd want to be 100% sure before I said such a thing, you could ruin a mans football career by falsely accusing him, on the other hand if it's true then I think a very lengthy or even lifetime ban would be in order."
Agree 100%.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3665 - 14/06/2021 20:17:51    2350935

Replying To dunboynelad:  "You won't find a Meath supporter (nor Andy) dispute how bad that performance was yesterday, it was dreadful and the fact we could have brought it to ET would lead me to think Kildare are better than that also as it doesn't say much about the quality of the game.

Regarding the incident, there is some absolute nonsense being spouted here. The last thing in Andys interest is to create a story from yesterday when it needs to be forgotten quickly to recoup for an already bleak looking campaign, and give his critics ammunition to jump on to this deflection narrative, but he also has a duty to speak up for his player from a despicable act.

Anyone who knows Meath football will tell you that isn't in Conors game, never mind unprovoked. He was 100% spat at and it is easily verifiable (which always leaves me dubious of these forums) as to think no one from Kildare or Meath here will know someone involved yesterday I find odd.

If the roles were reversed I'd equally call it out, some posters here embarrassing themselves; if you spit in someones face (never mind during a pandemic) a few light digs is much less than you deserve and the lad who we won't name will know that."
Utter nonsense.. How are people giving any credence to anything Mcentee says?
He is the moaner almighty. He can never accept defeat.
Spoke to lads at the match who saw no spitting. What they did see was ever increasing frustration by McGill through out the game because he got roasted.
Nobody deliberately spat at anyone. But when red mist decends any slight can be multiplied to justify actions.
Mcentee accomplished his goal though. Meaths brutal performance has been diluted by the accusations.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 14/06/2021 23:41:31    2351011

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Serious accusation to make if its not true, serious act if it is. Mcentee can be a bit raw when it comes to aftermatch commentary sometimes, but he is not afraid to say it like it is either.
I watched it back a few times and it is evident that Mc Gill is intent on getting his man in what is otherwise handbags. He is not that type of player, I always considered him as a classy, clean player. Something rilled him.
No bearing on the result, Kildare should have won more easily, such was their dominance"
We've had everything from spitting to time wasting being blamed for the row. 7 officials on the pitch saw nothing, including the linesman who was very close by. Whether McGill was or wasn't "that type of player", he is now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 01:50:47    2351024

Replying To Bon:  "It is of course. Its hard to imagine that an inter county manager would make such an allegation in this day and age if it were not true.
Perpetrator should never wear a county jersey again."
And what about the person making the allegation if it's not true? What should happen to them? No footage of it happening and none of 7 officials saw it.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 01:54:12    2351026

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Wait for the full facts to come out"
Spot on..... Instead of hang, drawing and quartering your own off the back of something the opposition manager said but no official saw.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 01:59:06    2351027

Replying To kildare73:  "We've had everything from spitting to time wasting being blamed for the row. 7 officials on the pitch saw nothing, including the linesman who was very close by. Whether McGill was or wasn't "that type of player", he is now."
You've just made that up, literally no mention of time wasting whatsoever other than what you've invented in your head.

If yous want to defend your player spitting and cover your ears by all means crack on, won't be me looking daft on this.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 15/06/2021 12:22:09    2351106

When McCantee loses a game a reporter goes in for inevitable sore loser blurt. Well done Andy you can't resist. A few Meath players throwing punches will get deserved bans!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 15/06/2021 12:26:35    2351111

Replying To kildare73:  "And what about the person making the allegation if it's not true? What should happen to them? No footage of it happening and none of 7 officials saw it."
Well that person is entitled to due process obviously.

I think a simple apology would suffice from Andy though.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 15/06/2021 12:35:11    2351118

Replying To kildare73:  "We've had everything from spitting to time wasting being blamed for the row. 7 officials on the pitch saw nothing, including the linesman who was very close by. Whether McGill was or wasn't "that type of player", he is now."
I'm not taking sides or anything like that, just it was a very serious accusation to make about a player. Mc Gill was going for his man full on. He is as you say "now that type of player" or he was dead right simple as that. The onus is on the GAA to make McEntee clarify his accusation, don't you think

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 15/06/2021 12:39:19    2351119

Replying To dunboynelad:  "You won't find a Meath supporter (nor Andy) dispute how bad that performance was yesterday, it was dreadful and the fact we could have brought it to ET would lead me to think Kildare are better than that also as it doesn't say much about the quality of the game.

If the roles were reversed I'd equally call it out, some posters here embarrassing themselves; if you spit in someones face (never mind during a pandemic) a few light digs is much less than you deserve and the lad who we won't name will know that."
7 officials didn't see spitting though. The video didn't pick it up either.

It goes to show that the deflecting tactic works. Most of the talk on here and other forums post match has been about Andy's allegation and his form of changing the focus of press Q and A's from his teams performance to the performance of referees or other incidents throughout the game. Job done for him.

Kildare were by and large the better team over the 70 minutes. The worrying thing is that we constantly let teams back into when we need to kick on. That will be punished against better teams. To a man we physically out performed Meath too which is encouraging. We also seem to have and edge in the forwards. Kirwan is going to be a massive player for us going forward and Meath struggled to cope with him. He gives us an option to be a lot more direct and there is a lot to be said for that . Our goalie also had a huge factor in our victory. Something Meath seem to be lacking for a number of years now.

It would be great if we could stay up in Division and Meath get promoted next year. I don't think it would address the unfair advantage the Dubs have in Leinster but it might start to help both of us kick on a little.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 15/06/2021 12:48:23    2351122

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Utter nonsense.. How are people giving any credence to anything Mcentee says?
He is the moaner almighty. He can never accept defeat.
Spoke to lads at the match who saw no spitting. What they did see was ever increasing frustration by McGill through out the game because he got roasted.
Nobody deliberately spat at anyone. But when red mist decends any slight can be multiplied to justify actions.
Mcentee accomplished his goal though. Meaths brutal performance has been diluted by the accusations."
Actually if you or any other hyper sensitive Lilywhites listened to McEntee's interviews after the game in their totality you would have heard him clearly acknowledge that the Meath performance was well below standard and that Kildare outplayed and indeed bullied Meath in the physical exchanges, the allegation around spitting in no way deflected from the performance which he accepted was poor, lacking in intensity and littered with missed chances where we had 11 shots in the first half and only scored 4, those are the type of issues at hand and I can tell you that the poor nature of the performance has not been in any way diluted in Meath which is where the opinion counts. And don't think you are without issues yourselves, after dominating a game for 95% of it and at one stage leading by 10 you were nearly brought to extra time by a Meath team that played somewhere near its potential for around 10 minutes and you can thank your goalie for an excellent save to prevent that extra time so I wouldn't be shouting from the rooftops around the plains just yet either

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/06/2021 13:56:02    2351140

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Agree MayoDan. Don't forget that in 16 and 17 all ireland finals Mayo were the better team but were very unlucky. A few important referee decisions went against Mayo and also the Donie Vaughan John Small incident cost Mayo too niotD to nention own goals. So yes Mayo game plan is way to go and Mayo were the team that spooked Jim Gavin the most."
The better team always wins Mick. They might win ugly but they'll do what it takes. We might have played better looking football in '16 and '17 but Dublin found a way to seal the deal. We' ve lost 10 finals, hammered in '04 and' 06 but in most we got very close but not quite there. Every team has some bad luck in games, it's how you react that counts. For me it's a mental thing, anxiety can set into some of our players. We can have all the loveliest players for 65 minutes but we need to be ruthless at the end of the biggest games. Please God we will someday soon.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 15/06/2021 14:36:00    2351157

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The better team always wins Mick. They might win ugly but they'll do what it takes. We might have played better looking football in '16 and '17 but Dublin found a way to seal the deal. We' ve lost 10 finals, hammered in '04 and' 06 but in most we got very close but not quite there. Every team has some bad luck in games, it's how you react that counts. For me it's a mental thing, anxiety can set into some of our players. We can have all the loveliest players for 65 minutes but we need to be ruthless at the end of the biggest games. Please God we will someday soon."
Most of the time I agree the better team wins but not always. Sometimes referee can make mistakes at crucial times and that bit of luck goes against you. Even in 14 replay v Kerry the ref was much kinder to us. However I do think Green and red the way Mayo play is the future is the proper way to beat a team like Dublin or Kerry for that matter.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3665 - 15/06/2021 15:43:41    2351173

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The better team always wins Mick. They might win ugly but they'll do what it takes. We might have played better looking football in '16 and '17 but Dublin found a way to seal the deal. We' ve lost 10 finals, hammered in '04 and' 06 but in most we got very close but not quite there. Every team has some bad luck in games, it's how you react that counts. For me it's a mental thing, anxiety can set into some of our players. We can have all the loveliest players for 65 minutes but we need to be ruthless at the end of the biggest games. Please God we will someday soon."
I'd tend to agree. But for Donie Vaughans moment of madness Mayo surely would have gotten over the line.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 15/06/2021 16:04:11    2351176

Replying To dunboynelad:  "You've just made that up, literally no mention of time wasting whatsoever other than what you've invented in your head.

If yous want to defend your player spitting and cover your ears by all means crack on, won't be me looking daft on this."
Cool your jets there petal, I heard it said Meath were possibly upset by time wasting and that's what kicked off the row. The spitting accusation as well. Do you know for a fact he spat at anyone or are you just going on hearsay from your manager? It's the kind of thing McEntee better be able to back up rather than say it and flounce off the stage in a huff after taking someone's good name. If spitting happened, by all means throw the book at the offender. If it didn't happen and the accusation isn't withdrawn then equally McEntee himself should have the book thrown at him.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 16:17:40    2351181