New Advantage Rule In Hurling

I'm not denying that some limerick players fouled but not to the bloody extent they were penalized..think some of the big physical boys from limerick will have to start throwing themselves to ground and letting out a bit of a roar,guaranteed to win a free..just letting people know Galway fully deserved the win...

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 16/05/2021 17:43:41    2342420

Replying To wexico15:  "According to Michael Verney on yesterday's weekend preview with Shane Stapleton and a piece on the examiner website a croke park management committee have to power to change the advantage rule for championship."
Helpfully so.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 16/05/2021 17:50:59    2342428

Replying To Canuck:  "I have always thought hurling to one of the greatest field sports but do have the right to change my mind after watching the Westmeath Waterford game. Firstly delighted that Westmeath were competitive and pleased for them. However the game was terrible and Waterford do not have many to come from this second string.
Maybe it is time to forget about a game and just do a point shooting competition. I don't know what the final tally was but it was over 30 at half time. I have always defended refs but McAllister was shocking. Anymore if a player goes to the ground in a challenge a free is given. There is no tackle in the game because you are going to be penalized. Subsequently the pulling and dragging. Throwing the ball because the player can't get a hand free or free himself from the ruck. Over carrying called in some instances and ones with twice as many steps ignored. This games should be used to demonstrate refereeing at it worst and to poll players as to, is this the sort of game they want because they are contributing to this rubbish. I have always felt refs have a tough job but the standard has tanked completely. If you want to see the great game diminish continue with this sh-t. The players are as much to blame as the refs with their unsporting conduct. In the Cork game with letting it flow shirting pulling was exploited. In today's game every thing called and there was no hurling match. Time for a reappraisal over the ashes of the great game."
Well said Canuck. For years football has been subjected to a process of sanitisation. The referees have consistently blown for minimal contact. The rules have been changed and the physical contest for possession of the ball has been completely diluted. The number of frees and cards given has risen dramatically. Look at how Dublin and Roscommon was referred today. The game that I love is much the poorer because of the constant meddling by people who have no feel whatsoever for football. For years hurling stood firm and resisted this poison. Unfortunately the process of sanitisation has begun and once again a game I love is being completely undermined as a competitive, compelling, physical spectacle. I have watched a lot of games over the past two weekends and I despair at what is happening. The hierarchy of The GAA and the nodding shop that is Congress have an awful lot to answer for.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 16/05/2021 18:44:41    2342464

Many of the people that are elected at county board and national level in many cases never played either game at a serious level .
They do like been in charge though and implementing what they they think regardless of the consequences.Too busy filling in expense forms and covering for each other than admit they don't know what their doing .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 16/05/2021 20:28:35    2342525

Replying To OpenStand:  "Many of the people that are elected at county board and national level in many cases never played either game at a serious level .
They do like been in charge though and implementing what they they think regardless of the consequences.Too busy filling in expense forms and covering for each other than admit they don't know what their doing ."
Well as I always say, where are the "former players"?
In every club and county, there's the "former player" who is often an insufferable individual. Never go on a committee, never put his name forward for anything, but then complains about how the game is refereed/played/anything else he can find to complain about.
Maybe if more former players put themselves forward that'd be a good start.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 13:41:15    2342778

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Well as I always say, where are the "former players"?
In every club and county, there's the "former player" who is often an insufferable individual. Never go on a committee, never put his name forward for anything, but then complains about how the game is refereed/played/anything else he can find to complain about.
Maybe if more former players put themselves forward that'd be a good start."
agree 100% with this- we see it here from certain posters constantly complaining and giving out, whinging and moaning and so forth. Yet when they are asked why they do not get involved they cannot answer the thing as such.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 17/05/2021 13:55:46    2342781

Replying To tonguey:  "agree 100% with this- we see it here from certain posters constantly complaining and giving out, whinging and moaning and so forth. Yet when they are asked why they do not get involved they cannot answer the thing as such."
I also agree 100% with this. Can think of a few examples even around my own place.

A particular bugbear of mine is when managers complain about rule changes by saying things like "they" keep changing the rules and "they" never seek input from managers or players when doing so.

Every rule change has to be agreed at Congress. Before they get to Congress in the first place, they're discussed at county level. And before they're discussed at county level, they're sent out to clubs, for discussion there too.

Every single manager and player is a member of a club and so they have exactly the same right and opportunity as everybody else in the GAA to speak out against them at the appropriate time if they disagree with them. Unfortunately, it seems very few do, and it's almost always a case of giving out about them afterwards instead.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 17/05/2021 14:50:17    2342799

The game has evolved but to this? A free a minute and a point a minute. Plus the time it takes for the free and the puck outs. Plus other stoppages like line balls etc. Where is the hurling match ? Inspite of the lack of play, players are limping off the field injured. What is going on as we all agree on the athleticism of these players ?
When the game started it was like soccer with vey few scores and probable boring . Today it is getting like basket ball where the scores over 100 points are the only ones that matter and we will shortly be where over 30 points are the only ones that matter. The game was at its best when the score line read like 2-16 to 2-18. It kept you on the edge of your seat.
What is the answer ? Surly a group of intelligent people made up of the proper members could sit down and analyze the game. What were and are the attributes of the game. What new ones are an improvement ? What in the rules has caused the demise of certain parts of the game. It is nonsense for me or anyone else to say the game has evolved but the rules don't need to. Obviously coaching has a lot to do with encouraging or stamping out the sh-t we are seen. Players have to quit some of the nonsense but on the other hand if a tackle is blown up because the player falls then jersey pulling etc. is the only resort. Keeping possession is now the order of the day in hurling and football. Anyone who played the games in the past know that when you went for the ball you knew you were going to get hit and so you moved it quickly. If there is one think that has influenced our game it is the lack of and penalizing the TACKLE. Lost skill.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/05/2021 15:08:38    2342805

Intelligent people don't go on committees, they stand back and complain from afar rather than getting their hands dirty

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 15:34:38    2342818

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Intelligent people don't go on committees, they stand back and complain from afar rather than getting their hands dirty"
Beautiful and true.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 17/05/2021 16:01:54    2342839

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm not denying that some limerick players fouled but not to the bloody extent they were penalized..think some of the big physical boys from limerick will have to start throwing themselves to ground and letting out a bit of a roar,guaranteed to win a free..just letting people know Galway fully deserved the win..."
Yes that's grand, but I would bet you any money if there was 40k people at the match they'd also be screaming about frees for 70 minutes - people can't have it both ways, either we accept that every challenge isn't a free just because a player falls to the ground, or we stop the game for every one of them.
People want frees when it suits them, but when they are going against them they are "ruining the game".
It has to be one way or the other.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 16:24:57    2342850

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Intelligent people don't go on committees, they stand back and complain from afar rather than getting their hands dirty"
Nicely put Storeystash:)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 17/05/2021 16:37:52    2342861

You are probably correct.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/05/2021 19:00:36    2342894

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Yes that's grand, but I would bet you any money if there was 40k people at the match they'd also be screaming about frees for 70 minutes - people can't have it both ways, either we accept that every challenge isn't a free just because a player falls to the ground, or we stop the game for every one of them.
People want frees when it suits them, but when they are going against them they are "ruining the game".
It has to be one way or the other."
Look I hear what you are saying about the fickleness of the supporter and yes players and managers also. To me it is simple. May be because I am a simple person. At adult level allow hits from the side front or back as long as the hands and elbows are down. Hitting to the head a dismissible offence. Elbows or hand up also punishable. My god now hands are all over the place pulling, dragging impeding progress. The games are now literally non contact.Before anyone says hitting to the front and back is dangerous I don't see it any worse as wrapping a hand around the neck that is now common place. These guys who are now trained body builders can take it. The game without a tackle is a sport of free shots. Take up golfing.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/05/2021 19:16:44    2342901

Replying To Canuck:  "Look I hear what you are saying about the fickleness of the supporter and yes players and managers also. To me it is simple. May be because I am a simple person. At adult level allow hits from the side front or back as long as the hands and elbows are down. Hitting to the head a dismissible offence. Elbows or hand up also punishable. My god now hands are all over the place pulling, dragging impeding progress. The games are now literally non contact.Before anyone says hitting to the front and back is dangerous I don't see it any worse as wrapping a hand around the neck that is now common place. These guys who are now trained body builders can take it. The game without a tackle is a sport of free shots. Take up golfing."
But as a player you have to make yourself big. Some players are masters at making the tackle look worse than it was.
I don't know about frontal charges though - have been on the receiving end of a few of them and I think they are lethal. I have seen players knocked out by them. But Rory O'Connor hit Tony Kelly a perfect shoulder yesterday and that was blown. I think unless it is definitely dangerous or there is intent, the tackler has to get the benefit of the doubt.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 21:05:44    2342928

Replying To Canuck:  "Look I hear what you are saying about the fickleness of the supporter and yes players and managers also. To me it is simple. May be because I am a simple person. At adult level allow hits from the side front or back as long as the hands and elbows are down. Hitting to the head a dismissible offence. Elbows or hand up also punishable. My god now hands are all over the place pulling, dragging impeding progress. The games are now literally non contact.Before anyone says hitting to the front and back is dangerous I don't see it any worse as wrapping a hand around the neck that is now common place. These guys who are now trained body builders can take it. The game without a tackle is a sport of free shots. Take up golfing."
Allowing full-belt hits straight into the front or back would be highly dangerous, particularly if the player on the receiving end was blindsided as the hit came in, and it's highly irresponsible to even suggest it. Short of maybe American Football or ice hockey, where the players wear all sorts of padding, I can't think of a single sport that allows it. Even what would count as a perfect shoulder charge in hurling or gaelic football would earn you an automatic red card in rugby.

And saying it would be no worse than being grabbed around the neck doesn't justify it, because nobody's calling for that to be legalised either.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 17/05/2021 22:26:41    2342958

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Allowing full-belt hits straight into the front or back would be highly dangerous, particularly if the player on the receiving end was blindsided as the hit came in, and it's highly irresponsible to even suggest it. Short of maybe American Football or ice hockey, where the players wear all sorts of padding, I can't think of a single sport that allows it. Even what would count as a perfect shoulder charge in hurling or gaelic football would earn you an automatic red card in rugby.

And saying it would be no worse than being grabbed around the neck doesn't justify it, because nobody's calling for that to be legalised either."
Well right now there is no tackle allowed. Already there has been serval shoulder hits blown this year because the player fell. I don't believe a hit from the front with the feet planted and elbows down is a danger. If you leave your feet or go for the head that should be a foul. May be from behind is not a good idea. Some thing is required or else we just continue with the pulling and dragging. Getting grabbed around the neck may not be legal but is used to halt a player advancement way too often because there is no other way anymore. I don't agree with a lot Tyrell says but it is now becoming a non contact sport.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 18/05/2021 01:37:22    2342982

Replying To Canuck:  "Well right now there is no tackle allowed. Already there has been serval shoulder hits blown this year because the player fell. I don't believe a hit from the front with the feet planted and elbows down is a danger. If you leave your feet or go for the head that should be a foul. May be from behind is not a good idea. Some thing is required or else we just continue with the pulling and dragging. Getting grabbed around the neck may not be legal but is used to halt a player advancement way too often because there is no other way anymore. I don't agree with a lot Tyrell says but it is now becoming a non contact sport."
What you are proposing is a recipe for a host of broken ribs and punctured lungs in extreme cases.
Have you ever received a full force shoulder in the chest? If you had, I don't think you'd be proposing they be allowed.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/05/2021 11:15:20    2343022

Replying To Canuck:  "Well right now there is no tackle allowed. Already there has been serval shoulder hits blown this year because the player fell. I don't believe a hit from the front with the feet planted and elbows down is a danger. If you leave your feet or go for the head that should be a foul. May be from behind is not a good idea. Some thing is required or else we just continue with the pulling and dragging. Getting grabbed around the neck may not be legal but is used to halt a player advancement way too often because there is no other way anymore. I don't agree with a lot Tyrell says but it is now becoming a non contact sport."
All right. Name a single sport that allows those sort of frontal charges on players who are not wearing the sort of protective equipment that you find in American Football and ice hockey. I honestly can't think of any.

And if every single other sport in the world considers it a bad idea, how could it possibly be okay in the GAA?

StoreysTash mentions broken ribs and punctured lungs, and he's right. You could be talking whiplash and concussion too. Imagine running at full speed into a full frontal challenge that's coming at full force. Think how your head and neck would snap back. Highly dangerous, and I'll repeat that it's highly irresponsible to even suggest it.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 18/05/2021 11:27:09    2343024

The referee Barry Kelly had a very good piece in the paper about fouling in the modern game. He correctly highlights that a possession game means carrying the ball into more tackles, more crowded areas of the field and inevitably more fouls. He was also right to have a go at the analysis of Sundays game, I thought it was very unfair on Owens. Kiely was jumping up and down on the line at one stage because the referee didn't give a free to Limerick, then does an interview afterwards complaining about too many frees in the game.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/05/2021 12:06:17    2343035