New Advantage Rule In Hurling

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Can everyone get back to the topic,we don't want any more history lessons..sorry now if I'm wrong.."
I concur.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 14/05/2021 13:57:04    2341693

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."
Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]Great knowledge and here's the BIG BUT, BUT much of your annoyance with the way the game is being played. Today, ie excessive pulling and dragging and wrapping around the neck ( see the great Michael Fennnely for numerous examples of the latter) was fomented and cultivated by the same Great Brian Cody whose imperious presence was not date not be challenged by officialdom inside and outside the white lines.

So again what goes around comes around or I much prefer " sauce for the goose...... is .... " agus faighimid siudnar a ta Se."]Sorry Just need to clarify .. I goofed up.. most of above is Oldtournan's response to Gatha and my comments begin about 8 lines from the bottom with

.. " Great knowledge here........ " and was intended to be a response to Gatha's dissapointmentb with his perception of decline in current standard of play...no doubt a return to the hogs stand by Brian and Co using same standard. Would be perfectly acceptable...

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 14/05/2021 15:04:51    2341707

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Can everyone get back to the topic,we don't want any more history lessons..sorry now if I'm wrong.."
While these threads are taken up up lately with discussion on the application of the rules , the great irony here is that "those who do not learn from history are bound to repeat it and while we anonymously find fault with the style (of today's play) , we ignore or refuse to look back to what precipitated it over the past 15 years.
Nobody complained about Carlownan Mick Morrussey's All Ireland medals won with Wexford.

Similarly , I for one, am always glad to read read Oldtournan's reminiscing about players and decades past. Those who don't enjoy it are free to flood over or ignore it. Keep it coming OTM!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 14/05/2021 16:03:20    2341714

Replying To PatOLogical:  "While these threads are taken up up lately with discussion on the application of the rules , the great irony here is that "those who do not learn from history are bound to repeat it and while we anonymously find fault with the style (of today's play) , we ignore or refuse to look back to what precipitated it over the past 15 years.
Nobody complained about Carlownan Mick Morrussey's All Ireland medals won with Wexford.

Similarly , I for one, am always glad to read read Oldtournan's reminiscing about players and decades past. Those who don't enjoy it are free to flood over or ignore it. Keep it coming OTM!"
Most of Dublins all ireland hurling winners weren't born in Dublin either. I for 1 find the history fascinating.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/05/2021 19:02:29    2341743

According to Michael Verney on yesterday's weekend preview with Shane Stapleton and a piece on the examiner website a croke park management committee have to power to change the advantage rule for championship.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/05/2021 20:44:10    2341767

Replying To gatha:  "Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]You belittle the 'great Brian Cody'. He was the replacement wing back in 1973 and and had a fine game holding Liam O'Donoghue to a single point. It should be pointed out also that Phil Cullen held Frankie, Limericks most underrated forward to the three points that day, exactly the same amount Nolan got off Jim Treacy the following year. The DEPLETIONS argument used by KK in relation to the 1973 Final are totally over blown.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 15/05/2021 10:40:13    2341840

Getting back to the actual topic,Johnny Murphy not my favorite ref but thought he played advantage rule very well..one or two dodgy over carrying decisions but overall looked as if some one might have had a word ..hoping James Owens does same now in limerick/Galway game..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 15/05/2021 22:39:04    2342170

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Getting back to the actual topic,Johnny Murphy not my favorite ref but thought he played advantage rule very well..one or two dodgy over carrying decisions but overall looked as if some one might have had a word ..hoping James Owens does same now in limerick/Galway game.."
Thought the referee Johnny Murphy was harsh against Cork. Not surprised since he works in a garage on the Limerick/Tipp border. Pity that the overhead pull is now classified as a foul! That was a skill perfected by Ray Cummins, Christy Ring and Gerald McCarthy amongst others. Referee blew up on Cork several times for overcarrying, situations borderline at best. A good performance from Cork and some of the new additions Connolly, Deasy , Conor Cahalane, and Connery look at home at this level!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 16/05/2021 06:22:27    2342210

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."
Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]You belittle the 'great Brian Cody'. He was the replacement wing back in 1973 and and had a fine game holding Liam O'Donoghue to a single point. It should be pointed out also that Phil Cullen held Frankie, Limericks most underrated forward to the three points that day, exactly the same amount Nolan got off Jim Treacy the following year. The DEPLETIONS argument used by KK in relation to the 1973 Final are totally over blown."]I don't believe Kilkenny were favored against Tipp in 1964! Tipp had sauntered through Munster and if there had been a back door at that time, Tipp would have won successive All Ireland's from 1961 to 1966! Tipp were defeated in '63 and '66 in first round. The 1964 final was one where Ollie Walsh spent most of the game on the seat of his pants, courtesy of Sean McLoughlin!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 16/05/2021 12:13:21    2342277

Replying To Rockies:  "Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."
If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]You belittle the 'great Brian Cody'. He was the replacement wing back in 1973 and and had a fine game holding Liam O'Donoghue to a single point. It should be pointed out also that Phil Cullen held Frankie, Limericks most underrated forward to the three points that day, exactly the same amount Nolan got off Jim Treacy the following year. The DEPLETIONS argument used by KK in relation to the 1973 Final are totally over blown."]I don't believe Kilkenny were favored against Tipp in 1964! Tipp had sauntered through Munster and if there had been a back door at that time, Tipp would have won successive All Ireland's from 1961 to 1966! Tipp were defeated in '63 and '66 in first round. The 1964 final was one where Ollie Walsh spent most of the game on the seat of his pants, courtesy of Sean McLoughlin!"]62 final was a close game too. Tipp were the best team in the 1st half of the 60s but weren't unbeatable.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 16/05/2021 14:47:08    2342339

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/outrage-at-advantagerule-is-wide-of-the-mark-40430952.html

For me Dermot Crowe is on the money here.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 16/05/2021 15:46:31    2342364

I have always thought hurling to one of the greatest field sports but do have the right to change my mind after watching the Westmeath Waterford game. Firstly delighted that Westmeath were competitive and pleased for them. However the game was terrible and Waterford do not have many to come from this second string.
Maybe it is time to forget about a game and just do a point shooting competition. I don't know what the final tally was but it was over 30 at half time. I have always defended refs but McAllister was shocking. Anymore if a player goes to the ground in a challenge a free is given. There is no tackle in the game because you are going to be penalized. Subsequently the pulling and dragging. Throwing the ball because the player can't get a hand free or free himself from the ruck. Over carrying called in some instances and ones with twice as many steps ignored. This games should be used to demonstrate refereeing at it worst and to poll players as to, is this the sort of game they want because they are contributing to this rubbish. I have always felt refs have a tough job but the standard has tanked completely. If you want to see the great game diminish continue with this sh-t. The players are as much to blame as the refs with their unsporting conduct. In the Cork game with letting it flow shirting pulling was exploited. In today's game every thing called and there was no hurling match. Time for a reappraisal over the ashes of the great game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 16/05/2021 15:58:11    2342369

Replying To ZUL10:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/outrage-at-advantagerule-is-wide-of-the-mark-40430952.html

For me Dermot Crowe is on the money here."
Some lads making the comment the ref was poor in Ennis for not letting the game flow but there were quite a few dirty little fouls being committed too. And that's down to the players. Not the referees or the lads making the rules.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 16/05/2021 16:10:15    2342376

Looks like Hegarty will get nothing off refs this year. The commentators on TV said not alone was it a free but his man should have got a yellow. Way too many frees..lots of diving. Hurling is in trouble. Refs are almost universally poor.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/05/2021 16:23:52    2342383

I don't believe Kilkenny were favored against Tipp in 1964! Tipp had sauntered through Munster and if there had been a back door at that time, Tipp would have won successive All Ireland's from 1961 to 1966! Tipp were defeated in '63 and '66 in first round. The 1964 final was one where Ollie Walsh spent most of the game on the seat of his pants, courtesy of Sean McLoughlin!
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 563 - 16/05/2021 12:13:21 2342277

"and if there had been a back door at that time" , Tipp would have won successive All Ireland's from 1961 to 1966!"

And if my aunty had b........., she'd be my uncle. What about the teams that could have come through back door from Leinster? We could talk about if this, and if that, until the cows come home. This is pure speculation, best left to end of the night in a pub.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 16/05/2021 16:29:09    2342384

Limerick definitely being reffed completely different to Galway,mannion pulled hegarty to ground,no booking,tapped helmet no free..o neill tapped helmet gets yellow..Flanagan fouled in front of goals nothing again,English trying to get in front,Hurley held by mannion,free in..a bit of fair play lads that's all anyone wants..I can see someone being sent off for something very stupid..also if I'm right 12 frees to 5 for Galway..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 16/05/2021 16:38:48    2342388

Replying To Viking66:  "Some lads making the comment the ref was poor in Ennis for not letting the game flow but there were quite a few dirty little fouls being committed too. And that's down to the players. Not the referees or the lads making the rules."
Like all games in this league the ref was getting slated in Ennis too. But I thought he was doing his job in this game. Ultimately a silly spare hand foul cost Clare the game. Like all the other frees he blew the last one was a foul too. So we cant blame the refs for that.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 16/05/2021 16:43:07    2342391

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Getting back to the actual topic,Johnny Murphy not my favorite ref but thought he played advantage rule very well..one or two dodgy over carrying decisions but overall looked as if some one might have had a word ..hoping James Owens does same now in limerick/Galway game.."
Yes, if only those pesky refs would stop blowing for fouls........

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 16/05/2021 17:31:40    2342411

Replying To Canuck:  "I have always thought hurling to one of the greatest field sports but do have the right to change my mind after watching the Westmeath Waterford game. Firstly delighted that Westmeath were competitive and pleased for them. However the game was terrible and Waterford do not have many to come from this second string.
Maybe it is time to forget about a game and just do a point shooting competition. I don't know what the final tally was but it was over 30 at half time. I have always defended refs but McAllister was shocking. Anymore if a player goes to the ground in a challenge a free is given. There is no tackle in the game because you are going to be penalized. Subsequently the pulling and dragging. Throwing the ball because the player can't get a hand free or free himself from the ruck. Over carrying called in some instances and ones with twice as many steps ignored. This games should be used to demonstrate refereeing at it worst and to poll players as to, is this the sort of game they want because they are contributing to this rubbish. I have always felt refs have a tough job but the standard has tanked completely. If you want to see the great game diminish continue with this sh-t. The players are as much to blame as the refs with their unsporting conduct. In the Cork game with letting it flow shirting pulling was exploited. In today's game every thing called and there was no hurling match. Time for a reappraisal over the ashes of the great game."
Excellent post. Don't see any honest discussions taking place though. The narrative from the top intercounty managers is there is nothing wrong with the game.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/05/2021 17:34:15    2342412

Great win for Galway....pity we didn't beat them more.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 16/05/2021 17:41:18    2342418