New Advantage Rule In Hurling

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Gatha, I am going to matches since the early sixties and that KK/LK games of '18 and '19 were as good as any games I saw before. I saw the 2000 Limerick/ Cork Munster tie the other night and to be honest, though there was lot of blood and bluster, skill was thin on the ground and do not get me started on the distribution. TJ Ryan and Mark Foley bursting out like bulls, opening their shoulders and belting the ball down to where the Rock, Wayne Sherlock and Corcoran almost invariably caught and belted it back again. No imagination, very poor distribution and points missed from thirty yards out by some of the then top forwards in the game. Are you seriously telling that the 2018 All Ireland Semi Finals were not brilliant games. Time and again on the recording I heard Michael Duignan gasp as some of the displays of skill from various players and I can understand because some of the pick ups under pressure were phenomenal, as well as the brilliant points taken and that went for members of all four teams.
Remember lads every thing evolves and changes. Things that don't just die. Tipp had a much feared Full Line in the Fifties/Sixties of Doyle Maher and Carey, a group that had about twenty All Ireland Medals between them. I am quite sure at least two of these men would not be left next or near a county hurling team to day and the third would certainly not have played nineteen years at inter county level."
I'm with you here Oldtourman. Having spent a good bit of lockdown hearing my father wax lyrical about hurling in the 90s, while I am envious of him witnessing Wexford's All-Ireland victory in 1996 I have to be honest and say that much of the hurling was all blood and thunder with significantly less thought going in to where they were hitting the ball. And the crowd loved it.
Honestly, if I saw our club full back coming out and just laming the ball down the field, I would be shouting at him to look where he was hitting it.
The game has evolved and moved on. I do think there are way too many frees given and frees which should not be given.

As you say, sometimes the big 3 don't like it when plucky upstarts like Limerick, Wexford or Wexford start challenging them and beating them. These counties are supposed to be cannon fodder to get them warmed up for the games against each other.

While I've never been a "let it flow" merchant, as a player or a supporter, but there are too many arguable frees which are blown at the same time. The game needs a fresh set of eyes on the rule book, but to say "Thank you Limerick" is incredibly naive, bitter and stinks of a sore loser.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/05/2021 09:44:40    2341403

Replying To football first:  "In both scenarios it would seem that the foul is committed by the player in possession; it is up to the ref to spot this and award the free appropriately"
But they don't. In these 2 scenario's the advantage is more often than not given to the player in possession.
Since Adam was a boy, hurling defenders were told to "stand their ground", "don't give him an inch" and players all over the field were told to "get a hurl in". Now, players do all 3 of these and get frees blown against them. So I'll ask you again - what is wrong with the coaching on how to tackle?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/05/2021 09:46:58    2341404

Replying To Galway9801:  ""winning isn't the most important thing - it's the only thing",, straight outta the Lance Armstrong play book"
"The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 13/05/2021 09:49:30    2341405

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I have to say i enjoyed reading this post, I could sense the passion in the retort and you make some fair points. Although I'm not sure why you chose an all-ireland final from over 20 years ago as an example, the game has undergone several evolutions in the meantime. In truth my post was somewhat tongue in cheek and was intended to get a rise of PatOLogical who appears deranged with his hatred of Kilkenny

I will say you are completely wrong about the boredom though, I genuinely do not like the way hurling has evolved over the last four or five seasons, while it is a stretch to call it boring, it is definitely a lesser spectacle for it.
Do I blame Limerick, well they have certainly contributed to it, but Limerick people won't and shouldn't care as long as they keep winning titles. The game will evolve again in time, I hope for the better but I have my doubts"
No problem Hefty. I utterly agree with you about the evolution idea. Is it possible that the fact that the last two finals and both Munster finals were relatively one sided may have led to a sense of boredom in relation to the game. When Kilkenny were at their sheer pomp from say 2006 to'12 and Tipp, long ago from 58 to 68 a lot of us from the weaker counties were also, shall we say bored stiff, with the dominance of them counties. But that's just an idea.
However, I feel that people are putting a lot of emphasis on the amount of hand passing teams are doing, but Cork were doing a lot of that back in 2004/2005 and today even Limerick, but not only them, play a fair share of long cross field balls or balls hit fast down into the corners, a feature of Limerick sides hurling down through the decades, even when they got little return for it. I though '18, and not because Limerick broke their duck, was a fantastic season for hurling, with the Lk/Ck game in Pairc UI Caoimh, the KK/ Wexford game in Wexford Park- or was that '19- and the KK/LK QF, and both Semi Finals were humdingers while I think the final was an OK game as well

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/05/2021 09:49:43    2341406

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No problem Hefty. I utterly agree with you about the evolution idea. Is it possible that the fact that the last two finals and both Munster finals were relatively one sided may have led to a sense of boredom in relation to the game. When Kilkenny were at their sheer pomp from say 2006 to'12 and Tipp, long ago from 58 to 68 a lot of us from the weaker counties were also, shall we say bored stiff, with the dominance of them counties. But that's just an idea.
However, I feel that people are putting a lot of emphasis on the amount of hand passing teams are doing, but Cork were doing a lot of that back in 2004/2005 and today even Limerick, but not only them, play a fair share of long cross field balls or balls hit fast down into the corners, a feature of Limerick sides hurling down through the decades, even when they got little return for it. I though '18, and not because Limerick broke their duck, was a fantastic season for hurling, with the Lk/Ck game in Pairc UI Caoimh, the KK/ Wexford game in Wexford Park- or was that '19- and the KK/LK QF, and both Semi Finals were humdingers while I think the final was an OK game as well"
Has to be said all the Kilkenny Wexford Championship games since 2016 have been very exciting. The 2 semifinals in 2019 were exciting games too. Last year the strange circumstances, lack of crowds and winter weather probably hindered the excitement generally but the Kilkenny Waterford semi was certainly exciting. To say all games these days arent as exciting as all games in the 90s is nonsense.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11856 - 13/05/2021 10:46:59    2341420

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Yes, Lance Armstrong would have been a well known idol of John Doyle....."
Very clever. Round of applause....

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 13/05/2021 11:01:27    2341427

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Great post Oldtourman,all very well said and this line in particularly i the icing on the cake.
"I'll tell you straight Hefty, what is worrying you is nothing to do with boredom, but a lot more to do with the fact that one the lesser lights of hurling are coming to the top. " Hear! Hear!

all was great when Brian Cody was saying after several All-Irelands that : "Galway were brilliant" , Tipp were brilliant" Cork were brilliant" but thank God (spoken in butter wouldn't melt in my mouth style) we managed to bring home Liam again despite have to beat the opposition , and browbeat the refs, umpires and the media before and after the game.
The wrap around tackle whether with hurley or arm, the hurley through the face mask, the swarm or 3 man tackle which has now evolved into a 'rugby style ruck" all came in to play and was allowed to flourish during the Cody era. Only to be further allowed to permeate our game by the statement to the press of " let the game flow", by none other than the saintly Eddie Keher. Nicely packaged and timely delivered. "Let the game flow me arse". How many times over the past 10 years have we heard, 'in order to beat Kilkenny you have to play like them". Now all f a sudden when the tables have turned starting with brilliantly taken Tom Morrisssey point, now WE HAVE T REEXAMINE THE RULES AND PUNISH CYNICAL FOULING BY LIMERICK, OR WHOEVER OTHER THAN KK. Let's do that and call as the first "expert witness" , Mr. Cody himself, who after all wrote the book on this style.

take note) Sauce for the goose sauce for the gander, (hefy whatever the rest of that is, take note. You lauded this stuff a few years ago when it was in your favor.)

Come On Ye Boys In Green"
Good man Pat. Could not have put it better myself. I just loved when Brian would say, with a perfectly straight face, 'we knew we were in for a tough game today' after the Cats had just flaked the nine kinds of it out of the opposition. And this nonsense that the game must always stay the same is just that. I have read old newspaper reports from the time Limerick were flying in the thirties and drawing record crows , complaining 'Ah there are a good team alright, but there not good to watch as the teams of yesteryear. I have seen what were then current teams being compared unfavorably with reams from the past ever since. Another factor is the easily entertained idea that this team are huge as if other teams were midgets. Back in the sixties I saw Paddy Clohessey, Timmy Ryan Paddy McMahon, Mick Kennedy, John Mackey, Jackie Power and Tommy Cooke etc from that thirties team. Even though then in late middle age they were still huge men. In the Mick Mackey song there is a line that says 'Mick Hickey would face a lion in his den'. That was entirely superfluous. Any lion, with even a scintilla of his senses, would have the prudence to vacate his premises of first sighting of Mr Hickey. In any ensuing struggle there would be only one winner and it wouldn't be the lion.. The Wexford of the fifties were of similar stature.
The suggestion going around that successful teams in the past were only of average size is a joke.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/05/2021 11:26:18    2341435

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/05/2021 11:50:18    2341441

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/05/2021 12:25:02    2341450

Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day"
What are you ranting on about?

When the RoI played NI in November 1993 Danny Blanchflower was in a nursing home, suffering from Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease. He died in December three weeks after the match.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 13/05/2021 12:26:32    2341452

Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Apology accepted. But why are now going on about Kilkenny? My quote from Danny Blanchflower, was in reply to a another quote about winning

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 13/05/2021 12:59:01    2341460

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Apology accepted. But why are now going on about Kilkenny? My quote from Danny Blanchflower, was in reply to a another quote about winning"]Yes point taken CC. Talk again.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/05/2021 13:20:59    2341463

The game of hurling has evolved for sure. Some aspects for the better and comparing it cart la blanc with the past does not work. Some of evolution and behaviour is sore on the eyes while the athleticism of the players is unbelievable. However part of that evolution required changes and it is laughable when you hear certain people saying leave the game alone stop changing things. If changes did not take place there would be 25 players with peaky caps playing. Killing the goal tender would be legal and games with four or five scores would be common. (early years). A hurley like a walking stick and a ball that took on a gallon of water. What the present player wants is no change that will impede him or make him accountable. Some from the past want the game where they beat their opponent around the field with a stick. The rules will always need some tweaking but what seems to happen is certain things are honed in on and others are ignored. The pulling jerseys is now a free pass because the poor ref has something else on his mind to follow. Is this is what it means when they say let the game flow ? Be careful about getting what you ask for. Too many free ? For sure but you know who can fix that ? the players.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 13/05/2021 14:23:39    2341481

Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 13/05/2021 22:22:53    2341607

Replying To gatha:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 14/05/2021 10:54:21    2341653

Replying To gatha:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 14/05/2021 12:09:03    2341669

Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=gatha:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It is nothing of the kind. The game is about glory, it is about doing things in style and with a flourish, about going out and beating the lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."5 Danny Blanchflower"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 14/05/2021 12:41:39    2341674

Replying To gatha:  "Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]Well I agree with you about the rule changes, but I will I always defend the achievements of the '73 team, because very few other Limerick men bother to do it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 14/05/2021 13:16:19    2341680

Replying To gatha:  "Danny showed all those 'qualities' on the occasion of the ROI v NI match in Windsor Park in '93. It was the a good job the son of a Knockaderry woman, Allan McLaughlin, shut the ugly little git up that day"
Sorry Billy Bingham was the Manager that day, but you get my drift. Kilkenny never minded any of that while they were winning. Kilkenny hurling followers may well be suffering from what might be called 'All Ireland winning withdrawal syndrome'', because I never saw any of them complaining about the direction the game was taking, while they were on top. Anyway Danny was right about beating the lot- Limerick were last year the first team to win every game they played in 60 years. Thanks Danny for the compliment."]Kilkenny supporters are suffering from very little. It looks to me that a couple of Limerick supporters are hung up on Kilkenny. Maybe because the last All-Ireland Limerick won before this present team was against a Kilkenny team depleted with injuries. The same teams met the following year and we know what happened. Maybe it is because you had a couple of good teams around the mid to late 2000 but couldn't get over Kilkenny. I think it is because you had a superior team a couple of years ago and the Great Brian Cody brought up an average Kilkenny team and still were able to beat ypu. We in Kilkenny are very happy with our boys and no matter how good or bad we are we know Brian will have them ready to go. No syndromes in the Marble City Oldtourman."]If we have to go over 73 again. Limerick had four players missing in both 73 and 74. They were Leonard Enright- first played for LK as a sub goalie in 1970, left the game for five or six years but returned to win three All Stars, when he had spent the best life out of the game. Mick O'Loughlin easily the best corner back for years, who could not give the commitment demanded by Mickey Cregan in '73, Jim O'Donnell who was by a country mile the man of the match against Clare in the first round, in '73 when we narrowly beat beat Clare, but aggravated an old injury V Tipp and Mickey Graham, one of the most versatile players of his generation, who broke his leg in the league final against Wexford that year. As regards what happened the following yeaso what as for example, having won the '47 All Ireland Kilkenny lost to lowly Laois in three out of the next four championships, but did that taks from that iconic '47 win. Anyway our boys went to Thurles and beat Tipperary in the own backyard that year. By contrast went eighty years with only one victory despite playing them in Croke Park in all but one of the games they played"]I would add to the above that in '74 Limerick were essentially an ageing team. The year they should have won was '71- they lost one game by one point in the entire year. The loss in the Munster Final had a lot to do with one of the poorest refereeing performances I have seen in 60 years following the game. In '74 Phil Bennis though still only 29 had retired- he had always held his own against Eddie Keher. When asked how he did that he famously 'anywhere Eddie went I was there before him'. Gone also was Mossie Dowling, who scored the famous 'push over try' goal in '73 and the great stalwart Bernie Hartigan. Anyway there some famous losses by KK in other years after they won All Irelands. Back in '35 they edged, with like Limerick in '73, an ageing team, our boys by a point. The following year Limerick beat them by thirteen points, despite having returned from aa American trip and Tipp beat them the following by seventeen points. In 1963 when they beat Waterford it was thought KK would wipe an ageing Tipp team off the field in '64- it did not happen. Tipperary hammered them by double scores. Does that take from the '35 and '63 wins - not one iota."]36 All-Irelands and you point out two losses one in a year my Father was 2 years old. We have had plenty of losses over the years but we have no syndromes about our hurlers. Plus we are not hung up on another counties success all we are talking about is the way the game is being played and where it looks like it is headed. Football has been destroyed by rules we don't want the same to happen to hurling."]Great knowledge and here's the BIG BUT, BUT much of your annoyance with the way the game is being played. Today, ie excessive pulling and dragging and wrapping around the neck ( see the great Michael Fennnely for numerous examples of the latter) was fomented and cultivated by the same Great Brian Cody whose imperious presence was not date not be challenged by officialdom inside and outside the white lines.

So again what goes around comes around or I much prefer " sauce for the goose...... is .... " agus faighimid siudnar a ta Se.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 14/05/2021 13:38:19    2341686

Can everyone get back to the topic,we don't want any more history lessons..sorry now if I'm wrong..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 14/05/2021 13:42:11    2341687