Club Leagues For 2021

Replying To Overlord:  "Surely if Killygarry wanted to enter a 3rd team the idea is that they CAN field 2 teams the same day.
And they would have known they'd have at least 2 players on county duty so that excuse doesnt wash.

Ramors attempts to enter a 3rd team in the junior championship a few years ago was smacked down. They then entered the intermediate championship.
They eventually seen the light of day and are back to a senior and reserve team as normal."
Killygarry only have two teams, Division 1 and Division 3, no team entered in Reserve League. Redhills lost out here, no football for their first team

BreffniPark (Cavan) - Posts: 35 - 29/06/2021 07:05:35    2354440

Replying To BreffniPark:  "Killygarry only have two teams, Division 1 and Division 3, no team entered in Reserve League. Redhills lost out here, no football for their first team"
a sat eve off, 2 points bagged and the possibility that killygarry will take points of some other teams..sounds like a win win for redhills.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 30/06/2021 15:08:43    2354916

Replying To HuddHastings:  "re Killygarry, its a huge bugbear of mine when teams get to enter 2nd teams in lower leagues and then end up conceding fixtures. skews the league and leaves a team incredibly frustrated kicking their heels for a weekend. They should be kicked out immediately if they concede a game"
a Bugbearer?? let me tell you about a bugbeearer, one that the county board and ALL the clubs in the county allow.. two years ago in the u-15 grade killygarry won and league championship division 1 double. We defated gowna in both finals, no more than a kick of a ball in either final. Now two years on the same teams are at u-17 garde, and what have Gowna done?? they have amalgamated with lacken just so they can beat killygarry and win a division one title. Not only that but the same amalgation has entered a second team in the competion due to the fact they have so many players.... so clubs would want to start addressing the elephant in the breffni park room before they start getting all high and mighty with a club that is trying to make sure all its players get games and stay intrested.

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 30/06/2021 17:01:17    2354956

The southern gaels thing has been interesting me for last year or two.Ive been looking on thinking surely by now they can both go on their own.Its a purely selfish act by people trying to pick up altogether meaningless underage titles to the detriment of supplying adult players to compete in Senior Championships.when I saw that they also a 2nd team in division 3 or 4 or wherever they are,I thought ah here,what's that all about.Fair play to the laveys,Ramor,killygarry & Knockbrides competing in Division 1 as standalone clubs.

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 01/07/2021 05:09:16    2355068

Replying To CR7:  "The southern gaels thing has been interesting me for last year or two.Ive been looking on thinking surely by now they can both go on their own.Its a purely selfish act by people trying to pick up altogether meaningless underage titles to the detriment of supplying adult players to compete in Senior Championships.when I saw that they also a 2nd team in division 3 or 4 or wherever they are,I thought ah here,what's that all about.Fair play to the laveys,Ramor,killygarry & Knockbrides competing in Division 1 as standalone clubs."
No amalgamation should be allowed to enter 2 teams at the one age level… This is scandalous and clubs should immediately contact this county board and demand an explanation… Who has allowed this to happen….?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1945 - 01/07/2021 09:25:44    2355079

Replying To Brads:  "a Bugbearer?? let me tell you about a bugbeearer, one that the county board and ALL the clubs in the county allow.. two years ago in the u-15 grade killygarry won and league championship division 1 double. We defated gowna in both finals, no more than a kick of a ball in either final. Now two years on the same teams are at u-17 garde, and what have Gowna done?? they have amalgamated with lacken just so they can beat killygarry and win a division one title. Not only that but the same amalgation has entered a second team in the competion due to the fact they have so many players.... so clubs would want to start addressing the elephant in the breffni park room before they start getting all high and mighty with a club that is trying to make sure all its players get games and stay intrested."
You clearly have a short/selective memory... Oliver Plunkets???

p diddy (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 01/07/2021 10:44:25    2355095

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No amalgamation should be allowed to enter 2 teams at the one age level… This is scandalous and clubs should immediately contact this county board and demand an explanation… Who has allowed this to happen….?"
Southern gaels amalgamation is a joke. Its goin on for years at u21 and u20 level as well. No way should 2 teams that would probably manage on their own at div 2 level be allowed to amalgamate.

The fact that they have the numbers for 2 teams proves they dont need to join together.

Overlord (USA) - Posts: 46 - 01/07/2021 11:05:34    2355104

Replying To Brads:  "a Bugbearer?? let me tell you about a bugbeearer, one that the county board and ALL the clubs in the county allow.. two years ago in the u-15 grade killygarry won and league championship division 1 double. We defated gowna in both finals, no more than a kick of a ball in either final. Now two years on the same teams are at u-17 garde, and what have Gowna done?? they have amalgamated with lacken just so they can beat killygarry and win a division one title. Not only that but the same amalgation has entered a second team in the competion due to the fact they have so many players.... so clubs would want to start addressing the elephant in the breffni park room before they start getting all high and mighty with a club that is trying to make sure all its players get games and stay intrested."
don't flatter yourself that Gowna amalgamated with Lacken just to beat Killygarry !!! the Southern Gaels amalgamation is in existence approx 11 years and this year & last year have sufficient numbers to enter 2 teams. Gowna's numbers reduce dramatically over the next few years hence the need to keep the amalgamation in existence. its definitely ironic that you criticize Southern Gaels when 3 years ago Killygarry and Cavan Gaels amalgamated for 1 year as Oliver Plunketts just to win a minor championship, or what about killygarry after winning div 1 U15 in 2019 entering Div 2 U17 last year just to win a title !!

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 01/07/2021 11:07:43    2355105

Replying To bond:  "don't flatter yourself that Gowna amalgamated with Lacken just to beat Killygarry !!! the Southern Gaels amalgamation is in existence approx 11 years and this year & last year have sufficient numbers to enter 2 teams. Gowna's numbers reduce dramatically over the next few years hence the need to keep the amalgamation in existence. its definitely ironic that you criticize Southern Gaels when 3 years ago Killygarry and Cavan Gaels amalgamated for 1 year as Oliver Plunketts just to win a minor championship, or what about killygarry after winning div 1 U15 in 2019 entering Div 2 U17 last year just to win a title !!"
Southern gales have had huge panels at u20/21 level for years now, and could have each fielded their own team.
So your argument that its only in the last year or two that does hold water.
No point saying killygarry or cavan gaels have done the same, 2 wrongs dont make a right.

Overlord (USA) - Posts: 46 - 01/07/2021 13:36:04    2355136

Replying To Overlord:  "Southern gales have had huge panels at u20/21 level for years now, and could have each fielded their own team.
So your argument that its only in the last year or two that does hold water.
No point saying killygarry or cavan gaels have done the same, 2 wrongs dont make a right."
Absolute rubbish. The u21 Southern Gaels team last year had 19 players on the panel between the 2 clubs before Covid interupted the competition, the previous year there was 21/22. the Southern gaels U17 panel in 2019 had 18 players when Drumloman bet them in the semi final. would be quite difficult to make 2 teams out of those numbers

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 01/07/2021 16:06:25    2355165

Replying To p diddy:  "You clearly have a short/selective memory... Oliver Plunkets???"
sselective memeory??..im sure you would agrre normal pratice is that bottom team of the league goes down a division for championship and the winning team goes up, yet killygarry finished bottom of that league having been hammered in every game yet thye county board relegated ballyhase instead. in order to compete in the only division they were allowed compete killygarry had to amalgamate. and there was certanly no second team.

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2021 23:17:52    2355282

Replying To bond:  "don't flatter yourself that Gowna amalgamated with Lacken just to beat Killygarry !!! the Southern Gaels amalgamation is in existence approx 11 years and this year & last year have sufficient numbers to enter 2 teams. Gowna's numbers reduce dramatically over the next few years hence the need to keep the amalgamation in existence. its definitely ironic that you criticize Southern Gaels when 3 years ago Killygarry and Cavan Gaels amalgamated for 1 year as Oliver Plunketts just to win a minor championship, or what about killygarry after winning div 1 U15 in 2019 entering Div 2 U17 last year just to win a title !!"
first of all its not in existance 11 years as 2 years ago at u-15 level gowna were on there own. its wasnt one year it was for one championship as both killygarry and teh gaels played the league on their own that year, incidentally killygarry finished bottom and gaels 3rd from bottom. In last years u-17 that you have refered to, i would suggest doing a bit of homework before you make a fool of yourself, in that divsion 2 semi final kiilygarry beat ramor by two points in the semi final and the gaels by a point in the final and bar a bit of luck should have lost both games. so the results back up the fact that kiilygarry u-17s were a division 2 team in 2020

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2021 23:26:06    2355283

Replying To bond:  "Absolute rubbish. The u21 Southern Gaels team last year had 19 players on the panel between the 2 clubs before Covid interupted the competition, the previous year there was 21/22. the Southern gaels U17 panel in 2019 had 18 players when Drumloman bet them in the semi final. would be quite difficult to make 2 teams out of those numbers"
19 players at u-21 level is more than most teams have

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2021 23:29:04    2355285

Replying To Brads:  "first of all its not in existance 11 years as 2 years ago at u-15 level gowna were on there own. its wasnt one year it was for one championship as both killygarry and teh gaels played the league on their own that year, incidentally killygarry finished bottom and gaels 3rd from bottom. In last years u-17 that you have refered to, i would suggest doing a bit of homework before you make a fool of yourself, in that divsion 2 semi final kiilygarry beat ramor by two points in the semi final and the gaels by a point in the final and bar a bit of luck should have lost both games. so the results back up the fact that kiilygarry u-17s were a division 2 team in 2020"
I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you lost my point in translation. Your original point was that Gowna had amalgamated with Lacken at U17 level with the sole purpose of beating Killygarry. I clearly highlighted for you that Southern Gaels has been in existence for 11/12 years at minor & U20 levels, I never mentioned U15. Checking your facts before you start a debate is extremely beneficial and avoids the appearance of stupidity. Also I seem to remember that Killygarry lost the U17 division 1 championship final in 2019 the same year they won the u15 division 1, yet you say they were only able to enter division 2 in U17 in 2020. Seems strange & smacks off opportunism to me irrespective of what their winning margins were. I also believe last week Killygarry conceded the U17 league game to Southern Gaels citing injuries despite being one of the largest clubs in the county with huge numbers at underage levels entering 2 teams at U13 & U15 for the past few years. Also if both yourselves & Cavan Gaels were able to play in the league no matter we're they finished why just amalgate for the championship I wonder ?? Anyway I think you have enough problems within your own club not to be worrying about anyone else

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 02/07/2021 20:30:13    2355456

Replying To Brads:  "sselective memeory??..im sure you would agrre normal pratice is that bottom team of the league goes down a division for championship and the winning team goes up, yet killygarry finished bottom of that league having been hammered in every game yet thye county board relegated ballyhase instead. in order to compete in the only division they were allowed compete killygarry had to amalgamate. and there was certanly no second team."
Selective memory indeed!! Killygarry and Ballyhaise both ended up with 3 points, they drew with each other and Killygarry actually beat Lough Oughter Gaels, on the other hand Ballyhaise got their remaining 2 points from Drumlonan conceding the last game as they were already assured as a semi finalist.It's not true to say Killygarry were hammered in every game , they lost 3 , won 1 , drew 1 and conceded 1.Ballyhaise on the other hand lost 4 , drew 1 and had 1 concession, therefore a poorer record than Killygarry and so were relegated.In the 2020 U17 competition Killygarry deemed themselves not good enough to compete in Division 1 and got regraded to Division 2 , yet they had at at least 5 county minors!!!!

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 03/07/2021 15:44:54    2355614

Replying To aceofspades:  "Selective memory indeed!! Killygarry and Ballyhaise both ended up with 3 points, they drew with each other and Killygarry actually beat Lough Oughter Gaels, on the other hand Ballyhaise got their remaining 2 points from Drumlonan conceding the last game as they were already assured as a semi finalist.It's not true to say Killygarry were hammered in every game , they lost 3 , won 1 , drew 1 and conceded 1.Ballyhaise on the other hand lost 4 , drew 1 and had 1 concession, therefore a poorer record than Killygarry and so were relegated.In the 2020 U17 competition Killygarry deemed themselves not good enough to compete in Division 1 and got regraded to Division 2 , yet they had at at least 5 county minors!!!!"
Move on lads.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 850 - 03/07/2021 20:51:26    2355758

Killygarry 2nd team put it up to drung this eve..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 03/07/2021 22:51:57    2355839

Is there a reason why the county board are only releasing fixture dates one week in advance of each game? Is the same being done in other counties? Impossible for players to plan ahead with other commitments etc, doesn't seem like much to ask for in order to be able to plan ahead somewhat...

an_cearrbhach (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 04/07/2021 10:49:20    2355932

Replying To an_cearrbhach:  "Is there a reason why the county board are only releasing fixture dates one week in advance of each game? Is the same being done in other counties? Impossible for players to plan ahead with other commitments etc, doesn't seem like much to ask for in order to be able to plan ahead somewhat..."
Longford got a 7/8 week club fixture schedule before the 1st game including opposition, dates, times.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 04/07/2021 17:09:54    2356053

Replying To bond:  "I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you lost my point in translation. Your original point was that Gowna had amalgamated with Lacken at U17 level with the sole purpose of beating Killygarry. I clearly highlighted for you that Southern Gaels has been in existence for 11/12 years at minor & U20 levels, I never mentioned U15. Checking your facts before you start a debate is extremely beneficial and avoids the appearance of stupidity. Also I seem to remember that Killygarry lost the U17 division 1 championship final in 2019 the same year they won the u15 division 1, yet you say they were only able to enter division 2 in U17 in 2020. Seems strange & smacks off opportunism to me irrespective of what their winning margins were. I also believe last week Killygarry conceded the U17 league game to Southern Gaels citing injuries despite being one of the largest clubs in the county with huge numbers at underage levels entering 2 teams at U13 & U15 for the past few years. Also if both yourselves & Cavan Gaels were able to play in the league no matter we're they finished why just amalgate for the championship I wonder ?? Anyway I think you have enough problems within your own club not to be worrying about anyone else"
killygarry conceded that game they have a panel of 21 only, of that 6 were injuried. it was decided not to put 14/15 year olds out aginst a super allamagation where most of the team are 17. the reason for div 2 in 2017 was because the majorty of teh team the year before was overage. i did notice a few weeks back gowna hadnt enough of a senior panel to field a reserve team against killygarry, so i see the super amllgamation is working weel for them

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 05/07/2021 22:05:43    2356769