Elite Sport

Replying To republicofcloone:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "o by your example someone who works full time as a farmer we'll say and also volunteers for the order of Malta is a full time paramedic?
republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 325 - 09/05/2021 15:11:13

not near the same. if you are training 20 hours a week and paid to do so then you are a professional athlete. didnt think that that would need to be explained to people.

bringing up order of malta and paramedics shows you havent a clue. do you know what order of malta can do compared to a paramedic?
no as if you did you wouldnt have brought them into this discussion."
GAA players train nearly the same amount of time and they get expenses..are they professional so? No because they have full time jobs also which is the same as the women rugby yes."
The 7s players on the womens 15s side are fully professional and there is others who are at moment considering theyre development officers with provinces and heyond that are pro athletes.

Going back to order of malta and paramedics. Very different. Paramedics are a protected title and very different...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 10/05/2021 10:33:43    2340872

Replying To tonguey:  "Oh he was indeed. He had a car and it went meep meep"
Meep meep eh ?Must be a Cavan manufacturered car so.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 10:40:21    2340874

Replying To catch22:  "Meep meep eh ?Must be a Cavan manufacturered car so."
No we don't manufacture cars in Cavan- that is silly

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 10:42:39    2340876

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To republicofcloone:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "o by your example someone who works full time as a farmer we'll say and also volunteers for the order of Malta is a full time paramedic?

not near the same. if you are training 20 hours a week and paid to do so then you are a professional athlete. didnt think that that would need to be explained to people.

bringing up order of malta and paramedics shows you havent a clue. do you know what order of malta can do compared to a paramedic?
GAA players train nearly the same amount of time and they get expenses..are they professional so? No because they have full time jobs also which is the same as the women rugby yes."
The 7s players on the womens 15s side are fully professional and there is others who are at moment considering theyre development officers with provinces and heyond that are pro athletes.

Going back to order of malta and paramedics. Very different. Paramedics are a protected title and very different..."]So less than half the team is professional????? But you said they are professional?? That is obviously untrue. Why do you say things that are fabrications?? You have been found out badly and as they say you should put aside the spade and stop digging my dear man

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 10:47:15    2340877

Replying To republicofcloone:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "o by your example someone who works full time as a farmer we'll say and also volunteers for the order of Malta is a full time paramedic?

Going back to order of malta and paramedics. Very different. Paramedics are a protected title and very different..."]So they are professionals with another sporting team moonlighting with another team in a part time capacity. That happened in the old days too in baseball etc.
Of course they're different. You've proved your own point there isn't she.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 10/05/2021 10:48:50    2340878

Replying To tonguey:  "No we don't manufacture cars in Cavan- that is silly"
You manufacture silly ? Fair enough. That I can believe.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 11:08:14    2340886

Replying To catch22:  "You manufacture silly ? Fair enough. That I can believe."
seeing as you are from America you'd believe anything

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 12:00:27    2340894

Replying To tonguey:  "seeing as you are from America you'd believe anything"
Sure don't all ye boys end up here too. Can't wait to get outta the place.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 12:42:01    2340904

Replying To catch22:  "Sure don't all ye boys end up here too. Can't wait to get outta the place."
Eh no we don't- some of us make it in Ireland

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 13:11:21    2340909

As the song goes, if I can make it there, i'll make it anywhere, it's up to you Arva, Arvaaaaaaaaaaaa

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 10/05/2021 13:34:46    2340913

Replying To tonguey:  "Eh no we don't- some of us make it in Ireland"
Aye, sure some of ye even wear clothes now.
Quare bunch of lads alright.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 14:45:03    2340933

Replying To catch22:  "Aye, sure some of ye even wear clothes now.
Quare bunch of lads alright."
Yea think your humour is going down like a lead balloon baby wow. You are not even making sense so stop trying to be funny as it is cringy

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 14:57:21    2340934

Replying To tonguey:  "Yea think your humour is going down like a lead balloon baby wow. You are not even making sense so stop trying to be funny as it is cringy"
Ah you'll be grand crater. Don't be getting yourself upset there.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 15:07:02    2340936

Replying To catch22:  "Ah you'll be grand crater. Don't be getting yourself upset there."
oh that is outrageous

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/05/2021 15:15:44    2340939

Replying To tonguey:  "oh that is outrageous"
Probably would be considered a bit outrageous alright in Cavan I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 15:27:41    2340945

Going back to order of malta and paramedics. Very different. Paramedics are a protected title and very different..."]You have made this claim again and again yet you have never supplied the relevant information that would substantiate your claim. Provide us with the numbers please. How many players are on the Irish women's rugby squad? How many of those players are sevens players? Are those sevens players contractually required to also act as games promotions officers? Apart from the sevens players how many players on the Irish women's rugby panel are "pro athletes" because they work as games promotion officers in the provinces? Are those players you assert are games promotion officers in the provinces paid to play for the Irish women's rugby team? If they are not then they are amateur players. The Irish women's rugby squad have been described by our rugby correspondents as being amateur. Prove them wrong by finally supplying the relevant information to substantiate your claim.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 10/05/2021 16:53:06    2340971

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0510/1220832-dundalk-cancel-training-for-tests-after-belfast-outing/
Judging by this report, you'd wonder about how "elite" LOI is!! Imagine the outcry in the media if this was an inter-county GAA team. It would keep Joe Duffy busy for a month.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 10/05/2021 22:25:53    2341014