Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship?

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You may not like the fact but nevertheless that's what it is and will remain until you show it to be otherwise.
If you cannot then that simple reinforces it.
Best of luck to Meath this year."
Where were Dublin hurlers before the money ?? Nowhere. They were league and Leinster champions since then. They have improved dramatically. The reason they aren't as successful as the footballers ? They were coming from a hell lot lower base.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2021 12:24:33    2340898

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Meath lost by 4 points to Dublin in Parnell Park last year shortly before the championship started, what seemed to be an encouraging display turned out to be completely irrelevant though come the championship.
What I found very disheartening last year was I thought with the disruption to preparation of teams it would give teams a much better chance against Dublin. It didn't work out that way."
Considering that dublin were training away through the training ban I'd expect they'll be even stronger this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/05/2021 13:01:58    2340907

Back crawling again I see Tommy.
Get up off your knees boy and don't be making a show of yourself.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2021 13:50:00    2340919

On the subject of the Leinster Championship, does anybody have any understanding of how they choose the venues for these matches?

Wicklow vs Wexford is in Aughrim, fair enough. Louth play Offaly in Navan and Longford play Carlow in Tullamore? There's no crowds so capacity isn't an issue. If it is to do with media facilities, why aren't Offaly playing in Tullamore? It's always driven me mad how they seem to just make it up?

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 10/05/2021 14:23:31    2340928

Replying To catch22:  "Back crawling again I see Tommy.
Get up off your knees boy and don't be making a show of yourself."
Catch22, which one of the posters is Tommy? I've my suspicions when you mention "crawling" and on his knees.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 10/05/2021 15:57:15    2340953

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Considering that dublin were training away through the training ban I'd expect they'll be even stronger this year."
Getting your excuses in early Kboy ? You should be worrying about the big 2 in the hurling province of Munster before you even contemplate taking on the 6 in a row champions!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 10/05/2021 17:07:46    2340973

Replying To Victorious87:  "On the subject of the Leinster Championship, does anybody have any understanding of how they choose the venues for these matches?

Wicklow vs Wexford is in Aughrim, fair enough. Louth play Offaly in Navan and Longford play Carlow in Tullamore? There's no crowds so capacity isn't an issue. If it is to do with media facilities, why aren't Offaly playing in Tullamore? It's always driven me mad how they seem to just make it up?"
Louth home games are actually navan (ironically) until they get the new facilities in place. Think also there is a issue with Longford pitch (tbh I thought it was sorted

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2021 19:14:29    2340985

Replying To royaldunne:  "Louth home games are actually navan (ironically) until they get the new facilities in place. Think also there is a issue with Longford pitch (tbh I thought it was sorted"
Offaly were picked out the hat first so they should have home advantage Royaldunne.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 10/05/2021 20:46:52    2340999

Replying To Ollie2:  "Offaly were picked out the hat first so they should have home advantage Royaldunne."
Sorry Ollie ur right, why then is it not in tullamore ??
Ahh the gaa, if they can create a mess they always will.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2021 06:55:13    2341040

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Catch22, which one of the posters is Tommy? I've my suspicions when you mention "crawling" and on his knees."
Ya, ah that poor case above from Kerry.
Always sidling up to anyone that might tell him he's a great lad. Sad case really.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/05/2021 10:29:10    2341053

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry Ollie ur right, why then is it not in tullamore ??
Ahh the gaa, if they can create a mess they always will."
Bit like Meath I suppose so.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/05/2021 10:30:22    2341054

Replying To catch22:  "Ya, ah that poor case above from Kerry.
Always sidling up to anyone that might tell him he's a great lad. Sad case really."
I suspected correctly. Himself and another one or two down there are ultra-vindictive and so sensitive about the Du6s stealing their limelight, and even succeeding where the Kingdom felt flat on its collective backside; ie, doing the five, and then actually the six, and perhaps even now the seven. Oh! The audacity out of the Jackeens to be better than Kerry!

But my fellow American, they're not all like that, TG. I've lived down in the Kingdom on a couple of occasions, and as fine a crowd you couldn't meet; great ould sport and craic. However, the couple that can hide their little-mindedness and peevishness, let all the other good folks down.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 11/05/2021 10:51:40    2341061

Replying To catch22:  "Bit like Meath I suppose so."
The U S and A like apples

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 11/05/2021 11:02:03    2341062

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I suspected correctly. Himself and another one or two down there are ultra-vindictive and so sensitive about the Du6s stealing their limelight, and even succeeding where the Kingdom felt flat on its collective backside; ie, doing the five, and then actually the six, and perhaps even now the seven. Oh! The audacity out of the Jackeens to be better than Kerry!

But my fellow American, they're not all like that, TG. I've lived down in the Kingdom on a couple of occasions, and as fine a crowd you couldn't meet; great ould sport and craic. However, the couple that can hide their little-mindedness and peevishness, let all the other good folks down."
Oh , 100% chief. Sure I was there only 2 years ago and they're grand in general but there's a few that make a balls of themselves when they can hide in anonymity.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/05/2021 11:20:13    2341070

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry Ollie ur right, why then is it not in tullamore ??
Ahh the gaa, if they can create a mess they always will."
The last four Championship meetings between Louth and Offaly have been in Navan. Two wins each for both counties. Louth won the first and third meeting so going by the law of averages they should win this match.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 11/05/2021 22:24:37    2341186

Replying To royaldunne:  "Where were Dublin hurlers before the money ?? Nowhere. They were league and Leinster champions since then. They have improved dramatically. The reason they aren't as successful as the footballers ? They were coming from a hell lot lower base."
You're clutching at straws there lad if you are suggesting that one LSHC win almost a decade ago is proof that investment in Dublin hurling is paying great dividends. There was tumbleweed before and there has been tumbleweed since that win. Have you not been looking at the Dubs over the past few years? They've been in reverse. Arguably the side in the early 90s was a better panel than the current crop. You'll have to dig further to find this evidence that you seek.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/05/2021 19:13:42    2341331

No

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 13/05/2021 12:49:45    2341457

Looking at how Meath and Kildare were scrapping at eachother yesterday, it actually looked like neither of them had any interest in being available for the championship. Hard to blame them as this was the last meaningful game for any county this year.

I wonder if any Leinster counties are contemplating a boycott?

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 14/06/2021 17:25:35    2350876

We have a free shot at it now, Louth or Offaly will be tough opponents whoever comes through, it's the 1st time in my lifetime 50+ that I have viewed the league as more important for us than championship, yesterday was the pinnacle of our season and we can now start to prepare for 2022, but I would see the 2021 leinster championship as part of that preparation for next year

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 14/06/2021 23:03:51    2351001

Replying To NorthKildare:  "We have a free shot at it now, Louth or Offaly will be tough opponents whoever comes through, it's the 1st time in my lifetime 50+ that I have viewed the league as more important for us than championship, yesterday was the pinnacle of our season and we can now start to prepare for 2022, but I would see the 2021 leinster championship as part of that preparation for next year"
I agree but, Isn't it mad to be saying that? A lot of teams really went for the league this year to progress but what exactly are we all progressing to? Is the pinnacle to loose to Dublin by 19 points instead of 20?

It's gone so beyond a joke at this stage that a lot of us are just meekly accepting it.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 15/06/2021 22:46:59    2351308