The League

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Agree 100%, the league title would be a big deal to a team that hasn't won any cup or title in a long time but to the big teams winning the league means almost nothing, it's just a warm up for the Championship, blood a few young players maybe and don't show your hand before championship,
Tyrone V Donegal opening game in the league will likely be played like a friendly match, be a different story if we both make it to the Ulster semi final though."
Why is it only ulster that still holds this view ??
I am genuinely interested, is it self belief? Is it a unwillingness to see what's goin on ? I'm not having a go but no county in Leinster thinks like that. And I am talking about counties that have more all Ireland than either Donegal or Tyrone, Meath are in the top 5 in traditional counties, Offaly have a huge tradition, Kildare same, Laois Westmeath etc have all beat or win provincials this century yet they have all come to the belief that the all ire is now a dead competition,
The view that it's only a warm up (the league) seems to only come from ulster counties. Do they still believe they can beat Dublin? And Kerry ? Let's be honest and I'm not having a go here, neither Donegal nor Tyrone are going to win Sam this year or next for that matter, neither would beat dubs and either would find it hard to beat Kerry, they really are in the also rans along with a lot of other counties. I admire ur optimism, sure I am always a half full glass man. But how many all ire will dub have to win to change these counties minds ? I know Donegal were last team to beat them and all that, however just 4 years previously Meath put 5 goals past cluxton and destroyed them yet we can see what the gaa created , why can't some ulster counties ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2021 08:37:22    2338689

Replying To royaldunne:  "So only dub will be remembered?"
Out of Leinster, yes.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 25/04/2021 10:22:55    2338696

Replying To royaldunne:  "Why is it only ulster that still holds this view ??
I am genuinely interested, is it self belief? Is it a unwillingness to see what's goin on ? I'm not having a go but no county in Leinster thinks like that. And I am talking about counties that have more all Ireland than either Donegal or Tyrone, Meath are in the top 5 in traditional counties, Offaly have a huge tradition, Kildare same, Laois Westmeath etc have all beat or win provincials this century yet they have all come to the belief that the all ire is now a dead competition,
The view that it's only a warm up (the league) seems to only come from ulster counties. Do they still believe they can beat Dublin? And Kerry ? Let's be honest and I'm not having a go here, neither Donegal nor Tyrone are going to win Sam this year or next for that matter, neither would beat dubs and either would find it hard to beat Kerry, they really are in the also rans along with a lot of other counties. I admire ur optimism, sure I am always a half full glass man. But how many all ire will dub have to win to change these counties minds ? I know Donegal were last team to beat them and all that, however just 4 years previously Meath put 5 goals past cluxton and destroyed them yet we can see what the gaa created , why can't some ulster counties ?"
Wasn't that the year Meath ( beat ) Louth in the Leinster final ? It's almost like that was when everything started to go wrong for Meath. And then there was 4 points over Cluxton a couple of years ago. What a shambles eh.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/04/2021 11:10:18    2338699

The view that it's only a warm up (the league) seems to only come from ulster counties. Do they still believe they can beat Dublin? And Kerry ? Let's be honest and I'm not having a go here, neither Donegal nor Tyrone are going to win Sam this year or next for that matter, neither would beat dubs and either would find it hard to beat Kerry, they really are in the also rans along with a lot of other counties. I admire ur optimism, sure I am always a half full glass man. But how many all ire will dub have to win to change these counties minds ? I know Donegal were last team to beat them and all that, however just 4 years previously Meath put 5 goals past cluxton and destroyed them yet we can see what the gaa created , why can't some ulster counties ?"
Funny everything you say you seem to be a glass half empty type of person. Not Dublins fault they don't get a test in Leinster. Always looking forward to the championship. Connacht just as hard as Ulster to get out of compared to the other two. Time for open draw and it might stop all this crying.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 25/04/2021 13:03:48    2338703

Replying To catch22:  "Wasn't that the year Meath ( beat ) Louth in the Leinster final ? It's almost like that was when everything started to go wrong for Meath. And then there was 4 points over Cluxton a couple of years ago. What a shambles eh."
That's the Paddy Keenan curse. Meath won't win another Leinster till Louth win one. Also on Easter Sunday on April 8th in 2012 on the last round of league games Louth relegated Meath in Navan. Meath were relegated to Division 3 for the first time since 1950's.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 25/04/2021 14:00:30    2338706

Replying To Saynothing:  "Out of Leinster, yes."
I remember them destroying Tyrone and never forget John McDermott great quote. Ur not that great now are you :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2021 14:27:18    2338707

Replying To royaldunne:  "I remember them destroying Tyrone and never forget John McDermott great quote. Ur not that great now are you :)"
Not that great, but still playing Div 1 football.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 25/04/2021 15:04:19    2338711

Replying To Ollie2:  "That's the Paddy Keenan curse. Meath won't win another Leinster till Louth win one. Also on Easter Sunday on April 8th in 2012 on the last round of league games Louth relegated Meath in Navan. Meath were relegated to Division 3 for the first time since 1950's."
Ollie me old friend how are you keeping?
On another note. What will Harte bring to Louth this year. ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2021 16:04:27    2338714

Not sure how you equate me thinking that the league doesn't matter to the big teams with us beating Dublin or Kerry in Championship,
I think we are capable of beating any team in Ireland if we get everything right and get a bit of luck on the day, I wouldn't be saying we are going to win the All Ireland but the potential is there,
maybe Tyrone this year with a full squad and the freshness from a new management team could surprise a few people too, be no surprise to me though, if they get out of Ulster they will have no fear of Kerry the likely Munster winners,
Dublin will be beaten eventually, why not this year? they are only human like the rest of us.
what I see about the league for us is you want to stay in div 1, to have those games against the top teams before Championship to blood a few players and try a few things out, I don't think Kerry or Dublin give two hoots about winning the league, for the likes of ourselves with the young panel we have it might mean a lot and give the young lads confidence, other than that lifting the Anglo Celt again and getting into another All Ireland semi final would be a great year for us,
Like the man said if you don't believe you won't achieve. I'd like to see Meath getting back to the top table and challenge the Dubs again in Leinster, you had a hell of a team there once upon a time.
Can't wait for the Ulster Championship to start, just hope we get off to a good start in Newry.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 25/04/2021 18:43:03    2338721

Replying To Ollie2:  "That's the Paddy Keenan curse. Meath won't win another Leinster till Louth win one. Also on Easter Sunday on April 8th in 2012 on the last round of league games Louth relegated Meath in Navan. Meath were relegated to Division 3 for the first time since 1950's."
Oh I'd say Paddy cursed them good alright.
Sure with Mickey at the helm and Louth in the same colours as Tyrone who knows what might happen.
Louth for Sam be Jaysus.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/04/2021 18:49:37    2338722

Replying To Saynothing:  "Not that great, but still playing Div 1 football."
Thought league didn't matter to the mighty :) Tyrone . :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2021 20:30:14    2338737

I'd love to see a competitive Leinster championship again before the all Ireland eventually goes to an open draw format. Unfortunately the likes of the Meath team who overachieved in the 90's is a distant memory now. Fair enough they got the rub of the green and a few dodgy decisions from referees went in their favour over the years but they were still a class act. The Kildare team of 98 were excellent. Offaly of the early eighties. Meath were a flash in the pan in 2010 again but thats been it for a long long time. It's sad to see.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 25/04/2021 21:32:14    2338739

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Not sure how you equate me thinking that the league doesn't matter to the big teams with us beating Dublin or Kerry in Championship,
I think we are capable of beating any team in Ireland if we get everything right and get a bit of luck on the day, I wouldn't be saying we are going to win the All Ireland but the potential is there,
maybe Tyrone this year with a full squad and the freshness from a new management team could surprise a few people too, be no surprise to me though, if they get out of Ulster they will have no fear of Kerry the likely Munster winners,
Dublin will be beaten eventually, why not this year? they are only human like the rest of us.
what I see about the league for us is you want to stay in div 1, to have those games against the top teams before Championship to blood a few players and try a few things out, I don't think Kerry or Dublin give two hoots about winning the league, for the likes of ourselves with the young panel we have it might mean a lot and give the young lads confidence, other than that lifting the Anglo Celt again and getting into another All Ireland semi final would be a great year for us,
Like the man said if you don't believe you won't achieve. I'd like to see Meath getting back to the top table and challenge the Dubs again in Leinster, you had a hell of a team there once upon a time.
Can't wait for the Ulster Championship to start, just hope we get off to a good start in Newry."
People can believe all the want. I'd be pretty believing in giving either Donegal or Tyrone a hell of a match. Dublin? No. And the same would apply to Donegal or Tyrone. Dublin maybe be beaten at some stage. But they will likely get 10 in a row.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/04/2021 00:14:49    2338759

Replying To thegadfly:  "I'd love to see a competitive Leinster championship again before the all Ireland eventually goes to an open draw format. Unfortunately the likes of the Meath team who overachieved in the 90's is a distant memory now. Fair enough they got the rub of the green and a few dodgy decisions from referees went in their favour over the years but they were still a class act. The Kildare team of 98 were excellent. Offaly of the early eighties. Meath were a flash in the pan in 2010 again but thats been it for a long long time. It's sad to see."
Wexford unlucky not to beat the Dubs in the late noughties and got to an AISF in 2008 beat Armagh in QFs and not far off a great Tyrone team, the best team of the noughties, in the Semi.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 26/04/2021 08:57:32    2338767

Replying To royaldunne:  "People can believe all the want. I'd be pretty believing in giving either Donegal or Tyrone a hell of a match. Dublin? No. And the same would apply to Donegal or Tyrone. Dublin maybe be beaten at some stage. But they will likely get 10 in a row."
That's the spirit. keep thinking like that and you're beaten before you start, if that's the attitude in Leinster no wonder Dublin can win it without hardly breaking a sweat.
Time will tell and Dublin are well capable of winning 10 in a row, it's up to the likes of Kerry and Tyrone etc and maybe ourselves to take them on, hard to know with Connacht, Mayo are in transition and Galway haven't lived up to their potential yet anyway, lot of talk about them in the last few years.
Looks like nothing is going to bother them in Leinster unless Mickey can work his magic in Louth.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 26/04/2021 09:57:27    2338773

Replying To Viking66:  "Wexford unlucky not to beat the Dubs in the late noughties and got to an AISF in 2008 beat Armagh in QFs and not far off a great Tyrone team, the best team of the noughties, in the Semi."
Yes. 100%. That was a classy Wexford team. Very hard to sustain that level of competitiveness though. A wonderful year for ye. To keep the conveyer belt of talent coming through is the key. I expect Louth to come on strong in the next few years. They seem to be making great stride off the field anyway.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 26/04/2021 10:08:29    2338776

Replying To Viking66:  "Wexford unlucky not to beat the Dubs in the late noughties and got to an AISF in 2008 beat Armagh in QFs and not far off a great Tyrone team, the best team of the noughties, in the Semi."
And let's not forget about offaly in 97. Vinny Claffey, Roy Malone et al. Worthy champions. They played some of the best football that day. I was actually at that final. After the game we said we'd take a walk onto the hallowed turf of Croke Park and we only made it onto the pitch and a bottle flew past my friends head. We had to turn back as the Meath fans in the canal end started a riot. I still don't know why but only I saw it with my own eyes I wouldn't believe it.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 26/04/2021 10:26:56    2338780

I don't think the view is widespread through Ulster in regards the league to be honest. I haven't seen much evidence of Ulster counties taking their foot the gas in league games over the past few years; and in my opinion the interviews pre and post game are genuine. Championship in the GAA will always be number one; but having a successful league and competing in the highest league possible brings so much sporting, commercial and financial benefit.

I expect this year's league to be the most intense in years, throughout all the leagues due to the lack of games and need to get points.

In my opinion the original poster may be talking about a Donegal issue. Donegal are still a top team but they rely on a lot of players with miles on the clock, and I don't think the Ulster final was that big of a shock last season.

When a younger, hungry, determined Cavan team went at them they struggled same with other big games they've played over the past few seasons; they've built up a reputation so teams sit back against them which allows the game to be slow but if teams are brave and increase the energy and intensity I'm not sure about Donegal these days - they certainly won't be getting near an All Ireland in the next few years.

Cavan showed Donegal football may be on the way down so managing the squad during the league may be essential. I don't expect Tyrone to use that league game as a friendly though.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 26/04/2021 10:28:55    2338782

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ollie me old friend how are you keeping?
On another note. What will Harte bring to Louth this year. ?"
Alright Royaldunne me oule flower. How are you keeping? I'm great cheers. A few of the Louth players have come back into the squad notable Andy Mc Donnell and the Byrne Brothers Declan and Ciaran. Getting out of Division four and a good run in the Championship will be Harte's main aims. With the new Stadium up and running in Fundalk, the future is bright and the future is red and white. Up the Wee County!

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 26/04/2021 10:33:20    2338783

Replying To catch22:  "Oh I'd say Paddy cursed them good alright.
Sure with Mickey at the helm and Louth in the same colours as Tyrone who knows what might happen.
Louth for Sam be Jaysus."
Well I am not greedy so I will settle for a Leinster title. Ironically when Louth last won Sam in the great year of 1957, they beat Tyrone well in the All Ireland semi-final. It was the first Championship meeting between the teams and the only Louth victory over Tyrone in five Championship meetings.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 26/04/2021 10:37:30    2338786