Question For Cork Supporters

I'm disappointed as Munster rugby fan to see Darren Sweetnam leave Munster, I remember him playing for the Cork hurlers a few years back. He was a fine player and when he left I felt he was a loss to ye. I can only imagine how good a midfielder partnership of Darren Sweetnam and Darragh Fitzgibbon would be now.

So anyway my question for the Cork supporters is do ye think the loss of Darren Sweetnam had any impact on Cork hurling. Could he have made a difference against Clare in both all irelands final in 2013 or against us in the semi-final in 2018.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 11/04/2021 10:59:43    2336832

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I'm disappointed as Munster rugby fan to see Darren Sweetnam leave Munster, I remember him playing for the Cork hurlers a few years back. He was a fine player and when he left I felt he was a loss to ye. I can only imagine how good a midfielder partnership of Darren Sweetnam and Darragh Fitzgibbon would be now.

So anyway my question for the Cork supporters is do ye think the loss of Darren Sweetnam had any impact on Cork hurling. Could he have made a difference against Clare in both all irelands final in 2013 or against us in the semi-final in 2018."
Sweetnam was definitely a huge loss but wouldn't use it as an excuse for our drought. Cork in the last 20 years have just been way off the pace and I don't think even with Sweetnam wouldn't have made difference and that's due to miss management of our development squads for years and years. The Cork County Board had/have an attitude that we are cork we will always be the top dogs. That sort of arrogance is why we are where we are.

The likes of Limerick, Tipp and Galway have nurtured the talent in county better than Cork.

No Cork person can blame Sweetnam for leaving. I think any athlete that has a chance to go professional they should take it even if that means losing our best players to Rugby or AFL.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 11/04/2021 11:55:32    2336839

We'll never know. Sure tis like asking if ROG would have made the difference in some of Ireland's losses had he been available.
I suppose the best question you can ask is one that has no answer as the fella said.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/04/2021 12:48:04    2336845

Replying To pkboher:  "Sweetnam was definitely a huge loss but wouldn't use it as an excuse for our drought. Cork in the last 20 years have just been way off the pace and I don't think even with Sweetnam wouldn't have made difference and that's due to miss management of our development squads for years and years. The Cork County Board had/have an attitude that we are cork we will always be the top dogs. That sort of arrogance is why we are where we are.

The likes of Limerick, Tipp and Galway have nurtured the talent in county better than Cork.

No Cork person can blame Sweetnam for leaving. I think any athlete that has a chance to go professional they should take it even if that means losing our best players to Rugby or AFL."
With Setanta O'hAalpín and Darren Sweetnam you can't blame those lads for leaving the GAA to play professional sport alright, they had too good an opportunity to turn down.

With Cork I still think they are under-achieving with this team. In my opinion they will be the best team never to win an all-Ireland if they don't win 1, I think they are better than Limerick's 90's team and Waterford's and Galway's 00's teams. I can't get my head around a county with a forward line that has Alan Cadogan, Seamus Harnedy, Conor Lehane, Pat Horgan, Luke Meade and Shane Kingston can't win an all-Ireland.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 12/04/2021 10:30:53    2336936

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "With Setanta O'hAalpín and Darren Sweetnam you can't blame those lads for leaving the GAA to play professional sport alright, they had too good an opportunity to turn down.

With Cork I still think they are under-achieving with this team. In my opinion they will be the best team never to win an all-Ireland if they don't win 1, I think they are better than Limerick's 90's team and Waterford's and Galway's 00's teams. I can't get my head around a county with a forward line that has Alan Cadogan, Seamus Harnedy, Conor Lehane, Pat Horgan, Luke Meade and Shane Kingston can't win an all-Ireland."
Just focus on Limerick, and stop trying to wind up the Cork
lads. I'm sure that you're totally delighted that none of those six forwards has an AI medal. It's much longer now that the 1954 to 1966 spell without Liam visiting Cork. Was the last decade the first one ever where Cork didn't win at least one AI? The longer it goes on the heavier the pressure will become, which is good for your own, beloved Limk, dualsupport (I take it that the 'dual' means Limk footballers and hurlers, and not Limk hurlers and Cork hurlers).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 12/04/2021 12:09:30    2336948

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Just focus on Limerick, and stop trying to wind up the Cork
lads. I'm sure that you're totally delighted that none of those six forwards has an AI medal. It's much longer now that the 1954 to 1966 spell without Liam visiting Cork. Was the last decade the first one ever where Cork didn't win at least one AI? The longer it goes on the heavier the pressure will become, which is good for your own, beloved Limk, dualsupport (I take it that the 'dual' means Limk footballers and hurlers, and not Limk hurlers and Cork hurlers)."
Jaysus lad what sort of a bitter person are you, I said nothing out the way in either of my posts and its not my style to start a wind-up, any altercation I had with posters here is when some others came at me for my opinions a bit like yourself now. It was a genuine post to get a Cork perspective on a player who recently left Munster rugby. Your telling me to "just focus on Limerick" how about I don't, there is many topics of interest and discussions within GAA other than 1's own county. Of course I want to see Limerick win as often as possible but I take no joy in any other counties misfortune and I have gave nothing but praise to those Cork players on hoganstand Seamus Harnedy especially, so get over yourself a small bit.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 12/04/2021 13:04:32    2336964

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Jaysus lad what sort of a bitter person are you, I said nothing out the way in either of my posts and its not my style to start a wind-up, any altercation I had with posters here is when some others came at me for my opinions a bit like yourself now. It was a genuine post to get a Cork perspective on a player who recently left Munster rugby. Your telling me to "just focus on Limerick" how about I don't, there is many topics of interest and discussions within GAA other than 1's own county. Of course I want to see Limerick win as often as possible but I take no joy in any other counties misfortune and I have gave nothing but praise to those Cork players on hoganstand Seamus Harnedy especially, so get over yourself a small bit."
Please accept my apologies dualsupport. I know that you're a genuine Gael and a sound Limerick man. The fact is that I actually do like to see Cork hurlers down. I never liked how they treated Gerard McCarthy, a fine man. He was much maligned. I said it at the time, that Cork hurling would have no luck for that, and it hasn't had. Even Sean Og has since admitted that he regrets it.

And it's not the county per se, that I'm against. While I may like to see their hurlers down, I do like to see their footballers rise. They'd a mighty win last year. It's a strange one.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 12/04/2021 16:41:12    2336996

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Please accept my apologies dualsupport. I know that you're a genuine Gael and a sound Limerick man. The fact is that I actually do like to see Cork hurlers down. I never liked how they treated Gerard McCarthy, a fine man. He was much maligned. I said it at the time, that Cork hurling would have no luck for that, and it hasn't had. Even Sean Og has since admitted that he regrets it.

And it's not the county per se, that I'm against. While I may like to see their hurlers down, I do like to see their footballers rise. They'd a mighty win last year. It's a strange one."
Fair enough I'm sorry for my reaction I thought you were having a go at me, if I had known you were only having a ball-hop I would have taken it in the form it was meant.

I agree with you entirely about the Cork hurlers 2009 strike, I saw Sean og on the Sunday game that time saying he regretted it but he should have apologised to Gerald McCarthy and a few more senior players from that time should too. There was many genuine Cork supporters who were on Gerald McCarthy's side, I worked with a few Cork lads who were absolutely appalled when some of those players were on red fm slagging him and his new panel off the same day Gerald McCarthy buried his mother and that's how low those boys went. All to get 1 up on Frank Murphy and they used Gerald McCarthy to get to him. Fair play Jimmy Barry Murphy when he took over he got rid of the trouble makers and up-starts. At saying all that I wouldn't hold that against the present Cork hurling panel though.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 13/04/2021 16:04:57    2337081

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Fair enough I'm sorry for my reaction I thought you were having a go at me, if I had known you were only having a ball-hop I would have taken it in the form it was meant.

I agree with you entirely about the Cork hurlers 2009 strike, I saw Sean og on the Sunday game that time saying he regretted it but he should have apologised to Gerald McCarthy and a few more senior players from that time should too. There was many genuine Cork supporters who were on Gerald McCarthy's side, I worked with a few Cork lads who were absolutely appalled when some of those players were on red fm slagging him and his new panel off the same day Gerald McCarthy buried his mother and that's how low those boys went. All to get 1 up on Frank Murphy and they used Gerald McCarthy to get to him. Fair play Jimmy Barry Murphy when he took over he got rid of the trouble makers and up-starts. At saying all that I wouldn't hold that against the present Cork hurling panel though."
Those players destroyed Cork hurling in my opinion, I think most agreed with the first strike, players should be treated right but after that, they turned alot of Cork hurling people away from hurling,there is still alot of bitterness down there.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 13/04/2021 19:58:12    2337102

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I'm disappointed as Munster rugby fan to see Darren Sweetnam leave Munster, I remember him playing for the Cork hurlers a few years back. He was a fine player and when he left I felt he was a loss to ye. I can only imagine how good a midfielder partnership of Darren Sweetnam and Darragh Fitzgibbon would be now.

So anyway my question for the Cork supporters is do ye think the loss of Darren Sweetnam had any impact on Cork hurling. Could he have made a difference against Clare in both all irelands final in 2013 or against us in the semi-final in 2018."
Limerick are by far the best hurling team in the country at the moment. Cork are not at the races. All Ireland this year is a foregone conclusion. Limerick at a canter... no pun on JP. As regards strike etc. Cork were well beaten by Kilkenny in 2006. Strike happened after that, but Cork in any case were not as good as that Kilkenny team. I have seen some good Cork teams notably in the 1970's . When you have a full forward line of Charlie McCarthy, Ray Cummins and Seanie Leary you will win all Ireland's. The present bunch has some good players, but won't beat Limerick!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/04/2021 04:21:54    2337130

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Just focus on Limerick, and stop trying to wind up the Cork
lads. I'm sure that you're totally delighted that none of those six forwards has an AI medal. It's much longer now that the 1954 to 1966 spell without Liam visiting Cork. Was the last decade the first one ever where Cork didn't win at least one AI? The longer it goes on the heavier the pressure will become, which is good for your own, beloved Limk, dualsupport (I take it that the 'dual' means Limk footballers and hurlers, and not Limk hurlers and Cork hurlers)."
His not winding up anyone. Just trying to get Cork opinions on the matter. Nothing at all wrong with that.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 14/04/2021 10:12:01    2337139

Replying To cityman73:  "Those players destroyed Cork hurling in my opinion, I think most agreed with the first strike, players should be treated right but after that, they turned alot of Cork hurling people away from hurling,there is still alot of bitterness down there."
You have a point there the 2009 strike is a factor for the lack of an all-Ireland win for the Cork hurlers but they still won I think 3 Munster titles in the last decade. Our own lads in 2010 weren't much better, Limerick suffered for a few years after at senior level until John Kiely and Paul Kinnerk got things right.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 14/04/2021 10:16:46    2337141

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "You have a point there the 2009 strike is a factor for the lack of an all-Ireland win for the Cork hurlers but they still won I think 3 Munster titles in the last decade. Our own lads in 2010 weren't much better, Limerick suffered for a few years after at senior level until John Kiely and Paul Kinnerk got things right."
But our strike didn't get the support, it actually worked out well for us, it sent the message the players didn't own the Jersey and we got a couple of players out of it, two still playing from putting limerick first.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 14/04/2021 11:15:41    2337153

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "With Setanta O'hAalpín and Darren Sweetnam you can't blame those lads for leaving the GAA to play professional sport alright, they had too good an opportunity to turn down.

With Cork I still think they are under-achieving with this team. In my opinion they will be the best team never to win an all-Ireland if they don't win 1, I think they are better than Limerick's 90's team and Waterford's and Galway's 00's teams. I can't get my head around a county with a forward line that has Alan Cadogan, Seamus Harnedy, Conor Lehane, Pat Horgan, Luke Meade and Shane Kingston can't win an all-Ireland."
Ken McGrath on his own would handle all the players you mentioned without even throwing in Tony Browne and the others into the equation. AS an admirer of Cork hurling something has gone seriously gone wrong. Not sure if it is still the aftermath of them strikes.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 17/04/2021 19:11:04    2337564

Replying To Canuck:  "Ken McGrath on his own would handle all the players you mentioned without even throwing in Tony Browne and the others into the equation. AS an admirer of Cork hurling something has gone seriously gone wrong. Not sure if it is still the aftermath of them strikes."
I have great time for Ken McGrath and Tony Browne but Harnedy and Lehane would be more than capable of giving them a good game.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 17/04/2021 20:58:07    2337591

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I have great time for Ken McGrath and Tony Browne but Harnedy and Lehane would be more than capable of giving them a good game."
Those Waterford and Galway teams played when the greatest team that ever played was around and would beat the pick of the rest. Both getting to All-Irelands and comparing the present Cork team to either is off the mark. The Cork team of Ray Cummins O'Leary, Barry Murphy, Fenton etc. were about the closet to that Kilkenny team for shear brilliance.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/04/2021 00:06:28    2337608

Replying To Canuck:  "Those Waterford and Galway teams played when the greatest team that ever played was around and would beat the pick of the rest. Both getting to All-Irelands and comparing the present Cork team to either is off the mark. The Cork team of Ray Cummins O'Leary, Barry Murphy, Fenton etc. were about the closet to that Kilkenny team for shear brilliance."
I'm not sure that I'd rate the Cork 1975-79 tram as highly as you'd rate them Canuck. There's no doubt that they were an exceptional team but there are other teams that would have a shout too. Cork hurling is experiencing a title winning drought the likes of which it has never seen before. Cork have not won a single title in the National League, or at club, minor, u20/21 or Senior since 2005. Given the size and tradition of the county it is mind boggling that the last national title in those 5 categories they they have won is the All Ireland Senior hurling title title n 2005. That is 16 years and counting. I don't know what the problems are in Cork hurling but given the fact that they have only made one senior hurling final since 2005 it is obvious that the problems run deep.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 18/04/2021 09:43:06    2337623

Waterford stopped just short of self destruction like Cork. Their treatment of Justin McCarthy and Michael Ryan was disgusting. Justin showed some of them how to hold the hurley properly. Michael Ryan had just completed one year and I believe had lost only one game with a decent performance.
Some former greats thought they new more about the game and managing than Derek McGrath.
Liam Cahill was having none of this nonsense and sorted it out before he started. He will stay or leave on his terms.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/04/2021 19:28:01    2337740

Replying To Canuck:  "Those Waterford and Galway teams played when the greatest team that ever played was around and would beat the pick of the rest. Both getting to All-Irelands and comparing the present Cork team to either is off the mark. The Cork team of Ray Cummins O'Leary, Barry Murphy, Fenton etc. were about the closet to that Kilkenny team for shear brilliance."
No it's not off the mark at all, its all just opinion. You have a loyalty to that Waterford team that is fair enough, but it's my opinion as a neutral that the present Cork team is better than the Waterford and Galway teams of the 00's, in 2013 that Cork team could do something that Waterford team couldn't beat that Kilkenny team in a Championship game. If Cork had beaten us in the 2018 semi-final they would have beaten Galway in the final too.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 18/04/2021 23:47:49    2337792

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "No it's not off the mark at all, its all just opinion. You have a loyalty to that Waterford team that is fair enough, but it's my opinion as a neutral that the present Cork team is better than the Waterford and Galway teams of the 00's, in 2013 that Cork team could do something that Waterford team couldn't beat that Kilkenny team in a Championship game. If Cork had beaten us in the 2018 semi-final they would have beaten Galway in the final too."
Yes it is a matter of opinion but I am around too long to allow loyalty cloud my judgement. If you were to take the top four forwards head to head Mullane, Shanaahan, Flynn and Pendergast before you get to Kelly and Mulomphy I know where my money would be. In defence Ken McGrath, Tony Browne, Eoin Murphy, Peter Queally I also know where my money would be. Yes we always struggle to beat Kilkenny but could handle other teams that Cork struggled with.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/04/2021 18:40:03    2337901