Replying To tonguey:  "Well u should"
sorry I dont, thank YOU (not U)

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/03/2021 08:51:03    2333481

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "sorry I dont, thank YOU (not U)"
Don't (not dont) be annoyed with me.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 04/03/2021 09:36:56    2333489

Replying To tonguey:  "As the old saying goes, the second tier will only become the first tier if the fifth tier becomes the third one and the fourth tier alternates biannually."
So true

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 04/03/2021 11:23:30    2333499

Replying To tonguey:  "Don't (not dont) be annoyed with me."
a missing apostrophe is not as poor or as obvious as omitting two letters from a three letter word as using phone text short cuts spelling words, not many will miss the apostrophe but will miss the missing letters...of course I am not annoyed, just nit picking back thats all!..its the little things as they say...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/03/2021 16:49:45    2333521

Even the name of the competition suggests an auld parish shield competition between local competing parishes. It never was going to attract any sort of engagement.

horridweather (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 05/03/2021 09:14:40    2333556

Replying To horridweather:  "Even the name of the competition suggests an auld parish shield competition between local competing parishes. It never was going to attract any sort of engagement."
I agree. It should have been called the Horan cup after the great John Horan

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 05/03/2021 09:42:23    2333558

Replying To horridweather:  "Even the name of the competition suggests an auld parish shield competition between local competing parishes. It never was going to attract any sort of engagement."
I actually prefer that to naming it after people, the Fr. O shea cup, the John Reilly cup etc.
It always struck me as kinda pointless, almost as if the man is more important than the competition.
In any event, whatever it was named, it was always going to struggle to attract attention, maybe the first few years it would have done but once the novelty of a competitive second tier wore off, fans would have done what they do in pretty much every other sport and end up focusing only on the main competition.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 05/03/2021 19:53:41    2333590

Not sure anyone has much interest in the cup so it wont be much of a loss.

Playing the league is the big thing for Div 3 and 4 teams.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 07/03/2021 11:44:14    2333644

Replying To carlovia:  "Not sure anyone has much interest in the cup so it wont be much of a loss.

Playing the league is the big thing for Div 3 and 4 teams."
Considering Longford gave a walk over in it last year because they had "no chance of being promoted " I don't know how big it is for them

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 07/03/2021 20:20:35    2333675

remember the Oireachtas cup in hurling, discontinued since 1999, I liked that, it was always a sign the NHL would be near enough of a return when the knockout stages were played...I googled it there and often teams like Clare and Wexford whom were less prominent would win it (Clare won it 1982 and 1983)..Galway won a few as well..pity these tournaments were discontinued, as a child I remember hearing a big scalp like Kilkenny or Cork would be beaten by say Laois or Waterford and the next day you would get your hands on the Irish Press to or Evening press to read the match report...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 07/03/2021 23:02:30    2333686

Could they not play off a competition as cutrain raiser to bigger games?? Like what used to happen years ago with minor games? Play the secondary/B Competition at 1.30 and the all Ireland championship game at 3.30 or whatever. Maybe it might gain some traction that way. As for names I would strongly argue for calling it after people's names, maybe the Peter McGinnitty Cup or the Joe Biden Cup (celebrate links between here and USA) etc.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 08/03/2021 13:22:41    2333699

Replying To tonguey:  "Could they not play off a competition as cutrain raiser to bigger games?? Like what used to happen years ago with minor games? Play the secondary/B Competition at 1.30 and the all Ireland championship game at 3.30 or whatever. Maybe it might gain some traction that way. As for names I would strongly argue for calling it after people's names, maybe the Peter McGinnitty Cup or the Joe Biden Cup (celebrate links between here and USA) etc."
The Joe Biden Cup,, Jesus wept

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 08/03/2021 14:32:16    2333702

Replying To tonguey:  "Could they not play off a competition as cutrain raiser to bigger games?? Like what used to happen years ago with minor games? Play the secondary/B Competition at 1.30 and the all Ireland championship game at 3.30 or whatever. Maybe it might gain some traction that way. As for names I would strongly argue for calling it after people's names, maybe the Peter McGinnitty Cup or the Joe Biden Cup (celebrate links between here and USA) etc."
It's not a bad idea. And perhaps NY should take part exclusively in that competition. It would be great to see NY winning the Joe Biden or Nancy Pelosi or Bernie Sanders Cups. And might give the GAA some badly needed promotion in the US and A

horridweather (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 08/03/2021 14:47:50    2333703

Replying To Galway9801:  "The Joe Biden Cup,, Jesus wept"
Would u prefer the Donald trump cup???

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 08/03/2021 14:53:08    2333704

Replying To horridweather:  "It's not a bad idea. And perhaps NY should take part exclusively in that competition. It would be great to see NY winning the Joe Biden or Nancy Pelosi or Bernie Sanders Cups. And might give the GAA some badly needed promotion in the US and A"
Or the Kamala Harris/joe Biden cup seeing as they're working together.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 08/03/2021 15:06:54    2333706

Replying To tonguey:  "Would u prefer the Donald trump cup???"
the Joe Biden cup is right...the mans **** wasnt planted on the Presidents seat of office and Paddy was off forcing himself onto the US ticket as always...or Taoiseach was "cock sure" he would be at least getting an invite upto early early March, and the climb down arrived in the wording "after contact between the Taoiseachs representatives and the Presidents advisers" (no doubt who made the first call)...I am not anti American or any country but we are always running claiming connections and to set up the stall to ask favours (thast the only reason we do it)..can we not sort out even the name of an ould GAA cup without trying to get some sort of infuence from it...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/03/2021 15:19:50    2333708

Replying To tonguey:  "Would u prefer the Donald trump cup???"
Ah stop the sycophancy is doing my head in. Wouldn't mind but from what I've seen of him he seems like a bit of an eejit,, avd she's not too impressive either. Check out her debate with tulsi gubbard at the primaries. Harris was nearly crying at the end of it.
Anyway, back to sport :)

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 08/03/2021 15:24:50    2333711

Replying To horridweather:  "It's not a bad idea. And perhaps NY should take part exclusively in that competition. It would be great to see NY winning the Joe Biden or Nancy Pelosi or Bernie Sanders Cups. And might give the GAA some badly needed promotion in the US and A"
Stop, we're gone cracked.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 08/03/2021 15:30:34    2333713

Replying To Galway9801:  "Ah stop the sycophancy is doing my head in. Wouldn't mind but from what I've seen of him he seems like a bit of an eejit,, avd she's not too impressive either. Check out her debate with tulsi gubbard at the primaries. Harris was nearly crying at the end of it.
Anyway, back to sport :)"
The Tulsi Gabbard Cup would be excellent, and even better if she was there in person to present it. Might give teams motivation to see her :)

horridweather (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 08/03/2021 15:31:18    2333714

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "the Joe Biden cup is right...the mans **** wasnt planted on the Presidents seat of office and Paddy was off forcing himself onto the US ticket as always...or Taoiseach was "cock sure" he would be at least getting an invite upto early early March, and the climb down arrived in the wording "after contact between the Taoiseachs representatives and the Presidents advisers" (no doubt who made the first call)...I am not anti American or any country but we are always running claiming connections and to set up the stall to ask favours (thast the only reason we do it)..can we not sort out even the name of an ould GAA cup without trying to get some sort of infuence from it..."
To be fair ye could do with getting some influence from somewhere. Some would claim that Offaly gaa is a shambles!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 08/03/2021 15:31:29    2333715