Houses In Order?

Splitting Dublin in 4 would surely lead to countless arguments about splitting Cork ( they would have twice the population of any of the new Dublin teams ) or splitting Antrim for same reason ?...

if Dublin were split in 2 they would still be 2 of the largest 3 County populations in Ireland....

Either way it's virtually impossible to see any Dublin split or other Counties amalgamate.... not being defeatist there, I just think it's other routes we need to be looking at.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 07/03/2021 11:29:37    2333641

Replying To TheUsername:  "Personally im surprised we haven't been beaten. We were there for taking last year and overall im not sure we are as good as we were. Last year was a great opportunity for someone, but nobody took it and most counties you would have looked at potential bullets for Dublin, just didnt get that far themselves.

Overall if everyone being honest, if Dublin hadn't raised the bar on and off the field in what they do over the last decade, its the other "have lots" counties who would be winning titles. If Dublin go into a period regression, this decade and we are due one, we can say with certainty that Cork, Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway and other well resource counties are going to win all the titles over the next 10 years.

So the wheel keeps turning with just a different small group of counties year after year winning and that is the problem with true competitiveness in the game and the job of work of the GAA to enable competitiveness. The rest of the other well off counties will hitch their wagon to Leitrim and make arguments about competitiveness. But the dogs in the street know that if Dublin took a year off, its just one of the other afore mentioned counties winning because of thier advantages. Those counties are just basically saying "we really want a turn" - that comes with dumbing down the game. Did Tyrone, Kerry, Cork, Mayo Galway deserve to win the All Ireland last year - probably not. Im not sure fairness comes into their performances and what they brought home on the field.

In the role of honor we have Kerry on about 35 i think, then Dubilin on 30, the drop then is to single figures with Galway and 9. That really is ridiculous, the job of work in the GAA has to be aim to get counties from single figures to 20's etc. Im not sure there ever has been a level playing filed, but clearly Dublin are the most dominant force GAA has ever seen, thats a bad news story for the other traditionally successful counties, but also a good news story in a lot of ways. Ive been interested in seeing other counties progress in a lot ways over the last year or so - Cork are doing really well on and off the filed and i see success coming their way and fair play to play them, their isnt a trademark on what Dublin do.

But really id accept the viewpoint, if Dublin regress, you are into a few presently angnsty well off counties - who would like a turn at the top wheel for the next few years. But the imbalance will still exist really, the job of work of the GAA is the tackle the imbalance from DIV 2 down."
I'm surprised at you Username...you must be listening to those Kerry boys after all ?

You're opening paragraph is textbook "Yarra yarra"
Kerry speak !!

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 07/03/2021 11:38:24    2333642

Replying To TheUsername:  "Personally im surprised we haven't been beaten. We were there for taking last year and overall im not sure we are as good as we were. Last year was a great opportunity for someone, but nobody took it and most counties you would have looked at potential bullets for Dublin, just didnt get that far themselves.

Overall if everyone being honest, if Dublin hadn't raised the bar on and off the field in what they do over the last decade, its the other "have lots" counties who would be winning titles. If Dublin go into a period regression, this decade and we are due one, we can say with certainty that Cork, Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway and other well resource counties are going to win all the titles over the next 10 years.

So the wheel keeps turning with just a different small group of counties year after year winning and that is the problem with true competitiveness in the game and the job of work of the GAA to enable competitiveness. The rest of the other well off counties will hitch their wagon to Leitrim and make arguments about competitiveness. But the dogs in the street know that if Dublin took a year off, its just one of the other afore mentioned counties winning because of thier advantages. Those counties are just basically saying "we really want a turn" - that comes with dumbing down the game. Did Tyrone, Kerry, Cork, Mayo Galway deserve to win the All Ireland last year - probably not. Im not sure fairness comes into their performances and what they brought home on the field.

In the role of honor we have Kerry on about 35 i think, then Dubilin on 30, the drop then is to single figures with Galway and 9. That really is ridiculous, the job of work in the GAA has to be aim to get counties from single figures to 20's etc. Im not sure there ever has been a level playing filed, but clearly Dublin are the most dominant force GAA has ever seen, thats a bad news story for the other traditionally successful counties, but also a good news story in a lot of ways. Ive been interested in seeing other counties progress in a lot ways over the last year or so - Cork are doing really well on and off the filed and i see success coming their way and fair play to play them, their isnt a trademark on what Dublin do.

But really id accept the viewpoint, if Dublin regress, you are into a few presently angnsty well off counties - who would like a turn at the top wheel for the next few years. But the imbalance will still exist really, the job of work of the GAA is the tackle the imbalance from DIV 2 down."
Would agree that the role of honour is poor reading but it's hard to imagine what HQ could possible do to get some Counties up to winning 20 odd titles ? Don't know how Galway can win another 11 for example when we have only won 2 in the last 50 years...

If our single most important , most promoted National Competition continues to be all Counties lumped into 1 competition together than its hard to see anything changing outside the top few Counties continually winning as you said.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 07/03/2021 11:44:07    2333643

Absolutely. I mean in all fairness ye should have lost in 2011, ye could have lost in 2013 v mayo, ye could have lost v mayo in the semi of 2015 could have lost v kerry and mayo in 2016, avd ye could have lost v mayo in 2017, and kerry in the final of 2019.
I also agree that compared to some of the cowboys in charge back West, Dublin gaa is run brilliantly by those in charge.
Realistically however, ye have been the best team in the country for the last 6 years now, and of all the cases I mentioned above, barring the 2011 final, ye deserved to win all of them,and in 2018 and last year no one got near ye.
The fear is that just as Dublin hit a few stumbling blocks before annexing leinster (westmeath 04,meath 2010), that donegal 2014,kerry 2019 (ye won the replay handily) are just stumbling blocks on the way to annexing Sam.
As for the point about spreading it around, look, sod that, Leitrim will never win an all Ireland, that's life, for me the best way to give young lads in Leitrim the opportunity to win an all Ireland is to allow for a transfer system. It would also allow weak counties the opportunity to bring in talent from other places, which if done cleverly, and the right players recruited could really help improve them.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1728 - 07/03/2021 12:18:23    2333648

Replying To Black+Blue:  "I'm surprised at you Username...you must be listening to those Kerry boys after all ?

You're opening paragraph is textbook "Yarra yarra"
Kerry speak !!"
In all honesty, i wasn't expecting us to win the All Ireland last year, i thought we had a lot of retirements, new manager, new culture, new ideas, other teams would kick on, we would regress a bit. There was a lot there to shoot at and ask serious questions of Dublin, i thought it was great opportunity for another county. No one you would expect of the enabled counties except Mayo made it that far. In a way we got a bit of pass and a handy route last year, i felt that way about 18 as well in comparison to other years, although Galway gave us a good fright in the semi in 18 and Tyrone for 10 mins in the final.

In the end id accept we won it comfortably, but we weren't really challenged the way we were in other years, if im being totally honest.

In all honesty i don think we are as good as we were, we are very experienced certainly, but i dont think we as an untouchable as we were during the five in the row, at them moment.

Hopefully you are right though!!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/03/2021 13:38:55    2333653

Replying To Galway9801:  "Absolutely. I mean in all fairness ye should have lost in 2011, ye could have lost in 2013 v mayo, ye could have lost v mayo in the semi of 2015 could have lost v kerry and mayo in 2016, avd ye could have lost v mayo in 2017, and kerry in the final of 2019.
I also agree that compared to some of the cowboys in charge back West, Dublin gaa is run brilliantly by those in charge.
Realistically however, ye have been the best team in the country for the last 6 years now, and of all the cases I mentioned above, barring the 2011 final, ye deserved to win all of them,and in 2018 and last year no one got near ye.
The fear is that just as Dublin hit a few stumbling blocks before annexing leinster (westmeath 04,meath 2010), that donegal 2014,kerry 2019 (ye won the replay handily) are just stumbling blocks on the way to annexing Sam.
As for the point about spreading it around, look, sod that, Leitrim will never win an all Ireland, that's life, for me the best way to give young lads in Leitrim the opportunity to win an all Ireland is to allow for a transfer system. It would also allow weak counties the opportunity to bring in talent from other places, which if done cleverly, and the right players recruited could really help improve them."
We've dug out a few in fairness. But definitely id accept we have been the best team with the best players and panel also. I think we also innovated on the pitch and over the era brought new things to the game or certainly they became synominisis with the Dublin way.

I often think back to the 90s and 00s and what kept us coming back, we always knew if Dublin got their act together they could be seriously competitive, after every defeat after every year i knew that one day it would just click, the potential was all around to see. It happened really.

Its ridiculous at this stage to say we arent favorites to win most years, of course we are, if anything success has made us fearless and we have the experience now to back it up, success becomes culture and tradition. It can work for you and against you. Dublin tradition used to weigh heavily on the players, now its something they embrace more easily with the momentum of success. Perhaps that is a key thing in our domination as fewer and fewer teams have lads who have won medals. It becomes an added pressure each year. Take Kerrys tradition, they still have a few lads with medals, but the task becomes heavier on the likes of Clifford and O Shea and years pass by and expectation builds, getting one of the line becomes huge if yu havent done it, -the experience of success is a huge enabling factor. You could also look at Mayo here. That experience and culture of success probably got Dublin over the line in the first game of 19 to earn a draw. A lot is going our way certainly over this period and the longer the dominance goes on if at all the more depleting and psychologically damaging it is for other bigger counties, until someone eventually step up.

I think it leaves scars to, Kerry will for ever more be weary of Dublin & Tyrone, we will always be weary of Mayo and Donegal.

Overall though, the game has always been uneven as the roll of honor indicates. Personally a loose suggestion i would have would be cut GDF population proportionally to population, from Div 1 down. Say something like 50 cent per head of population Div 1. 70 cent Div 2. 1 Euro per head Div 3., 1.50 Div 4 - or some kind of tiered model that enables teams in each div to be compete and improve. I think most would get on baord with a model like that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/03/2021 13:58:44    2333655

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Would agree that the role of honour is poor reading but it's hard to imagine what HQ could possible do to get some Counties up to winning 20 odd titles ? Don't know how Galway can win another 11 for example when we have only won 2 in the last 50 years...

If our single most important , most promoted National Competition continues to be all Counties lumped into 1 competition together than its hard to see anything changing outside the top few Counties continually winning as you said."
I fully expect Galway to win a few in the years ahead. Just my opinion. Think Joyce will do a serious job and i think Galway have the best player in the country in Walsh and if last years U20 final is anything to go by, we arent the only county with a conveyor belt.

Maybe im overly negative on Dublin and the chances of their ongoing success, probably a couple of decades of PTSD during the 90 and 00s still at play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/03/2021 14:02:00    2333656

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Struggling to grasp your point? FWIW NFL didn't start with 32 teams they have had multiple expansions and mergers to get to where they are, teams actually move cities and states as well, the Raiders moved from Oakland to Las Vegas last season for example. It's a privately owned for-profit structure by design, they also have draft systems and salary caps to try to maintain a competitive balance, otherwise big market teams would dominate like you see in baseball (and GAA coincidentally). None of what the NFL do to ensure fairness and balance can be applied to a boundary based amateur game like GAA unless we move away from the county structure, which is a long way away for all sorts of reasons.

Again, not trying to be a boll*x but what is you point and what are you trying to say? What do you think needs to be done to improve things?

I'd agree that there are probably 8-10 teams that can realistically challenge for an All Ireland under the current structure, but I'd add that there is one behemoth that is the default winner at this stage unless they get caught on a given day. The argument of a once in a generation great team has pretty much subsided at this stage as the Dublin team has turned over a couple of times since 2011. We'll have multi Username telling us about Kerry earning XYZ in one anomalous year shortly with zero context, and desperately trying to use that as proof that everything is grand, but the reality is that the game is in real trouble, there is a systemic competitive imbalance, and it is going to get to panic stage for GAA HQ in the near future as attendances and public interest fall away.

I'm not sure where it will end, there is no plan whatsoever as far as I can see because nobody would have ever envisaged it getting to this this point and nobody at a level that can make a difference is willing to discuss it meaningfully because it is a toxic and emotive topic that can blow up on you very quickly and make you public enemy among one faction or the other.

I commend Dublin and all they have achieved but surely we are at a point now where some uncomfortable questions can be asked about where the games premier competition is headed?

I would add that I do not have a solution. I don't want to see splits or mergers but I think we are nearing the point where the status quo is equally untenable."
I am advocating anything at all. Just pounting out no one can agree what the problem is. If you dont know what is causing the problem you wont solve. The point I was also making RTE ran a program on radio, complete with online data to offer some suggestions. I wouldnt discuss them here because no one heard tge program. Similarly arguments on funding etc breakdown because tgere is a complete lack of understanding where, how and for who that funding is. Btw there is more lots more to the GAA than Gaelic Football and therein also lies the greatest stunbling blocks to solutions. If you stick to county boundaries, if you stick to the bizarre notion that 32 counties are equal, you are wasting everyones time. Which is why most dubs shrug their shoulders and get on with it. As for NFL I am not going there bit illustrates my point perfectly and your response illustrates yours with a grande canyon between the two, not a hope resolving this one. The topic has just become an echo chamber now. If anyone is serious about it they should atleast inform themselves. But as per congress no one is listening, no one cares.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/03/2021 16:16:31    2333661

Replying To arock:  "I am advocating anything at all. Just pounting out no one can agree what the problem is. If you dont know what is causing the problem you wont solve. The point I was also making RTE ran a program on radio, complete with online data to offer some suggestions. I wouldnt discuss them here because no one heard tge program. Similarly arguments on funding etc breakdown because tgere is a complete lack of understanding where, how and for who that funding is. Btw there is more lots more to the GAA than Gaelic Football and therein also lies the greatest stunbling blocks to solutions. If you stick to county boundaries, if you stick to the bizarre notion that 32 counties are equal, you are wasting everyones time. Which is why most dubs shrug their shoulders and get on with it. As for NFL I am not going there bit illustrates my point perfectly and your response illustrates yours with a grande canyon between the two, not a hope resolving this one. The topic has just become an echo chamber now. If anyone is serious about it they should atleast inform themselves. But as per congress no one is listening, no one cares."
Cheers arock I will look up the Claire Byrne piece but I do consider myself reasonably informed for the most part. I realise there is more to GAA than football too. That's the one that will always get the most debate for obvious reasons.

It may be time for a full independent review of the whole sector to identify issues and solutions, and go from there. Some of the changes in recent years with the Super 8 etc look purely commercially driven, piecemeal and reactionary rather than strategic.

I don't think there is any appetite whatsoever to move away from county model however, Irish people identify with their county and it's a huge part of who we are. There is too much history and heritage involved to even table it as any sort of serious suggestion. Nor do I think the current structures are so broken that it necessitates such drastic change. The league works well because teams play other teams at their own level for example. Virtually every successful competition that I know of in any sport involves tiers based on ability and past achievements. That's probably the starting point.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/03/2021 16:51:46    2333663

Replying To arock:  "I am advocating anything at all. Just pounting out no one can agree what the problem is. If you dont know what is causing the problem you wont solve. The point I was also making RTE ran a program on radio, complete with online data to offer some suggestions. I wouldnt discuss them here because no one heard tge program. Similarly arguments on funding etc breakdown because tgere is a complete lack of understanding where, how and for who that funding is. Btw there is more lots more to the GAA than Gaelic Football and therein also lies the greatest stunbling blocks to solutions. If you stick to county boundaries, if you stick to the bizarre notion that 32 counties are equal, you are wasting everyones time. Which is why most dubs shrug their shoulders and get on with it. As for NFL I am not going there bit illustrates my point perfectly and your response illustrates yours with a grande canyon between the two, not a hope resolving this one. The topic has just become an echo chamber now. If anyone is serious about it they should atleast inform themselves. But as per congress no one is listening, no one cares."
I'd agree with most of that. I don't really pay much attention to the figures being thrown around, it's like listening to leavers and remainers in England, one comes up with one set of figures, another counters with another set of figures, blah blah blah.
Best to keep things simple. No matter what format we come up with, there is never going to be a competition, or competitions, where all of the participants can win.
I can't offhand think of any sporting league /Cup on earth where everyone has a realistic chance of winning.
I remember, back in 2010 of the 34 teams, there were probably 5 or 6 teams who could have won it.
That's about as good as we can get imo.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1728 - 07/03/2021 17:30:25    2333664

I think there are things that can and should be done to improve things but the results will take some time to play out.

The change in season structure was a good start, shortened season hopefully should make it more appealing for the players of weaker counties to commit to playing.

The championship itself needs to be league based. There's a lack of quality below the top 6 or so teams. In my opinion it's not just coaching that's the problem. They've a lack of experience playing at a high level. It can't be replicated by the league where the stakes aren't as high. How can the Meath's, Cavan's, Kildare's improve without having a platform to do so. It is something that just comes from 1 season, Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal and Mayo's levels have been forged from many years of going deep in the championship and getting their players and tactics tried and tested in real battles.

Continued redeployment of funds away from capital expenditure towards coaching initiatives outside of Dublin.

A system of redistribution of sponsorship money out of the richest counties to other counties. It should be taxed on marginal amounts over the average sponsorship sums. The richest counties will still keep some of their excess and have more than others, the gap will just be closed somewhat.

Counties outside Dublin do need to decentralise their coaching initiatives. I honestly believe that the development squad model is a scourge on the production of players. Get more top quality club/regional amalgamation based games and competitions at juvenile level. Talent/potential are too unpredictable to be devoting all resources to 40-50 kids per year group. Dublin certainly have the weight of numbers to help develop talent but I still think their decentralised approach is a big gain for them.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 07/03/2021 17:42:51    2333666

Speaking of dominance, Glasgow Rangers have just ended 9 years of Celtic rule in the SPL. What are the odds something similar could happen here, with say Galway or Kerry ending Dublin's.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 07/03/2021 19:16:34    2333670

Replying To TheUsername:  "We've dug out a few in fairness. But definitely id accept we have been the best team with the best players and panel also. I think we also innovated on the pitch and over the era brought new things to the game or certainly they became synominisis with the Dublin way.

I often think back to the 90s and 00s and what kept us coming back, we always knew if Dublin got their act together they could be seriously competitive, after every defeat after every year i knew that one day it would just click, the potential was all around to see. It happened really.

Its ridiculous at this stage to say we arent favorites to win most years, of course we are, if anything success has made us fearless and we have the experience now to back it up, success becomes culture and tradition. It can work for you and against you. Dublin tradition used to weigh heavily on the players, now its something they embrace more easily with the momentum of success. Perhaps that is a key thing in our domination as fewer and fewer teams have lads who have won medals. It becomes an added pressure each year. Take Kerrys tradition, they still have a few lads with medals, but the task becomes heavier on the likes of Clifford and O Shea and years pass by and expectation builds, getting one of the line becomes huge if yu havent done it, -the experience of success is a huge enabling factor. You could also look at Mayo here. That experience and culture of success probably got Dublin over the line in the first game of 19 to earn a draw. A lot is going our way certainly over this period and the longer the dominance goes on if at all the more depleting and psychologically damaging it is for other bigger counties, until someone eventually step up.

I think it leaves scars to, Kerry will for ever more be weary of Dublin & Tyrone, we will always be weary of Mayo and Donegal.

Overall though, the game has always been uneven as the roll of honor indicates. Personally a loose suggestion i would have would be cut GDF population proportionally to population, from Div 1 down. Say something like 50 cent per head of population Div 1. 70 cent Div 2. 1 Euro per head Div 3., 1.50 Div 4 - or some kind of tiered model that enables teams in each div to be compete and improve. I think most would get on baord with a model like that."
That's an interesting suggesting re funding....could be a creative solution like that one that could gain traction

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 07/03/2021 19:21:21    2333671

Replying To TheUsername:  "I fully expect Galway to win a few in the years ahead. Just my opinion. Think Joyce will do a serious job and i think Galway have the best player in the country in Walsh and if last years U20 final is anything to go by, we arent the only county with a conveyor belt.

Maybe im overly negative on Dublin and the chances of their ongoing success, probably a couple of decades of PTSD during the 90 and 00s still at play."
Last years u20s was indeed a great win for Galway and they are a very promising young team...beating Dublin ( who are the standard setters on the actual football pitch, regardless of how much we All argue about off the pitch matters) will hopefully add a bit of psychological steel to the group in the future...we seem to be consistently good here at Minor level but don't necessarily have a super record of developing that potential talent through to Senior ?

I really hope Padraic Joyce does well and he had a promising start to his league campaign but the jury is still out here at the moment...I would consider us to be anywhere from 5 to 10 at the moment in terms of development etc....really need a settled keeper, a tight marking corner back, more game experience for our preferred no3, an injury free run for our best no.6, a settled midfield partnership and possibly 3 more scoring forwards... general consensus here seems to be we have 5-8 starters in most peoples heads but a good few places up for grabs.... great scope/opportunity for Joyce to put his own stamp on the team going forward.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 07/03/2021 19:37:49    2333673

Replying To galwayford:  "Speaking of dominance, Glasgow Rangers have just ended 9 years of Celtic rule in the SPL. What are the odds something similar could happen here, with say Galway or Kerry ending Dublin's."
Hi, hello ,maybe start with winning Connacht.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/03/2021 19:43:35    2333674

Replying To Whammo86:  "I think there are things that can and should be done to improve things but the results will take some time to play out.

The change in season structure was a good start, shortened season hopefully should make it more appealing for the players of weaker counties to commit to playing.

The championship itself needs to be league based. There's a lack of quality below the top 6 or so teams. In my opinion it's not just coaching that's the problem. They've a lack of experience playing at a high level. It can't be replicated by the league where the stakes aren't as high. How can the Meath's, Cavan's, Kildare's improve without having a platform to do so. It is something that just comes from 1 season, Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal and Mayo's levels have been forged from many years of going deep in the championship and getting their players and tactics tried and tested in real battles.

Continued redeployment of funds away from capital expenditure towards coaching initiatives outside of Dublin.

A system of redistribution of sponsorship money out of the richest counties to other counties. It should be taxed on marginal amounts over the average sponsorship sums. The richest counties will still keep some of their excess and have more than others, the gap will just be closed somewhat.

Counties outside Dublin do need to decentralise their coaching initiatives. I honestly believe that the development squad model is a scourge on the production of players. Get more top quality club/regional amalgamation based games and competitions at juvenile level. Talent/potential are too unpredictable to be devoting all resources to 40-50 kids per year group. Dublin certainly have the weight of numbers to help develop talent but I still think their decentralised approach is a big gain for them."
A league based championship would massively hurt smaller teams. Because if it was implemented they would have nothing to play for as they are not going to win an all ireland and there would no longer be any provincial championships for them to win. And the vast majority wouldnt be getting any more experience as they wouldn't be able to make it into division 1.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 07/03/2021 20:47:17    2333677

Replying To TheUsername:  "I fully expect Galway to win a few in the years ahead. Just my opinion. Think Joyce will do a serious job and i think Galway have the best player in the country in Walsh and if last years U20 final is anything to go by, we arent the only county with a conveyor belt.

Maybe im overly negative on Dublin and the chances of their ongoing success, probably a couple of decades of PTSD during the 90 and 00s still at play."
In the last 10 years galway have won more under 21/20 all Irelands than senior conought titles(3 under 20/21 2 conought). They have also won 5 under 20/21 championships in the last 20 years and 5 conought titles.

As a result I wouldn't be judging their future success based on what they've done at under 20 this year.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 07/03/2021 21:06:13    2333680

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Splitting Dublin in 4 would surely lead to countless arguments about splitting Cork ( they would have twice the population of any of the new Dublin teams ) or splitting Antrim for same reason ?...

if Dublin were split in 2 they would still be 2 of the largest 3 County populations in Ireland....

Either way it's virtually impossible to see any Dublin split or other Counties amalgamate.... not being defeatist there, I just think it's other routes we need to be looking at."
I agree, this talk about splitting Dublin in two is never going to happen. Just like talking about Meath and Westmeath amalgamating will happen. There are alternatives which can be explored and which will help with addressing the current issues. Funding has been spoken a lot and until we know how much each county is getting in terms of sponsorship, how much the GAA are assigning to counties will we know what the numbers tell us. Yes population helps a county in terms of numbers but I don't believe population is a big deciding factor in who wins All Irelands etc. Until there is an open and honest review of the funding and resources that each county is getting or generating, we will not be able to decipher where the issues are. Of course, there are a lot of people in the GAA who want to maintain the status quo so I don't envisage that getting to the root causes will be easy.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1916 - 08/03/2021 11:28:59    2333692

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I agree, this talk about splitting Dublin in two is never going to happen. Just like talking about Meath and Westmeath amalgamating will happen. There are alternatives which can be explored and which will help with addressing the current issues. Funding has been spoken a lot and until we know how much each county is getting in terms of sponsorship, how much the GAA are assigning to counties will we know what the numbers tell us. Yes population helps a county in terms of numbers but I don't believe population is a big deciding factor in who wins All Irelands etc. Until there is an open and honest review of the funding and resources that each county is getting or generating, we will not be able to decipher where the issues are. Of course, there are a lot of people in the GAA who want to maintain the status quo so I don't envisage that getting to the root causes will be easy."
Another major problem would be that Rte would not know who to act as cheerleader for if there was more than one Dublin team playing

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 08/03/2021 13:19:00    2333698

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I agree, this talk about splitting Dublin in two is never going to happen. Just like talking about Meath and Westmeath amalgamating will happen. There are alternatives which can be explored and which will help with addressing the current issues. Funding has been spoken a lot and until we know how much each county is getting in terms of sponsorship, how much the GAA are assigning to counties will we know what the numbers tell us. Yes population helps a county in terms of numbers but I don't believe population is a big deciding factor in who wins All Irelands etc. Until there is an open and honest review of the funding and resources that each county is getting or generating, we will not be able to decipher where the issues are. Of course, there are a lot of people in the GAA who want to maintain the status quo so I don't envisage that getting to the root causes will be easy."
I take your point Wicklow but that's going to be a hard ask. It's easy enough find out what the gaa give but sponsership is another enigma. I mean for example Kerry group and AIG ate transparent in what they give but J. P. McManus does nt puplicise his sponsership and to be fair that's his own business. The gaa funding can be googled. The problem with the funding was Dublin were given most of the spoils but sponsership is whatever. I mean the big sponser can divulge but there are many other small sponses and fundraising that can be done. Look the facts are to be successful a county needs lots of money. The game is amateur in name only. The sad facts are though that the counties that need it the most get the least. For example Dublin need less money than most because of little travel and hotel bills etc and most of their players live in Dublin but a county like Leitrim would have most of their players working in other counties. That is why the gaa should step up and help the poorer counties but IMO they don't really care. On sponsership etc it's hard to blame the sponser as the want exposure too so the bigger the county the better.The gaa will only care when attendences drop and TV rights drop. As long as the stadia are full the gaa don't care about the weaker counties. Now word is Larry Mccarthy is a man that might but he alone can't do it. The one county that could probably force the gaa to change is Dublin but why should they when things are going well for them. A few years ago Laois fans called a boycott on their game v Dublin in Kilkenny because they were nt allowed use their home venue. It did nt make a difference and the gaa did the same the following years with Carlow Wicklow and Westmeath. Now if the dub fans boycotted then the gaa might sit up and take note. Having said all that it's mot Dublin's problem it's other counties and the gaa s problem.. However even the gaa would find it hard to control sponsership and donations.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 08/03/2021 14:03:40    2333701