Players Who Never Got All Starts Despite Having Great Seasons In Any Given Year

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Did your (Corks) Patrick Kelly ever get an allstar?...he was a nifty wing forward, didnt have a long intercounty career but was a class act on any given day..I am amazed Donnacha O'Connor never got one myself...didnt know he didnt until you posted it...a fine corner forward he was..a great free taker too wasnt he..."
Yes Donncha Ó Connor and Paddy Kelly were two top players.Donncha was a great marksman and Kelly a great playmaker. The irony of 2010 is that although Cork won Sam nó Cork forward made the all stars even though Daniel Goulding I think was man of the match in final. Also Cork had alot of games that year to showcase the players as they gad a replay and extratime with Jerry and then had to go into qualifiers going through beating Dublin in semi before Down in final. I can never remember an all ireland winning team not getting a forward on the all stars. Unique I would say.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 12/02/2021 10:48:44    2331163

Brian McGuigan in 05 was a key player throughout that season and in my view a contender for player of the year. Cain Mackey of Cavan in 2013 (I think?), played about 10 championship matches and was MOTM in about 8 of them. But going out in the quarters obviously didn't go down well with the powers that be. Lads can play 2 matches and win an AS so long as its the final and semi.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 12/02/2021 10:54:17    2331166

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Did your (Corks) Patrick Kelly ever get an allstar?...he was a nifty wing forward, didnt have a long intercounty career but was a class act on any given day..I am amazed Donnacha O'Connor never got one myself...didnt know he didnt until you posted it...a fine corner forward he was..a great free taker too wasnt he..."
No Paddy Kelly who was another great player who never managed to pick up all star. Always a great an consistent player to play on wing. I always remember the semi final against Dublin 2010. Cork didn't play particulary great but I was sitting near him in the first half and he was the only Cork player who beat his marker in the 1st half, he was a joy to watch. Great player and definitely deserved one imo.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 12/02/2021 13:15:16    2331185

Christy Ryan died too...I remember the mid 80's I was only mid teens and rember him comming on and I thought he was "ancient" as they say, he was only 63 when he died and I am 50 now...its strange what you think when your younger...a fine player too...a real work horse...RIP..Cork had many talented footballers over the years whom happened to come at at bad time as far as intercounty was conerned. ye had many "John O'Driscolls" and I do mix them up...ye had an excellent forward a few years back "Joe???" something or other...cannot think of his name..he suffered with injuries alot and would come on as a sub and kick frees and was deadly accurate from frees and play..its not Joe Kavanagh it woud be since him..this fellah was a smallish chubby guy, but had excellent feet as they say...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/02/2021 15:44:58    2331207

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Christy Ryan died too...I remember the mid 80's I was only mid teens and rember him comming on and I thought he was "ancient" as they say, he was only 63 when he died and I am 50 now...its strange what you think when your younger...a fine player too...a real work horse...RIP..Cork had many talented footballers over the years whom happened to come at at bad time as far as intercounty was conerned. ye had many "John O'Driscolls" and I do mix them up...ye had an excellent forward a few years back "Joe???" something or other...cannot think of his name..he suffered with injuries alot and would come on as a sub and kick frees and was deadly accurate from frees and play..its not Joe Kavanagh it woud be since him..this fellah was a smallish chubby guy, but had excellent feet as they say..."
James Masters is the fellah I am thinking of, came accross a few more stars while searching, Derek Kavanagh, Pearse O'Neill...I would love to see Sean Powther and Ruari Deane and Ian McGuire win an All Ireland...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/02/2021 15:52:18    2331208

One man deserved an All Star was Gerry McInerney from the Galway hurling teams 1986 to 1996. He had two great seasons 1987 and 1988.

ShamStars (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 12/02/2021 16:48:29    2331215

Replying To opa01:  "Agreed - never a Dub fan but Kevin Mac is one of my favourite players of the last 20 years. Always a buzz when he came on the field."
I think Kev Mc could've won an All-Star in 2016. Closest he came in anyways in that he started every game that year. Had a quiet drawn final which probably went against him but was excellent all year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 12/02/2021 16:57:16    2331221

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "James Masters is the fellah I am thinking of, came accross a few more stars while searching, Derek Kavanagh, Pearse O'Neill...I would love to see Sean Powther and Ruari Deane and Ian McGuire win an All Ireland..."
You and me both :D. As Cork man I live in hope.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 12/02/2021 17:04:53    2331223

All stars are weird as they are mainly based on semis and finals nowadays although 2019 was weird for Kerry s Stephen ó Brien. The finals probably messed up his all star. O Brien was favourite for footballer of the year before the final but ende up not even getting an all star. Also years ago a very good league would get a player an all star but it seems to be nearly all about championship now. Ironically though David Clifford who had a brilliant league last year did get an all star nomination although he only played one championship game

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 12/02/2021 18:17:52    2331232

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "All stars are weird as they are mainly based on semis and finals nowadays although 2019 was weird for Kerry s Stephen ó Brien. The finals probably messed up his all star. O Brien was favourite for footballer of the year before the final but ende up not even getting an all star. Also years ago a very good league would get a player an all star but it seems to be nearly all about championship now. Ironically though David Clifford who had a brilliant league last year did get an all star nomination although he only played one championship game"
Thats why the National League should revert back to what it was with decent prize etc...now its all about trying out players and while that has to be done, its almost over done...The Football league final between Donegal and Kerry was treated as very minor by Donegal as they were out in the chamionship 2 weeks later, and how did Donegal go in that over all...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/02/2021 21:08:45    2331241

Replying To ShamStars:  "One man deserved an All Star was Gerry McInerney from the Galway hurling teams 1986 to 1996. He had two great seasons 1987 and 1988."
yeah I would have guessed he got a an All Star, but he hasnt...the hard part of those years were Tipp were just back after their "famine" and Bobby Ryan and Riche Stakelum and Co. were on fire, KIlkenny were labouring around, Cork were loosing narrowly to Tipp, and of course Galway.....without checking I am guessing Tipp probably had may have had 2 or 3 defenders in the Allstars them years...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/02/2021 21:13:05    2331242

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Thats why the National League should revert back to what it was with decent prize etc...now its all about trying out players and while that has to be done, its almost over done...The Football league final between Donegal and Kerry was treated as very minor by Donegal as they were out in the chamionship 2 weeks later, and how did Donegal go in that over all..."
Well in fairness to Donegal they were safe from relegation and there were too many permutations for them to win league so they played with a weaker team. I actually think the league has improved over the last ten years with teams fitter now compared to 20 30 years ago.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 12/02/2021 22:36:30    2331247

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Brian McGuigan in 05 was a key player throughout that season and in my view a contender for player of the year. Cain Mackey of Cavan in 2013 (I think?), played about 10 championship matches and was MOTM in about 8 of them. But going out in the quarters obviously didn't go down well with the powers that be. Lads can play 2 matches and win an AS so long as its the final and semi."
That's a great call on mcguigan. He was superb, a great play maker and in my view motm in the final that year.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 13/02/2021 14:47:36    2331273

Kevin mcghloughlin has made the Sunday game team of the year 2 two or 3 times without ever winning an all star.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 14/02/2021 00:42:10    2331318

Replying To sligo joe:  "Slightly off topic but I reckon Kevin McManamon is surely one of the most influential players never honoured with an all star. Had a big say in some of Dublin's All Ireland wins and probably a couple we would not have won without him, the super-sub role maybe is not recognised for it's true value."
Giving an All Star to an impact sub? Good in a sprint. Never struck me as a complete footballer.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 14/02/2021 16:58:57    2331355

I wouldn't get too wound up about them. Individual awards in a team game were never easy to justify, and even more difficult nowadays, given the way that the collective nowadays is far more important than any gifted individual. Gone are the days when a brick wall in the defence or a horse at midfield or a dazzler in the forwards could turn a game by himself. It's just a lot harder nowadays to separate out an individual's contribution from the wider team's contribution. Also, they might as well call them AI semis and final awards, players not featuring in those games get only token recognition.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 14/02/2021 17:07:01    2331357

Replying To essmac:  "Giving an All Star to an impact sub? Good in a sprint. Never struck me as a complete footballer."
Well I suppose if the awards were only given to complete footballers we would hardly have 15 awards in any given year. Presuming that being a complete footballer includes winning aerial contests then the likes of Peter Canavan would not qualify. But of course we know it's a team game made up of "incomplete" footballers with different skill sets with the aim of putting together as near as possible the "complete" team. Impact subs are a much used asset in the modern game and my sole point is that I believe Kevin being used in that role has hindered his chances of all star recognition which would have sat well with his eight all Ireland medals.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 14/02/2021 18:33:56    2331365

Former Cavan Goalkeeper James Reilly was twice nominated. Should at least won one. The fact he was overlooked in 05 was a travesty.

Brads (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 14/02/2021 18:54:37    2331367

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Donncha Ó Connor and Paddy Kelly were two top players.Donncha was a great marksman and Kelly a great playmaker. The irony of 2010 is that although Cork won Sam nó Cork forward made the all stars even though Daniel Goulding I think was man of the match in final. Also Cork had alot of games that year to showcase the players as they gad a replay and extratime with Jerry and then had to go into qualifiers going through beating Dublin in semi before Down in final. I can never remember an all ireland winning team not getting a forward on the all stars. Unique I would say."
The Down full forward line of 1991, linden,witnell and mccarten none got an all star. Witnell hit 2-1 in semi v Kerry.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 14/02/2021 20:26:46    2331378

I would agree with a few posters Graham Reilly stands out as the player who should have got an all star and didnt in 2010, top scorer from play in ireland is unreal not to get an all star.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 14/02/2021 20:27:56    2331379