Flynn Set For Meath U20 Job

Replying To royal7:  "So Meath now have a dublin coach in senior and u 20's If you can't beat them hire them. The dubs could argue their already split in 2 ha"
Whos the Dublin coach?

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 12:13:09    2326275

Replying To royal7:  "So Meath now have a dublin coach in senior and u 20's If you can't beat them hire them. The dubs could argue their already split in 2 ha"
Sorry i assume u mean supple. Yeah he's dublin but has been involved with meath underage for a few years down and has coached the minor and u20 keepers last year and the year before.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 12:15:59    2326276

We are really saying there is nothing or no one from coaching sense capable of taking our young underage teams any further than minor within the county.can we get some coach education goin then.not a yearly one off day job with few guests involved.
Its seems these positions are seen as a step to coaching other teams no direction development plan.next year will see another group take it.the minor lads now should b giving the option to know they will have there group pass u20s.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 06/01/2021 12:28:44    2326279

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "sentimental bs - forgive me - i'm not annoyed at your post per se , but more with the general erception) of rewarding Guys with these Jobs....If the CB have done a thorough analysis of the u20 Management performance of 2020, have assessed how well Bernard Flynn & his Management Team will intergrate with the Panel of players that are available , and finally have taken into consideration how the working relationship will be between Bernard & Andy....and have concluded that this is the right appointment...well fair play to them, and best of luck to the New Appointees

If on the other hand.,...Bernard put his hand up at the last minute and expressed a desire to "do something"...and the CB gave him this gig, with Graham as his number two , given the awful year he & his family had last year....well feck me ...im hoping its not the latter"
You make a very valid and critically important point there! No disrespect to the two men who were great players and owe Meath nothing ! p.s. Wishing Graham a speedy and full recovery !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 06/01/2021 12:35:35    2326280

Name the dub coach please

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/01/2021 15:43:34    2326314

Replying To royaldunne:  "Name the dub coach please"
I assume he's on about Shane Supple but he's been involved with the 20s over the last couple of years so nothing new .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 16:07:47    2326317

Replying To royaldunne:  "Name the dub coach please"
And nally despite playing for Louth nally is originally from Dublin so technically he is correct. Who cares where someone is from anyway as long as they are the right person for the job

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 16:10:41    2326319

Replying To Blackspot09:  "And nally despite playing for Louth nally is originally from Dublin so technically he is correct. Who cares where someone is from anyway as long as they are the right person for the job"
That would be my opinion too. They could be from Sydney for all I care once they good for Meath football

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/01/2021 16:39:19    2326327

Replying To royaldunne:  "That would be my opinion too. They could be from Sydney for all I care once they good for Meath football"
in fact 3 "dubs" as you call them....Supple, Brennan & Nally all hail originally from Dublin..

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 06/01/2021 16:49:33    2326329

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "sentimental bs - forgive me - i'm not annoyed at your post per se , but more with the general erception) of rewarding Guys with these Jobs....If the CB have done a thorough analysis of the u20 Management performance of 2020, have assessed how well Bernard Flynn & his Management Team will intergrate with the Panel of players that are available , and finally have taken into consideration how the working relationship will be between Bernard & Andy....and have concluded that this is the right appointment...well fair play to them, and best of luck to the New Appointees

If on the other hand.,...Bernard put his hand up at the last minute and expressed a desire to "do something"...and the CB gave him this gig, with Graham as his number two , given the awful year he & his family had last year....well feck me ...im hoping its not the latter"
Unnecessarily negative post.

Flynn is an all time Meath great. I'm delighted he's finally taken an interest in getting involved in the county setup, better late than never. He looks to have a savage back room team too, dare I say, it puts McEntees backroom team (with exception of Donal Curtis ) into a rather unflattering light.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 06/01/2021 17:46:49    2326339

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "in fact 3 "dubs" as you call them....Supple, Brennan & Nally all hail originally from Dublin.."
Brennan not a Dub. Grew up in Dublin played for kilmacud but his parents are kilberry and he is very much a meath man.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 17:50:27    2326340

Replying To Crinigan:  "Unnecessarily negative post.

Flynn is an all time Meath great. I'm delighted he's finally taken an interest in getting involved in the county setup, better late than never. He looks to have a savage back room team too, dare I say, it puts McEntees backroom team (with exception of Donal Curtis ) into a rather unflattering light."
Agreed. The post seemed to have negative vibes for the sake of it. With the exception of this years minor management team which I hope is there to stay for the next term also, meath management teams have not covered themselves in glory recently. Lets see how they go before making judgements. If anything the view had been there that not enough of the successful players from the 80's or 90's had not been involved. This is a chance to address that.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 06/01/2021 19:08:55    2326354

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "in fact 3 "dubs" as you call them....Supple, Brennan & Nally all hail originally from Dublin.."
Yeah I was wrong thanks actually 3

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/01/2021 20:16:53    2326370

Replying To winatallcost:  "Agreed. The post seemed to have negative vibes for the sake of it. With the exception of this years minor management team which I hope is there to stay for the next term also, meath management teams have not covered themselves in glory recently. Lets see how they go before making judgements. If anything the view had been there that not enough of the successful players from the 80's or 90's had not been involved. This is a chance to address that."
Agree 100% . Who cares if it was 30 odd years ago that he was a top player. Its irrelevant to the job. Same way it was irrelevant last years manager wasn't a particularly accomplished player. All that matters is what they do while in the job. 30 years ago 10 years ago doesn't matter .Give flynn and his management and chance to prove themselves.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/01/2021 20:31:15    2326374

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Agree 100% . Who cares if it was 30 odd years ago that he was a top player. Its irrelevant to the job. Same way it was irrelevant last years manager wasn't a particularly accomplished player. All that matters is what they do while in the job. 30 years ago 10 years ago doesn't matter .Give flynn and his management and chance to prove themselves."
Well said blackspot09, usual mxppets who love complaining for the sake of it, best of luck to flynn and his colleagues in 2021 hopefully we get to some of the matches, has the draw been made does anyone know.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 06/01/2021 21:36:00    2326386

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Well said blackspot09, usual mxppets who love complaining for the sake of it, best of luck to flynn and his colleagues in 2021 hopefully we get to some of the matches, has the draw been made does anyone know."
In fairness RL, I haven't seen one person here wishing Flynn anything other than good luck.

What people are asking - and they are within their rights to do so - is why was this appointment made so late, what was the process (or lack of), why is there zero continuity from one year to the next, and so on.

We are one of the last if not *the* last county to appoint an U20 manager. How is that good practice for a county that is trying to close the gap to Dublin? How does that help the progression of a promising group who should by now have had a couple of months' training under their belts? Same thing happened last year. Nothing has been learned.

Champ starts in March as it stands, so Flynn has a very short period of time to find out who the best players are, get them together (which won't be allowed for a while probably), try to do some S&C work, get them fit, get challenge matches, figure out a playing system, and then his best 15.

That seems like very short window to get an awful lot done and to me it feels like we are selling our players massively short.

People asking questions of this appointment aren't "muppets", or having a go at Flynn. And this nonsense that if you question anything then you are just "moaning for the sake of it" just that - nonsense and an attempt to deflect.

People care, and many are rightly (IMO) concerned at the slapdash approach to much of what is happening in Meath GAA at the moment.

We will all be delighted if Bernard has success, but if he does it will be in spite of a massive lack of forward planning rather than because of it.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 06/01/2021 23:23:28    2326405

Replying To winatallcost:  "Agreed. The post seemed to have negative vibes for the sake of it. With the exception of this years minor management team which I hope is there to stay for the next term also, meath management teams have not covered themselves in glory recently. Lets see how they go before making judgements. If anything the view had been there that not enough of the successful players from the 80's or 90's had not been involved. This is a chance to address that."
post was not meant to come across negative , but that said I have to admit that my overall attitude could be seeping through on some of the tone of my posts and for that I will put my hand up & try & watch that going forward.

The original post was presupposing two scenarios on the process of the appointment and I made it clear that I hope there was a plan submitted by Flynn & his management team & that that Plan was THE Best of the various Plans received by the CB for this Post.
What im worried about (and this may be coming across as negative vibes) among other things is a fear that the CB don't place as much store on these appointments as I & others think they should. One burning issue for myself , and I accept others may not agree, is that I think a degree of continuity among the various management Teams in essential building block for us to make incremental improvements each year. In the absence of a Overseeing Body -( like a football development Structure) , where one would have a central database of info on players, perfromances , stats. , Results, feedback etc...how else are we going to build & pass on information. To me ideally, Flynn would have one of last years u20 Managment team as part of his backroom team & also one of the Management team that had this Group at Minor level....those additional two vaults of information , allow him to tap into the experiences of probably 50/60 % of the squad available to him....an immediate positive of this would be allowing him to get up to speed in a shorter period of time
Each year, we "chuck-in" and "Chuck oUt" Management Teams "en masse"
We all wish the New Appointees our best Wishes …and I mean all of us do....but then . Results don't go their way …and they are gone again...with no Exit review, no downloading f information & experiences...and we appoint a whole new bunch to lead us to the promised Land

I have no truck whatsoever with BFlynn Or any of his Management taem...in fact if I have any issues, its with those who ultimately employ hem , and who will assess their performance in April….., and who most likely, will disgard them also just because of a result
We had better start buying into the processes ….because the alternative, is to constantly assess success or failure....by results of an individual Team in a given year…..and to me , that is not the answer for long term success

PS...as a closing...would love to hear thought on the Eir Sport Game last night of the 2015 Game v Westmeath
Yours …. a proud Royal....but one who gave up on Hope as being a strategy a long time ago

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 07/01/2021 11:26:23    2326433

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "post was not meant to come across negative , but that said I have to admit that my overall attitude could be seeping through on some of the tone of my posts and for that I will put my hand up & try & watch that going forward.

The original post was presupposing two scenarios on the process of the appointment and I made it clear that I hope there was a plan submitted by Flynn & his management team & that that Plan was THE Best of the various Plans received by the CB for this Post.
What im worried about (and this may be coming across as negative vibes) among other things is a fear that the CB don't place as much store on these appointments as I & others think they should. One burning issue for myself , and I accept others may not agree, is that I think a degree of continuity among the various management Teams in essential building block for us to make incremental improvements each year. In the absence of a Overseeing Body -( like a football development Structure) , where one would have a central database of info on players, perfromances , stats. , Results, feedback etc...how else are we going to build & pass on information. To me ideally, Flynn would have one of last years u20 Managment team as part of his backroom team & also one of the Management team that had this Group at Minor level....those additional two vaults of information , allow him to tap into the experiences of probably 50/60 % of the squad available to him....an immediate positive of this would be allowing him to get up to speed in a shorter period of time
Each year, we "chuck-in" and "Chuck oUt" Management Teams "en masse"
We all wish the New Appointees our best Wishes …and I mean all of us do....but then . Results don't go their way …and they are gone again...with no Exit review, no downloading f information & experiences...and we appoint a whole new bunch to lead us to the promised Land

I have no truck whatsoever with BFlynn Or any of his Management taem...in fact if I have any issues, its with those who ultimately employ hem , and who will assess their performance in April….., and who most likely, will disgard them also just because of a result
We had better start buying into the processes ….because the alternative, is to constantly assess success or failure....by results of an individual Team in a given year…..and to me , that is not the answer for long term success

PS...as a closing...would love to hear thought on the Eir Sport Game last night of the 2015 Game v Westmeath
Yours …. a proud Royal....but one who gave up on Hope as being a strategy a long time ago"
Thanks Thelongwoodslasher. I agree with most of your points. Continuity from teams should be a priority but I'm sure with good communication between the management teams this can still be achieved. I believe Martin Blake who was part of the U20 management team last year is now coaching officer in the county board so I'm sure there can be a handover there. In relation to the match you are referring to between Meath and Westmeath in 2015, I did not see it but I remember it well. Meath were totally on top for 40 mins and playing some of the best football they had done since our Leinster success in 2010. If I remember, Graham Reilly was sent off and our midfield/defense totally collapsed and Westmeath overran us. This was a low point for us and the first time Westmeath defeated us in Leinster. One of the standouts of that defeat was the failure of leaders to standup and be counted. Unfortunately many of our best leaders were let go in 2013. Most of those guys had performed well and beat Dublin which is something that almost every current intercounty footballer in the country cannot say at the moment.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 07/01/2021 12:37:55    2326448

just an interesting addition lads... if one took a broad 15 from the period 88-92.....I count perhaps only 6 of a possible 15 starters that , as far as I am aware have not picked up the mantle in managing or being involved in one Meath team or another since ., the 5 that I stand to be corrected on are, McQuillan, Lyons Ferguson Gillick Stafford & O Rourke......Ive included Hayes as I know he put his hand up one time for a role, and as far as I know it was refused.....So possible other starters on a given day who have devoted time back in , to varying degrees are:
O malley, Colm Brday, Harnan, O Connell , McEntee, Beggy (I think) , Tommy Dowd, & now Flynn ….I know there are many others

One other point - and again I have to stop giving way to my negativity - but I believe that O malley, Harnan , O Connell & Tommy D,...were treated terribly at the end of the end of their stints....and one wonders if that would cloud any others from giving of their time

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 07/01/2021 13:46:12    2326463

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "just an interesting addition lads... if one took a broad 15 from the period 88-92.....I count perhaps only 6 of a possible 15 starters that , as far as I am aware have not picked up the mantle in managing or being involved in one Meath team or another since ., the 5 that I stand to be corrected on are, McQuillan, Lyons Ferguson Gillick Stafford & O Rourke......Ive included Hayes as I know he put his hand up one time for a role, and as far as I know it was refused.....So possible other starters on a given day who have devoted time back in , to varying degrees are:
O malley, Colm Brday, Harnan, O Connell , McEntee, Beggy (I think) , Tommy Dowd, & now Flynn ….I know there are many others

One other point - and again I have to stop giving way to my negativity - but I believe that O malley, Harnan , O Connell & Tommy D,...were treated terribly at the end of the end of their stints....and one wonders if that would cloud any others from giving of their time"
Mick Lyons was a selector with Sean Boylan around 1994/95.

I don't think that Kevin Foley has been a selector with Meath - he has with some club teams - Clonard I think.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 07/01/2021 14:14:11    2326470