Flynn Set For Meath U20 Job

Looks like a piece of good and progressive news - hopefully for a 2 to 3 year term to allow them invest in getting to know the players coming through and not a mad panic just before the championship and a limited set of players based on the top clubs.

Btw, I assume that we a talking about the under 20's from 2020, are we?

https://hoganstand.com/Meath/Article/Index/315061

Two-time All-Ireland SFC winner Bernard Flynn is set to be appointed Meath U20 football manager.

Flynn, who has management experience with Mullingar Shamrocks, will be appointed at next Monday night's county convention. Former Mayo ladies manager Peter Leahy will be coach/trainer with Kilmacud Crokes manager Robbie Brennan a selector/coach.

Graham Geraghty and Graham Reilly are selectors while Shane Supple is the squad's goalkeeping coach.

Geraghty underwent life-saving surgery in October after suffering a brain hemorrhage and has since returned home to his family as he continues his recovery.

The U20 provincial championships are set to start at the end of March, with the All-Ireland final fixed for the first weekend in May.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 05/01/2021 14:55:47    2326118

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Looks like a piece of good and progressive news - hopefully for a 2 to 3 year term to allow them invest in getting to know the players coming through and not a mad panic just before the championship and a limited set of players based on the top clubs.

Two-time All-Ireland SFC winner Bernard Flynn is set to be appointed Meath U20 football manager.

Flynn, who has management experience with Mullingar Shamrocks, will be appointed at next Monday night's county convention. Former Mayo ladies manager Peter Leahy will be coach/trainer with Kilmacud Crokes manager Robbie Brennan a selector/coach.

Graham Geraghty and Graham Reilly are selectors while Shane Supple is the squad's goalkeeping coach.

Geraghty underwent life-saving surgery in October after suffering a brain hemorrhage and has since returned home to his family as he continues his recovery.

The U20 provincial championships are set to start at the end of March, with the All-Ireland final fixed for the first weekend in May.
"
on what basis is Flynn & this Management Team a good appointment?...honestly not trying to be awkward or too sceptical , but would be real interested to see what we think this group will bring to it

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 05/01/2021 15:51:39    2326126

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Looks like a piece of good and progressive news - hopefully for a 2 to 3 year term to allow them invest in getting to know the players coming through and not a mad panic just before the championship and a limited set of players based on the top clubs.

"
It's come from left field for me. Very surprised

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 05/01/2021 16:11:03    2326130

Has BF been involved with Meath at underage? Just curious what knowledge he has of lads coming through. However fair play to him for giving his time and hopefully will be a success.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 05/01/2021 16:19:31    2326133

Surprising is one word. It's almost as if it was left so late that many other potential candidates had already accepted jobs with clubs etc. Why this wasn't sorted months ago is a mystery.

That said, best of luck to Bernard if he gets the job and let's hope for some continuity at this level in terms of management, rather than appointing lads on an annual basis a couple of months before the championship starts.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 05/01/2021 16:34:47    2326135

Really disappointing for lads born in 2000
They missed out on minor as it went to U17 that year missed out on u21 as discontinued
Now miss out on u20 because of COVID

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 05/01/2021 17:23:22    2326141

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Really disappointing for lads born in 2000
They missed out on minor as it went to U17 that year missed out on u21 as discontinued
Now miss out on u20 because of COVID"
So this is for lads born 2001 not 2000 cohort?

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 05/01/2021 17:37:41    2326149

Would paddy gilsenan or someone actually involved with meath underage not be an addition to this team.
3 years is not goin to be of any addution to this team unless flynn is been earmarked to take over seniors.let the minor lads keep goin with there team.but i hope flynn brings something to it.but no continuity to our coaches with teams.we will stay bdhind the pack because of this i feel.ahh well.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/01/2021 18:27:48    2326162

Suprise appointment for sure...

The under 20 manager position should be used as part of succession planning for senior manager role.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 05/01/2021 18:51:02    2326169

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Really disappointing for lads born in 2000
Now miss out on u20 because of COVID"
The lads born in 2000 got an under 20, there was an under 20 competition in 2020. We got hammered by Dublin the day before we played Kerry in Killarney. Galway went on to beat Dublin in the all Ireland final before the senior final.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 05/01/2021 18:55:00    2326170

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The lads born in 2000 got an under 20, there was an under 20 competition in 2020. We got hammered by Dublin the day before we played Kerry in Killarney. Galway went on to beat Dublin in the all Ireland final before the senior final."
At county only
Excluding hundreds of club players
No minor
No u20
No u21
For year 2000 lads

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 05/01/2021 20:10:46    2326191

I think it is positive news that Flynn wants to get involved. Not many of the 80's and 90's teams have taken on management roles for our county teams. Have seen Flynn at alot of Meath underage matches over the years and has good charisma and passion. Time is tight but hopefully this year can be successful and the management team can be put in place for a couple of years. Would be nice to see Graham Geraghty back out there involved in any capacity.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 05/01/2021 22:30:56    2326218

Replying To winatallcost:  "I think it is positive news that Flynn wants to get involved. Not many of the 80's and 90's teams have taken on management roles for our county teams. Have seen Flynn at alot of Meath underage matches over the years and has good charisma and passion. Time is tight but hopefully this year can be successful and the management team can be put in place for a couple of years. Would be nice to see Graham Geraghty back out there involved in any capacity."
sentimental bs - forgive me - i'm not annoyed at your post per se , but more with the general erception) of rewarding Guys with these Jobs....If the CB have done a thorough analysis of the u20 Management performance of 2020, have assessed how well Bernard Flynn & his Management Team will intergrate with the Panel of players that are available , and finally have taken into consideration how the working relationship will be between Bernard & Andy....and have concluded that this is the right appointment...well fair play to them, and best of luck to the New Appointees

If on the other hand.,...Bernard put his hand up at the last minute and expressed a desire to "do something"...and the CB gave him this gig, with Graham as his number two , given the awful year he & his family had last year....well feck me ...im hoping its not the latter

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 06/01/2021 09:44:59    2326243

Replying To winatallcost:  "I think it is positive news that Flynn wants to get involved. Not many of the 80's and 90's teams have taken on management roles for our county teams. Have seen Flynn at alot of Meath underage matches over the years and has good charisma and passion. Time is tight but hopefully this year can be successful and the management team can be put in place for a couple of years. Would be nice to see Graham Geraghty back out there involved in any capacity."
But why is time tight? The county board has had since last February to put a manager in place, but have left it until the 11th hour yet again.

Whether or not BF works out (and I hope he does) is almost a moot point. The whole process around appointing a manager for this team has been a shambles, not for the first time. What must the players be thinking...

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 06/01/2021 09:50:45    2326244

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "sentimental bs - forgive me - i'm not annoyed at your post per se , but more with the general erception) of rewarding Guys with these Jobs....If the CB have done a thorough analysis of the u20 Management performance of 2020, have assessed how well Bernard Flynn & his Management Team will intergrate with the Panel of players that are available , and finally have taken into consideration how the working relationship will be between Bernard & Andy....and have concluded that this is the right appointment...well fair play to them, and best of luck to the New Appointees

If on the other hand.,...Bernard put his hand up at the last minute and expressed a desire to "do something"...and the CB gave him this gig, with Graham as his number two , given the awful year he & his family had last year....well feck me ...im hoping its not the latter"
I would disagree that this is sentimental BS to be honest. With Leahy and Brennan involved, this sounds like a really experienced backroom team. Geraghty has also got extensive experience in recent years not to mention the playing experience at the very highest level of Flynn and Geraghty. This this not count for anything? Where are the alternatives? Granted a management team should have been put in place a long time ago. Just for information, Andy McEntee does not have an overarching control of U20 affairs so relationship with this management team should be on a professional basis only. If anything, availability of players from senior panel last year had a detrimental effect on the U20 team. Andy will be under pressure in his own right to achieve results with the Senior team.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 06/01/2021 10:47:19    2326251

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The lads born in 2000 got an under 20, there was an under 20 competition in 2020. We got hammered by Dublin the day before we played Kerry in Killarney. Galway went on to beat Dublin in the all Ireland final before the senior final."
for what its worth....and let me stage at outset I neither was involved, knew no one involved (other than the odd time running into Kevin Reilly around Navan) and am not a Dunboyne man.... But an Asterix has to be put on that Dublin result imo based on Ger Robinson only getting the job in late December 2019 ….im not giving him a pass , nor im sure would he want one....But to me he more than anyone should have been top of the assessment list for the 2021 U20 Job.
Ps....one of the things we should do is get away form seeing these things as one personality...Robinson was ably assisted by kevin reilly, Joe Sheridan, Shane Barrett , Alana Nestor & I think martin Blake.....and its incredible that not one of these is part of the 2021 set up, as far as I am aware

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 06/01/2021 10:52:31    2326252

So Meath now have a dublin coach in senior and u 20's If you can't beat them hire them. The dubs could argue their already split in 2 ha

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/01/2021 11:34:57    2326263

Ok first off let me be very clear I know both Bernard (particularly well as we both have resided in same co for a long time and our paths often cross ) graham I know as he was a neighbour of my sisters for years in Athboy till she moved .
But this has took me by absolute surprise tbh I can't get my head around it, at no stage has Bernie indicated he was looking for a management position with Meath at any level. It seems a very hastily arranged. Now don't get me wrong I think Bernard will do a excellent job. As for Graham ? I think we all hoped he would one day manage Meath seniors , he has had a up down management career but Meath players would go through a wall for him, but graham health must come first so hopefully this does not affect his recovery.
I wish them all well and hope they make a success of this.
To say I'm surprised is the understatement of the year so far. But I am delighted

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/01/2021 11:40:55    2326265

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "for what its worth....and let me stage at outset I neither was involved, knew no one involved (other than the odd time running into Kevin Reilly around Navan) and am not a Dunboyne man.... But an Asterix has to be put on that Dublin result imo based on Ger Robinson only getting the job in late December 2019 ….im not giving him a pass , nor im sure would he want one....But to me he more than anyone should have been top of the assessment list for the 2021 U20 Job.
Ps....one of the things we should do is get away form seeing these things as one personality...Robinson was ably assisted by kevin reilly, Joe Sheridan, Shane Barrett , Alana Nestor & I think martin Blake.....and its incredible that not one of these is part of the 2021 set up, as far as I am aware"
Strange none of the management team which won leinster comfortably with this group at minor level on the ticket. Paddy Gilsenan, Joe Treanor, Paul Nestor and others excluded. Nestor with current U17s. Would have concerns that the proposed management team know much about the available underage players in Meath as none of them have been involved with Meath underage.

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 06/01/2021 11:48:48    2326268

We are really saying there is nothing or no one from coaching sense capable of taking our young underage teams any further than minor within the county.can we get some coach education goin then.not a yearly one off day job with few guests involved.
Its seems these positions are seen as a step to coaching other teams no direction development plan.next year will see another group take it.the minor lads now should b giving the option to know they will have there group pass u20s.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 06/01/2021 12:08:31    2326273