Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To oneoff:  "Apart from when he managed Clare....."
A retirement gig for a few months was all that was. Not relevant at all at all.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 16:28:11    2329179

Replying To Breffni40:  "Obviously not all Kerry folk are like this but he personifies that Kerry arrogance. They're entitled to their advantages because yerra. If he was in any way genuine about his selfless pursuit of "fairness" he'd see this. It's entirely self-serving and the forum is suffering badly because of it. His idea of fairness is Kerry winning the All-Ireland and nothing else."
And were all to believe that it's just in them to be winning AL titles and nothing else.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 27/01/2021 16:33:26    2329182

Replying To catch22:  "No, Kerry are just a football county in a hurling province that do all ye can to discourage development of the game there. Sure even Micko went to Leinster to take up his county managerial posts instead of staying in Munster.
Yeev set the game back in Munster at every opportunity."
Ah Catch I think you re being a bit harsh there.As one off said already Micko did manage Clare for a short period.Paidi O Se also managed Clare as did ex all Ireland Kerry winners John Kennedy and Johnno Keefe.Limerick have been managed by Mickey Ned O Sullivan Johhno Keefe and Liam Kerins.Tipperary have been managed by Liam Kerins and John Evans all Kerry).Donie Buckley was also involved with Limerick.These are the facts but as some say "never let the facts get in the way of a good story".Cork while mainly a hurling county are a massive football county and as I have posted already have more all Irelands in football than Mayo and Tyrone put together.While trying to get at Kerry you are making little of Cork s achievements.Are you aware that Cork won the 2019 u20 football also and are current all Ireland minor football champions.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 16:41:57    2329183

Replying To catch22:  "A retirement gig for a few months was all that was. Not relevant at all at all."
How isn't it? You said he didn't manage a Munster county but he has. Unless you for some reason think Clare isn't in Munster?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1378 - 27/01/2021 17:07:46    2329186

BTW apologies but i don't think i've said best of luck to Brian kelly, Shane Enright and other who have departed the kerry team. Gave plenty, whilst not the most talented of guys, but every team needs lads like that. You can't have a Trevor Giles without a Colm Coyle..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/01/2021 17:10:43    2329187

Replying To catch22:  "No, Kerry are just a football county in a hurling province that do all ye can to discourage development of the game there. Sure even Micko went to Leinster to take up his county managerial posts instead of staying in Munster.
Also every county in Munster has won a provisional title and qualified for an All-ireland final, the only of the four provinces to do so. Or is there something not true about that as well?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1378 - 27/01/2021 17:12:08    2329188

Replying To oneoff:  "Also every county in Munster has won a provisional title and qualified for an All-ireland final, the only of the four provinces to do so. Or is there something not true about that as well?"
Every County, Cork are the only real threat and that's once in a blue moon. Apart from this year when Kerry took their eye off the ball and got caught there no fear of that happening.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 17:28:20    2329191

Replying To catch22:  "Every County, Cork are the only real threat and that's once in a blue moon. Apart from this year when Kerry took their eye off the ball and got caught there no fear of that happening."
But Tipperary won Munster last year not Cork.....

Also the Munster championship hasn't been played yet this year so how did Kerry take their eye off the ball?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1378 - 27/01/2021 17:41:33    2329196

Replying To oneoff:  "But Tipperary won Munster last year not Cork.....

Also the Munster championship hasn't been played yet this year so how did Kerry take their eye off the ball?"
If you're gonna be pedantic, what's a provisonal championship? Every Munster county has one? When does it get confirmed?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 27/01/2021 17:58:30    2329198

Replying To oneoff:  "But Tipperary won Munster last year not Cork.....

Also the Munster championship hasn't been played yet this year so how did Kerry take their eye off the ball?"
That's what's I'm referring to if you can't put it all together.
Tipp are current champions so they are still champions in 2021 until it's played.
When did Tipp win it before ? 85 years ago and Clare near 30 years ago. Aye, a 5 county province and they all hurling and some boys on about advantages.
Stay blind if it's easier not to look at the truth of it.
Ye turned up in Cork with one eye on the Dubs and got caught thinking ye were going to March on to another handy title.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 18:48:08    2329205

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah Catch I think you re being a bit harsh there.As one off said already Micko did manage Clare for a short period.Paidi O Se also managed Clare as did ex all Ireland Kerry winners John Kennedy and Johnno Keefe.Limerick have been managed by Mickey Ned O Sullivan Johhno Keefe and Liam Kerins.Tipperary have been managed by Liam Kerins and John Evans all Kerry).Donie Buckley was also involved with Limerick.These are the facts but as some say "never let the facts get in the way of a good story".Cork while mainly a hurling county are a massive football county and as I have posted already have more all Irelands in football than Mayo and Tyrone put together.While trying to get at Kerry you are making little of Cork s achievements.Are you aware that Cork won the 2019 u20 football also and are current all Ireland minor football champions."
No Mick, apart from Paudi the others you mention didn't win a lot as managers at senior inter county level.
You have a few Kerry posters who prefer to talk about everyone else's advantages. Yeer not without great advantages.
I'm well aware of Corks achievements and their first love is hurling like all the Munster Counties so don't be playing the Cork card as that's generally all ye have to fall back on in these discussions. Ironic that you mention the Cork U20 title when it suits and no word of 5 in a row at minor which some lads love to talk about when it suits.
Sure ye'll just have to scrape by I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 19:02:24    2329208

Replying To brian:  "BTW apologies but i don't think i've said best of luck to Brian kelly, Shane Enright and other who have departed the kerry team. Gave plenty, whilst not the most talented of guys, but every team needs lads like that. You can't have a Trevor Giles without a Colm Coyle.."
Thanks Brian. Kelly was solid and Enright was a good man marker. Unlucky to meet Andy Moran at his best in 14 but a good servant all the same.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 19:48:37    2329213

Replying To catch22:  "No Mick, apart from Paudi the others you mention didn't win a lot as managers at senior inter county level.
You have a few Kerry posters who prefer to talk about everyone else's advantages. Yeer not without great advantages.
I'm well aware of Corks achievements and their first love is hurling like all the Munster Counties so don't be playing the Cork card as that's generally all ye have to fall back on in these discussions. Ironic that you mention the Cork U20 title when it suits and no word of 5 in a row at minor which some lads love to talk about when it suits.
Sure ye'll just have to scrape by I suppose."
Catch they made them better teams. John no Keefe brought Limerick to their first msf in decades. Liam Kearns brought them to a few and drew with Kerry in msf before Kerry went on to win Sam. Kearns also brought Tipp to an all ireland semi in 2016 where they did great v Mayo (who prob should ve beaten you in final). On Kerry minors 5 in a row winning teams. The toughest games they got were from guess? Yes Cork who took them to extra time twice. Now Catch this is nt my opinion. These are facts. I get the feeling you are trying to belittle Kerry saying munster a hurling county. Tell that to Gary Brennan or John Galvin or Declan Browne Larry Tompkins Colin Corkery Noel ó Leary.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 20:08:45    2329217

Replying To catch22:  "No Mick, apart from Paudi the others you mention didn't win a lot as managers at senior inter county level.
Corks first love is hurling true but they are a dual county meaning they are a football county too. Much more of a football county than alot in Leinster maybe. Galway are mainly a football county but their hurlers are nt too bad either so for me they are a dual county. Of course Kerry have advantages over many counties. I would not deny that but its wrong to claim we only play hurling counties. P. S. There are 6 counties in munster and 5 of them have been in quarter finals recently (football) Now only Ulster can match that. I'm just throwing out the facts but you make up your own mind.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 20:17:59    2329220

What a daft post. Explain to me what Kerry do to discourage the game in munster? Do we go around bursting the footballs everywhere in the province or what's your point?

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/01/2021 20:23:03    2329222

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Catch they made them better teams. John no Keefe brought Limerick to their first msf in decades. Liam Kearns brought them to a few and drew with Kerry in msf before Kerry went on to win Sam. Kearns also brought Tipp to an all ireland semi in 2016 where they did great v Mayo (who prob should ve beaten you in final). On Kerry minors 5 in a row winning teams. The toughest games they got were from guess? Yes Cork who took them to extra time twice. Now Catch this is nt my opinion. These are facts. I get the feeling you are trying to belittle Kerry saying munster a hurling county. Tell that to Gary Brennan or John Galvin or Declan Browne Larry Tompkins Colin Corkery Noel ó Leary."
All fine players indeed those listed and Limerick ,Cork ,Tipp & Clare were all lucky to have them. There are of course these players who would walk onto most teams but that's not going to win any silver. They crop up in all provinces on teams that never won an AI. It's not belittling but simply pointing out a fact ,as you like to point out ,that Munster is and always has been a predominantly hurling province with some counties being lucky enough to possess the odd gem.
Cork minors might have got close as did the managers you mention but that's about it. Anyone else winning is the exception not the rule no matter what way you turn it.
You got a taste of the sort of fella who would have you believe football is dead and can't stomach the fact Kerry aren't winning when you first appeared. Never once looking at the impact Kerry's dominance in Munster might have had over the last century, nor giving a hoot.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 20:46:00    2329226

John Evans took Tipp from Div 4 to Div 2.

Liam Kearns took Tipp to Div 2 and an All Ireland semi final. He also took Limerick to Div 1. He managed both to wins over Cork, the only team according to you challenge Kerry.

What does Kerry winning 5 minor titles have to do with Cork winning an U20 title? They also won the minor All Ireland in 2019 does that have something to do with Kerry as well?

If Kerry have all these advantages why are they not winning U20 titles? Seeing as you're so keen to bring up underage success. Tipp have been in an U21 All Ireland final more recently than Kerry. How do you explain that?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1378 - 27/01/2021 20:50:30    2329230

Replying To catch22:  "All fine players indeed those listed and Limerick ,Cork ,Tipp & Clare were all lucky to have them. There are of course these players who would walk onto most teams but that's not going to win any silver. They crop up in all provinces on teams that never won an AI. It's not belittling but simply pointing out a fact ,as you like to point out ,that Munster is and always has been a predominantly hurling province with some counties being lucky enough to possess the odd gem.
Cork minors might have got close as did the managers you mention but that's about it. Anyone else winning is the exception not the rule no matter what way you turn it.
You got a taste of the sort of fella who would have you believe football is dead and can't stomach the fact Kerry aren't winning when you first appeared. Never once looking at the impact Kerry's dominance in Munster might have had over the last century, nor giving a hoot."
Of course Catch when one team dominates in a province its bad for the other teams but you seem to think you know how Kerry folk think. Of course we want Kerry to win just like you do with Dublin but most Kerry people like to see other munster teams doing well. You are of course entitled to your opinion but I'm afraid I don't agree with your views on munster football.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 21:45:56    2329238

Replying To oneoff:  "John Evans took Tipp from Div 4 to Div 2.

Liam Kearns took Tipp to Div 2 and an All Ireland semi final. He also took Limerick to Div 1. He managed both to wins over Cork, the only team according to you challenge Kerry.

What does Kerry winning 5 minor titles have to do with Cork winning an U20 title? They also won the minor All Ireland in 2019 does that have something to do with Kerry as well?

If Kerry have all these advantages why are they not winning U20 titles? Seeing as you're so keen to bring up underage success. Tipp have been in an U21 All Ireland final more recently than Kerry. How do you explain that?"
Again , little or no real success when you sum up what you are talking titles for those managers. The two other managers I mentioned won titles elsewhere.
Being in a final in a five county province, and fair play to Tipp considering they have a massively hurling oriented base is not impossible.
Don't know the relevance of that or what explaining you need.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2021 21:46:44    2329239

Replying To catch22:  "Again , little or no real success when you sum up what you are talking titles for those managers. The two other managers I mentioned won titles elsewhere.
Being in a final in a five county province, and fair play to Tipp considering they have a massively hurling oriented base is not impossible.
Don't know the relevance of that or what explaining you need."
There s six counties in Munster

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 27/01/2021 21:56:25    2329244