Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah but you're playing largely hurling counties in your home ground in the championship. Is it any wonder that you haven't been beaten in 27 years. Croke Park is hardly a home ground in the true sense of the word when you consider that teams like Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone probably play there 4 times a year in league, league knockout stages, AI series business end. I don't see Dublin playing 4 times in a real home ground like Fitzgerald every year. Seasoned Mayo players must have played in Croker about 40 times at this stage. Hardly a true away ground for any of the big contenders. Dubs have a pretty good record in their 2 games away in the championship each year. Ask Tyrone."
Mick kinda covered a lot of what I was going to say in his post jox but you can't really thinks that Croke Park isn't yer home ground when there is a pile of evidence to state otherwise.

There was a stat at the end of the championship that cluxtin has played 112 championship games for dublin and 101 of them were played at home .

Also playing 2 dead rubber games against Tyrone in Omagh doesn't really count as Tyrone were looking to keep their team fresh for the semifinals the following week.

Croke Park is a massive advantage to dublin as a county/province both financially ( nó travel or hotels or up keep of own stadium) and in football terms.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 11:00:29    2328978

Replying To brian:  "Amazing the way even a thread to recognise players stepping away from the game and to wish the well gets dragged down to a Dubs have every advantage rant by one poster on here..

Simply amazing...

Dunno if I said anything since Keith Higgins announcement but best of luck to him, gave everything for Mayo and played both codes. Go well Keith."
Spot on - and as I had said more times than I care to remember, definite Agenda by him and the desired snowball effect.
Should have been Black Carded ages ago..... ;o)
Far too many topics on HS are being highjacked and ruined. It is deliberate, constant and persistent...

Back to the topic at hand - first we had little or no more dual county players, and now lads are retiring (or walking away for a while) in their 20's. The physical & mental demands for amateurs are so great now, that very soon it will be very rare to have a county player in their 30's at all...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 26/01/2021 11:22:23    2328981

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mick kinda covered a lot of what I was going to say in his post jox but you can't really thinks that Croke Park isn't yer home ground when there is a pile of evidence to state otherwise.

There was a stat at the end of the championship that cluxtin has played 112 championship games for dublin and 101 of them were played at home .

Also playing 2 dead rubber games against Tyrone in Omagh doesn't really count as Tyrone were looking to keep their team fresh for the semifinals the following week.

Croke Park is a massive advantage to dublin as a county/province both financially ( nó travel or hotels or up keep of own stadium) and in football terms."
What has any of that got to do with this thread ? Must you spoil every thread ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 11:52:49    2328984

Replying To superbluedub:  "What has any of that got to do with this thread ? Must you spoil every thread ?"
Have a look at the tradition thread, a thread started about the Bishop throwing in the ball at the start of the game and it moved on to religion and faith and they are now discussing dublin playing all their games at croke Park and the fact ye have no centres of excellence.

And I haven't contributed to that thread so you can't blame me for that but it's interesting you're not over on that thread giving out.

So you can see that threads have away of developing and moving in different directions.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 12:53:24    2328993

Best of luck to Keith Higgins. One of Mayo's best. Very good in both codes. He'll not be replaced easily.
Dublin and Mayo have had some of their marquee names retire. As a Dub , we are blessed to have had such top players come together over the last decade and with the consistency of standard that they have maintained. This has been our main strength. I know many outside Dublin will point to this advantage and that advantage and that's fair enough. I would say though that all the great teams that have won multiple All Ireland's have played more frequently in Croke park than their rivals and would have been much more familiar with the routine and ceremonies surrounding the big days.
Finally, most Dubs would have no issue with playing more games on the road and do so in good numbers for all league fixtures.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/01/2021 13:10:20    2328997

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Have a look at the tradition thread, a thread started about the Bishop throwing in the ball at the start of the game and it moved on to religion and faith and they are now discussing dublin playing all their games at croke Park and the fact ye have no centres of excellence.

And I haven't contributed to that thread so you can't blame me for that but it's interesting you're not over on that thread giving out.

So you can see that threads have away of developing and moving in different directions."
Exactly threads have away of developing and moving in different directions , with you in particular the main instigator , apart from the " tradition thread " amazingly :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 13:33:43    2329005

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Best of luck to Keith Higgins. One of Mayo's best. Very good in both codes. He'll not be replaced easily.
Dublin and Mayo have had some of their marquee names retire. As a Dub , we are blessed to have had such top players come together over the last decade and with the consistency of standard that they have maintained. This has been our main strength. I know many outside Dublin will point to this advantage and that advantage and that's fair enough. I would say though that all the great teams that have won multiple All Ireland's have played more frequently in Croke park than their rivals and would have been much more familiar with the routine and ceremonies surrounding the big days.
Finally, most Dubs would have no issue with playing more games on the road and do so in good numbers for all league fixtures."
It's easy to get big numbers to travel to 3 or 4 away games a year Dubhlinn, in 2019 we played 7 out of our 8 championship games on the road.

In 2017 Mayo played 9 out of their 10 games on the road.

I think Tyrone played 8 or 9 games on the road in 08.

And that's not taking into account 3, 4 or 5 away league games as well.

Look at the expense that has on supporters and country teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 13:45:59    2329007

All players come to an end but its sad when great players retire. Time waits for no man or woman. Most players that have retired recently were surplus to requirements anyway. Their best days were behind them but it is extra sad when players are retiring very young like Ger Aylward (Kilkenny). Being an intercounty player is hard work nowadays and for some with travel etc it makes it extra hard. These lads are trying to work as well. They make big sacrifices and should be applauded. I mean can you imagine a guy from Kerry or Donegal working in Dublin and having to travel 3 or 4 times a week in 8 hour round trips. Even in Dublin you could have guy travelling over an hour to go to training and same thing afterwards. Then most training is on in the evenings so it's work training and if they have young kids they don't get to see them much. That's why certain jobs suit gaa players more than others. Teacher for example tend to play gaa longer as they off for summer and finish earlier in the day so they get to see family. When you win the rewards are great but only a handful of counties are that lucky.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 26/01/2021 13:50:03    2329008

Replying To superbluedub:  "Exactly threads have away of developing and moving in different directions , with you in particular the main instigator , apart from the " tradition thread " amazingly :-)"
There are plenty of other contributers on plenty of other threads saying semilar to what I say, dublins advantages can't be accepted as the norm because its wrong and it needs to be highlighted.

All any1 outside of dublin wants is fairness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 14:07:36    2329011

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's easy to get big numbers to travel to 3 or 4 away games a year Dubhlinn, in 2019 we played 7 out of our 8 championship games on the road.

In 2017 Mayo played 9 out of their 10 games on the road.

I think Tyrone played 8 or 9 games on the road in 08.

And that's not taking into account 3, 4 or 5 away league games as well.

Look at the expense that has on supporters and country teams."
Of course Kingdomboy1there's big expense involved and it's the so called weaker counties who must find it a real drain on their coffers.
We've also been able to avoid having to use the back door root which is a help.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/01/2021 14:18:36    2329014

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There are plenty of other contributers on plenty of other threads saying semilar to what I say, dublins advantages can't be accepted as the norm because its wrong and it needs to be highlighted.

All any1 outside of dublin wants is fairness."
Again wrong thread , If you want to whinge about Dublin ," which you quiet clearly do -:) "
Open up a thread designated to " Whinging about Dublin " , instead of hijacking the likes of
The Stepping Away And Retirements thread etc etc .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 14:33:43    2329017

Replying To superbluedub:  "Again wrong thread , If you want to whinge about Dublin ," which you quiet clearly do -:) "
Open up a thread designated to " Whinging about Dublin " , instead of hijacking the likes of
The Stepping Away And Retirements thread etc etc ."
Are you going to tell all the lads over on the tradition thread and all other threads that evolve to other topics the same thing you've told me or will you be a hypocrite? My guess is you'll say nothing.

And why do you equate some 1 looking for fairness as whining? What kind of a world would we live in if you were In charge of everything :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 14:48:11    2329019

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Of course Kingdomboy1there's big expense involved and it's the so called weaker counties who must find it a real drain on their coffers.
We've also been able to avoid having to use the back door root which is a help."
Absolutely dubhlinn I agree with you 100% on all of that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 14:52:10    2329021

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are you going to tell all the lads over on the tradition thread and all other threads that evolve to other topics the same thing you've told me or will you be a hypocrite? My guess is you'll say nothing.

And why do you equate some 1 looking for fairness as whining? What kind of a world would we live in if you were In charge of everything :-)"
Most lads here realise there are problems within the GAA that need sorting , but your constanting , whinging and bitterness towards Dublin is rediculous , Again there is no need to drag down every thread , why not open up a new one and keep all your anti Dublin bitterness to that thread .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 15:09:57    2329024

Replying To superbluedub:  "Most lads here realise there are problems within the GAA that need sorting , but your constanting , whinging and bitterness towards Dublin is rediculous , Again there is no need to drag down every thread , why not open up a new one and keep all your anti Dublin bitterness to that thread ."
But it's not anti dublin bitterness these advantages are facts and should be talked about not just brushed under the carpet, we've seen what happens when issues aren't dealt with properly and it says a lot about you as a poster that your against fairness.

By the way have you gone over to the tradition thread yet and told them to get back on point? I doubt you have.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 15:24:53    2329026

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "But it's not anti dublin bitterness these advantages are facts and should be talked about not just brushed under the carpet, we've seen what happens when issues aren't dealt with properly and it says a lot about you as a poster that your against fairness.

By the way have you gone over to the tradition thread yet and told them to get back on point? I doubt you have."
Again nobody is looking for anything to be brushed under the carpet
You are constantly ruining threads , Why not open up a thread to talk about your " facts " there

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 15:38:45    2329029

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are you going to tell all the lads over on the tradition thread and all other threads that evolve to other topics the same thing you've told me or will you be a hypocrite? My guess is you'll say nothing.

And why do you equate some 1 looking for fairness as whining? What kind of a world would we live in if you were In charge of everything :-)"
You never entertain any of the advantages Kerry have over others

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 26/01/2021 15:48:42    2329033

Replying To superbluedub:  "Again nobody is looking for anything to be brushed under the carpet
You are constantly ruining threads , Why not open up a thread to talk about your " facts " there"
They're not my facts though they're the facts of the situation and you are trying to brush those facts under the carpet, you don't want dublins advantages spoken about and you obviously don't want any kind of fairness.

Did you sort out the tradition thread yet?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/01/2021 17:19:45    2329044

Replying To Breffni40:  "You never entertain any of the advantages Kerry have over others"
100% Breffni

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/01/2021 19:49:06    2329057

Replying To Breffni40:  "You never entertain any of the advantages Kerry have over others"
Wait....what....Kerry have advantages over other counties? No freaking way...this..this can't be?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/01/2021 22:30:51    2329078