GAA Funding

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jay's it's always the begrudgers fault for voting dublin into Croke Park and sure ye have no say in it at all do ye? Sure ye'll play where ever yer told to play and do what ever yer told to do.

I can't wait to see if ye'll be so compliant and walk quietly into the night when we all vote for yer county to be split in 4."
Yeah. We'll see how quiet ye are when all 4 make the AI semis. Sure if ye can't beat a hurling county like Cork in your own province then splitting Dublin should be the least of your worries.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/12/2020 10:44:56    2325338

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How do you mean the gaa won't allow dublin to build a stadium? Have they come out and actually said that or is this something you heard from username?

And how could they stop ye building a stadium when ye own the land its being built on?"
There is so much talk of stadiums being white elephants but Dublin building one would be exactly that.
Their county games even with there being so much apathy with the Leinster championship still attract fairly big crowds so why build another stadium for that?
If any stadium is to be built its a better stadium for Kildare, Meath.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 22/12/2020 11:01:22    2325343

All this talk about the dubs playing at Croker,, what's their away record like in the championship the last 20 years ?,
In fairness its pretty good AFAIK.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 22/12/2020 11:40:40    2325359

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah. We'll see how quiet ye are when all 4 make the AI semis. Sure if ye can't beat a hurling county like Cork in your own province then splitting Dublin should be the least of your worries."
Ya we lost to Cork who are a dual county in an AWAY game you might need to Google what an away game is jock.

Chances of the 4 dublin teams meeting in the 2 allireland semifinals will be small enough, the chances of them avoiding each other in Leinster is zero so at least 3 will enter the qualifiers where 1or 2 could meet each other again before the quarters or in the quarters them selves.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/12/2020 13:27:48    2325375

Replying To Galway9801:  "All this talk about the dubs playing at Croker,, what's their away record like in the championship the last 20 years ?,
In fairness its pretty good AFAIK."
They beat Longford by two points in Pearse Park in 2006 and were damn lucky to do so. Longford should have beaten them.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 22/12/2020 13:28:45    2325376

Replying To republicofcloone:  "They beat Longford by two points in Pearse Park in 2006 and were damn lucky to do so. Longford should have beaten them."
14 years ago. Well done haha!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/12/2020 13:51:50    2325383

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jay's it's always the begrudgers fault for voting dublin into Croke Park and sure ye have no say in it at all do ye? Sure ye'll play where ever yer told to play and do what ever yer told to do.

I can't wait to see if ye'll be so compliant and walk quietly into the night when we all vote for yer county to be split in 4."
It's funny to see Dubs say things like that as if their own county board are voting to not play in Croke Park.

It's like the argument that the funding makes no difference. But if that was the case why di they keep taking it?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 22/12/2020 14:56:43    2325405

Replying To lilylanger:  "14 years ago. Well done haha!"
That was probably the last time Dublin played an away game in the Leinster championship. Yes 14 years, facilitated by your own county too. Well done!
And before you say they've played in Carlow and Laois etc, they have, but they weren't away games to home opposition, they were neutral games for both counties. Even in a pandemic with no crowds Westmeath weren't able to play them in Mullingar. Shame on your county boards for facilitating this madness.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 22/12/2020 15:02:13    2325407

Ahh sure ye'd never split us. Ye need our money too
Much.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/12/2020 15:18:59    2325414

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh sure ye'd never split us. Ye need our money too
Much."
Sure you just told me that we have load of money so we'll be fine bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/12/2020 15:35:45    2325426

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya we lost to Cork who are a dual county in an AWAY game you might need to Google what an away game is jock.

Chances of the 4 dublin teams meeting in the 2 allireland semifinals will be small enough, the chances of them avoiding each other in Leinster is zero so at least 3 will enter the qualifiers where 1or 2 could meet each other again before the quarters or in the quarters them selves."
You should ask Tyrone whether we know what an away championship game is like KB. They even tried to trim their pitch to subbuteo size and it did them no good. Cork, a hurling county, beaten by another hurling county in the Munster final. Time for ye to take up the small ball I think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/12/2020 15:47:00    2325429

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure you just told me that we have load of money so we'll be fine bud."
KIngdom ye have as much chance of splitting the Dubs as I have of splitting Mount Brandon with a pitch fork. It ain't happening buddy. Dream on....the big bad Dubs will be around for a while more. Sure when we get sick of winning we might let ye have a lend of Sam for a year or two ;-D.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/12/2020 17:12:53    2325446

Replying To Joxer:  "Funny thing is, McStay, who is watertight to the Mayo setup, stated that there was nothing between Dublin and Mayo S&C wise. Mayo have access to top class facilities and coaches apparently. If you actually look at the last 15m Mayo are much more energetic than Dublin and doing all the chasing. But of course that doesn't suit the narrative here. Also the Donegal Ballybofey home game comparison is more nonsense. Where do you want LSFC finals, AI semi and finals played if not in HQ and the home of Gaelic games. Again, Dublin don't make these decisions, the officers from the county boards of the begrudgers do. But sure again, what does it matter when it comes to this narrative? Dublin have a pretty good record away from home anyway, whether it be Ballybofey, Castlebar or Omagh. I don't think this team would object to playing any county anywhere to be honest."
What are you talking about, "watertight"? He's lived in Roscommon for the past thirty years and coached their minor and senior sides, as well as St. Brigid's. No Mayo footballer is likely to be calling him regularly in those circumstances and indeed it seems that their opposition to him was a factor in him not getting the Mayo job a few years back.

And as for his analysis, the vista of himself and Ger Canning trying to Jedi-mind trick the nation into thinking that Lee Keegan's shoulder is somewhere near his chest cavity will live long in the memory.

Mayo are currently looking into building a dedicated centre of excellence in Castlebar, given that they have long been reliant on outdated facilities in MacHale Park.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0823/987091-mayo-unveil-plans-for-castlebar-centre-of-excellence/

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/12/2020 17:21:36    2325452

Replying To Joxer:  "You're right they came together long before 2011 and before big money from Sean Kelly started to flow into Dublin. That's the point of course. Interesting points from McStay last night concerning the status of S&C between Dublin and Mayo. He believes that there is no difference. Mayo's players are just as dedicated, just as well prepared and have access to top class facilities. Another myth busted it seems. This must come as another blow to the Dublin professional outfit through money begrudgers."
Another myth busted cos McStay said it? So you believe what McStay says. Well McStay also has said the gaa have pumped more money into Dublin at the expense of weaker counties. McStay has said the figures don't lie. McStay was also very vocal about Dublin's home venues and believes the system is very biased towards Dublin. So now Joxer you know the facts.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 22/12/2020 18:16:31    2325473

Replying To Gleebo:  "What are you talking about, "watertight"? He's lived in Roscommon for the past thirty years and coached their minor and senior sides, as well as St. Brigid's. No Mayo footballer is likely to be calling him regularly in those circumstances and indeed it seems that their opposition to him was a factor in him not getting the Mayo job a few years back.

And as for his analysis, the vista of himself and Ger Canning trying to Jedi-mind trick the nation into thinking that Lee Keegan's shoulder is somewhere near his chest cavity will live long in the memory.

Mayo are currently looking into building a dedicated centre of excellence in Castlebar, given that they have long been reliant on outdated facilities in MacHale Park.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0823/987091-mayo-unveil-plans-for-castlebar-centre-of-excellence/"
You're not suggesting that McStay has lost all of his connections to Mayo GAA are you? I presume not. Centre of Excellence? Well for them. Do you agree that the Mayo team on Sat were equally as well conditioned as Dublin? There was certainly no signs of tiredness. That's what we're debating here by he way.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/12/2020 18:32:24    2325479

Replying To Joxer:  "You're not suggesting that McStay has lost all of his connections to Mayo GAA are you? I presume not. Centre of Excellence? Well for them. Do you agree that the Mayo team on Sat were equally as well conditioned as Dublin? There was certainly no signs of tiredness. That's what we're debating here by he way."
For 50 mins the Mayo midfielders kept Mccarthy and Fenton on the back foot and in fairness neither Mccarthy and Fenton were having a massive impact until Loftus and Ruanne started to tíre and the dublin boys superior S&C saw them over the line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/12/2020 18:55:43    2325487

Replying To republicofcloone:  "They beat Longford by two points in Pearse Park in 2006 and were damn lucky to do so. Longford should have beaten them."
That was 14 years ago,, this current team would win anywhere imo,, and I'm sure they'd have no problem playing anywhere if they wet told to do so.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 22/12/2020 19:11:12    2325492

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "For 50 mins the Mayo midfielders kept Mccarthy and Fenton on the back foot and in fairness neither Mccarthy and Fenton were having a massive impact until Loftus and Ruanne started to tíre and the dublin boys superior S&C saw them over the line."
Yet McStay surprisingly said no discernible difference.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/12/2020 19:17:36    2325494

In Carlow we have around 60,000 residents in the county. We have, I think 3 or perhaps 4 GDA'S. They are paid by the GAA.
They work across the county mainly in schools and mostly in primary schools.
They do a very good job.
The last and only Leinster football championship was won in 1944.
A lot of water under the bridge since then and Carlow has been a long way off the top sides in Leinster for many years.
I do not think that money is the key factor in success.
Whole it's a factor, there are other factors that also make a big difference..
Dublin clubs are paying 12 to 18,000 for their full time adminstrators/coaches.
How.many clubs in Carlow or any other county would.be willing to pay that ?
Dublin has been in a full time battle for years with other field sports. Due to the foresight of GAA Dubs the situation has veered towards GAA being the sport of choice for more young people in recent years.
If that money was not pumped in by the GAA AND clubs... other sports would be in the ascendancy
.. ie, GAA would not be the sport of choice.
I say... fair play to those who had the foresight, to actually make a difference.
The rest of us need to stop giving out and put our money where our mouth is... !!!! That's if we actually want more of our young in our counties to opt for GAA ! The alternative.is ... keep giving out about finances and the Dubs.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 22/12/2020 19:37:45    2325499

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "For 50 mins the Mayo midfielders kept Mccarthy and Fenton on the back foot and in fairness neither Mccarthy and Fenton were having a massive impact until Loftus and Ruanne started to tíre and the dublin boys superior S&C saw them over the line."
You must have still been making your tea during the first 13 seconds if you think McCarthy wasn't influential before 50 mins.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/12/2020 19:42:57    2325500