Where Are We At

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.

You can't expect Meath county board to compete with Dublin. MCB are amateurs in an amateur sport. Dublin CB are professionals in an amateur sport.

GAA isn't supposed to reach standard Dublin are at and I don't want Meath to waste millions trying to compete in a rigged system.

Let's just do the dignified thing and pull out and focus on our club game. We can create an amateur intercounty championship with likes of Kildare and other counties if we have to. But intercounty football is dead - I don't think enough people realize that yet. Dublin might lose the odd flukey game every 4/5 years (at best) but that's not good enough. Every team should have a chance at winning. Otherwise pull out. I honestly think in 10 years we'll look back and say to ourselves what were we thinking taking part in that farce. It's doing more damage to the game in the county than anything else.

We've great potential in our club scene, let's nurture it, it deserves it."
You know now thats not going to happen ! So the matter has to be addressed no matter what it takes . Our most recent outing and embarasement was OUR fault .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 20/12/2020 19:06:14    2324750

Replying To nobull456:  "You know now thats not going to happen ! So the matter has to be addressed no matter what it takes . Our most recent outing and embarasement was OUR fault ."
I agree that the humiliation had a lot to do with our setup and seemingly poor coaching and tactical setup. However, I don't see why we have to send in a team into Leinster championship? Because Andy McEntee says so? The intercounty setup is like burning money at this stage - we throw good money after bad at it. Why are we selling tickets for little bottom line profit while leaking huge money on intercounty.

I'd also be pleasantly surprised if a lot of those lads are back next year, even the younger ones, for another humiliation. I imagine a lot of them will want to travel, pandemic permitting. I think you'll see that in most counties outside of Dublin.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 20/12/2020 19:52:18    2324775

Replying To nobull456:  "You know now thats not going to happen ! So the matter has to be addressed no matter what it takes . Our most recent outing and embarasement was OUR fault ."
There is so much clearly wrong with what we have been doing over the past decade that money doesn't even come into it. We have really failed to move with the times but analyzing the last four years shows up alot of shortcomings that a good club team setup would have dealt with. Tactically, motivational wise and personnel were wrong in Leinster final. These have nothing to do with funding, just tactical acumen and personal choice. Alot of people are going back to the super 8 qualification and our league promotion. League promotion has been undone by relegation this year while we beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to make the super 8's. Those championship matches last year showed up a few basic shortcomings which were not particularly rectified. More than likely county board have already decided to stick with what we have but there have to be serious questions asked so we don't see what we saw in Leinster Final being repeated regardless of the oppositions pedigree.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 20/12/2020 20:02:26    2324783

Replying To winatallcost:  "There is so much clearly wrong with what we have been doing over the past decade that money doesn't even come into it. We have really failed to move with the times but analyzing the last four years shows up alot of shortcomings that a good club team setup would have dealt with. Tactically, motivational wise and personnel were wrong in Leinster final. These have nothing to do with funding, just tactical acumen and personal choice. Alot of people are going back to the super 8 qualification and our league promotion. League promotion has been undone by relegation this year while we beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to make the super 8's. Those championship matches last year showed up a few basic shortcomings which were not particularly rectified. More than likely county board have already decided to stick with what we have but there have to be serious questions asked so we don't see what we saw in Leinster Final being repeated regardless of the oppositions pedigree."
Yeh...........Thats what makes it so annoying. The apparent reluctance to learn from mistakes made over a long period ! The reluctance to attempt to keep up to date with developments in everything. The easy option always blame the system and leave it at that ! Sure we are powerless and merely victims anyway.! Nobody wants to say "stop the lights " What value are we getting for the money we are spending anyway ? The solutions are to a large extent within our own hands , but requires honest appraisal, vision ,courage. One word covers it Leadership !
If more funding can be got to help then thats a function for leadership also. its not a separate issue for somebody else !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 20/12/2020 22:33:18    2324883

Checking in for the first time since the Leinster final.

In my view, we are nowhere. I have to admit that 2020 has been a lot of things in the way of bad, depressing, etc, and the All-Ireland final lived up to the year. I could harp on about the moral victories of Cork and Tipperary and the stories of this fabled Mayo team but at what cost to the big blue elephant in the room? I literally was more interested in what was going on in other sports on All-Ire final day. I can barely listen to GAA punditry anymore either because all I see are heads buried in sand. I love our county and what we used to represent. I like our current panel and will support them still.

For Meath, confidence has to be at a low. We're used to lows now and the minors and the women's team are both a reminder of our place in the game of football, but the placing of the rest of our squads put a dampener on things. To all you lads retaining your optimism and throwing out constructive talking points, fair play, but I dont even think I have the willpower to rattle it off like we used to anymore. I dont have the excitement anymore. Barring a renaissance in these next few years and radical changes in competition in the sport as a whole, the entire sport is risking irrelevance in the bulk of the country. The self centred delusion of the nearly men counties will only last so long. Dublin will win another 15/20 all Ireland's between 2021 and 2050 at least. At least. Everyone else has to decide if winning the one off is worth it.

Im with Crinigan, change wont come on its own. Real and substantial change for the better of the entire game will only come at effectively boycotting the game in its current format. Strike. Will it happen? Nope.
Will Croke Park change it? Nope. Will GAA pundits and the media call for it? Nope. So where are we at? Like I said, nowhere.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 21/12/2020 04:17:46    2324933

Replying To Crinigan:  "I agree that the humiliation had a lot to do with our setup and seemingly poor coaching and tactical setup. However, I don't see why we have to send in a team into Leinster championship? Because Andy McEntee says so? The intercounty setup is like burning money at this stage - we throw good money after bad at it. Why are we selling tickets for little bottom line profit while leaking huge money on intercounty.

I'd also be pleasantly surprised if a lot of those lads are back next year, even the younger ones, for another humiliation. I imagine a lot of them will want to travel, pandemic permitting. I think you'll see that in most counties outside of Dublin."
Serious defeatist attitude, no matter what way you look at it.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 21/12/2020 07:35:32    2324939

Replying To nobull456:  "Dublin in 2nd gear........i dont think so ! but another excuse if it suits ! No Mayo put it up to Dublin ! Meath did not thats the difference ! Why ? Well thats the problem !! Corruption ? dont know about that ! but anyway it will do as another excuse . If you believe we are helpless victims then it will fit !
Our problem is clear .... LACK of leadership from the top ALL questions in relation to team preparation especially player support and welfare. They would of course ensure that Meath gets its fair share of any cake ,and any possible alleged corruption as a part of that. Its even possible that they may come up with some novel ideas to move us forward from WHERE WE ARE AT NOW . Id even settle for a bit of wheel spin now rather than nothing .AT least we would know we are trying to solve a problem!!"
Delusional is what you are. Are you that naive?? Dublin coasted for 50 minutes of that game. They are 10/15 points better than mayo. Sweet Jesus COP ON

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/12/2020 08:01:18    2324941

Replying To royaldunne:  "Delusional is what you are. Are you that naive?? Dublin coasted for 50 minutes of that game. They are 10/15 points better than mayo. Sweet Jesus COP ON"
Not really too bothered about how much better Dublin are than Mayo or anybody else. Mayo were not humiliated. Meath were ..again Question .......How do avoid more hammerings? Are you happy with what you saw in the Leinster final? Do we just keep doing the same things ? Have you any solutions rather than blind loyalty on its own?

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 21/12/2020 10:01:01    2324981

Replying To Ed2010:  "Serious defeatist attitude, no matter what way you look at it."
I disagree. It's the macho "don't complain, we'll be seen as weak" traditional GAA attitude that has led to this situation, especially from Leinster counties who have let the Leinster council bend over to every whim of Dublin .

Real pride would actually be to call out the thing and boycott it before it effectively dies in front of your eyes. You rather wait until the best players in Meath have zero interest in county football and we are at the level of a Leitrim or Sligo? I'd rather keep my pride in tact personally and stop wasting money on the senior county team preparing for a competition that is rigged.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 21/12/2020 10:21:07    2324992

Replying To royaldunne:  "Delusional is what you are. Are you that naive?? Dublin coasted for 50 minutes of that game. They are 10/15 points better than mayo. Sweet Jesus COP ON"
Coasted.....whatever makes you feel better RD....and whatever helps you sleep at night , The reality is , Dublins strength in depth is what is creating the gaps from the 50th minute , with the other Div 1 Teams. Nobody has that strength of quality to come on to finish out a game , but its totally delusional if you think that Mayo are in the same category as us ,
Mayo contested every ball for 50 minutes yesterday, but had nothing to give in the last 20. Mayo are still a long way off Dublin, I give you that, but if they are, at least they are giving it everything, and not bitching about Dublin and all their funding...Ive more respect for Mayo and for what they are doing..its not perfect, and Brolly was hard on them yesterday, but as always , there is a element of what he says is true...but by jazuz they are getting on with it, and for certain they have a bright future in what I saw yesterday.

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 21/12/2020 10:31:01    2324999

Replying To Young_gael:  "Checking in for the first time since the Leinster final.

In my view, we are nowhere. I have to admit that 2020 has been a lot of things in the way of bad, depressing, etc, and the All-Ireland final lived up to the year. I could harp on about the moral victories of Cork and Tipperary and the stories of this fabled Mayo team but at what cost to the big blue elephant in the room? I literally was more interested in what was going on in other sports on All-Ire final day. I can barely listen to GAA punditry anymore either because all I see are heads buried in sand. I love our county and what we used to represent. I like our current panel and will support them still.

For Meath, confidence has to be at a low. We're used to lows now and the minors and the women's team are both a reminder of our place in the game of football, but the placing of the rest of our squads put a dampener on things. To all you lads retaining your optimism and throwing out constructive talking points, fair play, but I dont even think I have the willpower to rattle it off like we used to anymore. I dont have the excitement anymore. Barring a renaissance in these next few years and radical changes in competition in the sport as a whole, the entire sport is risking irrelevance in the bulk of the country. The self centred delusion of the nearly men counties will only last so long. Dublin will win another 15/20 all Ireland's between 2021 and 2050 at least. At least. Everyone else has to decide if winning the one off is worth it.

Im with Crinigan, change wont come on its own. Real and substantial change for the better of the entire game will only come at effectively boycotting the game in its current format. Strike. Will it happen? Nope.
Will Croke Park change it? Nope. Will GAA pundits and the media call for it? Nope. So where are we at? Like I said, nowhere."
jazuz Boys...lets get our own house in order, and then lets go & complain about the inequality …..and im not going over it again & again, we all know the examples of the sheer stupidity, incompetence & waste that goes on within the game in our county...Fix that first, then by all means approach Croke Park with a clear conscience

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 21/12/2020 11:02:24    2325010

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "jazuz Boys...lets get our own house in order, and then lets go & complain about the inequality …..and im not going over it again & again, we all know the examples of the sheer stupidity, incompetence & waste that goes on within the game in our county...Fix that first, then by all means approach Croke Park with a clear conscience"
You slashed it there all right ! Thats says it all in a few words ! Well said !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 21/12/2020 11:46:34    2325027

Crikey people really getting their knickers in a twist. I think everyone has a valid and somewhat reasonable point. Just because you don't agree with someone don't call them idiotic or naive. I've been guilty of it at times but try and constructively argue points with people.

I agree on the point that Dublin were in second gear on Saturday and they were in neutral v Cavan. They looked almost disinterested at times in both games. Yes their bench and Brian Howard in particular helped. But when they needed to apply some pressure they eased their foot down and pulled away. The only game they looked slightly interested in was against Meath and by god did they put the foot in. As Brent Pope says never give a sucker an even break and let your foot off their throat and that's what the Dubs did this year. The gap is now widening between the Dubs and everyone else. Where will it end or when I have no idea.

Before moving on I will give credit to those same Dublin players, they're an extremely dedicated skillful and well coached team. Yes they have almost every advantage going but its up to others to raise their game too. Kilkenny looked invincible in the late 00's with 4 in a row, and underage success but they fell off in time. Others upped their game and closed the gap.

I'm as proud a Meath man as any of you, and i was raised not to whinge about all the lovely toys my neighbour have, I'll buckle down, work my ass off and try and get myself to that level. It takes hard work, dedication and perseverance. And sometimes that's not enough but I'll know I put in the hard work. Stop moaning about every unfair advantage the Dubs have, they had them the whole time its just easy and lazy passing the buck now.

In regards to what is to be done its now team for the GAA to take a root and branch review to the state of gaelic football, what can be done over the next 5, 10 15 and 20 years. How can they level the playing field. Do they really want the next 10-15 all irelands going to Dublin unchallenged? Do they want to see Kerry, Mayo, Galway, Meath, Cork and the northern counties etc to get back into the mix for all irelands?

Its time the tap was turned off to Dublin. No more funding, they've built a self sustaining model which should be allowed to run itself. When they have a CEO, commercial manager etc its time to say enough is enough. It was only a matter of time before the rich, wealthy and powerful got involved in Dublin GAA and managed to exploit the funding, resources and money from the GAA. Its no surprise that a lot of the power base in Dublin GAA has moved to the Southside where the money is.

And can people stop with this idea of lets just close the door on intercounty football. It's not the Meath way, never has been and never will be. Stop whinging. The county board needs to take some accountability for what they want from the Senior football team. If Andy is being retained set out acheivable goals and road marks for him. I.e Leinster final, super 8's (if being played) and promotion back to division 1 for 2021. I.e Leinster final, one win super 8's (if being played) and stay in division 1 for 2022.

And stop with this absolute fallacy that Meath only beat Carlow Laois and Clare to get to the super 8's in 2019. They beat who they should beat, they can't help who they are drawn against. The same as this year where they beat Wicklow and Kildare, teams they should beat. It's not that long ago we went to Longford, expecting to win and left with our tails between our legs and got a sound beating. Many of you would be quick as heck to jump on their backs if we'd not won those games as many did after the Longford game.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/12/2020 12:03:08    2325033

I think most people agree current structure is a mess . The way the ladies organise their games is far better with junior intermediate and senior levels. It would make football enjoyable for all counties with the chance of winning silverware based on your level- perhaps 8 teams in junior and twelve each in intermediate and senior. I know people will say Dublin will run away with senior anyway but at least it would be a more competitive structure all round. Obviously the Provincial championships would need to disappear in such a structure.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 21/12/2020 12:56:07    2325056

1. Commission a 10 year County games Plan
2. Ensure that of the 3 Appointed to Develop the plan - 2 are outsiders and not open to internal politically BS
3. Plan to include , total vision for Meath GAA to include Football, Men's & Women's Hurling Camoige
4. Plan to have as one of its goals , a strategy to re establish a clear identity of Meath GAA
5. identification of possible Long Term Corporate Partners who - subject to the vision that is outline in the Plan, will be happy to attach their Brand & financial Backing to Meath GAA for the medium to Long term
6. identification of an appropriate Management Structure to best link the various Development Squads form u14 to Senior in all codes
7. identification of an appropriate management structure to link the u17 , u20 , and a possible u23 grade to the senior Management team
8. Agreement on an inheritance Plan between the grades
9. Review of the Refereeing in the County - By Non Referees
10. Appointment of Full Time Paid County Secretary, an outsider initially, to be paid for by Croke Park

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 21/12/2020 13:04:25    2325061

I have no idea how andy motivates the lads for next year , mayby they thought they had improved because dublin took it easy on them in a few games , leinster final they decided to make a point, sadly thats how big the gap is.

Best case scenario is promotion from div 2 , which is not easy , and a lucky draw in qualifiers like last year getting clare.
Not going to change anytime soon either

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 21/12/2020 16:47:13    2325132

Replying To hurlit:  "I have no idea how andy motivates the lads for next year , mayby they thought they had improved because dublin took it easy on them in a few games , leinster final they decided to make a point, sadly thats how big the gap is.

Best case scenario is promotion from div 2 , which is not easy , and a lucky draw in qualifiers like last year getting clare.
Not going to change anytime soon either"
can anyone tell me why, we are so keen to get to Div 1?
Does anyone out there believe at all , that staying in division 1 next year will put the Squad to the pin of its Collar?
And what does that mean?......no persevering with A Young goalie or an inexperience defender, it means , most likely more defeats than wins, and the accompanying negativity & pressure that all that brings with it. It means Andy like a bloody coiled spring ready to bite the head of all & sundry, and it means , feck all experimentation ,
Div 2 is our level....and we need to say there , and use some of the games in that Div next year to target mini plans and hope fully successes...…...forget this Div 1 crapology...its a real sign that we have no concept of where we are at
Division 1 is ALL about a Panel of players, and with all Andys chopping & changing, we sure don't have that for the early part of 2021

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 21/12/2020 17:03:15    2325144

Replying To hurlit:  "I have no idea how andy motivates the lads for next year , mayby they thought they had improved because dublin took it easy on them in a few games , leinster final they decided to make a point, sadly thats how big the gap is.

Lucky draw, you do know Clare have consistently been a division 2 football for the last number of years?

They might be a hurling county, same as Tipp, bu they've some damn proud footballers who are well able to play football.

The same Clare team who gave Armagh and Mayp their fill of in 2018 and 2017 respectively. Who made the all ireland quarter finals in 2016 after beating Roscommon in the final round of the qualifiers and lost to Kerry.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/12/2020 17:33:09    2325153

Thats all the more reason for our leadership to be active now more than ever by 1 getting our own house in order in every respect such as full preparation of teams in every aspect of being comperitive again. 2 Fighting our corner to ensure we get every assistance available from HQ. in terms of funding . 3 Proper review of our current status and why? Yes Dublin planned and got their act together .It took time and more power to them. ! Its paying off for them now ! Well done Dublin! What were we doing whilst Dublin showed vision some years ago ??? Well we had the 3 directors of football or the 3 wise men idea. That looked like a great idea. What happened them ? Repeat what happened and why ? That would be a good starting point rather than blaming Dublin for getting their act together. Lets start with ourselves ,and fight our corner for everything as well. Certainly no standing back or opting out by just playing the victim. Unless leadership lead now we will remain as also rans just like the last 20 years. Stop blaming Dublin ! Blame ourselves ! Finally AGAIN What happened to the 3 wise men idea???? Over and Out !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 21/12/2020 18:02:57    2325165

Replying To nobull456:  "Thats all the more reason for our leadership to be active now more than ever by 1 getting our own house in order in every respect such as full preparation of teams in every aspect of being comperitive again. 2 Fighting our corner to ensure we get every assistance available from HQ. in terms of funding . 3 Proper review of our current status and why? Yes Dublin planned and got their act together .It took time and more power to them. ! Its paying off for them now ! Well done Dublin! What were we doing whilst Dublin showed vision some years ago ??? Well we had the 3 directors of football or the 3 wise men idea. That looked like a great idea. What happened them ? Repeat what happened and why ? That would be a good starting point rather than blaming Dublin for getting their act together. Lets start with ourselves ,and fight our corner for everything as well. Certainly no standing back or opting out by just playing the victim. Unless leadership lead now we will remain as also rans just like the last 20 years. Stop blaming Dublin ! Blame ourselves ! Finally AGAIN What happened to the 3 wise men idea???? Over and Out !"
When referring to getting our house in order, you're talking sense. That should be paramount. In fact it was paramount back 15 years ago after Eamon Barry was jettisoned after a year or after Banty was in charge but alas here we are still calling for it 8 years later. Fighting our corner? Yes in principle, but an oversimplification. Meath doesn't fare out too badly as things stand regards money and grants from Croke Park. We do ok. We have a very broad clubs base as well, and our county is relatively wealthy in the grand scheme of things. The club scene in all grades, codes and levels is above average to high in every way. Look at Dunganny, true it's a windswept spot but it genuinely is a fine setup. Look at the club setups in Ratoath, Dunshaughlin, O'Mahoneys, etc to name but very few. Affluent for the GAA in any county. You're making the wrong connections here in relation to Dublin, and like many you misunderstand the core issues around how their money was distributed over two/three decades and why everyone else is a lighthear behind. I believe although I like your no nonsense approach, it's misguided. This tone of talk was needed 20 years ago. As for 3 wise men? That's another problem we have here in Meath. Too many "wise men".

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 21/12/2020 19:11:35    2325202