Question For Dubs

No need to split Dublin. Just gets messy and its hard to mess with tradition. Dubs bring great life and skill obviously to the championship and fair play to them for getting to where they are.
We just have to come to terms with the fact that Dublin will dominate the next 10 years at least.

GAA need to
- Change the structure of the championship. Jim McGuinness presented what seems to be an intelligent format on OTB.
- Appoint a CEO for each county (similar to John Costello role)
- Ensure all funding is allocated fairly throughout the country. Everyone gets the same.
- Big sponsorship deals such as AIG with Dublin and JP with Limerick need to be discussed and approved by the GAA. It is not fair that such counties get this and others are left out. It is an amateur organisation.
- Ensure that all clubs across the country have a minimum of one coaching officer. This officer should be approved by the GAA and have the necessary training completed. The GAA should cover expenses for this person. He/she does not have to be from that club. There are small rural clubs whose underage players simply aren't getting the same level as coaching as kids in Dublin.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 08/12/2020 14:52:09    2320250

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh cool another thread on this. We need more of these."
I haven't seen any other thread dealing with the effect a split would have on Dublin support.
In fact it's weird how little this particular aspect of the debate has been discussed.
It's the best supported county in terms of attendance at games (not per head but by number) and a split could significantly reduce that.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 08/12/2020 14:53:55    2320252

Yes and to put it into context Swords alone has a population greater than 100,000. If things were split in dublin they still would have the public transport. Joining counties would only compound the issue
It would be naive of anyone to think Avonmore in Kilkenny or Kerry group in Kerry werent giving those great teams the resources they needed to succeed.
as highlighted on the Sunday Gave per registered player Dublin is getting 4 to 6 times more funding that other counties.
Pat Gilroy's argument was it needed more funding between the canals to develop the game, and many hundreds of thousands in dublin weren't playing the game, this may be the case but many of the same people hes talking about unfortunately need human basic needs first sport second, he knows this too.
If the GAA were to take that approach based on population we should be channeling millions into London and New York as millions of people there arent playing the game either, and both teams doing poorly.

Look if youd like to reply please keep it to the topic, please dont make it personal, turf muncher nonsense etc.
And before I get nailed no offence intended to the disadvantaged areas of Dublin needing basic needs first, sadly this is a fact in our society today, not just Dublin but countrywide.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 08/12/2020 14:56:23    2320254

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I have plenty of knowledge of the type of cultural divide that exists there, mainly from the fact that I lived in it for years, and most of my family are Dubs.

Virginia and Blacklion are not particularly different places, both small rural villages in Cavan who enjoy Gaelic football.
Can the same be said for Ranelagh and Ballymun? Stillorgan and Tallaght? Swords and Dun Laoghire?

The answer is no. You see where I'm coming from."
Your so wide of the mark it's not funny. You know that though.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/12/2020 15:08:59    2320261

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why would football die if dublin were split realdub?

From 87 to 2011 there was a great championship with lots of teams winning the big prize with 10 different winners in 24 years, in the last 10 years the dubs will have won 8/10 from now on its safe to say dublin will win 8/10 in every decade, will that not kill football?"
I thought it would be obvious, no Dublin no money!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 08/12/2020 15:19:32    2320270

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "A Cavan man is a Cavan man.
A Kerry man is a Kerry man.
A Mayo man is a Mayo man.

But what is a "Dublin man"? As a county it is a melting pot. Dublin just doesn't have a coherent identity on the same terms as the rest of the country. There is a massive cultural divide among Dublin people. North vs South, blue collar vs white collar, public vs private school.

So why would it pain someone from Drumcondra if his new Dublin team didn't contain players from Dun Laoighire?"
You're not talking about the United States here nor East and West Berlin. The Liffey is not the Berlin Wall. Many of my cousins and relatives live on the other side of the Lifffey. This 'massive cultural divide' you refer to is a pure fiction. The difference between North and South is a crude division of Dublin into a 'wealthy half' and a poor half. Dublin is diverse but you'd be surprised at how close knit the GAA community is in Dublin. The northside/southside might make for some good jokes about the perceived comparative wealth of either half but that's it. I know lads from Kilmacud who are very familiar with a lot of the lads in Craobh Chiarain.
If Dublin is diverse the one thing Dubliners can rally around is their GAA county team. I know for a fact that there is a great bond between a lot of Dubs supporters particularly between those from North and South side who support the team through O'Byrne Cup, League and Championship. Being on the Hill supporting the Dubs one senses a real feeling of unity, a shared bond and a shared history. Supporting our Intercounty team is a way of expressing our identity as Dubs, as it is for other counties. Now that mightn't suit the newly emerging narrative that Dublin is a diverse , divided city anyway so lets split it. But I for one would hate to see my county divided. I'd have no interest in supporting a team that was created from a split. Sorry. But Colm can insert his "divide Dublin" notions into the place where the sun don't shine.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/12/2020 15:24:33    2320275

Replying To realdub:  "I thought it would be obvious, no Dublin no money!"
Full House at the 2014 2012 2010 2009 finals and all the way back realdub, 55000 at dublin v Galway semifinal 2 years ago, and it'll only get worse now yer hammering every 1, I go to every kerry games with the last 11/13 years I haven't missed 1, but il never again go to a Kerry v dublin game at senior level anyway, I'm not goin to pay good money to see my team get hammerd by the dublin province.

That's the other thing if the gaa revived the railway Cup ye could enter that where the 4 teams will become 1 team so ye could all meet up for a session then.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2020 15:36:41    2320284

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Full House at the 2014 2012 2010 2009 finals and all the way back realdub, 55000 at dublin v Galway semifinal 2 years ago, and it'll only get worse now yer hammering every 1, I go to every kerry games with the last 11/13 years I haven't missed 1, but il never again go to a Kerry v dublin game at senior level anyway, I'm not goin to pay good money to see my team get hammerd by the dublin province.

That's the other thing if the gaa revived the railway Cup ye could enter that where the 4 teams will become 1 team so ye could all meet up for a session then."
You're not a real supporter in that case.
Your only happy to go once yeer baten teams out the gate.
Not the sort of support you'd want anyway. Sure there's plenty of ye at it in Kerry I suppose. Yeer known for it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/12/2020 15:58:07    2320292

Sorry words for a Kerryman KB1, 55,000 is better than nothing. Who will go and support a section of Dublin? Not me or my ilk, thats for sure!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 08/12/2020 16:02:10    2320294

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Full House at the 2014 2012 2010 2009 finals and all the way back realdub, 55000 at dublin v Galway semifinal 2 years ago, and it'll only get worse now yer hammering every 1, I go to every kerry games with the last 11/13 years I haven't missed 1, but il never again go to a Kerry v dublin game at senior level anyway, I'm not goin to pay good money to see my team get hammerd by the dublin province.

That's the other thing if the gaa revived the railway Cup ye could enter that where the 4 teams will become 1 team so ye could all meet up for a session then."
Ye see Kingdomboy, you keep undermining the logic of your arguments with these little below the belt remarks It's hard to argue with somebody when you know there is an insult or a dig just around the corner. It's a bit "schnakey" as the fella would say. .Many Dublin supporters go to matches with their families and are not interested in a "session" as you call it. It's hard not to suspect begrudery and bad faith masquerading as logical argument when when you are debating with people who think that the only thing Dubliners would miss with a divided county scenario is a **s up. i Your remark shows an utter lack of ability to see the complexity of the problem and a fundamental misunderstanding of the role of the GAA in Dublin. And if you and other non Dubs think that our loyalty is as superficial as that you have another thing coming. A bit disappointing to say the least.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/12/2020 16:04:17    2320295

I'd feel compelled to support Dublin City out of sheer loyalty and muscle memory but I would never attend a game against my fellow Dub brothers/sisters across the county.

There is no divide in Dublin GAA. The volunteers on the ground that have battled to grow participation on the Southside deserve absolute support.

They have provided Dublin with outstanding talent

Id never shout against them.

It's a privilege to support them and the Dublin families that have sent their kid's to play the games.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/12/2020 16:04:54    2320296

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why would football die if dublin were split realdub?

From 87 to 2011 there was a great championship with lots of teams winning the big prize with 10 different winners in 24 years, in the last 10 years the dubs will have won 8/10 from now on its safe to say dublin will win 8/10 in every decade, will that not kill football?"
NO

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 16:07:28    2320298

Your team getting hammered by the Dubs ?? Cop the f--k on , when has this ever happened ?
Cute Kerry Hoorism ,you had no problem with your lot hammering Dublin in 09 by 17 points

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 16:16:02    2320302

Replying To Jackeen:  "Your so wide of the mark it's not funny. You know that though."
He sure does , best to ignore

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 16:25:20    2320314

Replying To avonali:  "You're not talking about the United States here nor East and West Berlin. The Liffey is not the Berlin Wall. Many of my cousins and relatives live on the other side of the Lifffey. This 'massive cultural divide' you refer to is a pure fiction. The difference between North and South is a crude division of Dublin into a 'wealthy half' and a poor half. Dublin is diverse but you'd be surprised at how close knit the GAA community is in Dublin. The northside/southside might make for some good jokes about the perceived comparative wealth of either half but that's it. I know lads from Kilmacud who are very familiar with a lot of the lads in Craobh Chiarain.
If Dublin is diverse the one thing Dubliners can rally around is their GAA county team. I know for a fact that there is a great bond between a lot of Dubs supporters particularly between those from North and South side who support the team through O'Byrne Cup, League and Championship. Being on the Hill supporting the Dubs one senses a real feeling of unity, a shared bond and a shared history. Supporting our Intercounty team is a way of expressing our identity as Dubs, as it is for other counties. Now that mightn't suit the newly emerging narrative that Dublin is a diverse , divided city anyway so lets split it. But I for one would hate to see my county divided. I'd have no interest in supporting a team that was created from a split. Sorry. But Colm can insert his "divide Dublin" notions into the place where the sun don't shine."
Brilliant post!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/12/2020 16:26:56    2320317

Replying To catch22:  "You're not a real supporter in that case.
Your only happy to go once yeer baten teams out the gate.
Not the sort of support you'd want anyway. Sure there's plenty of ye at it in Kerry I suppose. Yeer known for it."
100% catch22

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 16:31:53    2320320

Replying To superbluedub:  "Your team getting hammered by the Dubs ?? Cop the f--k on , when has this ever happened ?
Cute Kerry Hoorism ,you had no problem with your lot hammering Dublin in 09 by 17 points"
And at least we came back to support our county the following year.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/12/2020 16:36:21    2320322

Replying To superbluedub:  "NO"
You think dublin winning 8/10 allirelands every decade won't kill football? And you're telling me to cop on :-) even dubs numbers going to games were dropping before Covid as yer kinda getting sick of hammering teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2020 16:38:10    2320324

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'd feel compelled to support Dublin City out of sheer loyalty and muscle memory but I would never attend a game against my fellow Dub brothers/sisters across the county.

There is no divide in Dublin GAA. The volunteers on the ground that have battled to grow participation on the Southside deserve absolute support.

They have provided Dublin with outstanding talent

Id never shout against them.

It's a privilege to support them and the Dublin families that have sent their kid's to play the games."
Wait.

Why was participation on the Southside so poor?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/12/2020 16:47:49    2320330

Ah Kboy. When we talk of Dubs advantages and there are a few. On of the advantages is playing in front of their supporters. A massive help to Dublin. Mayo always the best crowd to counteract that with their massive support. When Kerry are playing Dublin they need support behind them to rally them during tough times during a game and now you say you will abandon Kerry and not support them if they play Dublin. AS aKerryman I am both shocked and saddened by such a comment. As the great John B Keane said its a great honour to be a Kerryman but you already presume Dublin will hammer us so you leave a sinking ship. Its in defeat your county needs you more. But don't worry I will still support them all the louder in defeat and victory.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 08/12/2020 16:54:40    2320332