All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To Saynothing:  "Keywords, DEAD RUBBER. In Ulster Dublin would at least get a runout. Dublin could play the Dublin ladies team in Leinster."
So did the Ulster champions give them a run out this year in the semi final?

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 20/12/2020 11:22:01    2324454

Replying To sam1884:  "This Dublin team are the best sporting team Ireland has ever produced; just remarkable what've achieved. Yes like all counties they've added players but the nucleus is there; Cluxton, McCarthy, Fenton, Kilkenny, Rock to name a few; footballers that would have graced any era.

Mayo whilst being in the wrong era as usual turned up in Croke Park and weren't annilated before they took the field; the same way Kerry weren't last year and the way Mickey Harte always respected this Dublin team but never allowed a narrative they're uncatchable. Yes he didn't beat them in a big championship game but did draw a super 8 game and win a few league games putting everything into catching them.

Sometimes special teams come along in sport but history shows eventually as the main players leave the stage so does the untouchable narrative.

Dublin for the first team in a decade looked flustered in the sense they didn't have calm control. The half time antics, the second half assault on Keegan, the bouncing off players to win frees is something we don't see from this group of players. I believed Mayo would win yesterday due to the short season; they competed and were right there but in the end it was clear Mayo were in fact three years too late; they missed their chance previously and yesterday didn't have the depth to go from 55mins to 75mins.

When Dublin freshened up the main areas of the field Mayo sadly for them had no answer and that was the difference.

Kerry, Mayo, Galway lets see what happens in Tyrone and I'm not sure how much is left in Donegal are building and not allowing the untouchable Dublin narrative.

Galway U20's showed yesterday they have respect for their county and won't throw in the towel. Other proud football counties need to build their own castle and be in a position to one day beat Dublin; I fear for many the psychological damage is extensive and in a few years even an average Dublin team will beat some before entering the field.

Galway showed yesterday Dublin football isn't successful due to money; it's just the senior team are a very special set of players, we should respect them whilst they're around, as they are and will be GAA legends for generations to come. However I don't think 10 will happen; I sense we're getting closer to the day Sam is handed over to someone else; sadly it won't be to an another Leinster county."
There are a hell lot players on that Dublin team that weren't there 6 years ago. And in 6 more years will we still be saying the same thing ?
Look I admire mayo. But let's call a spade a spade. Dublin just eased through the first 50, as to not make it a cake walk. For fear of what will happen if they did.
That is the sad reality of where we have come to. But how long will the gaa allow it to continue?? I think every county player in Ireland believe they can beat dub. I know a fair few of the Meath lads who said exactly the same thing. It doesn't make it happen though. Mayo or Kerry will not beat Dublin next year. Fact. If I'm wrong I will happily walk to either county in my underwear, I'll do it for charity. Keep this post. It just unfortunately won't happen. And until Gael's in mayo and Kerry and the rest say hang on this isn't right, it won't change. It is like professionals playing amateurs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/12/2020 11:32:49    2324461

Replying To superbluedub:  "A little triumph 6 in a row ? Boo hoo bloody sure we will enjoy it , all 1.3 million of us fcuk you and your lemons -:)"
Was there much celebrating being done in Ranelagh, Dalkey, Foxrock, Cabinteeley, Castleknock, Donnybrook, Malahide and so on and so forth?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/12/2020 11:33:08    2324462

Replying To Htaem:  "I think begrudgery is dying out zinny, what you're starting to see now is apathy.

Even from the Dublin players, I saw McMahon and Murchan interviewed last night, no hysterics after winning 6 in a row, just very composed, professional, Leinster Rugby like interviews from the lads."
It's called class lad. It doesn't take money. It just takes attitude and a manner in how you conduct yourself. Don't let it bother you so much.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/12/2020 11:39:21    2324470

Replying To galwayfball:  "We need to switch off the tv when Dublin are playing. Loss of money is the only way the GAA will do that. If galway play the dubs I cant not go /watch it's my county and I want to support the galway players but I'll be switching off any other games.

Sad to see the scenes at the end....another day at the office for the players , "lads we have to look happy" Contrast that with the tipp and cavan provincial victories. Or even Mayo winning connacht"
Good post. I agree something has to be done by the grassroots to #BreakThemUp, whether it be social media campaigns to let the top brass know we're fed up, or boycotting games, but we need to get momemtum behind the movement.

#BreakThemUp

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/12/2020 11:40:29    2324472

Replying To Joxer:  "A lot of bitter people stating that football is finished after a game that finished 16 scores to 15 scores. Incredible begrudgery."
Yeah, incredible begrudgery...what type of mindset is it that wants to punish a successful team?

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 20/12/2020 11:47:21    2324476

Well now, waking up to glorious winter sunshine as if the forces of nature wish to christen the home of the 6 in a row. Incredible, incredible achievement for those raised on songs and stories. Head is banging here of course and celebrations went on well into to the wee hours.

A very different year and final, but you know what its a wee bit special to, we would have loved to have been there but it was lovely to see the players have an intimate experience with each other and hopefully their families after the game. A Christmas All Ireland is a bit of a novelty. If its the best we can do its good enough. They looked like they had really good fun, without the usual pomp and hoops to jump through and im delighted for them, lovely stuff going to the hill and giving is all a nod even if we couldnt be there.

Commiserations to Mayo, im sure they are sick of that so wont labor the point, but i will say i have huge respect for them and their team. Absolutely ferocious, total intensity and pace to hurt. I was fearful, during the game and haven't been that fearful since the 17 final against the same team. They are brilliant, in any other era they would have 4 or five titles and go down as a great team. Class fans as well with no moaning or bitterness. Truly our biggest rivals.

But the day was carried by the Dubs, not a lot left to say about this incredible team. They are just a joy. Kilkenny, King, Con, Jamsie, Fitzy, Fenton, Howard, Cooper, Cluxton, the closus that is Johnny Small you can go on. A team of immortals. 42 Championship games unbeaten. 6 in a row. Incredible. I enjoy it all the more remembering the bad days in early 90s and the 00's and no it never gets old or tired or less enjoyable. Stevo summed it up in his interview, take the bad, take the good and only then will you appreciate it.

The game itself, nothing between the teams, Mayo out played us in the first half i thought, ferocious press, and tackling, then the swarm for the second ball, Mayo dominated between the 45's - i cant remember the last time that happened. I was also saying all week that we needed to squeeze the life out of Clarkes kick out, then Mayo did exactly that to us and we struggled. The goals were a massive lifeline for us and we scored really low number of points in the in the first half - very uncharacteristic of this Dublin team and i was worried. We kept our composure though and just chipped away and somehow and probably undeservedly went in two point ahead int he second half, how? I dont know, Mayo really should have pressed home their dominance. Just before the break McDaid got a black, never a black in my opinion, but such is the way of these things.

So we looked up against it the second half, Mayo the better team, dictating play, man down, it was all teeed up for Mayo to ram home the advantage and make the scoreboard sing. Never really happened, half time seemed to take the momentum from Mayo and Dublin were keen to manage the game until McDaid came back. The introduction of Howard gave us a competitive edge in the middle and heading into the last quarter we began to dominate, the middle, crack the kick out, force Mayo into errors and win turnovers and dirty ball and any shots that went their way were poor shot selections. The Mayo forwards became isolated from the rest of the team and we began to press home the advantage and points started raining in. Mannion and Howard in particular made a massive difference. Mayo scored very little from play in the second half.

All in all it was our composure, quality and experience that stood to us in the end and the day was oen from there.

A big congratulations to Dessie, i think im right in saying hes one of the first to win an All Ireland as palyer, Minor, U 20 and now Senior. I always thought it was really hard to win an All Ireland in your first year and didnt expect it, hes proved me wrong though and well done to him and his team. He has taken us on this year, he has evolved the group, hes developed players like Bugler, Small, Lahiff into senior players and there will be more were they came from. Great to see Collie Basquel playing in a final to. He had some calls to make yesterday in particularly Howard and Mannion and he made them ruthlessly, i think he also managed well yesterday particularity over the half time period.

So we will winter well, but also look forward, we have a group of two U20's finalists who reached the last two All Ireland U 20 finals, who we will look to blood and develop in the spring or whenever the league happens, from yesterday group id be hopeful id be getting 5-6 players that would interest me at senior and in the right lines to. If you stand still you will be caught. So for Dessie and this group as he said himself its 1 in a row and more evolution to come hopefully from those raised on songs and stories..

Until then from the home of the 6 in a row as always, Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2020 11:53:49    2324482

Replying To Htaem:  "I think begrudgery is dying out zinny, what you're starting to see now is apathy.

Even from the Dublin players, I saw McMahon and Murchan interviewed last night, no hysterics after winning 6 in a row, just very composed, professional, Leinster Rugby like interviews from the lads."
Why would there be hysterics hours after the match finished? They seemed in a very giddy mood to me.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 11:55:56    2324483

Final say on this Final...

Think Dublin and Mayo are being treated very harshly by multiple media outlets today.

One teams titles are being diminished by the year as their numbers grow ,
and the finalists gets mocked for losing , despite having the balls to give it a go..

Given the circumstances, both finalists have being a credit to themselves in 2020, and over the past decade in general...
See you all in 2021folks ..

Mhuigheo Abu,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/12/2020 11:57:55    2324484

Replying To BeJasus:  "Final say on this Final...

Think Dublin and Mayo are being treated very harshly by multiple media outlets today.

One teams titles are being diminished by the year as their numbers grow ,
and the finalists gets mocked for losing , despite having the balls to give it a go..

Given the circumstances, both finalists have being a credit to themselves in 2020, and over the past decade in general...
See you all in 2021folks ..

Mhuigheo Abu,"
Well said.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 12:01:26    2324491

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Good post. I agree something has to be done by the grassroots to #BreakThemUp, whether it be social media campaigns to let the top brass know we're fed up, or boycotting games, but we need to get momemtum behind the movement.

#BreakThemUp"
Youd be better starting that stuff on Twitter. The home of the hashtag & those permanently wound up.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/12/2020 12:05:23    2324493

Replying To Joxer:  "It's called class lad. It doesn't take money. It just takes attitude and a manner in how you conduct yourself. Don't let it bother you so much."
Very corporate I would say.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/12/2020 12:08:55    2324495

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why would there be hysterics hours after the match finished? They seemed in a very giddy mood to me."
Ah I don't know all a matter or opinion I suppose Jackeen, sure we'll see how they are next year after the 7 :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/12/2020 12:10:26    2324496

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why would there be hysterics hours after the match finished? They seemed in a very giddy mood to me."
Philly, ripping AOS about the cause of the dust up, being not allowing him to use Murch as his elf on the shelf was class. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2020 12:11:12    2324497

Replying To BeJasus:  "Next season.
Scrap the advanced mark
3 substitutes only.

congrats Dublin ,
Worthy winners."
Great idea add in scrapping the sky 8s and I would even reduce the time of the match to 60 min.

This would improve the game immensely.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 20/12/2020 12:17:48    2324499

Huge well done to both teams. I feel both aren't getting the credit they deserve.

Dublin are without question the greatest team of all time and they are almost made to feel guilty for winning another all Ireland such is the numbers they are now racking up. There are simply not enough words to describe how good they are.

Mayo done all they could and are not going away anywhere, there time will come. They had the best young players on show in this years Senior championship and Cillian O'Connor remarkably is only now hitting his peak. A scoring machine. I believe they took that very good Galway under 20 winning side to penalties in the Connacht final this year so are bound to have more to come through.

Oisín Mullin and Ryan O'Donoghue were brilliant yesterday and all year. Oisín looks like he could play anywhere, with the strength and conditioning development he'll get in the next couple of years I can see him being a top Midfielder for Mayo in the not too distant future.

Speaking to my Dublin pals before and during the final yesterday there is only one team that bothers them and has done since 2015 and that's Mayo. I think the same goes for the players on the pitch too. Mayo rattle them like no other not Kerry not anyone else.

Thanks to all the inter county players and back room teams for the fantastic entertainment they put on for us this winter in such difficult circumstances. Roll on 2021.

Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 20/12/2020 12:23:06    2324501

Replying To royaldunne:  "There are a hell lot players on that Dublin team that weren't there 6 years ago. And in 6 more years will we still be saying the same thing ?
Look I admire mayo. But let's call a spade a spade. Dublin just eased through the first 50, as to not make it a cake walk. For fear of what will happen if they did.
That is the sad reality of where we have come to. But how long will the gaa allow it to continue?? I think every county player in Ireland believe they can beat dub. I know a fair few of the Meath lads who said exactly the same thing. It doesn't make it happen though. Mayo or Kerry will not beat Dublin next year. Fact. If I'm wrong I will happily walk to either county in my underwear, I'll do it for charity. Keep this post. It just unfortunately won't happen. And until Gael's in mayo and Kerry and the rest say hang on this isn't right, it won't change. It is like professionals playing amateurs."
Ok ok settle down with the charity offers :). In the end next year you'll probably be right especially as the All Ireland final is only 7 months away. Cluxton et al will see that as a short season and will likely hang around for it. It's the big gap from July 2021 to Feb 2022 we're likely to see some sort of transition in Dublin where a lot of the legends step aside.

Inter county teams; certainly the top 7 or 8 have similar standard players; all very good, talented inter county players. There is about 3 to 5% of inter county players who make the difference and finding these is harder. It's ok saying a lot of new players have came onto the Dublin team; you're correct but when the top, top players, especially thinking the of the consistent rocks that are Cluxton and McCarthy go, does it have an impact!

For example with Kerry's resources (not a dig), how they operate their affairs which is a credit and the fact they won 5 All Ireland minor titles in a row (some achievement in itself), it's inevitable in the next year or two they're going to be some force and it wouldn't surprise me when they make the breakthrough they don't go on and add multiple titles, possibly getting the upper hand on Dublin again.

My point is Kerry are building their castle in the background, have changed up their system, responded to what is happening and as guaranteed as night follows day an angry, determined, extrembly talented Kerry team are not far away.

Instead of crying about Dublin this is what all the big counties should be doing; yes Dublin have become a business, even if central funding is cut and they'll be there or thereabouts every year but a time is coming when the counties with a little bit of planning are going to catch them.

The sad state of affairs though is to compete you will need a semi professional set up and huge resources. That will become the new norm and only a small number of counties will be able to generate what's required.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 20/12/2020 12:38:16    2324506

Sure, when would you see hysterics in an interview with players a couple of hours after the game has ended ?
You may as well say you didn't see any hysterics in an interview before the game.
It doesn't happen. Pointless observation frankly.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/12/2020 12:46:35    2324510

Replying To zinny:  "The begrudgery on here is nothing short of shameful. Its a massive disrespect to the Mayo players who for 3/4s of the game showed every other county what they need to do, the fact is they didn't have the subs that could make it happen and Dublin did. Kerry the team that took Dublin to a replay last year will look at this and learn from it and will come out next year going at it harder than ever and Mayo to will be back.
I cannot understand posters on here from the top football counties who seem to have already written the epitaph of their teams when they go out and play Dublin. In fairness despite some of the Mayo supporters on here, not one Mayo supported I know ever believes they cannot beat Dublin. I have no doubt that nobody is giving up playing Gaelic in Mayo because they are afraid of Dublin, if anything it will inspire them to get to the next level and win. That is in contrast to some posters here from big football counties who seem to want nothing more than spread doom and gloom, how would any of these counties hope to get to the top is you lads have anything to do with it. You should be ashamed of yourselves and hopefully you have nothing to do with anything to do with underage GAA as based on your posts here the kids under your charges would learn nothing and would end up being miserable playing the game, resulting in them giving up."
Great post man, a lot of common sense in what you say.

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 20/12/2020 12:48:20    2324512

There should be serious consideration from counties to form a break away competition. I can see that a comp that involved Leitrim, Cavan, Sligo, Fermanagh, Longford, Westmeath, Roscommon and Offaly would have much more meaning to win than a pat on the head tiered cup like what will be in place next year. This could be replicated in other regions of the country.

Food for thought is that Leitrim beat Dublin in a national league game in the mid 90s in Carrick before the cash injection. That's only a generation ago. Now they'd beat us by thirty points probably...if we were lucky.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 20/12/2020 13:10:55    2324523