All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Hard Luck Mayo. Delighted for this great group of players. Brilliant achievement.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/12/2020 18:46:53    2323889

Was a brutal game of football. More backpassing than soccer. Great to see Dublin win for a change.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 19/12/2020 18:47:07    2323890

In the end the Dublin forwards won it. Kilkenny and Rock don't miss while Mayos shooting in the second half was very poor.

Fenton in the second half was excellent as was O'Callaghan the whole match.

Good game and Mayo battled well until they tired.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 19/12/2020 18:47:25    2323891

Gailge football is dead and buried how can anyone say otherwise

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 19/12/2020 18:47:33    2323892

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Last 10 minutes Dublin showing the professionalism wake me up when it's a level playing field please"
Are you sure they're professional tho? Stephen Cluxton's speech-writer swears they're not.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/12/2020 18:47:43    2323893

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Wow, look how happy the Dublin players are at the final whistle, they are absolutely ecstatic."
What's wrong with you..don't you recognise a smlle when you see one? Woohooi

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/12/2020 18:48:32    2323895

Edge of the seat stuff here from Cluxton lol

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 19/12/2020 18:49:30    2323896

Replying To cavanman47:  "So lovely to see 3 dublin players goading Kev McLoughlin as he's getting off the ground.

When winning isn't enough and you see the need to insult the losing team's efforts, it tells you all you need to know.

You can buy as many All Irelands as you want. You can't buy class."
Would you ever stop, you see that in every single gaa match.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 19/12/2020 18:49:31    2323897

Firstly congratulations to Dublin; they were cute and knew how to win the game.

As expected it wasn't going to a one sided final; Mayo were well in it but sadly for them didn't have the depth to get over the line. We seen a new part of Dublin today which I didn't like; on at least two occasions in the second half (won't name players) they dropped to the floor; got a free in and you can actually see one of players laughing - they very much conned the ref.

There was also an assault at a time Mayo were on top; in the end I thought the ref was very lenient and leant more towards Dublin with his decisions; some of his decisions were baffling to say the least.

Mayo will be disappointed but they left everything on the field and blooded a lot of new players who'll benefit from the experience.

As for Dublin; I can see some cracks developing, this year was about transition but will as many players stay on. What is clear after today is to beat them you need as many good players on the bench than starting which isn't an easy task.

In the end though 6 in a row is some achievement.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/12/2020 18:49:45    2323899

Commiserations to Mayo. Thought you had us today and would have been disappointed but not for long if you had. Consistently our equal for almost a decade. Lastly, UP THE DUBS!!!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 18:49:47    2323900

Congrats to Dublin on the great achievement of 6 in a row. Well done to Mayo too for a hard fought battle.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 19/12/2020 18:51:00    2323901

Not good enough unfortunately. No impact off the bench. Cillian class but carrying the lads up front. Durcan a huge loss as well. Kilkenny came to life when he went off. Con O Callaghan just unreal, gives me the sweats anytime the ball is near him. We needed a goal in the first half. We didn't get it. Dublin reassessed at half time and closed it out. That's it in a nutshell. We will be back with a stronger panel next year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7888 - 19/12/2020 18:51:11    2323903

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Wow, look how happy the Dublin players are at the final whistle, they are absolutely ecstatic."
Its wonderful. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 18:51:11    2323904

Congratulations to Dublin. Deserved winners, ruthless when it counts.

Some decision making and waywardness kicking ball into keepers hands cost us but hindsight can't say Dublin wouldn't have upped their game if we scored a goal or two. Couldn't be more proud of our team, background team and Mayo. We'll be back as Arnie used to say!

Happy Christmas everyone and 2021 can only be a lot better than 2020 for everyone.

Fair play to the GAA for putting on these great games this year in all codes in a age groups.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 19/12/2020 18:52:25    2323905

Replying To kevin03:  "Seriously. Jesus the clip is clear as day. The mouth that is McMahon clearly says something to the mayo player to start the whole row."
It's the responsibility of the other players not to lose their head and react. Aidan O'Shea clearly strikes Philly McMahon on the back of the head and you're worried about what was said?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 19/12/2020 18:52:26    2323906

Well done Dublin great win decent game what do mayo need to do to win one.

One thing lot of placating by Dublin players at times not nice to see.

Fitzsimmons fouled holding his eyes pointing to mayo player looking for card.

No.10 holding head no matter where he was hit. Mannion holding his head like he was clipped by Joshua.

Doesn't change result great win and probably over 70 minutes better team got the luck as well. Hopefully mayo can be back next year.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 291 - 19/12/2020 18:52:53    2323908

Let today's result serve as a reminder that GAA people who care about the future of Gaelic football MUST endeavour to keep the pressure going to #BreakThemUp.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/12/2020 18:53:05    2323909

Replying To Rebel2020:  "Dublin better team in the second half and just about deserved it . Mayo better than Dublin from 1-15 as in previous finals, but Dublins bench makes the difference. Coldrick helped Dublin when he could too and bottled the two key decisions, the black card for Cooper and yellow and free in for Fitzsimons."
You. obviously didn't see the dirty dig to Fenton's head that was ignored. The black card was a joke. Even McStay conceded that it was the wrong decision .

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/12/2020 18:53:26    2323910

Replying To lilylanger:  "Are you serious new poster? Mayo started that. 5 on 1."
I may be a new poster but I have been following the game for 40 years. Didn't realize there was a hierarchy according to post numbers for n this forum

Cleaningshucks (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 19/12/2020 18:53:53    2323911

Davy byrne man of the match for me lads.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/12/2020 18:53:55    2323912