Football Is Finished

Maybe Mayo should drop to div 3 so they can win the tailtean farce. Be more meaningful than the current main competition

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 19/12/2020 23:25:56    2324260

Once the ball is kicked out from the keeper - unless a save from the opposing team - the ball cannot be played back to the goal keeper inside the 21....once the ball crosses halfway line..it CANNOT be be passed back into the defensive half by the attacking team...I wont impose a shot timer, but DUblin had the ball for 2 minutes 50 seconds at the start of the 10 minutes (at the start of second half) without the black carded player, they were not playing any football, just keeping the ball away from Mayo to prevent them scoring...boring and rediculous football considering they are not doubt the best in the business when they go and attack, and that is the killing part....Cluxton taking way way too much time looking to find a loose man when kicking out the ball too..watch back and almost every single kick out he kicked the ball out after a considerable delay the ref standing waiting for him... possible rule: ref blows whistle for kick out kick must be taken without delay, I wouldnt put a time on it as it gets too techical, but a keeper (winning the game by the way) looking around at his ease UNTIL a player gets free to pass it to (NOT kick it out to) is not at all fair and sporting...need I say Ime fed up with this type of football...Dublin done a few "Ronaldo's" too with a few of the clashes, players grabbing their faces when they were hit in the chest etc. but recovering quickly when Dean Rock had the ball in hand to kick the free NOT from where the "foul" occurred....in fairness Gooch always took frees from incorrect area too...heres to next year and more rubbish "football" tactics wise....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 19/12/2020 23:28:22    2324261

Replying To Htaem:  "Probably recruited by their CEO.

In all honesty, I think the Gaa have dug a big hole for themselves here and I'm not sure how they're going to get themselves out of it.

What happened to the Leinster championship appears to be happening to the All-Ireland, the Gaa decided that Leinster wasn't worth saving but I'd imagine they'll be more concerned about the overall picture."
An AI final was won by 16 scores to 15 scores, 2 points in the game with 10m to go and all to play for and football is finished. Wow! If Dublin were not there Mayo would have won 4 or 5 AIs in the last 7-8 years or so. Would football have been finished then? I would say not.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/12/2020 23:48:39    2324275

Replying To Cleaningshucks:  "Pretty sad how some feel the need to troll online after their team 'win' 6 in a row"
That's the Hill 16 Army for you.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 20/12/2020 00:22:14    2324292

Replying To supersub15:  "The only way to get out of this mess is by using a score handicap, think about it."
Not at all. Just make it so that the Dublin hurlers have equal esteem with the footballers so that their dual players dont always opt for football. Dublin wouldnt have won 6 in a row if the likes of Ciaran Kilkenny and Cormac Costello had stuck with playing the small ball!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/12/2020 00:30:15    2324297

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yep. Dublin have always had loads of advantages over other counties. They just messed up and didnt actually do anything with it.
Theyve got their stuff in order recently. GAA need to assist some of the other counties to help them more now though and i dont mean kerry!"
Assist them all. Then its equal. Isn't that tbe whole point? Make it a level playing field. So don't discriminate against Kerry either

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 20/12/2020 00:40:08    2324304

Replying To Jackeen:  "Kerry do. A quick Google told me that. I couldn't be arsed checking if anybody else does. The OP seems to know it all. Seems."
I think Kerry have organised and funded that themselves. And they have a far smaller population to fund raise from and recieve less funding from the GAA

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 20/12/2020 00:43:09    2324305

Replying To arock:  "Dublin for decades have had numbers, trick was always picking best players. Before this decade we wouldnt be having this discussion."
I'm not really sure what your point is? They do have a massive advantage due to population, funding and home games, no?

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 20/12/2020 00:46:07    2324306

Replying To Joxer:  "An AI final was won by 16 scores to 15 scores, 2 points in the game with 10m to go and all to play for and football is finished. Wow! If Dublin were not there Mayo would have won 4 or 5 AIs in the last 7-8 years or so. Would football have been finished then? I would say not."
A half assed effort by Dublin it has to be said and they still won by 5pts.

Dublin have won 15 of the last 16 Leinster championships (including 10 in a row) and 8 of the last 10 All-Irelands (including 6 in a row).

They also happen to be by far the most funded and professionally run Gaa county in Ireland, perhaps the success is merely a coincidence?

Also, if's and buts are completely pointless those are the facts, or am I incorrect?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/12/2020 00:58:09    2324316

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya jackeen Jason McGahan is in his second year as strength and conditioning coach here in kerry so in 2-3 years we might be able to give ye some competition."
Ya Hopefully not , Dublin are closing in on the all the mighty kingdoms 37 All Ireland titles -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/12/2020 01:03:06    2324319

Yes it is

But Munster were magnificent

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/12/2020 01:47:06    2324328

Kerry vs Clare 9-21 to 1-09 (36)
Kerry vs Cork 2-14 to 2-04 (10)
Kerry vs Monaghan 5-14 to 0-7 (22)
Kerry vs Dublin 3-13 to 1-08 (10)

Average game winning margin 19.5 points

Dublin vs Westmeath 0-22 to 0-11 (11)
Dublin vs Laois 2-23 to 0-7 (22)
Dublin vs Meath 3-21 to 0-9 (21)
Dublin vs Cavan 1-24 to 0-12 (15)
Dublin vs Mayo 2-14 to 0-15 (5)

Average game winning margin 14.8 points

Football didn't die in 1979 for example, when it was even more imbalanced than today. It won't die in 2020 either.

In any given era, you've only had 3-4 teams capable of winning Sam. Football has always been imbalanced. This is not a new phenomenon at all.

As well, there was nothing wrong with Croke Park, having to travel all the way there, and the huge population that Dublin had compared to everyone else in 1979. This has only suddenly become a problem in select eyes in the last 2-3 years.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 20/12/2020 02:18:59    2324334

To be honest, the entire system is braindead and will only continue to get more braindead as time goes on. Most of the counties we know today were incorporated from the English. I understand it worked well at the foundation of the GAA as a basic administrative unit when they started, apeing the English system.

But, the reality is more than half the counties in the GAA system have never won an All Ireland in either hurling or football. Two counties still have yet to win a provincial title after 140 odd years of trying at either code. But when you have a championship, where a team with up on 1,200,000 of a pick, can potentially end up taking on a county with a pick 27,000, there's something more than a bit wrong about that.

I understand that not all Dubs play football nor do all Leitrim people, but at the very least the champion needs to have some kind of tiered system. In the longer term, yes Dublin needs to be broken up, but I also think amalgamations need to happen too of smaller counties. If you want to give young lads a realistic opportunity of winning an all Ireland then you need to at least make it so each county/unit has a roughly equal pick. The other option is we go like soccer and go free market altogether and lads can play for anyone they like. I think that's a worse option because then a few big counties/cities/units [whatever you want to call it] will always dominate.

In hurling some kind of limited progress has been made recently, as regards championship reform. I suspect this kind of idea will go down like a lead balloon with hardcore traditionalists. I can't understand why football has been so resistant to the small changes that are inevitable though. Dublin will likely rise to a stage where there's 2,000,000 plus people there at some point. The traditionalist monkeys/ glory hunting Dubs/ lads with their heads buried in the sand, who want to go watch Longford/Louth/Westmeath etc. get annihilated for the next 100 years are kidding themselves if they think this problem is going away.

RadioactiveTan (UK) - Posts: 28 - 20/12/2020 03:01:18    2324340

Replying To NewyorkNewyork:  "I think Kerry have organised and funded that themselves. And they have a far smaller population to fund raise from and recieve less funding from the GAA"
The OP stated Dublin were the only county to have a full time S&C coach. I have given proof that they are not. Everything you have stated is pure conjecture.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 07:06:29    2324347

Replying To Joxer:  "An AI final was won by 16 scores to 15 scores, 2 points in the game with 10m to go and all to play for and football is finished. Wow! If Dublin were not there Mayo would have won 4 or 5 AIs in the last 7-8 years or so. Would football have been finished then? I would say not."
Yes, Mayo probably would have won 4 or 5 All-Ireland's if they did'nt have face a over financed Dublin thats kinda the point of the tread though....

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 20/12/2020 07:36:18    2324350

Replying To KillingFields:  "And other counties dont have access to this level of strength and conditioning staff/people?"
Really? JP didn't fund a top S and C coach for the Limerick hustlers them? Enjoy your lemons.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 20/12/2020 09:23:59    2324375

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yep. Dublin have always had loads of advantages over other counties. They just messed up and didnt actually do anything with it.
Theyve got their stuff in order recently. GAA need to assist some of the other counties to help them more now though and i dont mean kerry!"
Killing fields I'm very surprised by your "and I don't mean kerry" comment,

Usually I find you to be a very fair minded poster, but do you realise that we're all part of the same organisation?

So are kerry not allowed access to equal money from HQ just because we have won a lot of allirelands?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/12/2020 09:30:07    2324378

Replying To RadioactiveTan:  "To be honest, the entire system is braindead and will only continue to get more braindead as time goes on. Most of the counties we know today were incorporated from the English. I understand it worked well at the foundation of the GAA as a basic administrative unit when they started, apeing the English system.

But, the reality is more than half the counties in the GAA system have never won an All Ireland in either hurling or football. Two counties still have yet to win a provincial title after 140 odd years of trying at either code. But when you have a championship, where a team with up on 1,200,000 of a pick, can potentially end up taking on a county with a pick 27,000, there's something more than a bit wrong about that.

I understand that not all Dubs play football nor do all Leitrim people, but at the very least the champion needs to have some kind of tiered system. In the longer term, yes Dublin needs to be broken up, but I also think amalgamations need to happen too of smaller counties. If you want to give young lads a realistic opportunity of winning an all Ireland then you need to at least make it so each county/unit has a roughly equal pick. The other option is we go like soccer and go free market altogether and lads can play for anyone they like. I think that's a worse option because then a few big counties/cities/units [whatever you want to call it
will always dominate.

In hurling some kind of limited progress has been made recently, as regards championship reform. I suspect this kind of idea will go down like a lead balloon with hardcore traditionalists. I can't understand why football has been so resistant to the small changes that are inevitable though. Dublin will likely rise to a stage where there's 2,000,000 plus people there at some point. The traditionalist monkeys/ glory hunting Dubs/ lads with their heads buried in the sand, who want to go watch Longford/Louth/Westmeath etc. get annihilated for the next 100 years are kidding themselves if they think this problem is going away."]Yes we are moving more and more to an urbanised society. Dublin population will continue to grow exponentially but so will the population of Cork, Limerick, Galway cities etc.. At some stage the GAA will have to look at the county system and ask is it still fit for purpose. It served the GAA well while we were mostly a rural based people but as the major population centres grow bigger and bigger at some stage the GAA may need to go back to its origins and have club teams representing their counties and playing for the Sam Maguire. And if club teams represented every county, it would also help solve this big and growing friction that exists between club and county and make it all part of the one unit!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/12/2020 10:37:19    2324420

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yes, Mayo probably would have won 4 or 5 All-Ireland's if they did'nt have face a over financed Dublin thats kinda the point of the tread though...."
I presume that you realise that most of those finances are ploughed into Dublin hurling. You probably also realise that huge sums have been ploughed into the Kerry and Mayo football teams. If you say that Dublin is "over financed" then you must have a value in mind for what would be "equal finance". So how much money should Dublin receive? Give us a number.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/12/2020 10:44:29    2324425

the only way small counties will compete is if the GAA split the money equally, and then allow counties to incentivise players to come and play for them. basically go professional or semi professional. Otherwise in 50 years people will still be talking about this inequality. Planners have added o the problem, they have promoted Dublin to businesses at the expense for area such as the north west, south west, etc.. Players on the Mayo team are working and living in Dublin and the off spring will be playing for Dublin, e.g. COC's fat6is from Tipp and so it continues.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 20/12/2020 11:08:03    2324441