Football Is Finished

Replying To BeJasus:  "Kildare/Meath willing on Dublin neXt sunday, no doubt about it...keep them going throughout the winter moaning ..

They are invading threads complaining about the game and it unfairness, trying to bring other counties in to it..
Not on...!!
Boring at this stage..

In all fairness could you actually trust any of these counties with money... if they were funded ??

Their structures are Mickey Mouse and are clearly outdated, and it will take a decade to catch up with likes of
Kerry/Donegal/Mayo/Tyrone/galways of this world ....but most of these teams have structures in place , or in the process of doing so, and are more likely to challenge Dublin rather than regresses backwards over the next decade or so..

Leinster counties have fallen off a cliff.
That's the reality"
My county won an all ireland final in 2001 and failed to win a match in Croker for the next 17 years,,and failed to win a championship game outside of Connacht for over a decade afterwards too.
That ain't Dublins fault,, end of story

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 13/12/2020 10:07:06    2321795

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Username.The cost of the trip is mind boggling.Kerry were one of the first counties to start the exotic far away holidays which a lot of the big teams do now.I think Dubs went to Bali at the start of the year.Now most holidays as ive said are done by fundraising and I don't begrudge those involved.However I know if you win the all Ireland the gaa make a nice contribution to the winning teams holiday fund for both football and hurling.The figures a couple a couple of years ago was 80 grand each.I think league winners also get a much smaller donation but don't know the exact figures there.The 80,000 was for 2017 so im not sure whether the amount has increased or decreased since.Plenty of money to go around still but I do think its sad that money cannot be pumped into the counties that need it more."
Im sure most counties come in at something similar. I wouldn't begrudge the lads at all. But its huge money, certainly uprising for me. As best we know the top teams the top teams are spending 1 mill - 1.5mill a year on their Senior Interconty teams. In that context 300k is a lot of money in the broader discussion on finances. Personally id be a big advocate of looking after the players.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/12/2020 10:16:24    2321798

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "just on team holidays.I came across Galway hurlers spent 300,000e on their trip after all Ireland win eventhough county board in debt.Looking at a lot of money issues for teams is travel and hotel bills which are huge.Mayo spent over 370 grand in 2017 on route final after playing 8 games(7 0f which were away games).we can all talk about money till the cows go home but the plain and simple facts are that to even compete at the top level a lot of money is needed."
Id say the Kerry holiday number isnt anything out of the ordinary all right, it just surprised me is all.

Travel is a huge expense all right. Especially counties on the western sea board in the latter stages of the championship. Ive never seen much about it written, but i remember McStay saying a huge figure Roscommon were paying to bring lads to training weekly - with much of it spent on Taxis, cant remember the figure but struck me as mad at the time. I heard Tom Keane saying, it costs 20k a week to run Kerrys senior footballers training.

Perhaps a stone that would kill many birds would be capping spending for county boards for senior county at 1 mill. Would provide a stop to the arms raise, better equity and any surplus funds could be back into grass roots. I know thats a simple solution and there is a black economy in the GAA, but might be a start. It might also help the GAA to develop national structures in oversight. To be very fair i think the bigger counties like Mayo, Dublin and Kerry are coming in at figures a couple 100k over 1 mill at the moment.

Just on holidays, im delighted the players get something out of it. I often try and and look at the finance of it all through a players eyes. They are seeing numbers ranging to millions in the media, they are doing big county sponsorship gigs, they see full grounds - they provide the entertainment. They are bring looked after these days by teams of personally better payed back room teams then likely some of themselves in their own careers. I wonder if, or what point they will say hang on here there is huge money going around here and everyone is doing well financially except me and im making huge sacrifices.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/12/2020 10:31:38    2321803

Replying To foreveryoung:  "KBoy, can you direct me to the evidence of where the genius Gerry defeated username in the funding battle? It should make for some good readings, if nothing else."
Id like to see it myself, as i haven't spoken to either poster in about a year (and would have no plans to).

I made the point that Kerry made more income in 2019 then Dublin. A Kerry poster provided this year results this year and i admittedly laughed (which i probably shouldn't have) and pointed out there was a pandemic.

They then want to say Dublin had a secret company and the Dublin audited accounts weren't there real revenue. I said id like to see the source of that. They then asked me to go off and find the information for them.

So in summary, someone i wasnt speaking to, was spoofing then asked me to go of to find information to probe their point. Needless to say, one of the many reasons to avoid the posters in question.

Never change.

* Starts here, bizarre stuff.

https://www.hoganstand.com/Forum/Details/109907?County=National&PageNumber=8&TopicID=109907

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/12/2020 10:41:04    2321808

Replying To TheUsername:  "Id like to see it myself, as i haven't spoken to either poster in about a year (and would have no plans to).

I made the point that Kerry made more income in 2019 then Dublin. A Kerry poster provided this year results this year and i admittedly laughed (which i probably shouldn't have) and pointed out there was a pandemic.

They then want to say Dublin had a secret company and the Dublin audited accounts weren't there real revenue. I said id like to see the source of that. They then asked me to go off and find the information for them.

So in summary, someone i wasnt speaking to, was spoofing then asked me to go of to find information to probe their point. Needless to say, one of the many reasons to avoid the posters in question.

Never change.

* Starts here, bizarre stuff.

https://www.hoganstand.com/Forum/Details/109907?County=National&PageNumber=8&TopicID=109907"
Lol

You were quite happy to engage when you thought you had the upper hand, beating your chest with your 'facts' until I started asking a few questions and your lack of knowledge was shown up. Predictably you pulled the 'I'm too good to debate with you' card at that point and extricated yourself from the topic, as you always do when you trip yourself up.

Advancedmark even made an appearance on the thread which was nice.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/12/2020 10:59:50    2321814

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im sure most counties come in at something similar. I wouldn't begrudge the lads at all. But its huge money, certainly uprising for me. As best we know the top teams the top teams are spending 1 mill - 1.5mill a year on their Senior Interconty teams. In that context 300k is a lot of money in the broader discussion on finances. Personally id be a big advocate of looking after the players."
What top team is spending €1.5 million preparing their senior inter county team?

Kerry spent €500k last year in a year they went to an AIF replay per treasurers report. I expect you are confusing team expenses that most counties list in their accounts for all teams across all ages and grades with the cost of preparing the senior Inter county teams. They are not the same thing.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/12/2020 11:03:14    2321816

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Lol

You were quite happy to engage when you thought you had the upper hand, beating your chest with your 'facts' until I started asking a few questions and your lack of knowledge was shown up. Predictably you pulled the 'I'm too good to debate with you' card at that point and extricated yourself from the topic, as you always do when you trip yourself up.

Advancedmark even made an appearance on the thread which was nice."
100% Gerry he conceded the discussion when he said he was too good to debate it with you, you stifled him and he balked and now look "forever young" who's been hanging around the kerry page has arrived to ask questions he won't ask himself because he won't talk to us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/12/2020 11:42:25    2321825

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "What top team is spending €1.5 million preparing their senior inter county team?

Kerry spent €500k last year in a year they went to an AIF replay per treasurers report. I expect you are confusing team expenses that most counties list in their accounts for all teams across all ages and grades with the cost of preparing the senior Inter county teams. They are not the same thing."
I think Mayo spent €1.6 million in 2016 or 17. But over €500k was on travel expenses.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 13/12/2020 11:50:45    2321829

Replying To FootblockREF:  "I think Mayo spent €1.6 million in 2016 or 17. But over €500k was on travel expenses."
Was that for all their teams or just the senior team alone though? I doubt any team is spending that on their senior team. It's an aggregate figure across all teams that is reported in most cases. If a county has underage or other teams making deep championship runs it is going to have a big bearing on the figure.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/12/2020 12:25:58    2321838

Here are those Mayo figures, senior team is a big factor of course but a lot of the expenditure is to do with other Mayo teams

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/12/2020 12:35:02    2321842

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "link

Here are those Mayo figures, senior team is a big factor of course but a lot of the expenditure is to do with other Mayo teams"
Mayo GAA
@MayoGAA
·
46m
Commercial income has increased by €79,063 to €542,947, this is mainly as a result of Mayo GAA TV. We are very grateful that to our sponsors who continue to support Mayo GAA. #mayogaa

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 13/12/2020 13:05:01    2321851

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100% Gerry he conceded the discussion when he said he was too good to debate it with you, you stifled him and he balked and now look "forever young" who's been hanging around the kerry page has arrived to ask questions he won't ask himself because he won't talk to us."
Can't come out of his own way in these debates. Even above he has completely misinterpreted the reported spending by counties on their teams, calling for spending caps of a million when nobody is spending anywhere near that etc. Nobody with any understanding of financial reporting would make that mistake.

He will disappear in a puff of smoke now again. You'd have to LOL all the same

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/12/2020 14:19:27    2321871

Replying To Rolo2010:  "It can't employed in team sports and no other team sport gives one team a score handicap. Drop the stupid proposals and you might get people to take you seriously.

Straight knockout football is also crap and I was happy to see the nostalgia wear off after the SFs."
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Thanks for your reply and your concern, I'll take your criticism but I'm not convinced that my proposals are "stupid "if you compare them to some other posters here who gloat in the thought of being crowned the "Agony Aunt" of gaelic games, football in particular, a previous poster a few posts back suggested a handicap system with no issues, others have ring fenced the HS home page and made it a no go area for counties of a lesser God, lol.
Just to finish, if I was from a Div.1 county I would be fighting for the retention of the back door system full stop. However you made reference to the straight knockout which is my preference when you said, - - "Straight knockout football is also crap and I was happy to see the nostalgia wear off after the SFs". Yet you suggested, League followed by straight knockout tiered championship based on final placings. That to me is the same thing as I suggested with a few add on's of your own. For the record, I wasn't implying that one team get's a score handicap rather all teams gets a score handicap as in + / - as in a golf handicap, There's lots of handicaps facing the many unfortunate counties.

Anyway when your dealing with anonymity and multiple posters straight talking and honesty doesn't wash apparently and won't be taken seriously, being a stand-up comedian may be the way to go.

Take care, stay healthy, Merry Christmas to you and yours.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 13/12/2020 14:27:23    2321873

Replying To supersub15:  "Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Thanks for your reply and your concern, I'll take your criticism but I'm not convinced that my proposals are "stupid "if you compare them to some other posters here who gloat in the thought of being crowned the "Agony Aunt" of gaelic games, football in particular, a previous poster a few posts back suggested a handicap system with no issues, others have ring fenced the HS home page and made it a no go area for counties of a lesser God, lol.
Just to finish, if I was from a Div.1 county I would be fighting for the retention of the back door system full stop. However you made reference to the straight knockout which is my preference when you said, - - "Straight knockout football is also crap and I was happy to see the nostalgia wear off after the SFs". Yet you suggested, League followed by straight knockout tiered championship based on final placings. That to me is the same thing as I suggested with a few add on's of your own. For the record, I wasn't implying that one team get's a score handicap rather all teams gets a score handicap as in + / - as in a golf handicap, There's lots of handicaps facing the many unfortunate counties.

Anyway when your dealing with anonymity and multiple posters straight talking and honesty doesn't wash apparently and won't be taken seriously, being a stand-up comedian may be the way to go.

Take care, stay healthy, Merry Christmas to you and yours."
Get over yourself. A score handicap for both teams is still a stupid idea.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 13/12/2020 14:35:00    2321874

Replying To Rolo2010:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Thanks for your reply and your concern, I'll take your criticism but I'm not convinced that my proposals are "stupid "if you compare them to some other posters here who gloat in the thought of being crowned the "Agony Aunt" of gaelic games, football in particular, a previous poster a few posts back suggested a handicap system with no issues, others have ring fenced the HS home page and made it a no go area for counties of a lesser God, lol.

Take care, stay healthy, Merry Christmas to you and yours."
Get over yourself. A score handicap for both teams is still a stupid idea."
Sorry I rattled your cage, get plenty of rest.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 13/12/2020 17:12:06    2321950

I really hope that Mayo can put in a better show next Sunday than Waterford did today. Well done Limerick by the way. But football needs a really close battle next weekend. I believe that this Mayo team will push Dubs all the way, and hopefully get over the line as winners.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 13/12/2020 17:30:06    2321972

There are a lot of possibilities here and it seems that having the league will still happen here. Hopefully, there are lot of things that can happen here but I hope that there will be a nice show for everyone involved lol. It's hard to really pin down who will win but it is awesome to see that there are some great games on the way especially with the quality that has become promising.

KaitlynnDuff (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 17/12/2020 13:33:53    2323136

Replying To KillingFields:  "Football Is Finished
After trying to watch Dublin V Cavan, the word "turn over" word used yet and yet again, showing that Dublin may as well go and play rugby such is the fear of loosing posession, People will come on here and say they are great and professional and all that, and they are at the game they play, but they have football destroyed, I think even with a crowd in Croke Park this evening (where the game should not be played by the way as far as I am concerned) that game was as shocking to look at as any other Dublin game...rather than loose posession, they would kick the ball the whole way back down the field, again, fair dues its within the rules, but they are as boring as hell at this stage, the referee in the main "walking" around the field such was the time he had on his hands...I hope, for the sake of football, Mayo or Tipperary win, and if this crap Dublin are offering up continues and they continue to dominate as a result, the rules need looking at, as teams are genuinely going out to try and play against them (as Cavan did) but Dublin were more interested in just getting the ball, hang onto it for the 3/4 minutes it took to get into a shooting position (hoping to be fouled if possible)...if that is football, good luck, because I and I think may more are fed up with it..fair enough Dublin have it down to an "art" as people say, but the art is as boring, and over played now..thank God no other team has mastered it or we would be finished (Cork managed luckily to beat Kerry with it this year, and tried again unsucessfully against Tipp)....hopefully soon we might get two teams who will go out and decide to play football for the first time in years, because this is finishing football...Dublin winning 6 All Irelands possibly playing that type of "football"...let them off....hopefully football will be back in the years to come...
Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 396 - 05/12/2020 21:33:42
What other word would you use instead of turnover to describe the changing of possession from one side to another. Well possession is 9/10ths of the way to win a game.
Dublin dont at all have gaelic destroyed.
And yes im a pedant and may (probably) have some mistake in here somewhere but its lose not loose...
What would you do to change the rules anyway. Dublins brand is far better than most of the teams that cant get near beating them.

Yes I agree. Plus why do teams "tire" so much against Dublin?? Genuine question. Why or how can they be so much fitter?? All county teams especially at top level do the same training so why are they so much fitter then????
tonguey (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 05/12/2020 21:59:33
Dublin manage to hold possession very well and its much harder to defend than keep the ball. What are you tryin to imply.

Pundits won't say or are afraid to say it. The ball was in midfield and it ended up back with Cluxton in the square. If that was soccer the team would be lambasted, but nary a word because it's Dublin. I think gaelic football is in serious bother at a number of levels, both skills wise and competitive wise.
When we play the Australians in that compromise rules they give us an exhibition of kicking that the Irish lads cannot match which is fairly embarrassing.
There's old clips of AI finals on youtube from the 1930s and what strikes you are the low skill levels and how much kicking the ball on the ground was done, it was of its time though, but we aren't far off that type of skill level again.
I think it's good enough for the GAA though. They better hope that Dublin fans still attend games because no one from other counties will be going to watch.
republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 05/12/2020 21:59:49
What would you want done to change things?"
No back pass to the keeper.

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 19/12/2020 13:33:06    2323728

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I doubt its what your hinting at.
It's the best of the best 25 of the top 30 players in the country pushing themselves to be on the team demolishing the rest of us."
But if you are picking from a far far greater number of people the odds are you will find find more skilful players and greater numbers of superior athletes. Mathematical certainty. So all the people who say it's just up to the rest of us to match themselves are fooling themselves. Its stacked in Dublins favour and it actually demeans and lessons the value of their success. 5, 6, of even 10 All Ireland's in a row when all are played at home, and semi finals and Leinster finals etc... well when I way it all up it doesn't sound like a level playing field and so then questions the actual size of their achievements to be honest.

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 19/12/2020 13:42:22    2323730

Come on Mayo, try and be cool
Come on O Shea, show the Dubs who will rule.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 19/12/2020 16:44:39    2323818