Kilkenny V Waterford

I have to say TJ Reid has to be the best forward of all time I have never seen a player that has as much influence on a game as he. From play he is brillent from frees and also unreal in the air and imo streets ahead of sheflin! Another of these greats that we don't have long left to enjoy!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 30/11/2020 15:22:05    2316978

Have to agree with the posters about the soft frees Kilkenny got, that's the 2nd game in a row where they've really benefitted from a lot of soft frees.

Completely outplayed in the 2nd half, think Waterford hit 2-15 from play in the 2nd 35 minutes whilst Kilkenny couldn't have scored any more then 4 or 5 points from play. Waterford should have won that game by 10 points plus.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 30/11/2020 17:17:04    2317042

Replying To TheBishop:  "Have to agree with the posters about the soft frees Kilkenny got, that's the 2nd game in a row where they've really benefitted from a lot of soft frees.

Completely outplayed in the 2nd half, think Waterford hit 2-15 from play in the 2nd 35 minutes whilst Kilkenny couldn't have scored any more then 4 or 5 points from play. Waterford should have won that game by 10 points plus."
I'd call them silly frees rather than soft. Most were needless fouls by both Galway & Waterford against KK.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 30/11/2020 18:22:27    2317074

Replying To keeper7:  "I'd call them silly frees rather than soft. Most were needless fouls by both Galway & Waterford against KK."
Needless my friend and the opposition only took one needless free in 35 minutes ? I might be green but not a cabbage. Callum Lyons got called for too many steps while his hurley was held. To rub salt in the wound Eoin Cody got the ball on the follow up and It looked like he was going to carry it back to Ballyhale. This was scandalous referring by any standards.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 30/11/2020 18:32:59    2317084

Replying To Canuck:  "Needless my friend and the opposition only took one needless free in 35 minutes ? I might be green but not a cabbage. Callum Lyons got called for too many steps while his hurley was held. To rub salt in the wound Eoin Cody got the ball on the follow up and It looked like he was going to carry it back to Ballyhale. This was scandalous referring by any standards."
i would hate to see if you had lost.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/11/2020 18:46:59    2317094

Replying To gatha:  "Seems Kilkenny are the only ones who break the rules and get away with it . Funny stuff."
What I am saying is that referees are not as strict on Kilkenny as they possibly should be, players will always push the boat as far as they can...it is up to the referees to call the free. They nearly always give the benefit of the doubt to the favourites, seem to be in awe of their managers. Ever was and ever will be.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 30/11/2020 19:01:31    2317101

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Congrats to Waterford, by far the better team on the night, and played with purpose and confidence.
As I wrote in the thread before the match, there were plenty of warning signs for Kilkenny that were completely papered over by the win against Galway. How a poorly coached, tactically prehistoric Kilkenny keep getting to the business end of the Championship is a testament to the players.
Looking forward to the final, its almost a relief not to be in it"
The reason Waterford won the game was because there half backs and half forwards won most of the balls in the air in the second half. They won their own ball and came in waves at Kilkenny. They got clean possession and pushed forward. No great tactics there. Kilkenny don't have ball winners with exception of TJ, Donnelly and Padraig Walsh. Richie Hogan is a foot smaller then some of the Kilkenny forwards and wins more ball in the air. The full back line played well in the 1st half when the players out the field were breaking even. Once the Waterford half backs started to dominate they just came in waves at the full back line. Like I said earlier last year when Kilkenny beat Limerick it was called Cody's greatest win. A year later he is prehistoric.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 30/11/2020 19:26:56    2317114

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But how many Croke Cups did St Kierans win in the last decade. Though they had tough battles my old alma Mater Ardscoil Ris never beat and otherwise ASR must have beaten every team in the country over the past ten or twelve years"
The players at St. Kierans aren't translating into great minors. Every step up is a big step. A lot of minors never play senior. More of an indication of players coming through is the U-21 grade. Kilkenny haven't won since 2008. That team had TJ Richie Hogan and Colin Fennelly I believe.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 30/11/2020 19:33:13    2317116

Replying To gatha:  "The players at St. Kierans aren't translating into great minors. Every step up is a big step. A lot of minors never play senior. More of an indication of players coming through is the U-21 grade. Kilkenny haven't won since 2008. That team had TJ Richie Hogan and Colin Fennelly I believe."
Well that is definitely true in some Caseys but most of the Clare (13) and Limerick (18) teams were grounded in the Harty Cup and performed well. I can remember seeing lads Hannon Dowling, Lynch and the Caseys playing in the HC and feeling we were on to something. From the late sixties up to the late oughties only one HC was won by a Limerick and I think that contributed a lot to our poor returns at senior level in those decades. Yes I know some phenomenal Harty players, like Ronan Lynch, do not make it to inter county senior level, but many of them do.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 30/11/2020 19:55:21    2317127

Replying To gatha:  "The reason Waterford won the game was because there half backs and half forwards won most of the balls in the air in the second half. They won their own ball and came in waves at Kilkenny. They got clean possession and pushed forward. No great tactics there. Kilkenny don't have ball winners with exception of TJ, Donnelly and Padraig Walsh. Richie Hogan is a foot smaller then some of the Kilkenny forwards and wins more ball in the air. The full back line played well in the 1st half when the players out the field were breaking even. Once the Waterford half backs started to dominate they just came in waves at the full back line. Like I said earlier last year when Kilkenny beat Limerick it was called Cody's greatest win. A year later he is prehistoric."
I regret the use of the word prehistoric now looking back, but i didn't call Cody prehistoric as you are implying, i was referred to our tactics or lack thereof. When Waterford were winning everything and were coming in waves, what did we do? How did we adapt? Did we keep doing the same thing over and over hoping for a different outcome, again? Are we comfortable dealing with our own short puck outs, working the ball out of defence and other aspects of the modern game that we can no longer avoid?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 30/11/2020 20:34:49    2317140

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "Agree, hard call to make.Seen Dj as a child hit a sliotar over the bar with his hand from the half way line , not even joking I was 10 years old but will never forget I'm not from a hurling county but I grew into the small ball, Literally his hand and it was the half way line. For me Dj wins it for that reason alone.The rest are great but I have yet to see them do what he did that day. DJ all day long."
??? Do you remember what was the length of the pitch?
Adult pitch or under-14 pitch

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 30/11/2020 20:43:41    2317142

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I regret the use of the word prehistoric now looking back, but i didn't call Cody prehistoric as you are implying, i was referred to our tactics or lack thereof. When Waterford were winning everything and were coming in waves, what did we do? How did we adapt? Did we keep doing the same thing over and over hoping for a different outcome, again? Are we comfortable dealing with our own short puck outs, working the ball out of defence and other aspects of the modern game that we can no longer avoid?"
Who comes up with the tactics? The manager, if the tactics are prehistoric the manager is also since he is responsible. If you look at the game again Waterford made a lot of mistakes in the 1st half and Kilkenny made a few more in the 2nd half. Turnovers, bad wides when you see the mistakes Murphy made you knew it wasn't our night.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 30/11/2020 21:33:47    2317158

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I regret the use of the word prehistoric now looking back, but i didn't call Cody prehistoric as you are implying, i was referred to our tactics or lack thereof. When Waterford were winning everything and were coming in waves, what did we do? How did we adapt? Did we keep doing the same thing over and over hoping for a different outcome, again? Are we comfortable dealing with our own short puck outs, working the ball out of defence and other aspects of the modern game that we can no longer avoid?"
The Waterford substitutions worked a treat while KK's had no impact. Padraig Walsh was almost anonymous. I thought it was strange to drop Colin Fennelly too. Bringing on Richie had worked against Galway...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 30/11/2020 21:40:57    2317161

Replying To perfect10:  "i would hate to see if you had lost."
You seem to have a problem constantly with me expressing an opinion. Its fine when you pass opinions on refereeing and the need for replay to determine what they may have missed. We didn't lose and if this was Wexford or any other team were subject to this type of performance win lose or draw I would feel the same. I rarely comment on referees but on this occasion it was so obviously bad to me and many others I did.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 30/11/2020 23:42:04    2317195

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Exactly. I've heard a few saying it was a mistake that Tipp let Cahill go to Waterford. That's nonsense. They were hardly going to replace Liam Sheedy after he had just won the All-Ireland. What else could they do? It's actually beneficial that Cahill's getting a chance to cut his teeth in senior management elsewhere. If he does come back to manage Tipp at some stage, he'll have a lot more experience."
Cahill was about to get the job though before sheedy put his name into the hat initially. For Cahill himself he probably decided he couldn't wait yet another year so decided to go to Waterford for two years. He arguably couldn't lose by going to Waterford as they were at their lowest and he seems to do best with young players. As a tipp man I'd expect him to come in in 2022 and bring in a lot of the underage players he has already managed. Sheedy doesn't seem to believe they are ready and he could be right but Cahill will have no problem in firing a number of them in and probably nudging one or two great tipp players out the door too. That's what I see happening anyway!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/12/2020 04:25:21    2317215

A lot mentioned on other semi..I'm asking all cats posters,where to now for ye?the main leaders ye have have are now on wrong side of 30..Hogan,Reid and fennelly..also a lot of rumors about a bit of a bust up on Saturday night and that some players voiced their opinions on management.also that some personal comments passed..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 01/12/2020 12:10:41    2317282

Replying To CTGAA10:  "A lot mentioned on other semi..I'm asking all cats posters,where to now for ye?the main leaders ye have have are now on wrong side of 30..Hogan,Reid and fennelly..also a lot of rumors about a bit of a bust up on Saturday night and that some players voiced their opinions on management.also that some personal comments passed.."
Watching the match on Sunday, it seems to me that Kilkenny didn't have the legs to cope with the Waterford players in the second half. I know in recent years that Kilkenny have not fared as well as previously at underage so there seems to be an issue with talent coming through. I would also say that at the moment, Kilkenny don't have the talent to win an All Ireland but will always be there or thereabouts. I'm not sure that anyone in Kilkenny will want to make the big call about Cody and management instead they will hope that underage will begin coming through to aid the manager in winning an All Ireland but this won't happen in the short term. Of course, the other option would be for Brian Cody to decide that he has had enough and that it is time to open the job up to someone else but again I don't see this happening. If this was to happen, I think Eddie Brennan is the best candidate for the job based upon what he did with Laois as oppose to Henry Shefflin who has only managed Ballyhale even if he was hugely successful.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 01/12/2020 12:32:40    2317290

Sure hasn't Shefflin committed to Thomastown for next year.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 01/12/2020 13:36:47    2317305

Replying To Bon:  "Sure hasn't Shefflin committed to Thomastown for next year."
Yes Shefflin has committed to the Thomastown job for next year. I believe that Thomastown have lost the last two intermediate finals in Kilkenny so I would imagine that they are hoping that Shefflin will get them over the line which he probably will as he is a bright and knowledgeable guy.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 01/12/2020 16:22:43    2317361

I heard about that bust up in KK dressing room Sat night,seemingly younger players want Shefflin as manager,young Cody defended his uncle,heard there was a bit of boxing!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 01/12/2020 17:02:23    2317380