Dublin V Cavan

Replying To sligo joe:  "With all the whinging going on, not too much from Cavan folk in fairness, it seems Dublin owe everybody an apology for not pushing the self-destruct button, just as Kerry and Donegal did and let a poorer side beat them in Leinster. Fair dues to Cavan for taking the opportunity handed to them by Donegal but everyone knows Cavan are not the best team in Ulster, by a fair bit, and the Monaghans and Donegals blew it."
Christ that shows some ignorance of teams in ulster

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 06/12/2020 10:52:58    2319052

Replying To sligo joe:  "With all the whinging going on, not too much from Cavan folk in fairness, it seems Dublin owe everybody an apology for not pushing the self-destruct button, just as Kerry and Donegal did and let a poorer side beat them in Leinster. Fair dues to Cavan for taking the opportunity handed to them by Donegal but everyone knows Cavan are not the best team in Ulster, by a fair bit, and the Monaghans and Donegals blew it."
We've beaten Monaghan twice in championship football in two years.

We are unequivocally a better team than them, it's not even contestable.

As for Donegal, they hammered us in 2019, we hammered them in 2020. I'd have them slightly ahead of us.

Too many GAA people place an emphasis on league positions.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 10:53:31    2319053

Replying To tonguey:  "Just throwing this out there- is Dessie Farrell a better manager than Jim Gavin?! Looking at results this year they are swatting teams aside with unbelievable ease. More so than when Jim Gavin was there. They seem to have developed more and are playing a much more expansive game. I think it shows that Jim Gavin wasn't the "best" manager of all time after all. Farrell has come in and continued the same and has Dublin seem to be playing with more freedom and expression than under the previous regime. Seem happier and more ruthless than ever before. Running up bigger scores and conceding much less."
Despite all the dooms day stuff and with due respect to the teams i mention.

We have played Westmeath, Laois, Meath and Cavan this year - Dubs and bookies would be disappointed if the 41 game championship unbeaten streak was ended in one of those games.

Not sure we have played anyone close to our level yet or really tested or played a top Div 1 team yet somehow are in a final, the final should be in the melting pot and we will see what Dessie and the team are made of under him then. We have little to complain about so far.

I think Dessie knows he will be judged on the currency of bringing All Ireland's home.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 10:56:37    2319056

Just a shout out to Dublin players last night and a congratulations on a piece of Dublin GAA history made.

Dublin players last night matched and equaled the record of the great Dublin team of the 70's in getting to 6 consecutive finals.

Finally they can look the likes of Mullins, Keaveny, Hickey and Cullen in the eye. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 11:01:53    2319057

Come off it.

I'd make us underdogs if we were playing Tyrone or Donegal tomorrow.
But we've beaten monaghan home and away in the last 2 campaigns.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/12/2020 11:11:47    2319060

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "We've beaten Monaghan twice in championship football in two years.

We are unequivocally a better team than them, it's not even contestable.

As for Donegal, they hammered us in 2019, we hammered them in 2020. I'd have them slightly ahead of us.

Too many GAA people place an emphasis on league positions."
Unfortunately the only hammering Cavan were involved in this year was last night's 15-point defeat. When was the last time a team lost by that kind of margin in a semi-final?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/12/2020 13:12:33    2319129

Replying To greatpoint:  "Unfortunately the only hammering Cavan were involved in this year was last night's 15-point defeat. When was the last time a team lost by that kind of margin in a semi-final?"
I would guess a few weeks ago in the Leinster semi final.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 13:31:20    2319143

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Worst tackle of the match was the hit on James McCarthy which unbelievably went unpunished"
Couldn't believe it and McStay playing it down cos cavan were all but beaten. It was otherwise a clean game with Copper lucky not to be black carded and Cavan player likewise for trip on Kilkenny who couldnt buy a free.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/12/2020 13:31:34    2319144

Playing in an Ulster venue..

Does anyone remember this from last year?

"Tyrone stormed into the Super 8s with a runaway 1-20 to 0-07 Round 4 Qualifier victory over Cavan at Clones. The dominant Red Hands are back in the business end of the All-Ireland football championship after mercilessly demolishing the challenge of the beaten Ulster finalists."

Bit of perspective wouldn't go a miss today

Cavan might of progressed but the fact remains they were relegated to Div 3 this year and no one was talking about Cavan winning Ulster in 2020, you can see why up above.

But sure.. I'll leave yiz to your day of national mourning

Dublin really haven't played anyone

Given the very odd set of circumstances that's in it they have cake walked themselves into an AI final playing no one close to their standard.

That's the truth of it.

Only Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo are capable of competing against Dublin and beating them.

3 of those teams didn't even make it out of their province.

Before a ball was kicked, on paper it looked like Dublin would have needed to beat Donegal/Tyrone in a semi-final followed by a much backed and fancied Kerry team in the final

It's easy for Dublin when their main rivals allow it to be.

Seeing the belly aching coming from Kerry is very amusing considering their own complete balls up.

Mayo are still there to their credit but even at that you'd have to feel sorry for Galway due to unprecedented circumstances not doing them any favours

It's a very odd year but off the back of an excellent Dublin club championship its not surprising to see Dublin being in good form. Ideal preparation but it's all been very easy with Dublin beating teams they should be beating well.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/12/2020 14:15:18    2319167

Replying To greatpoint:  "Unfortunately the only hammering Cavan were involved in this year was last night's 15-point defeat. When was the last time a team lost by that kind of margin in a semi-final?"
I know that Kerry lost to Meath by 15 points in 01 semi and the following year Kerry beat Cork by the same margin in semi final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 06/12/2020 14:25:00    2319175

In fairness any team that comes from the preliminary round and wins Ulster deserves to consider themselves the best team in the province that year.

If you take into account the last 5 years Cavan aren't the best team in Ulster and they may not be the best team in Ulster over the next 5 years but right now, at this moment, they've earned the right to be consider Ulster's best.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 06/12/2020 14:33:20    2319180

Mayo lost by 10 last year, much more fancied to put it up to Dublin than Cavan were but the short turnaround from the last super 8s game was a killer for them in fairness

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 14:38:13    2319183

Replying To Joxer:  "He didn't get a red card, he got a yellow. Costello should have gotten a yellow but got a red but sure ye know yourself...."
also it was not verbals as the ref indicated watch it again galligan applauded him for giving a free out to cluxton when there was little contact as you can still tackle the goal keeper and he felt he could have had a few but you cant send a player off for applauding you so he signalled for verbals to cover himself

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 06/12/2020 14:58:20    2319198

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "also it was not verbals as the ref indicated watch it again galligan applauded him for giving a free out to cluxton when there was little contact as you can still tackle the goal keeper and he felt he could have had a few but you cant send a player off for applauding you so he signalled for verbals to cover himself"
Possibly I don't know. He may have mouthed something as well. He didn't object to the yellow which led me to believe that he knew he was close to the edge with it. Harsh IMO with only a couple of mins left.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/12/2020 15:10:54    2319201

Is it more a case that Dublin, considering population, clubs etc., just underperformed up to this dominance? Now they have a great system and process in place they are actually making use of all their resources. Deeper talent pool when managed right leads to better results. And results bring in more resources. It does bring to the fore then the question how do smaller, less populous counties compete? Split Dublin? Two tier competition? Open draw, get rid of provincials?

But it seems to be forgotten that it also takes huge amount of talent, efficiency and effort to get where Dublin are.... This is a squad of some good to great footballers. If I was a Dublin fan I would be getting a bit pissed off at a lot of the narrative on here.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 06/12/2020 15:25:51    2319209

If only all the other Leinster teams were better then Cavan would have won

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 06/12/2020 15:30:02    2319211

Replying To commander:  "Is it more a case that Dublin, considering population, clubs etc., just underperformed up to this dominance? Now they have a great system and process in place they are actually making use of all their resources. Deeper talent pool when managed right leads to better results. And results bring in more resources. It does bring to the fore then the question how do smaller, less populous counties compete? Split Dublin? Two tier competition? Open draw, get rid of provincials?

But it seems to be forgotten that it also takes huge amount of talent, efficiency and effort to get where Dublin are.... This is a squad of some good to great footballers. If I was a Dublin fan I would be getting a bit pissed off at a lot of the narrative on here."
What I don't understand about Dublin is if they have all of these GDOs at club level why they arent dominating the club scene?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/12/2020 15:48:28    2319216

Replying To lilylanger:  "What I don't understand about Dublin is if they have all of these GDOs at club level why they arent dominating the club scene?"
This point is why I hate the narrative of "football is dead". There are a lot of doomsday merchants that don't give a toss about the club scene. I am worried about the clubs in rural Ireland I have to say but I don't think you can say football is dying when you have a good variety of clubs winning the All-Ireland in the past decade.

Since Dublin won their breakthrough inter-county All-Ireland in 2011, there has been 3 Dublin clubs that have made the All-Ireland final and they've won 2 (Vincent's and Ballyboden).

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 16:09:44    2319233

Replying To Updlocal:  "Just wondering how would the good Tyrone and Kerry teams of the noughties do against the current Dublin team, both teams had serious work horses along with very talented footballers. Is the problem that the counties apart from Dublin are not just up to it at the moment???"
They would have been hammered like everyone else.
The only teams I could see giving Dublin a game. Would be Dublin of the late 70s and the 80s. Meath of the 80s. Less so Meath of the 90s. Kerry of the 80s and cork of the 90s. Why ? Cause half the dubs would be stretched off the field. But these days with the namby pamby of guys feinging injury when getting hair tossed etc have left us with refs who will let nothing pass.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/12/2020 16:22:17    2319253

Replying To cavanman47:  "Come off it.

I'd make us underdogs if we were playing Tyrone or Donegal tomorrow.
But we've beaten monaghan home and away in the last 2 campaigns."
Fair enough re Monaghan, but really the Dubs would not have had last night's cakewalk against Donegal or even Tyrone, and Mayo 4-15 v Tipp after 40 mns, would they do that to Kerry?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 06/12/2020 16:31:38    2319265