Sligo Covid-19 Breakout

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's a funny one, if i remember rightly when Meath were winning and competing for All Irelands i seem to remember most of their games being Croker.

I think the year Kildare got to the final n 98 almost all of their games were in Corker to.

Cant really remember with Laois or Westmeath when they were competing nationally a few years ago..

I often wonder about Croker and are Leinster Counties at a disadvantage in terms of infrastructure development and capital funds by the GAA because Corker is on their door step and without The Dubs and other Leinster teams is basically a bit of a white elephant.

Think there is an argument there that most indigenous stadiums in Leinster are in rag order bar one or two and probably because Croker offers an easy alternative rather then capital investment.

I think a significant amount of capital investment happens outside of Leinster.

Anyway be no good to Sligo this year, an awful set of circumstances and sad to see them being kicked for notoriety and media profile on twitter when they are down."
Darren Fay started championship with Meath in 1996 and I think it was 2002 before he played his first SFC game outside Croke Park. Was a happy hunting ground for us back then.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 05/11/2020 20:05:05    2305438

Replying To foneyforme:  "See our Donegal dose didn't get your humour. You had a great dig at him more or less telling him what we think of them. Everyone else got It apart from him. Not really surprising"
I hope your not judging all Donegal people by the actions of a few. Read a few posts there must say it saddens me. Always respected my neighbours in Sligo and Leitrim love seeing them do well. Great Gael's in both counties.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 05/11/2020 21:01:17    2305449

Replying To foneyforme:  "I wish people would stop referring to people at the heads of these organisations at "chairmen". What message is that sending to us women folk?! Surely there should be more equality in this day and age?!"
Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it not correct to say that today's Women have no objection to being referred to as "Guys"I was always led to believe that the word "Guy's" is a masculine reference.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 05/11/2020 21:31:34    2305455

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation?
I think you fellas in Leitrim would be better off playing tibblywinks. I almost enjoyed that Tipp win as much as a Donegal win. Schadenfreude the Germans call it.
Anyway enjoy div 4 ye can't go any lower so stop worrying now.
Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact."
You cannot seriously believe that drivel you just wrote. No excuse for it there are terms and conditions on this forum that prevent the type of response your nonsense deserves. Karma always has a way of working its magic.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 05/11/2020 22:00:52    2305459

Replying To moc.dna:  "You haven't specified how things would be more professional, nor have you told us about the testing & how that was going to be more professional as you stated.
Instead you deflected to a rumour about Leitrim & Sligo.
We are all just interested in your knowledge on how things are more professional rather than casting aspersions on players from two counties based on rumours.
just that you have made a statement & piqued peoples interest in how some counties are more professional in how they are dealing with things over smaller counties, just love to know the specifics behind your post."
The rumour happens to be true.
They are socially distancing, avoiding large crowds and washing their hands. Don't you listen to Tony?

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 05/11/2020 22:28:04    2305466

Replying To arock:  "You cannot seriously believe that drivel you just wrote. No excuse for it there are terms and conditions on this forum that prevent the type of response your nonsense deserves. Karma always has a way of working its magic."
Truth hurts and that karma thing you mentioned caught up with Leitrim when Tipp relegated them, small odds about them anyway, they're are quick commenting on forums and in the media but they'd be better off trying to play a bit of football.
O'Shea's comments about he weaker counties rings true, that's why the Championship needs restructured, Tailteann cup is in next for next year however that will go, might be good for div 3 and 4 teams to have something to play for and the winners qualify for the All Ireland proper the next year.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 05/11/2020 22:52:21    2305471

Replying To foneyforme:  "I wish people would stop referring to people at the heads of these organisations at "chairmen". What message is that sending to us women folk?! Surely there should be more equality in this day and age?!"
Actually the term chairman is gender neutral. It applies to both men and women which I think is a good thing.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1660 - 05/11/2020 23:43:46    2305486

Replying To hopballref:  "The players in particular will be more cautious in terms of contracting Covid outside of the camp.
More professional measures will be taken in the camp in terms of testing etc etc
In general it will be more professional."
Just to remind you of your post & to ask you for the third time, what will be more professional generally & what are the further professional measures that are being taken in the camp in terms of testing ?
You have deflected twice, making an allegation against players in two counties & then telling us about social distancing & washing hands, every 3 year old in the country could tell you that, just tell us the professional measures to back up your post above or was that just an obvious load of BS.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/11/2020 00:20:52    2305488

O'Se would never make such a statement about Kerry or Dublin. It was a cheap uninformed shot in the dark by him. We have county chairmen from the so called 'weaker' counties who take such digs all the time and never fight their counties corner for years and years, happy to sit at the top table and get pats on the head for being good little voters. It's about time some of these chairmen stood up and gave it back goodo to those in high places.
The reality is had Sligo fulfilled their fixture they'd be beaten by maybe ten points, although who knows, Galway not firing that well either.You'd have a one minute report on it on the Sunday Game and the pundits there with a knowing smirk going yerra we expected that result, Sligo should be happy to be in a second tier competition etc etc. So what is the point of trying to please a pundit, especially not a medically trained one.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/11/2020 08:43:45    2305496

Replying To hopballref:  "The rumour happens to be true.
They are socially distancing, avoiding large crowds and washing their hands. Don't you listen to Tony?"
Even a month ago a Sligo poster on their page "Connacht Championship 20320" were calling for the county to withdraw from the Galway game on the basis of cost etc. See below.

At the risk of being pilloried I suggest our senior team should withdraw from the Connacht Championship and remaining league games with immediate effect for the following reasons;
1) we will get the mother of all hammerings below in Salthill
2) the cost of training a panel for this one game - I know there is potentially one league game, but if we lost this game we are effectively outside of a promotion opportunity leaving the last match as almost null and void.
3) the possible impact on panel members of contracting the virus as they are invariably travelling home from all over the country and in particular those who maybe working/attending college in the more affected counties of Dublin, Donegal etc
4) the potential impact of spreading the virus to the relations of the panel members
5) It is the right thing to do in the current climate

yours etc Leyny
leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 07/10/2020 09:46:06 2296189

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 500 - 06/11/2020 08:45:23    2305497

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Truth hurts and that karma thing you mentioned caught up with Leitrim when Tipp relegated them, small odds about them anyway, they're are quick commenting on forums and in the media but they'd be better off trying to play a bit of football.
O'Shea's comments about he weaker counties rings true, that's why the Championship needs restructured, Tailteann cup is in next for next year however that will go, might be good for div 3 and 4 teams to have something to play for and the winners qualify for the All Ireland proper the next year."
you are talking complete scutter

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 06/11/2020 09:58:23    2305509

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Truth hurts and that karma thing you mentioned caught up with Leitrim when Tipp relegated them, small odds about them anyway, they're are quick commenting on forums and in the media but they'd be better off trying to play a bit of football.
O'Shea's comments about he weaker counties rings true, that's why the Championship needs restructured, Tailteann cup is in next for next year however that will go, might be good for div 3 and 4 teams to have something to play for and the winners qualify for the All Ireland proper the next year."
And your quick to comment on things without knowing the full story. Fair enough if you don't agree with what we did everybody entitled to their opinion and I would agree with you on the Tailteann Cup it will be good but only if marketed properly but your spiteful comments on us and other counties is an absolute disgrace and out of order

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 06/11/2020 10:13:54    2305511

I second the motion you are talking complete scutter.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/11/2020 10:19:18    2305513

Replying To supersub15:  "Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it not correct to say that today's Women have no objection to being referred to as "Guys"I was always led to believe that the word "Guy's" is a masculine reference."
Totally right Supersub. I was on a committee with 2 great girls a while back. We all referred to each other as guys. No problems.
I wish people would just cop on sometimes.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 06/11/2020 10:55:25    2305518

Replying To JimmyNail:  "And your quick to comment on things without knowing the full story. Fair enough if you don't agree with what we did everybody entitled to their opinion and I would agree with you on the Tailteann Cup it will be good but only if marketed properly but your spiteful comments on us and other counties is an absolute disgrace and out of order"
Wouldn't pass much heed on him- obviously an attention seeker who probably never kicked a ball out of his way!!! Yet he is still an expert- you know what they say about the hurlers on the ditch- sometimes they end up falling into the drain!!

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 06/11/2020 11:12:27    2305520

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Totally right Supersub. I was on a committee with 2 great girls a while back. We all referred to each other as guys. No problems.
I wish people would just cop on sometimes."
That's very rugby like of you

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/11/2020 11:27:58    2305528

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Totally right Supersub. I was on a committee with 2 great girls a while back. We all referred to each other as guys. No problems.
I wish people would just cop on sometimes."
Sort of like splitting hairs, or having your cake and eating it, little to complain about.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 06/11/2020 11:34:41    2305531

I see O'Se said he may have been abrupt in his comments but 'it's fair to question'. So he's doubling down on what he has said about Sligo and Leitrim etc.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/11/2020 11:48:29    2305532

Replying To Greenfield:  "Darren Fay started championship with Meath in 1996 and I think it was 2002 before he played his first SFC game outside Croke Park. Was a happy hunting ground for us back then."
Darren was a great fullback and he only played 2 championship matches in Meath during his 12 seasons on the panel, both qualifiers:

2002 v Louth
2007 v Fermanagh

We played 2 qualifier games in Navan in 2006 as well but as far as I remember Darren wasn't on the panel that year.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/11/2020 12:06:57    2305538

Replying To moc.dna:  "Just to remind you of your post & to ask you for the third time, what will be more professional generally & what are the further professional measures that are being taken in the camp in terms of testing ?
You have deflected twice, making an allegation against players in two counties & then telling us about social distancing & washing hands, every 3 year old in the country could tell you that, just tell us the professional measures to back up your post above or was that just an obvious load of BS."
You are really hanging onto the word testing leaving me no option but to retract that word from the sentence. Happy?The basis of my statement is that I agree with TOS in that it suits weaker counties not to field and they are not as professional as the stronger counties in terms of preventive measures being taken and making that extra effort to field for all games. You won't see any teams not fielding from quarter finals on which will prove that point.
Now please don't analysis my comment word for word like a state attorney you annoying …………….!!

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 06/11/2020 14:13:24    2305581