Sligo Covid-19 Breakout

Replying To republicofcloone:  "The Leitrim Chairman has asked O'Se to step aside in his role as pundit due to the comments as per front page of this website."
Whatever about the merits of Ó Sé's comments, that's a bit of a childish overreaction from the Leitrim chairman. He must be very sensitive to think that because Ó Sé said something he disagreed with, he should be "cancelled" to use the modern terminology.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 05/11/2020 15:53:03    2305366

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Somebody should put a muzzle on Stenson. That is some embarrassing manure he is spouting. Again on about only having 14 players available for the Down game when he said himself some lads wouldn't go because they were working."
If it was the Roscommon chairman that said it you'd be praising him wholeheartedly

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 05/11/2020 15:56:25    2305368

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Whatever about the merits of Ó Sé's comments, that's a bit of a childish overreaction from the Leitrim chairman. He must be very sensitive to think that because Ó Sé said something he disagreed with, he should be "cancelled" to use the modern terminology."
Sure it's 2020, debate has been replaced by comply or cancel!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/11/2020 16:01:04    2305369

Replying To republicofcloone:  "If it was the Roscommon chairman that said it you'd be praising him wholeheartedly"
Dont have much time for Seamus Sweeney so no and tbh doubt he would be broadcasting a statement as childish and silly as the one from Stenson

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 05/11/2020 16:06:38    2305370

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Whatever about the merits of Ó Sé's comments, that's a bit of a childish overreaction from the Leitrim chairman. He must be very sensitive to think that because Ó Sé said something he disagreed with, he should be "cancelled" to use the modern terminology."
Think you missed the whole point but never mind.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 16:09:07    2305372

I wish people would stop referring to people at the heads of these organisations at "chairmen". What message is that sending to us women folk?! Surely there should be more equality in this day and age?!

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 16:12:20    2305374

Tomas O Se way out of line in his comments on the Sligo withdrawal. In a life and death situation with COVID Sligo had no option. The Sligo and Leitrims of the GAA world strive mightily to get championship ready and obviously they are batting away behind the Kerries or Dublin elitist of the world. Why are you so blinded O Se with your all Ireland medals and your plum job on the Sunday game? The Kerry second string could give the all Ireland a run, not so in Sligo, Leitrim. Shame O Se ,get with today's world!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 05/11/2020 16:52:52    2305383

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Dont have much time for Seamus Sweeney so no and tbh doubt he would be broadcasting a statement as childish and silly as the one from Stenson"
Of course not because he's from Roscommon right. I would imagine you wouldn't take kindly to some of the rte pundits criticising the Roscommon team for not fulfilling a fixture in the midst of a deadly pandemic. You'd be happy enough with it right?

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 05/11/2020 16:55:03    2305384

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation?
I think you fellas in Leitrim would be better off playing tibblywinks. I almost enjoyed that Tipp win as much as a Donegal win. Schadenfreude the Germans call it.
Anyway enjoy div 4 ye can't go any lower so stop worrying now.
Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact."
Disgraceful comments again from you not surprising though. I actually think Stenson should have kept his mouth shut on Tomas o se to be honest but the rubbish your spouting without knowing the facts of the situation is ridiculous. Mean spirited spiteful comments like what you've been throwing at mayo for years. For the record I suppose you think sligo should have thrown out a team this weekend?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 05/11/2020 17:28:37    2305398

Leitrim chairman calls for Tomas O'Shea to resign as a pundit LOL, I'll say one thing about Leitrim ye are good entertainment if nothing else.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 05/11/2020 18:30:45    2305407

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Rory Gallagher breaking the record for amount of times he could spit on his hands during the Derry Armagh game.."
Seen that, what was that all about? Was waiting for him to pull out a hatchet to split logs.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2016 - 05/11/2020 18:39:59    2305409

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's a funny one, if i remember rightly when Meath were winning and competing for All Irelands i seem to remember most of their games being Croker.

I think the year Kildare got to the final n 98 almost all of their games were in Corker to.

Cant really remember with Laois or Westmeath when they were competing nationally a few years ago..

I often wonder about Croker and are Leinster Counties at a disadvantage in terms of infrastructure development and capital funds by the GAA because Corker is on their door step and without The Dubs and other Leinster teams is basically a bit of a white elephant.

Think there is an argument there that most indigenous stadiums in Leinster are in rag order bar one or two and probably because Croker offers an easy alternative rather then capital investment.

I think a significant amount of capital investment happens outside of Leinster.

Anyway be no good to Sligo this year, an awful set of circumstances and sad to see them being kicked for notoriety and media profile on twitter when they are down."
In 2004 westmeath played all 6 games in croker. I suppose some of those games were double headers so it might have made sense. Back then Dublin weren't as dominant and I think most county teams wanted the experience of playing in croker so it suited them and the GAA.
Now teams in Leinster need every advantage possible since dublin have won 14 of the last 15 leinster titles with ease.
Westmesth have home advantage v Dublin but have to play in portlaoise I think because there are no lights in cusack park. I'm sure other counties in Leinster are the same.
Id say it's time to do a championship draw of all counties and forget about provincial titles. Certainly it would improve the enthusiasm of the Leinster teams anyway and bring them on. It would help the likes of Sligo/Leitrim and clare/limerick/tipp not having to face the likes of mayo or Kerry in the first round either. They would have a realistic chance of winning 2 or 3 championship matches every yr. GAA prob missed a trick by not doing it this yr since it's already a bit different anyway.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 05/11/2020 18:41:16    2305410

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Leitrim chairman calls for Tomas O'Shea to resign as a pundit LOL, I'll say one thing about Leitrim ye are good entertainment if nothing else."
Here leave Leitrim alone you lol

Great place, lovely people and they haven't subjected the nation to Donegal Catch humour ads for what feels like several decades

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/11/2020 18:52:20    2305413

Replying To Saynothing:  "Seen that, what was that all about? Was waiting for him to pull out a hatchet to split logs."
He seems to do it regularly, same with Donegal and Fermanagh. Not exactly the best thing to be doing in a pandemic.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 19:01:01    2305414

Replying To hopballref:  "Did all Leitrim players travel to county training sessions in their own vehicle on their own? Did all Sligo players? Rumours flying around and no smoke without fire.
I know Galway players do."
You haven't specified how things would be more professional, nor have you told us about the testing & how that was going to be more professional as you stated.
Instead you deflected to a rumour about Leitrim & Sligo.
We are all just interested in your knowledge on how things are more professional rather than casting aspersions on players from two counties based on rumours.
just that you have made a statement & piqued peoples interest in how some counties are more professional in how they are dealing with things over smaller counties, just love to know the specifics behind your post.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/11/2020 19:01:12    2305415

Replying To jimbodub:  "Here leave Leitrim alone you lol

Great place, lovely people and they haven't subjected the nation to Donegal Catch humour ads for what feels like several decades"
Ok Jimbo it's not right to be laughing at them I suppose but they do bring it on themselves.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 05/11/2020 19:04:18    2305416

Fair play to ES as Chairman & coming out & calling it as it is, kudos for defending their set up from cheap commentary.
No doubt exclusive airtime will be given to a particular person on RTE on Sunday to laugh it off or twist it or bury the knife completely, JC won't ask the hard questions or call it out for what it is crass cheapshot.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/11/2020 19:11:00    2305419

Great place, lovely people and they haven't subjected the nation to Donegal Catch humour ads for what feels like several decades"
Hes getting cocky knowing All Ireland quarters, semis and final will be held in December most likely. Conditions would suit Donegal football down to the ground...literally

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 05/11/2020 19:12:06    2305420

Replying To borisdblade:  "In 2004 westmeath played all 6 games in croker. I suppose some of those games were double headers so it might have made sense. Back then Dublin weren't as dominant and I think most county teams wanted the experience of playing in croker so it suited them and the GAA.
Now teams in Leinster need every advantage possible since dublin have won 14 of the last 15 leinster titles with ease.
Westmesth have home advantage v Dublin but have to play in portlaoise I think because there are no lights in cusack park. I'm sure other counties in Leinster are the same.
Id say it's time to do a championship draw of all counties and forget about provincial titles. Certainly it would improve the enthusiasm of the Leinster teams anyway and bring them on. It would help the likes of Sligo/Leitrim and clare/limerick/tipp not having to face the likes of mayo or Kerry in the first round either. They would have a realistic chance of winning 2 or 3 championship matches every yr. GAA prob missed a trick by not doing it this yr since it's already a bit different anyway."
The home and away concept doesn't seem to be applied in Leinster, basically anyone can play anywhere as far as I can make out at the wim of the Leinster Council, who's objective is of course to make money for the provincial council. The likes of Dublin, Kildare and Meath are shunted out to Portloaise, Tullamore or Nowlan in the early rounds. Impacting of course on their opponents. The Leinster Council have always been a bit greedy in my opinion, I think a ticket for the Leinster final is 50 or 55 euro, I think it's dearer then a S8 or Semi ticket. I think we see that played out in ground selection to.

If a particular Leinster is doing well they can pitch up camp in Croker as a launchpad if they can bring the crowds, which most Leinster counties would if they were going well.

Pushing an open door, Leinster has been done since 2011, that's the last time I got a scare in the competition (fair play Wexford). Provincial system generally in boring now, you will get two or three matches worth watching every year Tyrone vs Donegal, Mayo Vs Galway, but about 3% of the overall are worthwhile. They also take away from the integrity of the championship in my opinion. It's far more of an achievement for an Ulster or Connacht team to win a Championship (despite what Thomas O'Se might say), then it is a team from Leinster or Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/11/2020 19:34:12    2305425

See our Donegal dose didn't get your humour. You had a great dig at him more or less telling him what we think of them. Everyone else got It apart from him. Not really surprising

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 19:39:00    2305428