Sligo Covid-19 Breakout

Replying To foneyforme:  "That is your opinion and that is ok. I disagree but that is democracy"
It's not like they are sitting in a pub and can call out every disadvantage. The new Rte producer has them restricted in what they say.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 11:46:01    2305281

Replying To FoolsGold:  "It's not like they are sitting in a pub and can call out every disadvantage. The new Rte producer has them restricted in what they say."
So not being true to themselves but still willing to take the money and yet you say he doesn't sit on the fence??? If they are being restricted like you say why do they even bother?? You are contradicting yourself I think it is fair to say

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 12:09:26    2305286

Replying To hopballref:  "Did all Leitrim players travel to county training sessions in their own vehicle on their own? Did all Sligo players? Rumours flying around and no smoke without fire.
I know Galway players do."
Ah fair play to them- that is great news, crucial for us all to know that.......great they all have cars too....... you would imagine that some of the younger lads in college can't afford cars.....but then again "rumours flying around" that they can.......as for no smoke without fire- you never saw an old tractor being started

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 12:11:57    2305288

If you read Colm O Rourke in the Independent h expresses his opinion more on the advantages of Dublin. They have a timeslot on the show, so can't speak for an hour on why Dublin have the advantage of playing in Croker or where ever

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 12:25:27    2305290

Replying To FoolsGold:  "If you read Colm O Rourke in the Independent h expresses his opinion more on the advantages of Dublin. They have a timeslot on the show, so can't speak for an hour on why Dublin have the advantage of playing in Croker or where ever"
Never said he did- few minutes would do- certainly would not like listening to him droning for an hour trying to be funny and failing miserably. As I have said we disagree on this, that is life- everyone does not have to agree on here..... it is an open discussion. You believe what you believe and I am the same. that is life

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 12:35:52    2305291

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Now I'm no fan of Tomás O'Sé as a pundit as he kisses up to the dubs too much for my liking but I suppose that's understandable considering the dubs run the gaa and the media and he doesn't want to bite the hand that feeds him,

But in fairness he was only 1 year old when Kerry won their 1 and only 3 game all Ireland so he might not have too much of a memory of it in fairness.."
Thats a fair point, however he has no right to single out the so called weaker counties, if it where happening year in year out I could understand.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 05/11/2020 12:37:55    2305292

I know we don't have to agree, it's a discussion. Not sure why you keep mentioning it. All the best

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 12:44:28    2305293

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "of course all will have either one view or another, my own view is that Sligo, like Leitrim a few weeks back, are doing the right thing here, if there is covid case in the squad, and the rest were in close proximity to that player FOR A PROLONGE PERIOD OF TIME training most are around 2 hours I think (forget about this ould excuse, "ah it was outside in the fresh air, he will be grand" mentality) I think O'Se's comments have backfired in that I say, and many concur, are the so called bigger counties then "NOT" calling off games due to Covid, because if they are not, they are extremely negligent and selfish...peoples health has to be number one...I do note a few teams, Roscommon is the only one I can think of, played a game two weeks ago with a panel member tested positive, plain and simple they should not have. They should not have been allowed to by higher authorities, even if they did want to go ahead with it, this ould lark of "players voted to go ahead with the game" ..that is a disgraceful comment to justify any game going ahead....

Offaly hurlers had to give a walk over to Kildare 2 weeks ago, so be it...its done, it had to be done, nothing sinister in that, the oppoisite is the case, it could technically result in us doing another season in the Christy Ring cup..if Offaly were selfish they would have sorted an alternative team which may have beaten kildare, that to me, would be calling the integrity of the that competition into question.

Interesting to see if all these so called big guns manage to escape a covid case over the duration of the championships, and maybe they will, and maybe they wont, if the latter is the case, it appears if you have lads like O'Se managing them, the games will go ahead...Sligo probably would not have beaten Galway next weekend even with a strong team available, but you can be sure they would be taking the field to try and and win."
The outside in the fresh air he'll be grand mentality is not an excuse.

There are clear protocols which defines close contacts and casual contacts. The environment you are in i.e. inside outside is taken into account. These protocols have been designed by the medical experts. Being a casual contact or a close contact have consequences. Again these consequences were designed by the medical experts.

What you and me may call close proximity is not necessarily a close contact as per the guidelines and vice versa.

Teams, small or big, should follow the protocol and ignore the barrack room lawyers. The only teams that are selfish are those that operate outside the guidelines.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 05/11/2020 12:54:41    2305297

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Usually a big fan of Tomas o'se but i can see why he is getting a kicking on this.
His comments smack of elitism.

If a dublin/Kerry/mayo of any of the big publicity sides were in same position as sligo you could be damn sure special arrangemenst would be made to accomoadate them"
I wonder will they? The precedent has now been set and to row back on this would compromise the integrity of the organisation. The fact that this game was not scheduled for live tv (it was due to be on GAAGO) helped make the decision. If a game involving any of the "big publicity sides" was cast into doubt due to Covid etc. and it was due to be broadcast on Sky Sports, this might be a big factor as the GAA may be facing a case of breach of contract by not fulfilling the fixture. Until this reoccurs, which you'd have to imagine is likely enough, this remains speculation.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 05/11/2020 13:07:28    2305303

Replying To seadog54:  "Thats a fair point, however he has no right to single out the so called weaker counties, if it where happening year in year out I could understand."
I agree with you, but it's probably easier pick on a Sligo than pick on 1 of the bigger dogs in the yard.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2020 13:19:13    2305307

Replying To FoolsGold:  "If you read Colm O Rourke in the Independent h expresses his opinion more on the advantages of Dublin. They have a timeslot on the show, so can't speak for an hour on why Dublin have the advantage of playing in Croker or where ever"
That's a funny one, if i remember rightly when Meath were winning and competing for All Irelands i seem to remember most of their games being Croker.

I think the year Kildare got to the final n 98 almost all of their games were in Corker to.

Cant really remember with Laois or Westmeath when they were competing nationally a few years ago..

I often wonder about Croker and are Leinster Counties at a disadvantage in terms of infrastructure development and capital funds by the GAA because Corker is on their door step and without The Dubs and other Leinster teams is basically a bit of a white elephant.

Think there is an argument there that most indigenous stadiums in Leinster are in rag order bar one or two and probably because Croker offers an easy alternative rather then capital investment.

I think a significant amount of capital investment happens outside of Leinster.

Anyway be no good to Sligo this year, an awful set of circumstances and sad to see them being kicked for notoriety and media profile on twitter when they are down.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/11/2020 13:19:57    2305308

Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation?
I think you fellas in Leitrim would be better off playing tibblywinks. I almost enjoyed that Tipp win as much as a Donegal win. Schadenfreude the Germans call it.
Anyway enjoy div 4 ye can't go any lower so stop worrying now.
Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 05/11/2020 14:39:23    2305332

Replying To hopballref:  "Did all Leitrim players travel to county training sessions in their own vehicle on their own? Did all Sligo players? Rumours flying around and no smoke without fire.
I know Galway players do."
One thing I noticed at the weekend when watching Derry v Armagh was that both teams had use of the dressing rooms. When was this allowed to happen again? 30 plus players and big management teams cramped indoors is the very type of situation where the virus spreads and it only takes 1 positive case for all in the dressing room to be classed as close contacts.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 05/11/2020 14:41:45    2305333

Rory Gallagher breaking the record for amount of times he could spit on his hands during the Derry Armagh game..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 14:50:05    2305339

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation?
I think you fellas in Leitrim would be better off playing tibblywinks. I almost enjoyed that Tipp win as much as a Donegal win. Schadenfreude the Germans call it.
Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact."
You enjoyed the Tipp win?? You must lead a very exciting life!! As I said to you before it you are trying to befunny you should stop as it's a major cringe fest reading your comments.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 15:05:33    2305344

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Rory Gallagher breaking the record for amount of times he could spit on his hands during the Derry Armagh game.."
That's about the only thing he's good at these days LOL.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 05/11/2020 15:07:32    2305345

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation?
Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact."
I haven't seen posters from 'weaker' counties looking for the league to be abandoned. Is tibblywinks a Donegal game? I feel you must have lost your heart to a Leitrim rose and you never recovered and built up a bitterness towards your neighbouring Connacht county. Plenty more out there lad, don't worry.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 05/11/2020 15:18:13    2305351

The Leitrim Chairman has asked O'Se to step aside in his role as pundit due to the comments as per front page of this website.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 05/11/2020 15:26:09    2305358

Replying To republicofcloone:  "The Leitrim Chairman has asked O'Se to step aside in his role as pundit due to the comments as per front page of this website."
Somebody should put a muzzle on Stenson. That is some embarrassing manure he is spouting. Again on about only having 14 players available for the Down game when he said himself some lads wouldn't go because they were working.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 05/11/2020 15:33:26    2305361

Replying To republicofcloone:  "The Leitrim Chairman has asked O'Se to step aside in his role as pundit due to the comments as per front page of this website."
No chance of O Se stepping down.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 05/11/2020 15:52:22    2305365