Sligo Covid-19 Breakout

Replying To hopballref:  "No I am not saying that. Of course it's possible and well may happen.
I'm saying it's less likely for a Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Galway etc to fail to fulfil a fixture as will be better managed."
what will be better managed?

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/11/2020 20:44:25    2305210

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Exciting stuff now Galway await the winners of Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht final, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year.
Galway might need a good challenge match against the likes of Tyrone to get up to speed for the final, playing Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good,
there needs to a 2nd and even a 3rd tier Championship to give the likes of Sligo and Leitrim something to play for instead of getting walloped every year, it's not fair on them, no wonder they are reluctant to fulfil fixtures, a bit like
children feeling sick all of a sudden on the day of an exam."
Well in 130 years of championship football Donegal haven't really set many lights flashing when it comes to taking home major competitions. Perhaps you would also be more successful in a third tier competition. Or another option is to join the AIL rugby competition, suit all that backward hand passing youse indulge in.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/11/2020 20:47:46    2305211

Replying To hopballref:  "I have plenty of relatives in the vulnerable category.
All intercounty squads are between 30 and 36 so it's nothing to do with having a weaker panel. I just genuinely think this tough situation we are in will be managed far better by the good teams.
After listening to Sligo officials on the news I do feel sorry for them."
Fair enough but I think for Sligo football it was a good management decision for them to give the walk over. There aren't many things worse in sport than getting hammered. They might have 36 players but I'd say a good few of them would go missing next yr if that game went ahead. Hard to compare them or any other weak county to the likes of Dublin or Kerry etc who rotate many of their players during the league. I know in westmeath if 7 or 8 of the starting 15 couldn't play they would have no business playing any team in Leinster.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 04/11/2020 21:17:41    2305218

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Exciting stuff now Galway await the winners of Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht final, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year.
Galway might need a good challenge match against the likes of Tyrone to get up to speed for the final, playing Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good,
there needs to a 2nd and even a 3rd tier Championship to give the likes of Sligo and Leitrim something to play for instead of getting walloped every year, it's not fair on them, no wonder they are reluctant to fulfil fixtures, a bit like
children feeling sick all of a sudden on the day of an exam."
Teacher has put you top of the class Tirchonaill1 (Donegal), You say, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year, correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Fermanagh have to close shop earlier on, on the instructions of Mr Covid - 19, so too did Offaly have to concede their involvement in the CR Cup for the same reason, To suggest Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good, I'm not so sure it's a good thing to tempt fate,

To suggest that Sligo and Leitrim need a 2nd / 3rd tier championship to give them something to play for, well they are far from being on their own, It's worth remembering it's counties like Sligo, Leitrim and others, that makes it possible to have counties of a greater God.

Children feeling sick on the day of an exam, -- did you ever resit the exam?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 04/11/2020 21:44:18    2305223

Replying To republicofcloone:  "what will be better managed?"
The players in particular will be more cautious in terms of contracting Covid outside of the camp.
More professional measures will be taken in the camp in terms of testing etc etc
In general it will be more professional.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 04/11/2020 21:51:01    2305224

The bottom line is because they are a weaker county nobody is majorly bothered by it which is sad too.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 04/11/2020 22:14:19    2305229

Replying To Bon:  "The bottom line is because they are a weaker county nobody is majorly bothered by it which is sad too."
Exactly - and the last thing they need is someone like Tomas O'Shea in his ivory tower having a classless outrageous dig at them....

What goes around comes around...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 04/11/2020 22:41:34    2305233

Replying To jimbodub:  "Desperate news

Seems like a large break out and given the amateur nature of our games most of these players wouldn't have been able to shield away from their families

Hope this doesn't go onto have a tragic impact

Will they be able to field a team?

Hardly fair to make them play with a depleted team is it, so a walk over for Galway?

Oddly quiet on here regarding this ..

Be a different story if it was a higher profile team

Can only imagine the reaction if it was Dublin and it could easily be yet."
Considering we are speaking of an amateur game & it reasonably easy to ascertain those involved in the unfortunate diagnosis of Covid 19. Is it really appropriate to have this thread? Or future threads of this nature. I am concerned that themes such as this thread, with a reasonably narrow pool for identification might put individuals off from reporting symptoms etc

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 04/11/2020 23:16:52    2305238

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Disgraceful tweet from Tomas O'Se re Sligo withdrawal and then questioning other weaker counties such as my own and my neighbours in Longford. I bet if it was his own county or Dublin withdrawing he'd be blubbing about what a shame it was and not calling into question any motives behind this. Scandalous"
O Se jumps straight in, saying he belives Sligo CB acted in haste and raised concerns that integurity of competition has neen questioned, He went on to say "I,d love to know the exact situtation that has led to this. In other words he has no idea what the situtation in Sligo is but is happy to to cast asperations on entire team, management and CB.
Love his last comment, "Galway have been thrown into awful situtation. Potentially 3 games to win All-Ireland". A Kerryman with a very short memory.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 04/11/2020 23:26:44    2305239

Usually a big fan of Tomas o'se but i can see why he is getting a kicking on this.
His comments smack of elitism.

If a dublin/Kerry/mayo of any of the big publicity sides were in same position as sligo you could be damn sure special arrangemenst would be made to accomoadate them

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 04/11/2020 23:37:57    2305240

Replying To hopballref:  "The players in particular will be more cautious in terms of contracting Covid outside of the camp.
More professional measures will be taken in the camp in terms of testing etc etc
In general it will be more professional."
No doubting players are going to be more cautious. Maybe you can fill us in on what details will be more professional other than in general terms.
You could also let us know about the current testing that is taking place as you imply & what further professional testing is going to take place, everyone would love to know what the set up your saying is there & other professional measures that are going to take place.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 04/11/2020 23:52:43    2305243

Replying To supersub15:  "Teacher has put you top of the class Tirchonaill1 (Donegal), You say, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year, correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Fermanagh have to close shop earlier on, on the instructions of Mr Covid - 19, so too did Offaly have to concede their involvement in the CR Cup for the same reason, To suggest Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good, I'm not so sure it's a good thing to tempt fate,

To suggest that Sligo and Leitrim need a 2nd / 3rd tier championship to give them something to play for, well they are far from being on their own, It's worth remembering it's counties like Sligo, Leitrim and others, that makes it possible to have counties of a greater God.

Children feeling sick on the day of an exam, -- did you ever resit the exam?"
Something tells me he didn't sit too many examinations in his life this lad...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 05/11/2020 06:40:50    2305248

Replying To seadog54:  "O Se jumps straight in, saying he belives Sligo CB acted in haste and raised concerns that integurity of competition has neen questioned, He went on to say "I,d love to know the exact situtation that has led to this. In other words he has no idea what the situtation in Sligo is but is happy to to cast asperations on entire team, management and CB.
Love his last comment, "Galway have been thrown into awful situtation. Potentially 3 games to win All-Ireland". A Kerryman with a very short memory."
Now I'm no fan of Tomás O'Sé as a pundit as he kisses up to the dubs too much for my liking but I suppose that's understandable considering the dubs run the gaa and the media and he doesn't want to bite the hand that feeds him,

But in fairness he was only 1 year old when Kerry won their 1 and only 3 game all Ireland so he might not have too much of a memory of it in fairness..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2020 10:15:45    2305263

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Now I'm no fan of Tomás O'Sé as a pundit as he kisses up to the dubs too much for my liking but I suppose that's understandable considering the dubs run the gaa and the media and he doesn't want to bite the hand that feeds him,

But in fairness he was only 1 year old when Kerry won their 1 and only 3 game all Ireland so he might not have too much of a memory of it in fairness.."
He offers nothing as a pundit in my opinion only stating the obvious- RTE is a closed shop and they all lick up to Dublin, O Rourke, O Sé, Dolan, Brolly til he left etc. It is meant to be neutral.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 10:29:22    2305265

How does O Rourke lick up to Diblinl? He has written articles about the need to split Dublin such is their dominance

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 10:49:47    2305267

Replying To FoolsGold:  "How does O Rourke lick up to Diblinl? He has written articles about the need to split Dublin such is their dominance"
You obviously don't watch Sunday Game if you think he doesn't lick up to Dublin. What difference would splitting Dublin be?? They would end up with North v South in the final...... that is not the issue- when have you heard him highlight the completely unfair allocation of funding, the fact that Dublin play all games of significance in their home pitch, the fact that they get preferential treatment from referees, the fact that their players can get away with dark arts ( such as eye gouging) and not highlighted by RTE or their so called pundits.....the list goes on but I have made my point.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 11:04:04    2305270

Praising a team that won 5 in a row isn't mind blowing. They are a really good team and play a good style but he doesn't sit on the fence, he has they Dublin have advantages.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/11/2020 11:17:41    2305275

Replying To foneyforme:  "You obviously don't watch Sunday Game if you think he doesn't lick up to Dublin. What difference would splitting Dublin be?? They would end up with North v South in the final...... that is not the issue- when have you heard him highlight the completely unfair allocation of funding, the fact that Dublin play all games of significance in their home pitch, the fact that they get preferential treatment from referees, the fact that their players can get away with dark arts ( such as eye gouging) and not highlighted by RTE or their so called pundits.....the list goes on but I have made my point."
of course all will have either one view or another, my own view is that Sligo, like Leitrim a few weeks back, are doing the right thing here, if there is covid case in the squad, and the rest were in close proximity to that player FOR A PROLONGE PERIOD OF TIME training most are around 2 hours I think (forget about this ould excuse, "ah it was outside in the fresh air, he will be grand" mentality) I think O'Se's comments have backfired in that I say, and many concur, are the so called bigger counties then "NOT" calling off games due to Covid, because if they are not, they are extremely negligent and selfish...peoples health has to be number one...I do note a few teams, Roscommon is the only one I can think of, played a game two weeks ago with a panel member tested positive, plain and simple they should not have. They should not have been allowed to by higher authorities, even if they did want to go ahead with it, this ould lark of "players voted to go ahead with the game" ..that is a disgraceful comment to justify any game going ahead....

Offaly hurlers had to give a walk over to Kildare 2 weeks ago, so be it...its done, it had to be done, nothing sinister in that, the oppoisite is the case, it could technically result in us doing another season in the Christy Ring cup..if Offaly were selfish they would have sorted an alternative team which may have beaten kildare, that to me, would be calling the integrity of the that competition into question.

Interesting to see if all these so called big guns manage to escape a covid case over the duration of the championships, and maybe they will, and maybe they wont, if the latter is the case, it appears if you have lads like O'Se managing them, the games will go ahead...Sligo probably would not have beaten Galway next weekend even with a strong team available, but you can be sure they would be taking the field to try and and win.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 05/11/2020 11:24:41    2305277

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Praising a team that won 5 in a row isn't mind blowing. They are a really good team and play a good style but he doesn't sit on the fence, he has they Dublin have advantages."
That is your opinion and that is ok. I disagree but that is democracy

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 05/11/2020 11:29:55    2305279

Replying To moc.dna:  "No doubting players are going to be more cautious. Maybe you can fill us in on what details will be more professional other than in general terms.
You could also let us know about the current testing that is taking place as you imply & what further professional testing is going to take place, everyone would love to know what the set up your saying is there & other professional measures that are going to take place."
Did all Leitrim players travel to county training sessions in their own vehicle on their own? Did all Sligo players? Rumours flying around and no smoke without fire.
I know Galway players do.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 05/11/2020 11:34:00    2305280