Sligo Covid-19 Breakout

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Tomas OSe questioning so called weaker counties pulling out of games...ok for him to say with a panel of where you can replace anyone one player with someone else, no disrespects to Sligo or any other so called weaker county, they dont have that option, another way of looking at the situation is, are the so called weaker counties being more responsible than the so called bigger counties "playing anyway"....its amazing how the bigger counties with bigger populations dont seem to be "affected" by covid much at all..."
I agree with you 100% Tomás O'Sés comments on Sligo were very harsh and he has shown himself up now to be a bit clueless when it comes to teams outside of the top 5/6 and what they have to go through.

What he should have been asking is why haven't John horan and Croke Park done more to facilitate Sligo or any other team that this misfortune lands at their door.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/11/2020 14:26:40    2305115

Thomas O Se criticising Sligo for giving a walk over. What's that about? They were right. They were already massive underdogs with a full squad so what would they gain being by playing with peripheral players. The so called weaker countys are already struggling to keep players interested. Getting a hammering isnt going to do anything for them especially for those peripheral players who would have ended up playing if it went ahead. They need to keep those lads interested and hopefully in a couple of years will be breaking onto the first team.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 04/11/2020 14:41:33    2305118

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Tomas OSe questioning so called weaker counties pulling out of games...ok for him to say with a panel of where you can replace anyone one player with someone else, no disrespects to Sligo or any other so called weaker county, they dont have that option, another way of looking at the situation is, are the so called weaker counties being more responsible than the so called bigger counties "playing anyway"....its amazing how the bigger counties with bigger populations dont seem to be "affected" by covid much at all..."
Exactly, easy know he played in a team where the first 5 subs were often all stars and had 15 all irelands medals between them.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 04/11/2020 15:03:28    2305122

I've a lot of time for Tomás Ó Sé normally. He usually gets to the point with very little waffle and he's good craic too. He has said something stupid in this case though and has been disrespectful to Sligo, as well as some other counties.
It simply wasn't possible for Sligo to play this game given the circumstances. It's not great for Galway in terms of preparation either, but that's a very minor matter in the overall scheme.
It's very tough on the Sligo lads.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 04/11/2020 15:06:00    2305123

When you see pros like Ronaldo who are so well protected getting the virus, is it any surprise that farmers, labourers etc who are amateurs getting infected. GAA need to cop on a bit, conditions they expect the lads to play in, you wouldn't put animals out.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/11/2020 15:15:02    2305125

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I've a lot of time for Tomás Ó Sé normally. He usually gets to the point with very little waffle and he's good craic too. He has said something stupid in this case though and has been disrespectful to Sligo, as well as some other counties.
It simply wasn't possible for Sligo to play this game given the circumstances. It's not great for Galway in terms of preparation either, but that's a very minor matter in the overall scheme.
It's very tough on the Sligo lads."
It is just self promoting auld guff. Say something controversial for the sake of it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/11/2020 15:50:47    2305137

Replying To Patchin:  "Same with mayo"
Connacht is a hell of a lot more compatible than Munster. Mayo have not won a Connacht title since 2015.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/11/2020 16:11:23    2305143

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Genuine asylum seekers are welcome in Donegal I keep telling you, the other variety of asylum seekers from Leitrim go to Sligo I believe?"
You're making no sense but then again not many people from the hills up there do so it's understandable. If you're trying to be funny don't. It's cringy.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 04/11/2020 16:21:00    2305150

Tomas O' Shea is 100% right what he said. Guaranteed it will be the weaker counties who fail to fulfil fixtures.
Any team with a chance of winning a provincial or all Ireland will turn up with a healthy squad on matchday because they are better prepared, better managed and want it more.
And for those of ye who claim it is a disgrace for the championship to ahead - will ye get a grip. It's the only thing keeping people going at the moment especially the elderly.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 04/11/2020 16:48:29    2305158

Replying To yew_tree:  "Connacht is a hell of a lot more compatible than Munster. Mayo have not won a Connacht title since 2015."
And they won't win it this year either...... Galway v Roscommon Final, how does that grab ya

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 04/11/2020 16:49:27    2305159

Replying To katser:  "And they won't win it this year either...... Galway v Roscommon Final, how does that grab ya"
Kat I would not throw stones. On form we are probably 3rd in Connacht although on ability and player quality we are marginally better than Mayo and Ros factoring in underage etc. However it is the former yardstick that is the key so my latter point is irrelevant really. Whoever wins on Sunday will be favs in mid November.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 04/11/2020 17:11:47    2305163

Replying To kiloughter:  "Kat I would not throw stones. On form we are probably 3rd in Connacht although on ability and player quality we are marginally better than Mayo and Ros factoring in underage etc. However it is the former yardstick that is the key so my latter point is irrelevant really. Whoever wins on Sunday will be favs in mid November."
Ok, but we are in the Connacht Final now, so more time to get lads carrying knocks 100% fit. With all respect to Sligo it's a blessing we don't have to play them as we could have picked up unnecessary injuries in a miss match. Mayo and Roscommon will probably tare lumps out of eachother.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 04/11/2020 17:45:58    2305169

Replying To hopballref:  "Tomas O' Shea is 100% right what he said. Guaranteed it will be the weaker counties who fail to fulfil fixtures.
Any team with a chance of winning a provincial or all Ireland will turn up with a healthy squad on matchday because they are better prepared, better managed and want it more.
And for those of ye who claim it is a disgrace for the championship to ahead - will ye get a grip. It's the only thing keeping people going at the moment especially the elderly."
Im assuming you dont have any close relatives who are in the vulnerable category otherwise you have zero common sense. Weaker teams will be more likely to fail to fulfill fixtures if they have a covid outbreak for obvious reasons, if they are a weaker team then obviously they have an even weaker squad. Why take the risk when there is an existing outbreak in the squad and why put your team through what would most likely be a humiliation when they are down several first choice players?
As regards the stronger teams turning up healthy and wanting it more, of course they would especially if an All Ireland title is on the line but there is a problem there too. As Sean Cavanagh eluded to a few wks ago, I'm sure they would be prepared to do whatever it takes to have a full squad on matchday even if it means keeping a player with symptoms to stay quiet so the manager can have a full squad. Tomas o se is a very good pundit and analyst but he was wrong with his comment on Sligo.
You should be happy your county doesnt have to play Sligo. There was always a risk a Sligo player could have had the virus even after being tested negative. Now you are already in a connacht final without playing a game..win win

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 04/11/2020 18:01:43    2305172

Replying To hopballref:  "Tomas O' Shea is 100% right what he said. Guaranteed it will be the weaker counties who fail to fulfil fixtures.
And for those of ye who claim it is a disgrace for the championship to ahead - will ye get a grip. It's the only thing keeping people going at the moment especially the elderly."
Those teams may show up but who is to say they are healthy? If a team makes an all Ireland final are they going to disclose they had a case or a bout of cases in their panel. Not a hope. No point in 11 counties in Leinster showing up, 5 in Munster, at least six in Ulster on the criteria you're setting. He is in no way right, it was old man ranting at the moon type stuff out of him. Made no sense at all. Are you saying covid doesn't go near a team because they are practically professional at this stage? Utter baloney.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/11/2020 18:50:00    2305182

Replying To borisdblade:  "Im assuming you dont have any close relatives who are in the vulnerable category otherwise you have zero common sense. Weaker teams will be more likely to fail to fulfill fixtures if they have a covid outbreak for obvious reasons, if they are a weaker team then obviously they have an even weaker squad. Why take the risk when there is an existing outbreak in the squad and why put your team through what would most likely be a humiliation when they are down several first choice players?
As regards the stronger teams turning up healthy and wanting it more, of course they would especially if an All Ireland title is on the line but there is a problem there too. As Sean Cavanagh eluded to a few wks ago, I'm sure they would be prepared to do whatever it takes to have a full squad on matchday even if it means keeping a player with symptoms to stay quiet so the manager can have a full squad. Tomas o se is a very good pundit and analyst but he was wrong with his comment on Sligo.
You should be happy your county doesnt have to play Sligo. There was always a risk a Sligo player could have had the virus even after being tested negative. Now you are already in a connacht final without playing a game..win win"
I have plenty of relatives in the vulnerable category.
All intercounty squads are between 30 and 36 so it's nothing to do with having a weaker panel. I just genuinely think this tough situation we are in will be managed far better by the good teams.
After listening to Sligo officials on the news I do feel sorry for them.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 04/11/2020 19:20:00    2305187

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Those teams may show up but who is to say they are healthy? If a team makes an all Ireland final are they going to disclose they had a case or a bout of cases in their panel. Not a hope. No point in 11 counties in Leinster showing up, 5 in Munster, at least six in Ulster on the criteria you're setting. He is in no way right, it was old man ranting at the moon type stuff out of him. Made no sense at all. Are you saying covid doesn't go near a team because they are practically professional at this stage? Utter baloney."
No I am not saying that. Of course it's possible and well may happen.
I'm saying it's less likely for a Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Galway etc to fail to fulfil a fixture as will be better managed.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 04/11/2020 19:24:14    2305188

Exciting stuff now Galway await the winners of Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht final, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year.
Galway might need a good challenge match against the likes of Tyrone to get up to speed for the final, playing Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good,
there needs to a 2nd and even a 3rd tier Championship to give the likes of Sligo and Leitrim something to play for instead of getting walloped every year, it's not fair on them, no wonder they are reluctant to fulfil fixtures, a bit like
children feeling sick all of a sudden on the day of an exam.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 04/11/2020 19:26:14    2305189

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Exciting stuff now Galway await the winners of Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht final, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year.
Galway might need a good challenge match against the likes of Tyrone to get up to speed for the final, playing Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good,
there needs to a 2nd and even a 3rd tier Championship to give the likes of Sligo and Leitrim something to play for instead of getting walloped every year, it's not fair on them, no wonder they are reluctant to fulfil fixtures, a bit like
children feeling sick all of a sudden on the day of an exam."
Yea ye would know all about that. Ye got a fair few bashings too over the years. Considering ulster is practically a two team province really (Donegal and Tyrone) others are division two, three and four teams what ye have achieved isn't all that impressive. But don't let facts get in the way of your rants and your smart ass comments.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 04/11/2020 19:52:09    2305194

Crass and classless stuff really. Joe Brolly ended up on Eir Sports for less.

Sligo will be disappointed I imagine they invested huge resources into the team and squad preparation and development all year in the expectation of competing. Not to mention sacrifices made by players, management and backroom team. A year lost in development of younger players.

Galway will be disappointed to, again resources put in place preparing for this fixture and plans in place in preparation in growing toward (a likely) provincial final. Awful going into a provincial final with no road test.

I genuinely believe, him talking about the number of games & competition to get to the All Ireland final is a wind up for the obvious reasons.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/11/2020 20:15:49    2305200

Replying To TheUsername:  "Crass and classless stuff really. Joe Brolly ended up on Eir Sports for less.

Sligo will be disappointed I imagine they invested huge resources into the team and squad preparation and development all year in the expectation of competing. Not to mention sacrifices made by players, management and backroom team. A year lost in development of younger players.

Galway will be disappointed to, again resources put in place preparing for this fixture and plans in place in preparation in growing toward (a likely) provincial final. Awful going into a provincial final with no road test.

I genuinely believe, him talking about the number of games & competition to get to the All Ireland final is a wind up for the obvious reasons."
I'd say o sé is trying to take up the brolly mantle or being the controversial one. Fairly cringy now.

foneyforme (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 04/11/2020 20:40:53    2305209