Anti GAA Agenda

When I came to live in Dublin in the early 90 s most Dublin people I encountered had little or no interest in the Gaa.Its hard to believe but the Dublin posters on here can comment on this.I was amazed by this as I had been in croke park many a time when Dublin were in all Irelands and thought they were all gaa crazy.However many had more interest in cross channel soccer.Even when Dublin won the all Ireland in 95 it was nt crazy stuff.however since 2011 I have seen a real surge in interest among Dubliners.Lads I knew years ago that could nt name more than 2 Dub footballers are now able to name the team backwards and even club football in Dublin is very popular.You always had the die hards but the gaa was not the top sport among the people.While I know Dublin s success on the football field is hard for a lot of us but it has been great for Dublin county and city in particukar.Even Dublin hurling has a good following now which is great.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 15/02/2021 21:07:19    2331495

Replying To KillingFields:  "There really isnt.
There is a substantial section of irish population who have totally misguided views on rugby without having any direct or even indirect experience of the sport"
There really isn't.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 15/02/2021 23:09:32    2331507

There is a substantial section of irish population who have totally misguided views on rugby without having any direct or even indirect experience of the sport"
Killingfields, I don't like bashing other sports. And this is a GAA site though. You have posters coming on attacking the game.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 16/02/2021 07:26:38    2331513

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Can anyone outline what is meant by this 'anti GAA agenda'? The GAA gets unbelievable support from the media in Ireland, way more than soccer or rugby. And in many ways, rightly so as there is huge interest in GAA but for anyone not into GAA and into sports, they must scratch their heads by time when they see the ratio of GAA coverage to other sports on the national broadcaster. Equally, the government gave the GAA around €30 million euros in 2020 because of the pandemic and are indicating that they will give more this year. Plus governments down through the years have given huge money to the GAA in respect of croke park. Now, I know rugby and soccer got supported as well. It baffles me when I hear that there is an anti gaa agenda because I don't see much evidence of it unless you count people who feel that the GAA are only concerned with money, again, there is some truth in this claim, although it is probably overblown in fairness to the GAA. Finally, if it is the government not given them elite status, I have been trying to gauge the reaction and what GAA feel and the prevailing feeling seems to be that a lot of GAA people don't believe that the GAA should go professional and aren't really sure if the GAA is an elite organisation or not. I know that the GAA sees itself as a community organisation, I'm not sure if a community based organisation aligns with an elite sports organisation but i could be wrong."
With respect Mr Wicklow, that is not true. Rugby is not played by as many people. But open any newspaper and you will see acres for coverage. From BOD's latest thoughts on TV programs to ROG's views on the rucks. Regarding bailouts, well in 2007 the Irish govt bailed out the banks, to the tune of 60 odd billion. Who sponsors Rugby in this country- the banks. Good luck to them. Don't whinge though. Sorry to be neg and how many titles have Wicklow won over the years. Answer SFA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 16/02/2021 07:31:50    2331514

Replying To galwayford:  "With respect Mr Wicklow, that is not true. Rugby is not played by as many people. But open any newspaper and you will see acres for coverage. From BOD's latest thoughts on TV programs to ROG's views on the rucks. Regarding bailouts, well in 2007 the Irish govt bailed out the banks, to the tune of 60 odd billion. Who sponsors Rugby in this country- the banks. Good luck to them. Don't whinge though. Sorry to be neg and how many titles have Wicklow won over the years. Answer SFA."
You seem to be very angry in your post and not making much sense. I am a GAA and a Wicklow GAA supporter but to say that rugby or soccer get more favourable coverage than GAA is just plainly inaccurate. With regard to who sponsors rugby, that is not really relevant, after all the GAA had an alcohol sponsor for a number of years and we all know what damage alcohol has caused to individuals and families throughout Ireland over a long number of years. I'm not whinging, unlike you, I am trying to balance up the argument that there is an anti gaa agenda. As another poster pointed out, there are individuals who are anti gaa but overall I don't see it being widespread. With regard to what Wicklow have won on the field, I don't see how that is relevant to this discussion but then you don't see to be able to put forward an argument and back it up so I suppose you want to reduce it to insulting where people are from. if you believe that there is an anti gaa basis, put forward your evidence and stop trying to insult people, show some respect.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 16/02/2021 09:46:23    2331518

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "There is a small section of the Irish population who are embarrassed by GAA, and by extension, all things Gaelic, rural and Catholic."
I think you'll find those people think they're above everybody else. Take a look at the Late Late show over the years, bend over backwards for the British and the like.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 16/02/2021 10:18:35    2331521

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Can anyone outline what is meant by this 'anti GAA agenda'? The GAA gets unbelievable support from the media in Ireland, way more than soccer or rugby. And in many ways, rightly so as there is huge interest in GAA but for anyone not into GAA and into sports, they must scratch their heads by time when they see the ratio of GAA coverage to other sports on the national broadcaster. Equally, the government gave the GAA around €30 million euros in 2020 because of the pandemic and are indicating that they will give more this year. Plus governments down through the years have given huge money to the GAA in respect of croke park. Now, I know rugby and soccer got supported as well. It baffles me when I hear that there is an anti gaa agenda because I don't see much evidence of it unless you count people who feel that the GAA are only concerned with money, again, there is some truth in this claim, although it is probably overblown in fairness to the GAA. Finally, if it is the government not given them elite status, I have been trying to gauge the reaction and what GAA feel and the prevailing feeling seems to be that a lot of GAA people don't believe that the GAA should go professional and aren't really sure if the GAA is an elite organisation or not. I know that the GAA sees itself as a community organisation, I'm not sure if a community based organisation aligns with an elite sports organisation but i could be wrong."
I don't think there is an anti gaa agenda myself as the Irish media have it's own strong GAA teams who give it good coverage. However whilst these media teams are in place there is no doubt significant more resources are put into rugby and soccer.

Soccer I get as to be honest whilst the LOI isn't the best standard, soccer in Ireland is the one sport that comes very close to challenging GAA games as the national sports; ok a lot of this support goes on teams outside Ireland but participation and interest levels are huge which has always been the case. The Charlton years obviously brought this to a new level. When our international team does have a good run especially in major tournaments it's the one sport that literally can stop the country; so I get the soccer coverage.

I respect and enjoy rugby but to me it's new to the table and over the past 20 years, there has been an agenda to literally brain wash people into thinking rugby is the national sport, and the biggest sport in Ireland. I'm in awe of the IRFU's marketing skills and rugby has been smart with it's sponsors, not just for financial gains but sponsors who can push the rugby agenda.

They have managed to increase interest and participation levels to great heights and fair play to them for doing so. However I do think it's now levelled out; having provinces compete for European titles, an international team starting to win 5/6 nation games and then championships was very exciting for Irish society. However I feel a lot of damage was done at the last world cup, looking back at the media frenzy about being number 1 in the world, we're going to win the world cup is slightly embarassing, a lot of casual rugby observers caught onto the media spin and realised what has been going on.

Rugby has it's strong holds particularly in Ulster, Limerick and part of the more afluent areas of Dublin.

As a GAA person first and foremost good luck to other sports, but 20 years on from the start of the rugby agenda, the GAA is in as strong a position now than it ever has been. Yes we have some problems with Dublin dominating football, one thing that has done though is take on rugby in our capital, the competivness will come back. Hurling is now the number one sport in Limerick again, which again shows at the time rugby was at it's strongest the GAA were able to compete in one of rugby's strongholds and now overtake rugby there.

I wouldn't worry about any anti GAA agenda, to me it doesn't exist but even if it did our sports will always stay ahead and always be one step ahead.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/02/2021 11:15:53    2331529

Replying To sam1884:  "I don't think there is an anti gaa agenda myself as the Irish media have it's own strong GAA teams who give it good coverage. However whilst these media teams are in place there is no doubt significant more resources are put into rugby and soccer.

Soccer I get as to be honest whilst the LOI isn't the best standard, soccer in Ireland is the one sport that comes very close to challenging GAA games as the national sports; ok a lot of this support goes on teams outside Ireland but participation and interest levels are huge which has always been the case. The Charlton years obviously brought this to a new level. When our international team does have a good run especially in major tournaments it's the one sport that literally can stop the country; so I get the soccer coverage.

I respect and enjoy rugby but to me it's new to the table and over the past 20 years, there has been an agenda to literally brain wash people into thinking rugby is the national sport, and the biggest sport in Ireland. I'm in awe of the IRFU's marketing skills and rugby has been smart with it's sponsors, not just for financial gains but sponsors who can push the rugby agenda.

They have managed to increase interest and participation levels to great heights and fair play to them for doing so. However I do think it's now levelled out; having provinces compete for European titles, an international team starting to win 5/6 nation games and then championships was very exciting for Irish society. However I feel a lot of damage was done at the last world cup, looking back at the media frenzy about being number 1 in the world, we're going to win the world cup is slightly embarassing, a lot of casual rugby observers caught onto the media spin and realised what has been going on.

Rugby has it's strong holds particularly in Ulster, Limerick and part of the more afluent areas of Dublin.

As a GAA person first and foremost good luck to other sports, but 20 years on from the start of the rugby agenda, the GAA is in as strong a position now than it ever has been. Yes we have some problems with Dublin dominating football, one thing that has done though is take on rugby in our capital, the competivness will come back. Hurling is now the number one sport in Limerick again, which again shows at the time rugby was at it's strongest the GAA were able to compete in one of rugby's strongholds and now overtake rugby there.

I wouldn't worry about any anti GAA agenda, to me it doesn't exist but even if it did our sports will always stay ahead and always be one step ahead."
Check out Matt Cooper show over the years. 1 hour of sport each day dominated by golf ,rugby, soccer and then the last 5 minutes of show GAA. Plastic Paddys on talking crap about premiership most of the time. 2FM Game on show not far behind, some boy Alan, soccer pundit from the South wouldn't agree that GAA was ahead of soccer in Ireland a few years back.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 16/02/2021 12:44:41    2331542

Replying To Saynothing:  "I think you'll find those people think they're above everybody else. Take a look at the Late Late show over the years, bend over backwards for the British and the like."
Oh absolutely.

The irony is that they have self-hatred issues. They're deeply uncomfortable being Irish and shun their own cultural inheritence for an Anglo-American pseudo-identity.

Pitiful. But great craic to laugh at.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 16/02/2021 13:58:21    2331549

Replying To Saynothing:  "Check out Matt Cooper show over the years. 1 hour of sport each day dominated by golf ,rugby, soccer and then the last 5 minutes of show GAA. Plastic Paddys on talking crap about premiership most of the time. 2FM Game on show not far behind, some boy Alan, soccer pundit from the South wouldn't agree that GAA was ahead of soccer in Ireland a few years back."
Rugby is pro, they train more and are available more for media coverage.
Ask any journalist and theyd say the same.
Look at the sports photo sites like inpho and sportsfile they will have photographers and coverage of training every day for the pro rugby sites. They dont have near that for inter county gaa teams.

GAA is an amateur sport it doesnt mean it should be getting more coverage simply because more amateurs play it

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 16/02/2021 14:18:46    2331554

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby is pro, they train more and are available more for media coverage.
Look at the sports photo sites like inpho and sportsfile they will have photographers and coverage of training every day for the pro rugby sites. They dont have near that for inter county gaa teams.

GAA is an amateur sport it doesnt mean it should be getting more coverage simply because more amateurs play it"
well there should be photographs for the big matches. Which attract big crowds.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 16/02/2021 15:00:05    2331560

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby is pro, they train more and are available more for media coverage.

GAA is an amateur sport it doesnt mean it should be getting more coverage simply because more amateurs play it"
As I say above rugby has it's own media coverage agenda, significantly more than the GAA. Rugby has went threw a 20 year campaign to bring up rugby playing numbers, interest, support and sponsorship. The sport started at a very low ebb and have been relatively successful however the sport hasn't really grew outside the strongholds.

Even within them strongholds Dublin and Limerick are back to being prominent GAA, if they ever lost it. Ulster is unique but GAA/Rugby are both completly different sporting communities up there and whilst it's slightly narrowed the distinct difference is still and will always likely be there; there isn't much scope for the GAA to lean into rugby communities or vice versa in Ulster.

The GAA have weathered the worst rugby can throw at them and 20 years later since rugby started their aim to make their sport "the biggest on the island" the GAA are as strong as ever even in rugby strongholds. GAA followers have nothing to worry about with anti agenda's etc, rugby despite the spin and despite the fact it's professional will remain a minority sport in Ireland.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/02/2021 15:34:46    2331566

Your correct in that the vast majority of people have had no direct contact with Rugby. So what? The GAA is the heart and soul of the vast majority of Irish parishes and communities. Rugby isn't....

I'd be a bandwagon rugby fan...watch the big 6 nations and rugby World Cup games. Same with soccer, although I'd have more of a gra for the soccer and I think the nation as a whole does. Just look at how nuts the country goes when Ireland quality for a world or European cup (could be a long time before we see that again).

But that said the Irish rugby team have given us great days and memories but it's from a far in my personal experience. I'd still put my club winning a championship game over Ireland winning a 6 nations championship.

Other people would be the opposite and that's fine, each to their own. This is a GAA site though so I'd assume the majority here have a live for the GAA first.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/02/2021 16:47:22    2331581

Replying To sam1884:  "As I say above rugby has it's own media coverage agenda, significantly more than the GAA. Rugby has went threw a 20 year campaign to bring up rugby playing numbers, interest, support and sponsorship. The sport started at a very low ebb and have been relatively successful however the sport hasn't really grew outside the strongholds.

Even within them strongholds Dublin and Limerick are back to being prominent GAA, if they ever lost it. Ulster is unique but GAA/Rugby are both completly different sporting communities up there and whilst it's slightly narrowed the distinct difference is still and will always likely be there; there isn't much scope for the GAA to lean into rugby communities or vice versa in Ulster.

The GAA have weathered the worst rugby can throw at them and 20 years later since rugby started their aim to make their sport "the biggest on the island" the GAA are as strong as ever even in rugby strongholds. GAA followers have nothing to worry about with anti agenda's etc, rugby despite the spin and despite the fact it's professional will remain a minority sport in Ireland."
There isnt this agenda with rugby coverage. Thinking there is some form of agenda that is pro rugby and anti GAA is tinfoil hat stuff.
Rugby didnt really start at that low an ebb. It was still the 3rd/4th sport behind Gaelic, hurling and soccer. When has it not?

The sport has very much grown outside the strongholds. Numbers playing at age grade are far higher than ever before. There is loads of new clubs being founded and has been loads in the past 20 years or so.
Number of clubs and club teams is far higher than before 2000. Number of schools fielding teams and teams being fielded by schools is far higher than 2000 and 2009.

All sports are minority compared to the biggest but rugby is clearly and always will be one of the big 3 organisations.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 16/02/2021 16:58:44    2331583

Replying To KillingFields:  "There isnt this agenda with rugby coverage. Thinking there is some form of agenda that is pro rugby and anti GAA is tinfoil hat stuff.
Rugby didnt really start at that low an ebb. It was still the 3rd/4th sport behind Gaelic, hurling and soccer. When has it not?

The sport has very much grown outside the strongholds. Numbers playing at age grade are far higher than ever before. There is loads of new clubs being founded and has been loads in the past 20 years or so.
Number of clubs and club teams is far higher than before 2000. Number of schools fielding teams and teams being fielded by schools is far higher than 2000 and 2009.

All sports are minority compared to the biggest but rugby is clearly and always will be one of the big 3 organisations."
Sorry I didn't say there was an anti GAA agenda, in fact I said the exact opposite. What I did say is rugby started their own agenda around 20 years ago to bolster the sport in Ireland. I was simply saying GAA people have nothing to worry about because the GAA have weathered the storm.

Whilst there wasn't an anti GAA agenda in what rugby were doing, there was 100% a competitive streak and you'd expect nothing else. We're a small island and sports people/public are all potential customers especially for the professional sporting bodies (FAI and IRFU).

I also said I'm in awe of the IRFU's marketing campaign and there is no doubt as a sport and sporting body they've did very well in both a sporting and commerical way.

The IRFU are operating in a professional context, 20 years ago soccer was on a high, and the GAA had just finished Croke Park which they were filling on a regular basis, the back door had come in and GAA sports were very successful. In comparsion, as always rugby were in the top 3 sports in Ireland but were at a low ebb compared to those two. Credit to where rugby is in 2021 but whilst they have professional structures from marketing, smart sponsorship choices, most successful period on the field they've not developed in any Irish community at the expense of the GAA, in fact the GAA have developed further in rugby strongholds during that time.

Whilst participation levels are up, rugby is still concentrated in specific areas and internationally the majority of players come from a list of choosen schools. I'm sure the GAA wish rugby well but as a GAA fan I wouldn't be worried about them causing the GAA any problems.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/02/2021 18:10:54    2331590

Replying To sam1884:  "Sorry I didn't say there was an anti GAA agenda, in fact I said the exact opposite. What I did say is rugby started their own agenda around 20 years ago to bolster the sport in Ireland. I was simply saying GAA people have nothing to worry about because the GAA have weathered the storm.

Whilst there wasn't an anti GAA agenda in what rugby were doing, there was 100% a competitive streak and you'd expect nothing else. We're a small island and sports people/public are all potential customers especially for the professional sporting bodies (FAI and IRFU).

I also said I'm in awe of the IRFU's marketing campaign and there is no doubt as a sport and sporting body they've did very well in both a sporting and commerical way.

The IRFU are operating in a professional context, 20 years ago soccer was on a high, and the GAA had just finished Croke Park which they were filling on a regular basis, the back door had come in and GAA sports were very successful. In comparsion, as always rugby were in the top 3 sports in Ireland but were at a low ebb compared to those two. Credit to where rugby is in 2021 but whilst they have professional structures from marketing, smart sponsorship choices, most successful period on the field they've not developed in any Irish community at the expense of the GAA, in fact the GAA have developed further in rugby strongholds during that time.

Whilst participation levels are up, rugby is still concentrated in specific areas and internationally the majority of players come from a list of choosen schools. I'm sure the GAA wish rugby well but as a GAA fan I wouldn't be worried about them causing the GAA any problems."
Rugby never intended or necessarily needs to develop at the expense of the GAA and none within the development systems like development officers, academy staff necessarily want that to happen
They will work with and around the GAA.
Like in Connacht the majority of schools are now playing rugby and competing in schools leagues and cups including big gaa schools. This isnt done against the GAA.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 16/02/2021 19:18:38    2331600

France's head coach Fabian Galthie has tested positive for COVID-19, after playing Ireland the country's Six Nations squad went into isolation following another staff member's positive test.

This is worrying

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 16/02/2021 19:26:02    2331602

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your correct in that the vast majority of people have had no direct contact with Rugby. So what? The GAA is the heart and soul of the vast majority of Irish parishes and communities. Rugby isn't....

I'd be a bandwagon rugby fan...watch the big 6 nations and rugby World Cup games. Same with soccer, although I'd have more of a gra for the soccer and I think the nation as a whole does. Just look at how nuts the country goes when Ireland quality for a world or European cup (could be a long time before we see that again).

But that said the Irish rugby team have given us great days and memories but it's from a far in my personal experience. I'd still put my club winning a championship game over Ireland winning a 6 nations championship.

Other people would be the opposite and that's fine, each to their own. This is a GAA site though so I'd assume the majority here have a live for the GAA first."
Never had any direct contact with rugby, GAA has always and will continue to play a huge part in my life, Like many I watched the international matches but took only a passing interest in proviences, however when I moved to Cork years ago I was lucky to be able to travel to most Meath matches. Around 2000 I arranged with a rugby supporting friend to go see Leinster night before the Meath match and have been hooked since. Ideal, but rare w/e is Bohs Friday night, Leinster Sat and Meath on Sunday. Supporting other sports in no way lessens my support for GAA in general or Meath in particular. Know many lads who have Cork hurling first then Munster rugby, a Premier soccer team and a shrug of the shoulders for Cork football, as you say each to their own. Plenty of room for all.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 16/02/2021 19:43:43    2331606

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby never intended or necessarily needs to develop at the expense of the GAA and none within the development systems like development officers, academy staff necessarily want that to happen
Like in Connacht the majority of schools are now playing rugby and competing in schools leagues and cups including big gaa schools. This isnt done against the GAA."
I'd agree they might not intend or necessarily develop at the expense of the GAA, but in truth professional sport is ruthless, it has to be ruthless because ultimately the success of the business comes down to sporting success at the most senior levels (provinces and international team for rugby).

Has Limerick hurling responded well to the growth of Munster rugby and has the GAA and Dublin responded to the success of Leinster? Is the Connacht centre of excellence a response to the growth of Connacht rugby? As I mentioned earlier Ulster is unique and the GAA and rugby have their established communities there. The GAA are an amateur organisation but I'm not naive not to think Irish rugby wasn't discussed in high GAA offices, I think there has been hints Dublin's funding came about due to the falling numbers of GAA players in the capital and the increase in rugby players - of course there is an inhouse (GAA) problem there now.

Rugby is now an established sport in Ireland and I like it but as a GAA person I'm confident our organisation and games will not be overtaken, and I do smile when rugby media/personnel claim rugby is now number 1. I still stand over despite all the investment, success, spin of Irish rugby and whilst they might have made some inroads with increasing clubs/players the GAA communities are still intact and not impacted.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/02/2021 20:00:49    2331608

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby never intended or necessarily needs to develop at the expense of the GAA and none within the development systems like development officers, academy staff necessarily want that to happen
Like in Connacht the majority of schools are now playing rugby and competing in schools leagues and cups including big gaa schools. This isnt done against the GAA."
The majority of schools in Connacht are taking part in leagues and cup rugby? Based on fact or your opinion?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 16/02/2021 20:52:52    2331613