Return Of The Championship - Excited ? Not Overly Bothered ?

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "So leitrim conceded the game to down.

Am I right in saying with the way the table is fixed currently that this game was irrelevant anyway, as even if we won, lost or drew it, it was all to come down to a winner takes all clash with tipp in carrick in the last game? Maybe someone can confirm this but my understanding is that no matter what tipp do today now and so long as louth lose one of their remaining two games then the winner of us vs tipp stays up and the loser goes down. So today was an irrelevant game, and I'm sure that made the concession easier.

It all comes down to tipp next week. No conceding that game i guarantee you"
Yes regardless of the result against Down it was going to be a relegation play off against Tipperary in Carrick. I don't think any journalists picked up on that and the lads on the Sunday game last night seemed unaware by it either.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 19/10/2020 08:53:14    2299017

My feeling on it at the moment is that I couldnt be bothered. If it didnt go ahead or if Galway got knocked out in the first round I'd probably shrug my shoulders. But that might change when the games start...if the players go full throttle at it and play with passion (as they surely will) it could run off on me and I'll get as excited and as nervous as I usually would do when I see my county progress to the latter stages of the championship.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/10/2020 00:08:23    2299451

Here s the thing. For the county that wins the all ireland (if it goes ahead) it will definitely be special.its going to be strange not attending games and atmosphere eerir but yet it make good T. V. The county that wins will be on the record books and that won't change. If one checks the record books in the early years some all Irelands were won by default yet still on the record. Will Dublin or Galway feel the u 20 is devalued if they win even though both Galway and Kerry lost lots of players because of the covid and close contact scenarios. As a Kerryman Seanie Ó Shea And David Clifford were not allowed play u 20 last couple of years cos they played senior but did Kildare orr Cork feel their title was devalued. Certainly not! Of course it's a new concept for us all but maybe we getting our excuses in first(unbeknown to ourselves) Yes we would all love the big games with crowds. The pre match pints the nerves and heart racing during the national anthem but alas its not to be this year anyway. Also on the GPA survey no disrespect meant bit if u wS from a county that had no hope of winning anything this year I would nt fancy playing during a pandemic but if I was from the other counties I would jump at the chance of playing. So I would think the majority of players from the bigger counties votes yes. My hope is though that cou ties will not lose players to the virus and regardless of who wins it will give us some armchair solace anyway. We are starting with a cracking tie with Donegal/Tyrone so sit back and enjoy my friends.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 20/10/2020 09:23:26    2299473

Really excited. These will be long boring weekends with everything closed so the chance to break that up with some sport is great. It's going to be a great distraction I hope

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 20/10/2020 11:40:06    2299528

Replying To Barrowsider:  "Really excited. These will be long boring weekends with everything closed so the chance to break that up with some sport is great. It's going to be a great distraction I hope"
I think that is exactly what it will be - a welcome distraction from Covid and what is going for most of this year.

Everyone needs to keep their head up and hopefully together we can overcome this situation we all find ourselves in.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 20/10/2020 15:51:50    2299654

Only my opinion

But IF Dublin were to win

I wouldn't consider it a 6 in a row by any means

A 5.25 would be more appropriate

It's not a complete championship and is more of a spectacle to appease Sky Sports and the money that's on the table.

I personally don't see how amateur players can properly cocoon and isolate themselves lIke professional teams can.

Now is not the time for carrying on as normal. It's simply not.

I can see outbreaks within panels and I hope the consequences of that are as limited as possible

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/10/2020 18:40:27    2299688

Can't wait. Hope it lasts.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 20/10/2020 20:42:32    2299725

the funniest thing about the gaa these days is how somebody who was a great player has suddenly become the subject of questions about a global pandemic and the spread of infectious disease.
i mean,heaven forbid we would listen to doctors who studied for 20 years ahead of somebody like pat spillane or colm o rourke.......

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/10/2020 11:08:24    2299846

Replying To perfect10:  "the funniest thing about the gaa these days is how somebody who was a great player has suddenly become the subject of questions about a global pandemic and the spread of infectious disease.
i mean,heaven forbid we would listen to doctors who studied for 20 years ahead of somebody like pat spillane or colm o rourke......."
I dont know, Pat Spillane does be on TikTok, he has finger on the pulse of the nation.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/10/2020 11:25:23    2299858

So excited for Sunday. Nothing better or scarier than facing Clare in the championship

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 23/10/2020 11:38:05    2300453

Replying To perfect10:  "the funniest thing about the gaa these days is how somebody who was a great player has suddenly become the subject of questions about a global pandemic and the spread of infectious disease.
i mean,heaven forbid we would listen to doctors who studied for 20 years ahead of somebody like pat spillane or colm o rourke......."
The funniest thing of all is how The GAA is the only organisation which is the subject of scrutiny and questions about playing games.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/10/2020 12:33:34    2300473

Replying To Greengrass:  "The funniest thing of all is how The GAA is the only organisation which is the subject of scrutiny and questions about playing games."
It isnt at all but dont that stop your tinfoil hat conspiracy theory posts.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 23/10/2020 12:46:17    2300476

Replying To Greengrass:  "The funniest thing of all is how The GAA is the only organisation which is the subject of scrutiny and questions about playing games."
Nonsense

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 23/10/2020 13:06:06    2300483

Not really bothered too much - I'm with the Galway fans, the main thing is to finish the league!

Wait, what !?

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 23/10/2020 14:35:45    2300532

Replying To jimbodub:  "Only my opinion

It's not a complete championship and is more of a spectacle to appease Sky Sports and the money that's on the table.

I personally don't see how amateur players can properly cocoon and isolate themselves lIke professional teams can.

I can see outbreaks within panels and I hope the consequences of that are as limited as possible"
As I said above

Panels will be impacted

The very best to throw player involved

Young Jack Byrne from Shamrock Rovers had a tough time with it

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/amp/gaelic-games/54707189

How many close contacts did he have?

Was he playing against Mayo?

A shambles of a "championship" coming up

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/10/2020 22:07:13    2302291

Replying To jimbodub:  "As I said above

Panels will be impacted

The very best to throw player involved

Young Jack Byrne from Shamrock Rovers had a tough time with it

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/amp/gaelic-games/54707189

How many close contacts did he have?

Was he playing against Mayo?

A shambles of a "championship" coming up"
He didn't play against Mayo and wasn't deemed to have any close contacts within the Tyrone panel. The health authorities have always deemed outdoor activity to be casual contacts and that the risk of getting the virus playing outdoor sport is very low. That's why if counties are doing the thing right they won't use changing rooms, arrange indoor meals, travel to games together etc. This was the case for Tyrone.

I'm personally really looking forward to the championship. It will be very different without fans and at this time of year but it's certainly much better than having nothing. The knockout element of the championship will add to the novelty and I'm sure there'll be a few surprises along the way. Also the fact teams have had less time together might actually lead to more open football and higher scoring games.

My own counties clash with Donegal on Sunday is a brilliant game to have in the first weekend of the football championship. Two of the top 5 teams in Ireland going head to head in a knockout game - don't know why any football fan wouldn't want to see it.

A Another (None) - Posts: 192 - 28/10/2020 08:11:16    2302330

Replying To jimbodub:  "Only my opinion

I can see outbreaks within panels and I hope the consequences of that are as limited as possible"
Lol this from the poster that was counting the drawn allireland last year a 4.5 in a row :-) if ye win the allireland which ye probably will it will be a 6 in a row.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/10/2020 09:43:04    2302341

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lol this from the poster that was counting the drawn allireland last year a 4.5 in a row :-) if ye win the allireland which ye probably will it will be a 6 in a row."
Ah I just said that to wind yiz up ;)

It worked. You're still on about it

It was a fact that Dublin had gone that bit further than Kerry did by at least drawing the game

Jeezee you really left that one behind boy, Deano swinging that over will always be a treasured memory for us Dubs. All those turn overs while being down a man... :)

Just made it all so much more sweeter when we eventually comfortably got the job done

But nah.. I wouldn't be counting this as a 6 in a row at all.. a 5.25 would be far more fitting and I won't be shifting from that

It's ridiculous it's even going ahead

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/10/2020 09:54:52    2302346

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lol this from the poster that was counting the drawn allireland last year a 4.5 in a row :-) if ye win the allireland which ye probably will it will be a 6 in a row."
Lol this from the poster that was on here saying , kerry would stop the 5 in row in the replay :-)
No 6 in a row for Dublin , Its number 38 for the mighty kingdom unfortunately

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/10/2020 10:26:09    2302362

Noticing a theme by some posters of playing down any potential success or achievement this year. You know who you are. I think that rhetoric is disrespectful to the (mostly) amateur teams who have had limited opportunity to train together & remain willing to put themselves at risk to provide some entertainment & distraction for us in these difficult times. I would challenge you detractors that any team achieving silverware this year thoroughly deserve it so could I ask that you stop your disparaging remarks, enjoy what we have of the championship & be grateful to the teams who are prepared to wear their county jerseys this year.
Or perhaps it is a case of excuses being put out there early

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/10/2020 10:50:12    2302375