All Ireland Championship 2020

Replying To Fionn:  "I dont think that FB line wont be strong or big enough v kerry, especially with the Mark rule now in.

Bugler in and Howard moved to centre back.

Hopefully Dessie has a trick up his sleeve... ;o)"
I would nt worry too much about Kerry Fionn. Even if we go through it would be a final before we d meet. It's Donegal /Tyrone or an Ulster team that Dubs should be worrying about. It's Leinster v Ulster in semi and Munster v Connaught.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 19/10/2020 20:23:19    2299370

It seems to me that Dessie Farrell is not a good manager when it comes to selecting personnel. Dublin aren't in need in too many areas so it should mean he'd be able to focus on finding players for the positions they are in need in. Dublin also have a huge conveyer belt so the players should be there. Yet he gives games to a 30 year old midfielder who was playing years ago and was never good enough, small forwards who are never going to make it and are really inferior to other options who are there. He starts Lowndes wing forward when if he is anything he is a wing back and a wing back not good enough to contribute it would appear. Meanwhile Bugler who looks a fantastic player is given very limited game time, Colm Basquel who from what I've seen is their best inside forward after the 3 starters is given even less. Promising midfielders where they could really do with an another option like O'Cofaigh Byrne, Darren Gavin and Shane Carthy not even included on a league match panel. Also no backs properly tried out, and the backs that were given some minutes don't look to be what you'd really be looking for. Would be interested in Dublin posters opinion on this?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 19/10/2020 20:29:59    2299373

Replying To katser:  "Roscommon will clip their wings and bring them down to earth"
No hint of bitterness here at all!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 19/10/2020 20:37:04    2299379

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Yesterday was league; ye are in relegation trouble.. Championship will be different. Ye need a Connacht title badly.. heading for 6 years.."
League but championship is only 2 weeks away. I don't buy the theory teams are in heavy training...no inter county team is in heavy training. Galway were going for. National title and we were told all week about the pleasure in relegating Mayo...

Fact is Galway aren't as bad as they showed yesterday and we aren't that good but talk that Mayo football will fall off a cliff and is not producing good footballers is not valid

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/10/2020 20:58:08    2299387

Replying To katser:  "Roscommon can afford to rest their big players v Cavan and then have the luxury of 2 weeks break before CFC Semi Final
Mayo will need their big players in order to beat Tyrone, then play Leitrim a week later. By the time they face Roscommon it will be 4 consecutive weekends in a row.
Can definitely see Mayo getting "bogged down" and ambushed v Roscommon."
In a normal season that would be a benefit no doubt but the lack of competitive games wont do us any good leading into the Mayo game.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 19/10/2020 20:58:54    2299388

Replying To Kerry15:  "It seems to me that Dessie Farrell is not a good manager when it comes to selecting personnel. Dublin aren't in need in too many areas so it should mean he'd be able to focus on finding players for the positions they are in need in. Dublin also have a huge conveyer belt so the players should be there. Yet he gives games to a 30 year old midfielder who was playing years ago and was never good enough, small forwards who are never going to make it and are really inferior to other options who are there. He starts Lowndes wing forward when if he is anything he is a wing back and a wing back not good enough to contribute it would appear. Meanwhile Bugler who looks a fantastic player is given very limited game time, Colm Basquel who from what I've seen is their best inside forward after the 3 starters is given even less. Promising midfielders where they could really do with an another option like O'Cofaigh Byrne, Darren Gavin and Shane Carthy not even included on a league match panel. Also no backs properly tried out, and the backs that were given some minutes don't look to be what you'd really be looking for. Would be interested in Dublin posters opinion on this?"
You are not far wrong there.......

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 19/10/2020 21:21:54    2299396

Replying To sourmilk93:  "In a normal season that would be a benefit no doubt but the lack of competitive games wont do us any good leading into the Mayo game."
I understand that, but with pitches getting heavy underfoot there is no way Mayo will be able to play for 4 consecutive weekends without lads picking up injuries in these Winter times, even during the dry Summer months that is a big challenge for a player.
P.S......really enjoyed watching Roscommon Saturday evening v Armagh. That Daly lad no3 is some man fantastic to see a Full Back scoring a great goal!
The work ethic, support and commitment of the team is a joy to watch..... excellent footballers in Cregg, Smith, all the Dalys, Kilroy, the Murtaghs.
Anthony Cunningham has them flying!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 19/10/2020 21:40:17    2299406

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "1.Cluxton.2.Cooper.3.Mick Fitz. 4.David Byrne. 5.James MC. 6.Cian Ó Sullivan. 7.Murchan/Small.8.Fenton.9.Howard.10.Kilkenny 11.O Callaghan. 12.Scully.13.Mannion.14.Basquel 15.Rock"
Certainly an option Mick, for me though ive shouted for it before Howard is better in the half forward or half back line. It gives us the option of flooding the midfield and an extra high quality fielder for kick outs. Its massively helpful if say a Jack Barry is sitting on Fenton. Fento can then create the gaps and spaces down the central channel taking Jack for a tour of Corker and create space for the half backs/defenders to exploit.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/10/2020 10:08:44    2299484

Replying To Fionn:  "I dont think that FB line wont be strong or big enough v kerry, especially with the Mark rule now in.

Bugler in and Howard moved to centre back.

Hopefully Dessie has a trick up his sleeve... ;o)"
Im not sure, id be confident enough against Kerry, we are light there and we will cough up chances, but its always been like that and thats the way we play expansively.

Personally if a Kerry game came to pass like the second game last year, id put Small again and O Shea, who is well capable of shutting him down and Fitzer did a fine job on young David in the second game last year. I think Kerry rely to heavily on O Shea and Clifford, its telegraphed and if you can minimise their impact you are well on your way to beating them. If i was Kerry manager id be trying to have a more collective scoring unit in the front 6.

I dont think Kerry have the players to in the rest of their forwards to stop our breaking defenders, Byrne, Cooper, Murchen or Howard or will run he selves into the ground trying. I also think Jack Barry marking Fenton is a bad move, yes he minimises his influence, but Fenton got canny and moved him around the pitch and we had the freedom of the central channel for our half backs to muller the Kerry back line, over the two games last year our half back scored a lot. The other consideration with Barry and man marking is if you do that, you might need to consider putting another body in there like Spillane, that takes away elsewhere and encourages more funneling into Clifford.

Then defense is the consideration i noticed at the weekend Kerry went with a swarm, that fine we know what to do there. Then an option is a sweeper but if you do that, you have Barry tied up, an extra man in midifld and another loss of a forward, funelling everything into Clifford largely.

Shut down O Shea, keep your discipline, funnel into Clifford, minmise the damage and back yourself - we have a very very talented forward line.

Dessie might have different ideas to me, but we will see. But a hell of a long way for both counties to go if they going to meet in a final and im not sure that a very likely scenario.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/10/2020 10:22:20    2299490

Replying To Kerry15:  "It seems to me that Dessie Farrell is not a good manager when it comes to selecting personnel. Dublin aren't in need in too many areas so it should mean he'd be able to focus on finding players for the positions they are in need in. Dublin also have a huge conveyer belt so the players should be there. Yet he gives games to a 30 year old midfielder who was playing years ago and was never good enough, small forwards who are never going to make it and are really inferior to other options who are there. He starts Lowndes wing forward when if he is anything he is a wing back and a wing back not good enough to contribute it would appear. Meanwhile Bugler who looks a fantastic player is given very limited game time, Colm Basquel who from what I've seen is their best inside forward after the 3 starters is given even less. Promising midfielders where they could really do with an another option like O'Cofaigh Byrne, Darren Gavin and Shane Carthy not even included on a league match panel. Also no backs properly tried out, and the backs that were given some minutes don't look to be what you'd really be looking for. Would be interested in Dublin posters opinion on this?"
To be fair to him, there is not much he will learn from playing the starting 15 or even match day 20 every week.

My initial thoughts are he is trying very hard to be his own man. some of his decisions have been head scratchers - Dias being one. But then again it would be remiss of a new manager not to cast the net wide - usually new managers would bring in an extended trial squad of 50-80 and see whats going on in the county. Dessie due to his late appointment didnt really do that and used the league for it really. We've used a ridiculous number of players, some have looked to have had potential others very much not. But that what the league is for really and we've bene competitive throughout despite the amount of turnover. I wouldn't say itys been futile, Bugler has come on, Aaron Byrne is a player and a great option with legs at wing forward, Cian Murphy looks a Dublin layer at corner back and one or two others.

Basquel had a long run, with Ballyboden in the Championship las Spring, but he came in toward the end of the Spring league, Darren Gavin has been injured - no one knows him better then Dessie and dont know what the deal is with POCB, hes still very young but surprised he hasnt been knocking around. Shane Carty had an excellent Sigurrson again surprised he want looked at. i suppose we dont the specific context.

Dessie has the unfortunate task of planning for the next three years, there has been five significant retirement with more on the way this and probably next year, he need to have a look at lads and what is going on in the county and while some of his decisions i agree have been bizarre, if we get two - three player sin the shake up and develop a few more for the next few years, thats the job of work.

That said hes never managed at this level before so im sure all a bit of a learning curve, in what have been mad circumstances since the get go.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/10/2020 10:34:16    2299496

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im not sure, id be confident enough against Kerry, we are light there and we will cough up chances, but its always been like that and thats the way we play expansively.

Personally if a Kerry game came to pass like the second game last year, id put Small again and O Shea, who is well capable of shutting him down and Fitzer did a fine job on young David in the second game last year. I think Kerry rely to heavily on O Shea and Clifford, its telegraphed and if you can minimise their impact you are well on your way to beating them. If i was Kerry manager id be trying to have a more collective scoring unit in the front 6.

I dont think Kerry have the players to in the rest of their forwards to stop our breaking defenders, Byrne, Cooper, Murchen or Howard or will run he selves into the ground trying. I also think Jack Barry marking Fenton is a bad move, yes he minimises his influence, but Fenton got canny and moved him around the pitch and we had the freedom of the central channel for our half backs to muller the Kerry back line, over the two games last year our half back scored a lot. The other consideration with Barry and man marking is if you do that, you might need to consider putting another body in there like Spillane, that takes away elsewhere and encourages more funneling into Clifford.

Then defense is the consideration i noticed at the weekend Kerry went with a swarm, that fine we know what to do there. Then an option is a sweeper but if you do that, you have Barry tied up, an extra man in midifld and another loss of a forward, funelling everything into Clifford largely.

Shut down O Shea, keep your discipline, funnel into Clifford, minmise the damage and back yourself - we have a very very talented forward line.

Dessie might have different ideas to me, but we will see. But a hell of a long way for both counties to go if they going to meet in a final and im not sure that a very likely scenario."
Good post.

If we do meet them or Tyrone - you can be damn sure they will have a trick up their sleeve.

Dessie will need to have one also...

We have some idea's but I am not letting the cat out of the bag... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/10/2020 10:36:34    2299497

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im not sure, id be confident enough against Kerry, we are light there and we will cough up chances, but its always been like that and thats the way we play expansively.

Dessie might have different ideas to me, but we will see. But a hell of a long way for both counties to go if they going to meet in a final and im not sure that a very likely scenario."
I have no worries about our forwards Usename. Even if Clifford and Seanie tied down we have Geaney Lillian Spillane Tony Brosnan and Paudie Clifford a great playmaker. Also Stephen ó Brien. I'd be more worried about our backs even with a sweeper. We do have pace though which helps. On Barry I agree with you. While he does a good job on Fenton it takes from his own game and believe me he s a very good footballer. While he might negate Fenton role to a certain degree he totally negates himself in that role. Anyway Dublin are definitely not on my radar at mó but always enjoy other people's opinions.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 20/10/2020 11:46:37    2299529

Replying To katser:  "Roscommon will clip their wings and bring them down to earth"
For months several Galway fans here have been chuntering on about the absolute necessity of finishing the NFL - so Galway could bate Mayo down to div 2.
Now you hope the Rossies will stop them thus depriving Galway the chance to hammer them in a Connacht final. A case of "Once bitten , twice shy" perhaps - have ye no faith in this Galway team!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 20/10/2020 11:47:05    2299530

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have no worries about our forwards Usename. Even if Clifford and Seanie tied down we have Geaney Lillian Spillane Tony Brosnan and Paudie Clifford a great playmaker. Also Stephen ó Brien. I'd be more worried about our backs even with a sweeper. We do have pace though which helps. On Barry I agree with you. While he does a good job on Fenton it takes from his own game and believe me he s a very good footballer. While he might negate Fenton role to a certain degree he totally negates himself in that role. Anyway Dublin are definitely not on my radar at mó but always enjoy other people's opinions."
On the Sunday Game Spillane was saying he was at the Cork game.
Made a comment about their defending or lack thereof...

The forwards you mention above will have a field day in a few weeks.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/10/2020 12:27:42    2299553

Replying To Fionn:  "On the Sunday Game Spillane was saying he was at the Cork game.
Made a comment about their defending or lack thereof...

The forwards you mention above will have a field day in a few weeks."
I hope you ré right Fionn but I'd always beware of my neighbours especially in the Páirc but yes we should beat them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 20/10/2020 12:58:57    2299563

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I hope you ré right Fionn but I'd always beware of my neighbours especially in the Páirc but yes we should beat them."
The football game I am really looking forward to is Donegal v Tyrone.
This should be an absolute cracker.

I think the game last weekend will have no bearing on it.
MH is one smart operator....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/10/2020 13:17:07    2299571

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have no worries about our forwards Usename. Even if Clifford and Seanie tied down we have Geaney Lillian Spillane Tony Brosnan and Paudie Clifford a great playmaker. Also Stephen ó Brien. I'd be more worried about our backs even with a sweeper. We do have pace though which helps. On Barry I agree with you. While he does a good job on Fenton it takes from his own game and believe me he s a very good footballer. While he might negate Fenton role to a certain degree he totally negates himself in that role. Anyway Dublin are definitely not on my radar at mó but always enjoy other people's opinions."
Fair dues, just a bit of analysis, all opinions Mick, you suspect we both have a few mountains to climb before that becomes an active conversation if it ever does.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/10/2020 13:25:23    2299577

Replying To Fionn:  "The football game I am really looking forward to is Donegal v Tyrone.

MH is one smart operator...."
Oh yes indeed. Donegal look really good but Tyrone ain't too bad either. Really looking forward to that one.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 20/10/2020 13:28:04    2299582

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair dues, just a bit of analysis, all opinions Mick, you suspect we both have a few mountains to climb before that becomes an active conversation if it ever does."
That's for certain Username

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 20/10/2020 15:33:36    2299649

Replying To Fionn:  "The football game I am really looking forward to is Donegal v Tyrone.

MH is one smart operator...."
Donegal are under no illusions where Tyrone are concerned, they hardly got out of 3rd gear the last day, it was just a run out for them I think, Declan Bonner will not be fooled by Mickeys tactics so it's going to take a massive effort to beat them in the Championship, Conor McKenna is only going to improve the more he gets used to gaelic football and the round ball again, a hell of a player to have and he is going to take some watching.
Can't wait for Nov 1st, the league game in Tralee is a dead rubber for us but Kerry could still win the league depending on other results I think? we may play a few of the fringe players on Saturday and keep the big guns ready for Tir Eoghain.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 20/10/2020 15:49:34    2299653