Andy Mcentee And The Referee

Just what the world needed, another thread for some of the Meath lads to have a good cry.

Man-up lads. If this is what ye're like off the field, no wonder ye're lads are bossed around when ye're on it.

I get that relegation is a real blow, and it's not long since my own county team was in the absolute doldrums of mediocrity, but this whining is unbecoming.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 02/03/2020 23:26:23    2271828

Replying To maroondiesel:  "omg, are you saying, "the Meath players caused silly fouls and were frustrated with the ref and Galway were to blame"?? I would give you a D for that essay. next essay please, lol"
No I didn't say that, or imply that.

The Meath players stupidly gave away silly fouls which were ruthlessly punished by Shane Walsh. IMO it was bounre out of frustration by clinical fouling by the Galway players. Furthermore I do not blame the Galway players. In fact I think that it is something that the Meath players could learn from.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 03/03/2020 00:03:27    2271835

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I'm enjoying this tread, people giving out about meath management players and fans, it's like the good old days again but unfortunately without the results, but I've a feeling that we (meath) are about to enter a new successful era, im looking forward to royaldunne having a field day with ye all. Hon the royals."
Another lad with a feeling eh ?
You know lads are desperate when you hear that. " I don't have any logical reason for thinking this but I just have a feeling " .
Dear oh dear boys , dear oh dear.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2020 08:08:33    2271843

Whether he's right or not about the refs I don't like him saying it publicly. I prefer a manager that keeps his composure in front of the camera. However, I don't doubt Andy's honesty and integrity. He really wants the best for Meath. Too be honest he isn't much different from other county managers.

Also anyone I talk to in the county says the same things, we're missing a couple of top class players and the panel is too shallow. Not just injuries, we've had a big turnover of players in the last few years. Lads not willing to commit for a variety of reasons. That's something for ourselves to solve. Not one person has said to me it's cos of refs.

As to this thread, it's just the usual bashing another county. It serves no purpose. Just gives some fans a chance to pretend that because their team have been in Division 1 longer that naturally their fans are more mature and have a greater understanding of the game. It's both arrogant and hypocritical. Lads on here have more interest in taking down other counties than actually being positive about the sport.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 03/03/2020 08:48:37    2271856

Ah here cynical time wasting is part of every game if him and his team are not cute enough to know this and use it themselves when there in the same situation they ain't learning up to here, he wants to cop himself on his whinging is embarrassing.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/03/2020 09:03:35    2271863

Replying To HighKings:  "Whether he's right or not about the refs I don't like him saying it publicly. I prefer a manager that keeps his composure in front of the camera. However, I don't doubt Andy's honesty and integrity. He really wants the best for Meath. Too be honest he isn't much different from other county managers.

Also anyone I talk to in the county says the same things, we're missing a couple of top class players and the panel is too shallow. Not just injuries, we've had a big turnover of players in the last few years. Lads not willing to commit for a variety of reasons. That's something for ourselves to solve. Not one person has said to me it's cos of refs.

As to this thread, it's just the usual bashing another county. It serves no purpose. Just gives some fans a chance to pretend that because their team have been in Division 1 longer that naturally their fans are more mature and have a greater understanding of the game. It's both arrogant and hypocritical. Lads on here have more interest in taking down other counties than actually being positive about the sport."
You can blame RD for most of this bashing.

I'd like too see Meath back challenging and putting it up to the Dubs, with the pick you have, the population and the history Meath has you should be doing better.

Meath need to add more depth to the panel, majority of counties are missing plenty of players this time of year. I'd say Monaghan are the only county who've not been missing several players this time of year. I'd go as far as saying Monaghan have been lucky rather than everyone else has been unlucky.

Galway reached the league final in 2018 and the semi final that year, 11 of those players involved in the AI semi final that day haven't started a game in the league this season, 2 of them have come on for one appearance as a sub for a few minutes. Galway have had to develop a panel to cope with the demands of Div 1 and Meath need to do the same.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 03/03/2020 10:32:36    2271887

Replying To Joxer:  "They've been a bit unlucky in fairness. A few silly defensive errors and a lack of cutting edge up front has cost them dearly. They still look about 2-3 decent players short of div 1 though. Still capable of causing an upset come the Summer all the same. Navan would be a tough gig for any team in the S8s if the Royal were to get that far."
Div 1 is a tough gig for a promoted team, you need to be savvy and have an ability to grind out a result, champagne football is left to the summer. I dont think Kildare, Roscommon, Meath or Cavan have been miles off and each would say they were unlucky in Div 1.

Meath are doing grand, McEntee is in year 3, with Div 1, provincial final and S8s under his belt. Most Meath lads would have bit your hand of for that before he came in. It also looks like there is a bit of plan with young lads being involved. Maybe at the moment there is a bit of an age gap between their top players in Newman, Menton and Keoghan and the lads coming through, another tier after the ones now breaking would be great. There has also been huge funds put into coaching underage recently by the GAA and that could well prove a canny investment given the numbers.

Loosing is a bad habit though especially at the top and can become psychological. There was also a fair criticism i saw from their U20 manager about how they were supported by the county board in our recent surprising heavy win in Leinster, not good to hear, especially as that group had a fair record against Dublin at under age. Its going to be a tough gig getting back to Div 1 to, with a coming Cork, maybe Mayo or Donegal and the usual suspects in Div 2 next year.

I miss Meath, im utterly convinced we would have 50 All Irelands only for them and them maybe close to 20 only for us. Ive been to games in the 90's and 00's that were better atmospheres then All Ireland semis and maybe even finals. You were so utterly exhausted holistically after beating Meath that it was really hard to get up for an All Ireland quarter or semi after getting your nose out in front against them, great battles and great games, i really miss them. I dont think its any coincidence our huge period of dominance has coincided with Meath decline, we now have a similar cake walk to Kerry and look whats happened.

Despite all the success, 5 in a row and all that goes wit hit, the one game i can never watch back and still haven't is the fourth game in the 91 saga, how we lost it is still beyond, i probably never will watch it back it still hurts that much. I was at all four, it was the old hill to and the place just rocked, you could end up anywhere. I can watch back the startled ear wigs and smile in hindsight seeing how many medals that team went on to win but Meath 91, no and probably never will watch it again, gutting.

I was down in Portlaoise for the double header in the first round of the championship last year and a woman and kid were next to us from Meath, we got chatting and they stayed around for the Dublin match, she said the little fella about 7-8 or wanted to stay around and watch Dublin. As the game went on she told me she was the sister on one of Meaths most famous and greatest players of the 90's or 00's, an absolute star and many would have them in their all time 15's. I said to the young fella, you uncle would walk onto that Dublin team and he just smiled at me and continued to go on about Jack McCaffery and Stephen Cluxton, thought that was really sad, but maybe it sums up were Meath are at. they need a year to capture the imaginiation of the county again, a fully mobilized Meath is a sight.

Like i said i miss Meath and the games its the one thing missing from this era of success a competitive Meath, part or me is rooting for them to be strong again in a perverse kind of way, as mad as that sounds, Leinster matches were magic.

To be fair to Meath they hated us, long before it became fashionable to hate us, they were the originals and best. Other rivalries pass the time but you cant take them seriously, there is only one Meath.

Have to say its hard to find more passionate fans, hardcore, unflinching, to be admired, i remember the lads coming on here after the Donegal away game last year in terrible conditioned played late on a sat night in the dead of winter and doing the spin up and down the same day in Div 2, exceptional stuff.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2020 10:41:57    2271893

Meath v close; thought they might have stayed up. You'd expect them to get back up. Some crazy inconsistent decisions by refs so I imagine the guy has a point. However, better to bottle that annoyance and use it as energy.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 03/03/2020 10:58:43    2271896

Meath have received feedback as requested on two matches so far played in the league v Donegal and Mayo, in the Donegal match the powers that be admitted that one of the black cards was incorrect, that black card was issued to one of our best players in Conor McGill and Donegal got 2-2 in his absence including a penalty from the black card incident, against Mayo again it has been admitted that not enough time was played at the end as there were stoppages and substitutes in the announced period of injury time that should have led to more time being allowed. So that's the powers that be agreeing with Andy McEntee's complaints on officiating in two games, I find that pretty damning of where we are from an officiating point of view in the GAA.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2020 11:13:10    2271901

Poor aul Meath

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 03/03/2020 11:22:57    2271905

Replying To TheBishop:  "You can blame RD for most of this bashing.

I'd like too see Meath back challenging and putting it up to the Dubs, with the pick you have, the population and the history Meath has you should be doing better.

Meath need to add more depth to the panel, majority of counties are missing plenty of players this time of year. I'd say Monaghan are the only county who've not been missing several players this time of year. I'd go as far as saying Monaghan have been lucky rather than everyone else has been unlucky.

Galway reached the league final in 2018 and the semi final that year, 11 of those players involved in the AI semi final that day haven't started a game in the league this season, 2 of them have come on for one appearance as a sub for a few minutes. Galway have had to develop a panel to cope with the demands of Div 1 and Meath need to do the same."
I accept RD attracts a lot of hostility but everyone on here knows him well enough at this stage to know he means no harm.

Re the population comment that's not as straight forward as people think. It is starting to show some green shoots now. There was what you might call an adjustment period. Ultimately though we need to cultivate it better.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 03/03/2020 11:33:37    2271907

Replying To Richieq:  "Meath have received feedback as requested on two matches so far played in the league v Donegal and Mayo, in the Donegal match the powers that be admitted that one of the black cards was incorrect, that black card was issued to one of our best players in Conor McGill and Donegal got 2-2 in his absence including a penalty from the black card incident, against Mayo again it has been admitted that not enough time was played at the end as there were stoppages and substitutes in the announced period of injury time that should have led to more time being allowed. So that's the powers that be agreeing with Andy McEntee's complaints on officiating in two games, I find that pretty damning of where we are from an officiating point of view in the GAA."
Where is this, and when did the GAA start hanging their officials out to dry after the game? I'd imagine it'd be much bigger news if this was true.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 03/03/2020 11:33:45    2271908

In the league table of cynical teams Galway are very close to the bottom. We had one such player last year but he has not been involved so far since PJ took over. In fact I believe we have been slow to reach our opponents level of intensity in several games this year, in particular V Roscommon in the FBD final, V Donegal and V the ferocious (totally legal) intensity Meath brought to Sunday's encounter. Mayo the turnover kings will bring it up another notch or 2 the next day and we need to be able to match them fom the get-go.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 03/03/2020 11:39:39    2271911

Replying To Richieq:  "Meath have received feedback as requested on two matches so far played in the league v Donegal and Mayo, in the Donegal match the powers that be admitted that one of the black cards was incorrect, that black card was issued to one of our best players in Conor McGill and Donegal got 2-2 in his absence including a penalty from the black card incident, against Mayo again it has been admitted that not enough time was played at the end as there were stoppages and substitutes in the announced period of injury time that should have led to more time being allowed. So that's the powers that be agreeing with Andy McEntee's complaints on officiating in two games, I find that pretty damning of where we are from an officiating point of view in the GAA."
Hahaha i call bull on this. Andy may be putting out the rumours that the gaa have said this that and the other but i believe it never happened.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 03/03/2020 11:45:30    2271914

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Where is this, and when did the GAA start hanging their officials out to dry after the game? I'd imagine it'd be much bigger news if this was true."
McEntee stated it himself in post match interview when he was asked if they had any interaction with officials

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2020 11:58:41    2271918

Where can I read this??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/03/2020 12:21:59    2271922

Replying To Richieq:  "McEntee stated it himself in post match interview when he was asked if they had any interaction with officials"
Come on Richie...…….have a bit of cop on.

Even it this is true (which I highly doubt) what about the other 3 matches in which he moaned about the ref?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/03/2020 12:25:07    2271923

Replying To Richieq:  "McEntee stated it himself in post match interview when he was asked if they had any interaction with officials"
Oh right Ted , that's grand then. Jaysus above.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2020 12:25:50    2271924

Replying To TheUsername:  "Div 1 is a tough gig for a promoted team, you need to be savvy and have an ability to grind out a result, champagne football is left to the summer. I dont think Kildare, Roscommon, Meath or Cavan have been miles off and each would say they were unlucky in Div 1.

Meath are doing grand, McEntee is in year 3, with Div 1, provincial final and S8s under his belt. Most Meath lads would have bit your hand of for that before he came in. It also looks like there is a bit of plan with young lads being involved. Maybe at the moment there is a bit of an age gap between their top players in Newman, Menton and Keoghan and the lads coming through, another tier after the ones now breaking would be great. There has also been huge funds put into coaching underage recently by the GAA and that could well prove a canny investment given the numbers.

Loosing is a bad habit though especially at the top and can become psychological. There was also a fair criticism i saw from their U20 manager about how they were supported by the county board in our recent surprising heavy win in Leinster, not good to hear, especially as that group had a fair record against Dublin at under age. Its going to be a tough gig getting back to Div 1 to, with a coming Cork, maybe Mayo or Donegal and the usual suspects in Div 2 next year.

I miss Meath, im utterly convinced we would have 50 All Irelands only for them and them maybe close to 20 only for us. Ive been to games in the 90's and 00's that were better atmospheres then All Ireland semis and maybe even finals. You were so utterly exhausted holistically after beating Meath that it was really hard to get up for an All Ireland quarter or semi after getting your nose out in front against them, great battles and great games, i really miss them. I dont think its any coincidence our huge period of dominance has coincided with Meath decline, we now have a similar cake walk to Kerry and look whats happened.

Despite all the success, 5 in a row and all that goes wit hit, the one game i can never watch back and still haven't is the fourth game in the 91 saga, how we lost it is still beyond, i probably never will watch it back it still hurts that much. I was at all four, it was the old hill to and the place just rocked, you could end up anywhere. I can watch back the startled ear wigs and smile in hindsight seeing how many medals that team went on to win but Meath 91, no and probably never will watch it again, gutting.

I was down in Portlaoise for the double header in the first round of the championship last year and a woman and kid were next to us from Meath, we got chatting and they stayed around for the Dublin match, she said the little fella about 7-8 or wanted to stay around and watch Dublin. As the game went on she told me she was the sister on one of Meaths most famous and greatest players of the 90's or 00's, an absolute star and many would have them in their all time 15's. I said to the young fella, you uncle would walk onto that Dublin team and he just smiled at me and continued to go on about Jack McCaffery and Stephen Cluxton, thought that was really sad, but maybe it sums up were Meath are at. they need a year to capture the imaginiation of the county again, a fully mobilized Meath is a sight.

Like i said i miss Meath and the games its the one thing missing from this era of success a competitive Meath, part or me is rooting for them to be strong again in a perverse kind of way, as mad as that sounds, Leinster matches were magic.

To be fair to Meath they hated us, long before it became fashionable to hate us, they were the originals and best. Other rivalries pass the time but you cant take them seriously, there is only one Meath.

Have to say its hard to find more passionate fans, hardcore, unflinching, to be admired, i remember the lads coming on here after the Donegal away game last year in terrible conditioned played late on a sat night in the dead of winter and doing the spin up and down the same day in Div 2, exceptional stuff."
Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!!

Im fine with Meath being rubbish. Long may it continue.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/03/2020 12:32:51    2271927

Must be true so lol

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 03/03/2020 12:41:07    2271930