The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To Canuck:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "This right left nonsense is what has democracy destroyed every where. Especially the U.S. I suspect without actual proof but just on personnel interaction with people that the majority are neither and actually are for what is the right. Politician's stoke this right left sh-t up to keep themselves relevant. See how quick they are all on the same side when it is too their own benefit or drinking in the Dail bar. We the public swallow the hook and sinker.
Sorry for going off subject but seen as it was brought up.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 803 - 22/08/2020 18:04:52
Well thats complete nonsense.
Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution but they havent destroyed anything

Ireland is crying out for a conservative alternative . Fine Gael should be right wing but they aren't. Basically we've got a hodge podge of middle of the road left wing Republican parties and then a few loony toon left . So the 30% of voters who would be right wing have no one to vote for..and they don't want to vote for some lunatic far right micro parties.
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1250 - 22/08/2020 18:36:51
We dont need any more conservative groups. We need to look to more socially aware and left orientated parties.. Social Democrats and Greens with Labour moving back more left would be great"
" Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution "
YA! they also chopped the heads off people. I would not be using them as an example to how our democracies would be best served today."
well done on missing the point"]Good from one of the biggest b.s.'s on this forum. A know all about every thing that knows nothing.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 23/08/2020 15:46:42    2288759

Replying To KillingFields:  "What exactly makes them good for the GAA or economy?"
S.F are Irish nationalists. They support our culture. They know from the experiances in the North, what it is too support the GAA. Regarding the economy, well Pearse Doherty is quite good. He comes across as fairly able. Also being in the EU now, so much of our economic policy is decided by Brussels. So whoever is in govt must take account of EU law. So this would probably stop too much spending. (S.F accused off over spending)

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 23/08/2020 18:52:44    2288784

Replying To lilypad:  "Yes absolutely, the left is bleeding us dry, a horrific shower of idiots."
"The left is bleeding us dry."

I agree, we've had enough of those commie bankers and socialist CEOs. Don't get me started on the tanky judges.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 371 - 23/08/2020 19:13:25    2288788

Good from one of the biggest b.s.'s on this forum. A know all about every thing that knows nothing.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 806 - 23/08/2020 15:46:42
Care to answer how what you say about chopping heads and french revolution was relevant to the discussion?
Or how left and right wing has destroyed democracy and how you would change that? Or are you capable of doing that?

S.F are Irish nationalists. They support our culture. They know from the experiances in the North, what it is too support the GAA. Regarding the economy, well Pearse Doherty is quite good. He comes across as fairly able. Also being in the EU now, so much of our economic policy is decided by Brussels. So whoever is in govt must take account of EU law. So this would probably stop too much spending. (S.F accused off over spending)
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1786 - 23/08/2020 18:52:44
That isnt really true now is it and FF/FG etc know as much as SF on experiences of people in the north.
Saying much of our economic policy is decided by brussels isnt completely the truth. they must take into account EU law but theres so much more than that

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 23/08/2020 19:40:20    2288793

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry on ur loss man rip.
Also I know how tough it is my own business that I have built up for years is on its knees. Keep the chin up man. The kids will be grand once dad is ok."
Cheers and thanks, tough times, but great to be on sidelines. Lots of people young and old, need our games.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 23/08/2020 19:57:32    2288798

The golden rules lads are simple; no talk of politics and no talk of religion. It causes nothing only arguments and divisions and nobody cares about anyone elses opinion on these forums or any forums once these types of discussions become the norm. It becomes chaos. Im a very politically minded person myself but I use this to escape reality, not debate it, and Id ask anyone else who agrees with me on this to be vocal about that. This forum is for GAA topics.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 23/08/2020 20:06:35    2288800

Replying To Young_gael:  "The golden rules lads are simple; no talk of politics and no talk of religion. It causes nothing only arguments and divisions and nobody cares about anyone elses opinion on these forums or any forums once these types of discussions become the norm. It becomes chaos. Im a very politically minded person myself but I use this to escape reality, not debate it, and Id ask anyone else who agrees with me on this to be vocal about that. This forum is for GAA topics."
I'm with you on that, we need some positivity. Especially at the moment.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 23/08/2020 20:43:21    2288806

Replying To Young_gael:  "The golden rules lads are simple; no talk of politics and no talk of religion. It causes nothing only arguments and divisions and nobody cares about anyone elses opinion on these forums or any forums once these types of discussions become the norm. It becomes chaos. Im a very politically minded person myself but I use this to escape reality, not debate it, and Id ask anyone else who agrees with me on this to be vocal about that. This forum is for GAA topics."
I agree, but the problem is that there has been no real GAA activity or games (besides club, which aren't of general interest) over the last five months to comment on; that a lot of topics are straying in to non-related GAA subjects.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 23/08/2020 20:49:11    2288809

Does this ruling apply to the RTE thread.?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/08/2020 20:54:38    2288811

Replying To galwayford:  "As a S.F voter I would disagree. I think they should be given a chance to govern. They would be good for the GAA and Irish language. And probably the economy too. They would bring an all island view, which to me, we are just a small island on the edge of Europe. And need to pull together."
Sorry. Sf would bankrupt the country. Their ideas are off the wall. Good for the gaa?? Not a bloody hope. Irish language? Ahh come off it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/08/2020 21:03:22    2288813

Replying To arock:  "Cheers and thanks, tough times, but great to be on sidelines. Lots of people young and old, need our games."
Agreed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/08/2020 21:10:55    2288816

Replying To galwayford:  "As a S.F voter I would disagree. I think they should be given a chance to govern. They would be good for the GAA and Irish language. And probably the economy too. They would bring an all island view, which to me, we are just a small island on the edge of Europe. And need to pull together."
They had a chance to govern but didn't really engage in any meaningful way. If the ever got any power, I would be out of here like a rat out of an aqueduct! Truly would be the end of our great Republic.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/08/2020 22:09:21    2288822

Replying To greysoil:  "They had a chance to govern but didn't really engage in any meaningful way. If the ever got any power, I would be out of here like a rat out of an aqueduct! Truly would be the end of our great Republic."
Like a mouse up a jamjar!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7326 - 23/08/2020 23:21:08    2288836

And good luck to you Arock for the future sir.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/08/2020 00:08:53    2288842

Replying To greysoil:  "They had a chance to govern but didn't really engage in any meaningful way. If the ever got any power, I would be out of here like a rat out of an aqueduct! Truly would be the end of our great Republic."
There's senior teams in Donegal that have no players between the ages of 23 and 35 because they have all emigrated under Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

Our great republic is nothing but a great tax haven today.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 371 - 24/08/2020 00:14:23    2288843

Replying To galwayford:  "S.F are Irish nationalists. They support our culture. They know from the experiances in the North, what it is too support the GAA. Regarding the economy, well Pearse Doherty is quite good. He comes across as fairly able. Also being in the EU now, so much of our economic policy is decided by Brussels. So whoever is in govt must take account of EU law. So this would probably stop too much spending. (S.F accused off over spending)"
Those of us working for US multinationals here would be extremely nervous at the thought of SF coming into power....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 24/08/2020 07:36:40    2288850

What do ye make of horans comments on a championship going ahead this year?

From what I made of it is theyll help the counties financially and if a team have a suspected or positive Covid case then that team is removed from the competition.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/08/2020 10:11:01    2288863

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What do ye make of horans comments on a championship going ahead this year?

From what I made of it is theyll help the counties financially and if a team have a suspected or positive Covid case then that team is removed from the competition."
I can fully understand why the GAA and the parts of society that follow gaelic sports would want the championship to go ahead as it offers people an escape from day to day life which is tough at the moment and will continue to be so in the months and maybe years ahead until we have eradicated this virus and life returns to some sort of what we call normality. I hope that the championship does go ahead and that it is completed without any team having to withdraw but it is hard to predict with a degree of certainty. I listened to various interviews over the last few days since the restrictions came in and to John Horan's interview and I must say that some pundits\commentators need to a reality check. Cases are on the increase and people are dying. You would think to listen to some pundits/commentators that the GAA is being singled out for unfair treatment which is simply not the case. Equally, John Horan said yesterday that if a player in a particular county tests positive then that team will need to pull out of the championship which makes sense to me especially as the championship is going to be played as a knock out competition over a short timespan in the lead up to Christmas. I think the GAA should clarify how the championship will play out and the various permutations that may come into play and how these permutations will be handled. It is then up to each county to decide if they are willing to participate in the championship or not. I think it is more important that the championship is played and that everyone is safe than who wins it but maybe that is because my own county has no chance of winning it. In relation to costs, what this pandemic has shown in a number of sports is that the way that teams are being run is not sustainable. There should be a cap amount that any county can spend on their county teams; it should be administered from Croke Park, not only would this help with reducing the costs, it would make it a more level playing field for all teams especially ones that can't have 30 members of a backroom team.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1908 - 24/08/2020 10:59:47    2288868

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What do ye make of horans comments on a championship going ahead this year?

From what I made of it is theyll help the counties financially and if a team have a suspected or positive Covid case then that team is removed from the competition."
Good to see they'll get the funding as I would love to see it go ahead this year. McConville is right though about teams hiding it to avoid being thrown out. I think if it is to go ahead there has to be an extra month there if needed to extend the championship as it would be very hard on lads to commit to a season over the winter and to be thrown out at the later stages over that.

bearindsquare (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 24/08/2020 11:12:44    2288874

Lets hope it happens then!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 24/08/2020 11:16:23    2288876