The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "My conclusion? I don't have a conclusion yet - unlike a lot it seems I am pretty open minded on the whole Covid whereas others seem to have their mind made up already that we are either all doomed or that the whole thing is a con. When the 2020 figures have all been collated and published it will give a truer picture of it all.

I have been working at home since March, I have observed all the rules laid out, I wear my mask the odd time I venture in to the shop, sanitize the hands on the way in, maintain my distance etc etc etc. But as I say, I also get beyond the hysteria and the headlines and look at the real data to try and make an informed decision as to how damaging the virus is in regard to deaths (month to month, year on year and 5 year averages), the economy, the mental well being of society etc.

What I have noticed though throughout is that it is people like yourself who have their minds made up already that tend to be the most vocal/aggressive in shouting anyone down who has a different stance or who may look at figures and question the narrative or the measures being enforced to combat it.

The reality is none of us know so how can any of us be in a position where we are telling others they are wrong."
There is a difference between denying what the virus is and being critical of the response to it, in particular after we have learned so much about the virus but also about human behavior. I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world. Its clear now that a new strategy of living with the virus is needed rather than a lockdown will solve it. When people look at the stats etc. the one thing they don't look at is the fact that the starts were at a time of a lockdown which clearly stops the spread so using what actually happened is not an accurate reflection of what could have happened.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 31/10/2020 18:08:01    2303494

Replying To zinny:  "There is a difference between denying what the virus is and being critical of the response to it, in particular after we have learned so much about the virus but also about human behavior. I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world. Its clear now that a new strategy of living with the virus is needed rather than a lockdown will solve it. When people look at the stats etc. the one thing they don't look at is the fact that the starts were at a time of a lockdown which clearly stops the spread so using what actually happened is not an accurate reflection of what could have happened."
Would you say Ireland did a better or worse job of it than Sweden?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 31/10/2020 21:14:56    2303601

I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world.
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 31/10/2020 18:08:01 2303494

You? were hopeful of starving the virus?

What virus has ever been starved?

What are your scientific or medical qualifications in the field?

This is a classic case of ignorant, and dangerous nonsense being spread by people who have haven't a clue what they are talking about.

In the current climate, Hoganstand should shut this this topic down. It has become nothing to do with GAA matches, and only encourages keyboard medical experts, quacks and flat-earthers.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 31/10/2020 22:10:35    2303631

Why arent some games played at the Connacht GAA Air Dome? No crowds and terrible weather make it the perfect venue

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 01/11/2020 17:00:23    2303940

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world.

This is a classic case of ignorant, and dangerous nonsense being spread by people who have haven't a clue what they are talking about.

In the current climate, Hoganstand should shut this this topic down. It has become nothing to do with GAA matches, and only encourages keyboard medical experts, quacks and flat-earthers."
Flat Earth? Of course it's flat....haven't you ever seen a World Map? Very flat!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 01/11/2020 21:26:25    2304133

Thanks again to all the players, management teams, county boards for another great weekend of action and brightening up a pretty miserable weekend. Really appreciated by this couch potato.

Just like the club championships in most counties, it is clear these championships will complete and managements have learned how to avoid getting fouled up by close contact diktats.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 01/11/2020 23:07:40    2304187

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world.

In the current climate, Hoganstand should shut this this topic down. It has become nothing to do with GAA matches, and only encourages keyboard medical experts, quacks and flat-earthers."
Lets see - ah not so long ago there was a virus called SARS - the original version - look it up - how did it disappear well technically it still exists but not in circulation any more.
Today we have have a few example of how starvation of a virus works - take NZ for example, if the virus is denied hosts to pass onto then it eventually dies out - do you think NZ have a magic spray or something?
So yes starvation of the virus is a pretty common concept in fact that is what the whole concept of lockdowns are supposed to - you deny the virus the opportunity to pass onto another person and hence you eventually would starve it out of existence.

So which one of your four options are you?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 02/11/2020 15:32:55    2304461

Replying To Trump2020:  "Would you say Ireland did a better or worse job of it than Sweden?"
They are learning more about the virus the longer its out there and I guess there are aspects which still have to be explained and certainly one of those is why certain regions of the world were less effected than others. I wouldn't compare Ireland to Sweden rather I would compare Sweden to Norway and when you do that then Sweden doesn't look so good. However there are aspects of the way the Swedish social support system was setup that point to how in the future countries may have to reposition how they spend their money - too often the problem is a lot of countries that contributed to the spread was the fact that low paid workers couldn't afford to be sick at home for too weeks - that is why it hit certain demographics harder than others. I remember a quote about the Spanish Flu and it was that it didn't discriminate unless you were rich! Did we do better than the England hard to say also and that's only if you take into account London. So I would be slow to judge who did better than others as there are so many different factors that go into it. There is a country of 1.4B that is covid free but I am not sure how many people would want to go live there!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 02/11/2020 15:47:24    2304465

Replying To zinny:  "They are learning more about the virus the longer its out there and I guess there are aspects which still have to be explained and certainly one of those is why certain regions of the world were less effected than others. I wouldn't compare Ireland to Sweden rather I would compare Sweden to Norway and when you do that then Sweden doesn't look so good. However there are aspects of the way the Swedish social support system was setup that point to how in the future countries may have to reposition how they spend their money - too often the problem is a lot of countries that contributed to the spread was the fact that low paid workers couldn't afford to be sick at home for too weeks - that is why it hit certain demographics harder than others. I remember a quote about the Spanish Flu and it was that it didn't discriminate unless you were rich! Did we do better than the England hard to say also and that's only if you take into account London. So I would be slow to judge who did better than others as there are so many different factors that go into it. There is a country of 1.4B that is covid free but I am not sure how many people would want to go live there!"
Yeah there's a lot of factors to look at. Sweden vs Norway or Finland is probably more fair and accurate.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/11/2020 00:07:32    2304662

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "My conclusion? I don't have a conclusion yet - unlike a lot it seems I am pretty open minded on the whole Covid whereas others seem to have their mind made up already that we are either all doomed or that the whole thing is a con. When the 2020 figures have all been collated and published it will give a truer picture of it all.

I have been working at home since March, I have observed all the rules laid out, I wear my mask the odd time I venture in to the shop, sanitize the hands on the way in, maintain my distance etc etc etc. But as I say, I also get beyond the hysteria and the headlines and look at the real data to try and make an informed decision as to how damaging the virus is in regard to deaths (month to month, year on year and 5 year averages), the economy, the mental well being of society etc.

What I have noticed though throughout is that it is people like yourself who have their minds made up already that tend to be the most vocal/aggressive in shouting anyone down who has a different stance or who may look at figures and question the narrative or the measures being enforced to combat it.

The reality is none of us know so how can any of us be in a position where we are telling others they are wrong."
Fair play Offside Rule. Too many 'experts' on social media and too many paying heed to them. Let the authorities and real qualified people in Ireland make the calls and we'll get through this even if it's gonna take longer than anticipated.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 03/11/2020 08:24:17    2304676

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Fair play Offside Rule. Too many 'experts' on social media and too many paying heed to them. Let the authorities and real qualified people in Ireland make the calls and we'll get through this even if it's gonna take longer than anticipated."
Err on the side of caution. Wash your hands, wear a damn mask, stay out of crowds, etc. Just play it safe and hopefully there'll be a vaccine soon.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/11/2020 17:24:42    2304894

Replying To Trump2020:  "Err on the side of caution. Wash your hands, wear a damn mask, stay out of crowds, etc. Just play it safe and hopefully there'll be a vaccine soon."
listening to Timmy Dooley this evening on the radio it's clear the gov are going to push for allowing every mothers son and his wife home for Christmas, we'll be back in crisis again by Feb and level 5 again, the politicians are only concerned with being popular and getting votes.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 03/11/2020 17:54:57    2304912

Replying To zinny:  "

Lets see - ah not so long ago there was a virus called SARS - the original version - look it up - how did it disappear well technically it still exists but not in circulation any more.
Today we have have a few example of how starvation of a virus works - take NZ for example, if the virus is denied hosts to pass onto then it eventually dies out - do you think NZ have a magic spray or something?
So yes starvation of the virus is a pretty common concept in fact that is what the whole concept of lockdowns are supposed to - you deny the virus the opportunity to pass onto another person and hence you eventually would starve it out of existence.

So which one of your four options are you?"
"So yes starvation of the virus is a pretty common concept"

Bullshit!

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 03/11/2020 22:32:58    2304973

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To zinny:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "I was hopeful in the beginning that you could starve this virus but that was only looking at where starvation was enforced by a fear of something greater or being cast adrift from the rest of the world.

So which one of your four options are you?"
"So yes starvation of the virus is a pretty common concept"

Bullshit!"]i believe a general cull of the population would starve the virus , like they do with cattle or pigs. That would solve the issue. A world-wide cull of humans is what is needed. any volunteers to do the culling ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/11/2020 22:51:30    2304979

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "listening to Timmy Dooley this evening on the radio it's clear the gov are going to push for allowing every mothers son and his wife home for Christmas, we'll be back in crisis again by Feb and level 5 again, the politicians are only concerned with being popular and getting votes."
If Timmy is where we are at in this country, we are well & truly ******.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 03/11/2020 23:42:14    2304991

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "listening to Timmy Dooley this evening on the radio it's clear the gov are going to push for allowing every mothers son and his wife home for Christmas, we'll be back in crisis again by Feb and level 5 again, the politicians are only concerned with being popular and getting votes."
Yes - the 3rd wave has been predicted for a long time now to hit us all in Feb.

Not sure we will be better prepared for it then either though unfortunately.
Different strains of it are mutating already....

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2020/1104/1175979-denmark-mink-cull/

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 05/11/2020 09:24:21    2305256

New vaccine passed all the tests with flying colours. Looks like we might get the championship back to its former glory in a few months time...

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 09/11/2020 21:21:42    2307007

Replying To SaffronDon:  "New vaccine passed all the tests with flying colours. Looks like we might get the championship back to its former glory in a few months time..."
Just hook it to my veins :)

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/11/2020 20:47:02    2307355

McConville should look at the number of cases in the North. Its worse then the 26 Counties. I don't where he is going with getting a few thousand in for a Ulster final

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 11/11/2020 12:21:05    2307531

This topic is now on the fourth page and the top topics at the moment are about it being Mayo's year and how Dublin get all the money, so you would think that all is back to normal. I even saw a couple of different topics giving out about referees . Are we all in agreement now it was a good idea to go ahead with the championship? Its not over yet but it doesn't seem as if playing it has been responsible for a surge in Covid infections, in fact the GAA has fared better than some professional teams. There will of course be people who say that this years championship means nothing - normally lads from the losing teams but I have seen nothing to suggest that the standards have changed, its just the crowds are missing - so visually its strange and I do miss that roar. With the Hurling Semis on this weekend I ask you now who is not looking forward to watching them (unless you don't like hurling!)?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 26/11/2020 16:33:54    2315671