The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Fionn:  "Ok so the Taoiseach was just on talking about us all going into Level 5 from Wed - no mention of Sport or Elite Sport as they call it...

Did I miss something, or are they still trying to avoid making a decision on it....??"
Stephen Donnelly just confirmed on Claire Byrne GAA championship can go ahead along with elite sport

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 19/10/2020 21:57:18    2299415

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "I think you are wrong to be honest. Donegal had the highest rate in Ireland, even surpassing Dublin, just a few weeks ago and were rightfully placed in Level 3. We've now gone to four since last week and numbers are down from 50+ a day to just 14 yesterday. The current restrictions need to be given a chance and 40 lads heading to another county to play a game isn't going to be the difference in beating Covid 19 transmission.
The reality is that after the first round of games 16 teams are out of football and numbers diminishing with each round.
It's like the Green Party looking for us to cut emissions and making out that if Ireland does this then then global warming will stop. The GAA is as small a player in overall Covid transfer as Ireland is to Global warming!"
I wish it was that simple but unfortunately it's not. I'm not going to repeat what has already been said just to add a couple of undeniable facts, such as, the mental health of the elderly is being tested to the limit even if they are not directly affected, likewise the mentality of the very young school going children is being elasticated and stretched in different directions mostly because of the change in family behaviors, the cohort of young people in between have to stop short from leading a normal developing life style. Going to level 5 is going to not alone have a negative effect on the economy and most definitely job losses but also less money in the pockets of Mammy's and Daddy's coming up to Santy and Christmas time.

Going up to level 5 is a big call especially at this time of year, it's only my personal believe but it could have been avoided if we all had played our part instead of playing a game of Russian roulette with C-19, I don't think I am being controversial by saying the GAA could have postponed all games for the duration of our stay in level 5, in my own opinion it would have helped to minimize however small the 1000 plus per day those testing positive to C-19, matches are now being played behind closed doors, that in itself is a costly exercise, by spring of 2021 it's said the association will have lost many millions of euros, playing games behind closed doors only adds to that enormous loss, it doesn't make sense as of now and it certainly doesn't make financial sense, so what's so important of playing games behind closed doors.?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/10/2020 22:18:56    2299420

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Gaa still allowed go ahead as far as I'm aware."
Government advice is that: 'No training or matches should take place, with the exception of professional, elite sports and inter-county Gaelic games, horse-racing and greyhound racing'.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 19/10/2020 22:33:06    2299426

Oh great, all ireland finals that feel like theyre being played in st annes park and if the figures dont go down in a few weeks theyll blame the players

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 19/10/2020 22:33:24    2299428

The entire country needs to go to level 5 but the All Ireland Championships are still going ahead? Something not adding up here.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 19/10/2020 23:59:45    2299449

Replying To M Lyster:  "The entire country needs to go to level 5 but the All Ireland Championships are still going ahead? Something not adding up here."
It does seem more than a bit strange. You can not go down the road 6km. to visit your old uncle who lives on his own but your neighbour over the fence plays for the county team and he/she can travel to the county grounds or across the country for games while mingling with over 30 people.
I really want the games but you are right it does not add up. People will get their back up and not comply. Then things will go to hell in a hand basket with the virus.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 20/10/2020 00:39:41    2299454

Replying To M Lyster:  "The entire country needs to go to level 5 but the All Ireland Championships are still going ahead? Something not adding up here."
Not necessarily.. it's a tiny percentage of the population doing an activity in a highly controlled environment and the government recognises that its ability to give people a lift during a difficult time outweighs its risk. It doesn't have to be all or nothing... there are other exemptions too..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 20/10/2020 05:04:46    2299461

Is this a first..... never seen a GAA team bring their own exercise bike for the players to a game - especially all the way from kerry to Monaghan.... ;o)

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/313606

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/10/2020 08:40:43    2299466

Majority of people polled against: https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1019/1172606-rte-gaa-championship-poll/

To me, in terms of transmission, schools and colleges are considerably more risky, but not a word about those.

Of course, they may just have polled a bunch of those folks who like to signal their superior social class by being sniffy about the GAA. Dublin's full of them, which is why I never can get too concerned about the Dubs doing well ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/10/2020 09:35:13    2299475

Replying To Canuck:  "It does seem more than a bit strange. You can not go down the road 6km. to visit your old uncle who lives on his own but your neighbour over the fence plays for the county team and he/she can travel to the county grounds or across the country for games while mingling with over 30 people.
I really want the games but you are right it does not add up. People will get their back up and not comply. Then things will go to hell in a hand basket with the virus."
Yes Canuck and a secondary schools teachers spend 6 hours a day in a confined classroom with 18 and 19 year old adults. The point is we can all see flaws in the regulations and just ignore them because they don't add up but then we're all losers and stuck in this situation for even longer. We all know your not going to be stopped going 6 ks to see an uncle, just meet him at the back door or talk through a window- the guards won't be hiding in the hedge to catch us out. Let's all just get on with what we're asked to do for the next 6 weeks and the sport (all sports) will make it a small bit easier. Remember every day that passes is 1 day closer to all this ending.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 20/10/2020 10:10:16    2299485

Replying To Canuck:  "It does seem more than a bit strange. You can not go down the road 6km. to visit your old uncle who lives on his own but your neighbour over the fence plays for the county team and he/she can travel to the county grounds or across the country for games while mingling with over 30 people.
I really want the games but you are right it does not add up. People will get their back up and not comply. Then things will go to hell in a hand basket with the virus."
We were training and playing all summer with zero cases. It was only when teams started winning and celebrating along with the inevitable rise as we head into Winter that it started jumping again.

I think it's great they are going ahead for the mental health of the nation if anything.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 20/10/2020 10:42:06    2299501

Replying To essmac:  "Majority of people polled against: https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1019/1172606-rte-gaa-championship-poll/

To me, in terms of transmission, schools and colleges are considerably more risky, but not a word about those.

Of course, they may just have polled a bunch of those folks who like to signal their superior social class by being sniffy about the GAA. Dublin's full of them, which is why I never can get too concerned about the Dubs doing well ..."
Gaa is a middle/country class sport in Ireland mostly, not so prevalent in working class areas where soccer is main sport. Any b*t*hiness about GAA tends be from people who aren't into sport and have trauma from not fitting into the GAA scene, which in fairness, if you are not into GAA and you grow up in a rural town or parish, you are really going to struggle to fit in.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 20/10/2020 10:56:08    2299503

There's alot of negativity coming from people whos counties will be out in the first or second round.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/10/2020 11:00:40    2299504

Replying To yew_tree:  "We were training and playing all summer with zero cases. It was only when teams started winning and celebrating along with the inevitable rise as we head into Winter that it started jumping again.

I think it's great they are going ahead for the mental health of the nation if anything."
If I want to visit the chemist, or my doctor 7.5 km away in Tullamore, I assume this is allowed without penalty, from Thursday. A lot of people in rural Ireland are more than 5 km from their nearest large town.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 20/10/2020 11:05:27    2299507

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "If I want to visit the chemist, or my doctor 7.5 km away in Tullamore, I assume this is allowed without penalty, from Thursday. A lot of people in rural Ireland are more than 5 km from their nearest large town."
It would be an essential journey if you require medical assistance or medication so that is no problem.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/10/2020 11:12:33    2299511

Replying To bloodyban:  "There's alot of negativity coming from people whos counties will be out in the first or second round."
Have Limerick got a bye to the semi's this year?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 20/10/2020 11:19:07    2299515

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Have Limerick got a bye to the semi's this year?"
You do know that the GAA has two sports ya?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 20/10/2020 11:30:16    2299519

Let's put things into a bit of perspective. According to stats from Infrastructure NI there are over 5000 vehicles per day crossing the border between Donegal and NI. If each of these is carrying just one person that's over 5000 people moving to another jurisdiction. Even if 50% of these are for essential reasons that a big number of people. Some of these will be going or coming from an uncontrolled environment in relation to C19.
With these numbers in mind, how anyone can claim that 50 of a panel heading to another jurisdiction, at their own free will and with proper procedures in place can heighten the spread of C19 is beyond me.
Even looking at the structure this year and it being a knockout scenario there will be a massive drop in playing figures over the next 3 weeks.
Someone mentioned the non-sporting fraternity are up in arms. I can understand that as you wouldn't see it as essential but these same people wouldn't understand the time and commitment levels that the players have put in to be ready for championship. I think the GAA have done well to stand with the players and allow them the opportunity to have the championship. It's also good to note that these lads aren't professionals and aren't contracted to a team. If for any reason they feel playing is putting them in a precarious position I don't think any right minded individual would have any issues of them taking the year out.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 20/10/2020 11:48:18    2299531

Replying To bloodyban:  "There's alot of negativity coming from people whos counties will be out in the first or second round."
That's it exactly. Same with Leitrim the other day Terry Hyland has spent the last few months banging on about how this year should be wrote off because they are certs to get relegated and was hoping league would be null and void. Pulled a game for the media at the weekend hoping it would push the gaa into pulling the season which hasn't worked. I wonder will he have the bottle to send out a team now that it looks almost certain to go ahead. Their hurlers had no issue playing last weekend.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 20/10/2020 11:50:24    2299533

There is a real blame game going on at the minute. Sure county final celebrations were not good we all accept that but cases were already rising before any of them finals were played. It's a Pandemic mass movement of people on staycations people dropping around for coffee or having a few drinks with friends will all add to this but these are normal human behaviours. And we are not unique all over Europe cases have been soaring for weeks and as far as I'm aware no county final celebrations took place in any of those countries. There is a hint in the name wave that tells you how these pandemics work. This whole I can't do this so nobody should be able to do anything argument is not in anyway productive and only exasperates the feeling of despair many of us have. I'm delighted games will go ahead, it's winter the days are short and the evenings long and anything that makes the next few months more bareable I'll take. It will be nice to talk to family and friends about the game on Sunday rather than how many cases there was yesterday.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1591 - 20/10/2020 11:53:37    2299535