Both are professional or semi professional. Jockeys get paid as do LOI soccer players. GAA is an amateur sport.
Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 15/10/2020 16:01:06 2297807 Link 10 |
Jaysus that's not a good start. I wonder can/will teams forfeit fixtures if there's an outbreak. I know that doesn't make for a great championship but it could be a last resort if there's a push to get the championships finished this year. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/10/2020 16:04:12 2297808 Link 7 |
League of ireland football is professional and players can isolate beyond training and playing to their families. Horse racing only trainers, stable staff and limited people beyond that in attendance. very different to gaa. is it not?
KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3669 - 15/10/2020 16:04:42 2297809 Link 1 |
Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2022 - 15/10/2020 16:08:13 2297810 Link 2 |
How many cases have been traced back to been spread player to player during the duration of a match? What a load of waffle
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1185 - 15/10/2020 16:30:04 2297815 Link 0 |
The cases from Fermanagh and now wexford are worrying
Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 15/10/2020 16:34:08 2297818 Link 0 |
i see there is not a great understanding of science in roscommon, theres a surprise!!!!
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2889 - 15/10/2020 16:38:52 2297819 Link 3 |
I would think that teams are more likely to cover up than forfeit, unfortunately.... Has the makings of a right mess unless they can go into NBA style bubbles... That is a huge undertaking for amateur players though. But look - LOI players are mainly amateurs, most have jobs also - so if they can continue to avoid it, then maybe GAA players can too... I still maintain that a final decision will be made after the league games are completed, and see how it all fared out, and what the Covid numbers are like then. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3970 - 15/10/2020 16:44:49 2297823 Link 0 |
In what way Einstein?
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1185 - 15/10/2020 16:45:01 2297824 Link 1 |
I implore you to find an example from any sport anywhere in the world where a case of COVID was passed on the field of play during a match. The vast majority of cases are being transmitted in households (over 3/4 of clusters this past week) and that's why household visits have now been banned. The current outbreaks in GAA circles are nothing to do with matches or training. End of.
Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 15/10/2020 16:51:34 2297828 Link 0 |
Ah your having a laugh when you mention league of Ireland and professional in the same sentence. Please get a grip of yourself. Your good craic if nothing else.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2149 - 15/10/2020 17:07:45 2297832 Link 5 |
Thousands of club players played during the summer...no spike or evidence of cases occurred on the field of play.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11399 - 15/10/2020 17:35:09 2297833 Link 10 |
For such a load of waffle, there seems to a number of players and the players association very concerned in advance of matches going ahead at the weekend. It may turn out ok but in my opinion it is madness to have players travelling all over ireland playing matches when cases are so high. How are you so sure that the virus isn't being transmitted between players? In a lot of cases we don't know how it is being transmitted.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2022 - 15/10/2020 17:56:29 2297837 Link 3 |
League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at. Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2149 - 15/10/2020 18:05:36 2297839 Link 0 |
Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed. KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3669 - 15/10/2020 18:08:55 2297840 Link 0 |
League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at. KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3669 - 15/10/2020 18:29:47 2297844 Link 1 |
Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed. KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3669 - 15/10/2020 18:32:36 2297845 Link 0 |
Lines of what
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2149 - 15/10/2020 18:47:24 2297849 Link 2 |
it appears 2 Shamrock players, and 2 of their best players, have now tested positive for Covid. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3970 - 15/10/2020 19:01:17 2297852 Link 0 |
Ye you could be right, teams really wouldn't fancy forfeiting. Unless maybe the Gaa works with the HSE to conduct regular tests to try and avoid that possibility. We are still living day by day with this virus unfortunately so I don't think the plug could be pulled at any time. Both the Government and the Gaa may have the best intentions to see out the championships this year but if the numbers keep ballooning they have to call it. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/10/2020 19:05:21 2297854 Link 8 |