The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Look any clown could count that there was more than 200 in Navan today, grand if social distancing but, all on top of each other in the stand - this is the kind of poor management and organisation which will have implications for the rest of the country. No one can honestly say that there was social distancing....
Then we tune into the Cork final - a fine big ground and its empty. Well done Cork, Meath need to do better!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 04/10/2020 20:21:44    2295661

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Look any clown could count that there was more than 200 in Navan today, grand if social distancing but, all on top of each other in the stand - this is the kind of poor management and organisation which will have implications for the rest of the country. No one can honestly say that there was social distancing....
Then we tune into the Cork final - a fine big ground and its empty. Well done Cork, Meath need to do better!!"
Soccer style celebrations after scoring goal was worse.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2040 - 04/10/2020 20:29:33    2295666

Country may be going to level 5

Means all matches off.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1518 - 04/10/2020 20:44:12    2295671

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches = Clubs with county players can finally benefit from having county players

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 04/10/2020 20:57:45    2295674

Replying To carlovia:  "Country may be going to level 5

Means all matches off."
Ah bollox, bye bye league and championship so.

It's gonna be a long winter now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/10/2020 20:58:52    2295675

Replying To Saynothing:  "Soccer style celebrations after scoring goal was worse."
A goal to snatch a Championship title at the death??

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1981 - 04/10/2020 21:01:41    2295677

Hmm not entirely sure there was more than 200 people in the stand today, granted it was close alright but the stand itself is not all that big and it looked pretty empty compared to other years (naturally)

Might have been a bit of crowding together which is not ideal but I'd imagine a lot of them were families and it was a miserable day in a poorly covered old stand so you could expect that was going to happen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/10/2020 21:03:37    2295678

Means all matches off."
Schools stay open???? What's that all about, who's going to pay for it?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2040 - 04/10/2020 21:06:49    2295680

Means all matches off."
Ironic given their out of bounds but seems that NPHET have the lost the dressing room, if the recommendations are applied compliance won't be of the previous levels due to disillusion.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/10/2020 22:09:05    2295691

Replying To Bon:  "A goal to snatch a Championship title at the death??"
Didn't see Cluxton sliding to the ground in 2011 to win ALL IRELAND.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2040 - 04/10/2020 22:31:28    2295696

Replying To Saynothing:  "Do ye want to blame crowds today at Meath final on Tyrone GAA also? No respect for community at large. Doesn't surprise me with Meath GAA."
Close together yes. But not over the permitted numbers.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/10/2020 22:36:28    2295698

Replying To Saynothing:  "Soccer style celebrations after scoring goal was worse."
Tiernan McCann's soccer style dive was worse ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/10/2020 10:03:35    2295728

Replying To lilylanger:  "There was far more than 200 at today's Meath County final. All huddled together under the stand as it was raining."
I went to one of the semi finals and in my opinion the pairc tailteann stewards were utterly clueless and untrained. It was farcical. I tried sitting with my small family and people kept gathering around me so I'd keep moving to maintain distance (I'm a frontline worker)... I had only gone to the match as I assumed the stewards would ensure that people were well spread out, it's a big stand so plenty of room to spread out. The stewards did nothing. Not only that but at the end we were all herded out together at same time through a narrow slip (to allow next crowd in). The stewards at this time were congregating together having a chat, no masks. It would be comical if it wasn't so serious.

There were clearly more than 200 at the final yesterday, almost no masks worn. O Rourke and Brolly can write all they want about how GAA doing everything they can and govt should allow suppporters in etc but the GAA GAA people from Meath to Tyrone are letting the country down and their communities down. That match was brilliantly broadcast on TG4 yesterday and Meath GAA did great job showing matches online but the crowds are an absolute catastrophe and are shameful.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1324 - 05/10/2020 10:42:09    2295742

Replying To wexico15:  "Ironic given their out of bounds but seems that NPHET have the lost the dressing room, if the recommendations are applied compliance won't be of the previous levels due to disillusion."
Think it will be hard to get same the level of compliance, as last Mach, if this suggestion is adopted by Government. Announcing the proposal on Sunday evening caught everyone off guard.
You can forget about Hallowee'n and Christmas, and the GAA championships, as the 4 weeks will probably be extended as in March. The weather is worse now than in the Spring, and there was a sense of national solidarity around. Let NPHET explain their reasoning before a decision is made, personally I would tell NPHET to NPHET off.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 05/10/2020 10:44:28    2295743

Replying To lilypad:  "There were loads of people huddled together with no masks, its obvious this virus is not as dangerous as they are claiming."
No face masks = Delusions of Egoic Grandeur. / Thrumpalism.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2930 - 05/10/2020 10:53:27    2295747

Replying To supersub15:  "No face masks = Delusions of Egoic Grandeur. / Thrumpalism."
So the meath lads are Trump supporters?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 05/10/2020 11:40:09    2295758

the scenes in cork did the public perception of the gaa no good.
people laughed at ronan glynn when he said congregations around grounds was a problem.
up and down the country a division 5 u12 title has been the justification for a house party of 50 people.
people are either too stupid or ignorant to realise this.
be some kick in the stones for the gaa if they are told to forget about championship 2020 because people cant be trusted.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 05/10/2020 12:01:05    2295765

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Think it will be hard to get same the level of compliance, as last Mach, if this suggestion is adopted by Government. Announcing the proposal on Sunday evening caught everyone off guard.
You can forget about Hallowee'n and Christmas, and the GAA championships, as the 4 weeks will probably be extended as in March. The weather is worse now than in the Spring, and there was a sense of national solidarity around. Let NPHET explain their reasoning before a decision is made, personally I would tell NPHET to NPHET off."
I agree that we won't get the same level of compliance this time round, no matter what level we are at. It felt like we were all in it together back in March and April but that sense of solidarity has disappeared. Everybody wants to do the things they are interested in, whether that be playing or watching sports, having a birthday party or going to the pub, then try to justify it by saying the virus doesn't spread in that setting.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1897 - 05/10/2020 12:05:15    2295767

Replying To lilypad:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "No face masks = Delusions of Egoic Grandeur. / Thrumpalism."
So the meath lads are Trump supporters?"
Yep, we're going to extend that wall at Carton House all the way to Offaly border and make Meath great again!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/10/2020 12:49:41    2295780

I realize there is the thorny issue of the border to consider but you have to look at the likes of New Zealand, who have a similar population to us, island nation(s) etc and wonder how we could not have adopted a similar set of policies to them.
No messing around there. Inbound flights restricted, a proper lockdown, proper track and trace system and they have pretty much eradicated the virus, albeit with one small second wave scare.

To me, the government here have put their faith in a sort of whack-a-mole strategy which was always doomed to failure. This latest level 5 proposal seems too reactionary to me. There's no coherent strategy to it at all. The way we're going we're just going to be stuck in the cycles we've seen over the last few months for the foreseeable.

In saying all of the above, some of the general population need to take a good hard look at themselves. New Zealanders did the right thing, did their civic duty and as a result are cautiously back to some sort of normality. Maybe we're not as patriotic as we all claim to be. Bull*****ers who will sit on a high stool and sing the Fields of Athenry can't abide by a few simple rules to protect their country when it actually does come to the crunch.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 05/10/2020 12:52:14    2295783