Cynicism And Feigning Injury

Cynicism and feigning injury are so rife in our games ,it's going to ruin them ,how many times have we seeing players dragged to the ground,runs blocked and then players pretending to be hurt to get opposition players into trouble or run the clock down, the gaa has to stand up to this before the rot really sets in

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/02/2020 19:19:40    2269847

The rot set in sometime around 1901. There's nothing new about cheating

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 24/02/2020 19:57:57    2269860

The 1st step to addressing a problem is to admit it, it is becoming a huge issue and perhaps it's time for a citing panel to review sending offs etc. Little or no downside to cheating at the moment with players often lauded for doing " whats needed to win"

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 24/02/2020 20:12:27    2269867

There is the way players are throwing themselves to the ground

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/02/2020 20:28:30    2269873

I've no time for it in any sport. Post-game review, with retroactive penalties along with very public naming and shaming. A bit full on Inquisition, I grant you, but like I said, I've no time for it. This kind of play is cultural where it is either tolerated or encouraged, and the only way to cull it, is to draw attention to it.

Really gets my blood pumping, I have to say.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2020 21:24:34    2269888

Replying To Breezy:  "The rot set in sometime around 1901. There's nothing new about cheating"
I know what you mean, but this particular form of cheating was less prevalent in the 70s and 80s, at least at club level. I well recall men getting hit hard and neither blinking nor flinching, as they'd not want to give any satisfaction to their opponent by admitting that he could bother them. They stayed on your feet as a matter of pride; and made a mental note to get him later. Looking back, a fair few frees weren't given because of players "feigning non-injury". Changed times alright.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/02/2020 21:43:56    2269894

Replying To essmac:  "I know what you mean, but this particular form of cheating was less prevalent in the 70s and 80s, at least at club level. I well recall men getting hit hard and neither blinking nor flinching, as they'd not want to give any satisfaction to their opponent by admitting that he could bother them. They stayed on your feet as a matter of pride; and made a mental note to get him later. Looking back, a fair few frees weren't given because of players "feigning non-injury". Changed times alright."
Well said! From my experience that culture still exists, more or less, in hurling. That's not to say there isn't cynicism, but it hasn't reached the same levels as you'd routinely see in Gaelic or soccer.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2020 22:08:00    2269904

Diarmuid Connolly sitting somewhere now thinking welcome finally to 2012. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/02/2020 22:08:33    2269905

Replying To festinog:  "I've no time for it in any sport. Post-game review, with retroactive penalties along with very public naming and shaming. A bit full on Inquisition, I grant you, but like I said, I've no time for it. This kind of play is cultural where it is either tolerated or encouraged, and the only way to cull it, is to draw attention to it.

Really gets my blood pumping, I have to say."
You need to have better rules/laws within the sport to help manage it. Rewrite so many rules to make it easier to ref games.

Stronger officials and better coaching of officials to deal with it correctly. How much on going training do refs get at every level and who are the instructors of this training?

And more players and coaches and fans to accept decisions of officials which is far from the case.

As many know here I ref rugby. I've a monthly laws meeting and I get official coach/assessments 5/6 times a season and can have some of these and other games videos where I can watch back to improve.
Is there older or former refs who help coach the newer or not so new refs?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 24/02/2020 22:43:03    2269916

Replying To KillingFields:  "You need to have better rules/laws within the sport to help manage it. Rewrite so many rules to make it easier to ref games.

Stronger officials and better coaching of officials to deal with it correctly. How much on going training do refs get at every level and who are the instructors of this training?

And more players and coaches and fans to accept decisions of officials which is far from the case.

As many know here I ref rugby. I've a monthly laws meeting and I get official coach/assessments 5/6 times a season and can have some of these and other games videos where I can watch back to improve.
Is there older or former refs who help coach the newer or not so new refs?"
Fair play on coaching, and I appreciate the insight from that perspective. Played rugby briefly; great sport.

There's a lot to be said for the way ref's are treated in rugby which goes back to my earlier comment about culture and what behaviors are accepted and which aren't. As a matter of interest, do you know where the attitude to refs in rugby comes from? How was it established?

I'd also be curious to hear from anyone here who refs GAA. What sort of training/review do you get? I have only some experience on that front through my club here in the US where I'm constantly surprised at the effort the GAA puts in to train refs in a country where you cover literally thousands of miles to get the resources in place.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2020 23:22:04    2269929

Not two hard either. The player who over embellish a foul gets a yellow also for unsportsmanlike conduct and the ball now thrown in. The stigma attached to been shown as a cheat will make players think twice. It always seems that the GAA needs divine intervention to deal with the simplest of things.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 25/02/2020 00:39:28    2269938

Ah...the good old days when men were men!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/02/2020 09:24:30    2269969

I have noticed an increase in the amount of cynical fouling and the black card doesn't seem to have helped at all. How many times do we see a player trying to counter attack from his own half and immediately get fouled? All the Div 1 teams are doing it and getting away with it. It's going to be really difficult to eradicate. Once the game goes into extra time, it is full scale fouling by whoever is ahead, there is very little actual game time in extra time. Not sure what the answer is. Maybe teams need to be punished for the amount of fouls. I am not one for changing rules but could you award a simple tap over free for each 5 fouls committed? Probably a stupid idea as would only add to the workload of the ref.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 25/02/2020 11:19:44    2270012

Difficult to prevent feigning injury but to help stop cynical play they could introduce an accumulative yellow cards suspension, like the Champions League where you get suspended for one match after two yellow cards in different/OR THE SAME matches. Maybe 5 yellow cards would be an acceptable limit in the GAA as it's generally harder to prevent yourself getting booked in both codes than other sports?

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 25/02/2020 11:48:59    2270026

There will always be cynicism is elite sport weather we like it or not.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 25/02/2020 12:38:00    2270043

Viscous circle seems to be operating here.

Players are not getting the correct protection from referees, especially the runners. They are fouled, hit dangerously and systematically obstructed. After a couple of seasons of this treatment without interruption, a player will start to go down a lot more easily in order to exaggerate the foul as well as a means of protecting himself.

This can of course get very out of hand too. Running down the clock and trying to get an opponent carded by doing this are the 2 most obvious flip sides of this tactic.

The answer is in the hands of the referee and linesmen.

Protect the players, in a rules consistent way, not a balancing the books way.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/02/2020 13:29:50    2270063

Replying To TheUsername:  "Diarmuid Connolly sitting somewhere now thinking welcome finally to 2012. ;)"
"Why always me"

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 25/02/2020 14:54:10    2270081

Replying To TheUsername:  "Diarmuid Connolly sitting somewhere now thinking welcome finally to 2012. ;)"
Haha, indeed

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 25/02/2020 15:23:55    2270098

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  ""Why always me""
I suspect it will be "Why always Shane Walsh" soon if he keeps playing as well as he is, absolute wizard, very like Diarmuid.

You'l see........

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/02/2020 15:57:09    2270111

Giving both parties a yellow is just another consistently stupid trait that is so common.
Cynically foil a forward and take the same as him , a yellow. Joke.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/02/2020 16:55:53    2270126