NFL Division 1

Replying To TrimJim:  "This thread is just full of bitters, we may have been relegated but we'll storm Div 2 next year and take a few big scalps this summer and the faltering Dubs. We'll be the ones laughing when Galway's season of promise comes to a limp end as per usual."
What a comedian

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/03/2020 10:10:17    2271879

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Maybe yous should go down to division 3 and win the tailteann cup and then have a massive homecoming in tailteann park. Wouldn't that be lovely for yous."
Thats brilliant i love it

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/03/2020 10:28:03    2271883

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Who is everyone expecting in the final?"
Meath, I cannot give any logical reason for it , I just have a feeling.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2020 11:12:21    2271900

Replying To Richieq:  "And behaving in stadium tunnels isn't for everybody either it seems, I'd be more concerned about the drop off in Dublin's discipline since Jim Gavins departure than about what division we ply our trade in if I was you."
Fair play for the concern Rich me oul bud but with 7 all Irelands in the last decade, millions of leinsters, Allianz leagues, unbeaten record and the like, Even if the whole thing was to fall apart under Farrell I reckon id be happy with our lot for a few years. No pressure on us. But still like, we will play D1 football next year despite being brutal in the league so far so every cloud and all that...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/03/2020 12:42:30    2271931

Royal must be too busy with Will and Kate's visit to answer the question about his strange remark about Joyce living up to his name.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 03/03/2020 12:48:00    2271933

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Royal must be too busy with Will and Kate's visit to answer the question about his strange remark about Joyce living up to his name."
Its fairly obvious is in it not? He was comparing him to lads with same surname from Moate.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 03/03/2020 13:11:54    2271943

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Who is everyone expecting in the final?"
Not Dublin anyway.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/03/2020 14:51:57    2271974

Galway V Kerry Final with Galway to win by 5pts

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 03/03/2020 15:08:02    2271980

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Galway V Kerry Final with Galway to win by 5pts"
We have Monaghan in innishkeen which is a tiny tight pitch that won't suit us and Donegal in tralee so we have probably the hardest run in of all the div1 teams and we'd need to win them both to be sure of a place in the final.

But I hope you're correct about us getting to the final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2020 16:12:08    2271999

Replying To TrimJim:  "This thread is just full of bitters, we may have been relegated but we'll storm Div 2 next year and take a few big scalps this summer and the faltering Dubs. We'll be the ones laughing when Galway's season of promise comes to a limp end as per usual."
"This thread is full of bitters".

That's hilarious after what you wrote after that!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 03/03/2020 16:31:57    2272001

Embarrassing comment!

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 03/03/2020 16:57:56    2272006

Replying To waynoI:  "Fair play for the concern Rich me oul bud but with 7 all Irelands in the last decade, millions of leinsters, Allianz leagues, unbeaten record and the like, Even if the whole thing was to fall apart under Farrell I reckon id be happy with our lot for a few years. No pressure on us. But still like, we will play D1 football next year despite being brutal in the league so far so every cloud and all that..."
You see there's the thing, despite all the accolades you mention that your county has gathered the last few years your mind is still occupied with Meath and having a sneer, your probably not even old enough to remember the rivalry at its peak and yet your intent on getting your digs in, I know one thing for sure if we had that level of success the past few years I wouldn't give two shiny s****s about the Dubs unlike your good self

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2020 17:00:07    2272008

Replying To the_walls:  ""This thread is full of bitters".

That's hilarious after what you wrote after that!"
You couldn't make it up, the irony.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 04/03/2020 06:41:48    2272104

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We have Monaghan in innishkeen which is a tiny tight pitch that won't suit us and Donegal in tralee so we have probably the hardest run in of all the div1 teams and we'd need to win them both to be sure of a place in the final.

But I hope you're correct about us getting to the final."
Grattan Park Inniskeen 90m x 144m
Austin Stacks Park Tralee 89m x 144m

It does feel tight though...

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 04/03/2020 10:17:49    2272128

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Grattan Park Inniskeen 90m x 144m

It does feel tight though..."
Jay's it does look smaller for some reason, still I'd rather if we could play ye in clones.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2020 11:22:03    2272148

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Grattan Park Inniskeen 90m x 144m

It does feel tight though..."
Jay's it does look smaller for some reason, still I'd rather if we could play ye in clones."
Playing clones? One Clifford is enough, thanks.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/03/2020 17:38:21    2272230

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Maybe yous should go down to division 3 and win the tailteann cup and then have a massive homecoming in tailteann park. Wouldn't that be lovely for yous."
Reading this I decided to check out MONAGHAN - after all it must be a hotbed of success considering you are having a great laugh at Meath at the moment.

Meath - All Irelands

All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: Winners: (7): 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999 Runners-Up: (9): 1895, 1939, 1951, 1952, 1966, 1970, 1990, 1991, 2001
Centenary Cup (One off competition)
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 5
1947, 1952, 1962, 1988, 2003
All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 1
All-Ireland Minor Football Championships: 3
1957, 1990, 1992

Monaghan - All Irelands
All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 2
2001, 2009
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 1

Has someone not been keeping the MONAGHAN wikipedia page up to date?? Surely ye have won SOMETHING?

Or have you just given up and are waiting till Meaths successful cycle comes around again?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 04/03/2020 20:22:00    2272251

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Reading this I decided to check out MONAGHAN - after all it must be a hotbed of success considering you are having a great laugh at Meath at the moment.

Meath - All Irelands

All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: Winners: (7): 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999 Runners-Up: (9): 1895, 1939, 1951, 1952, 1966, 1970, 1990, 1991, 2001
Centenary Cup (One off competition)
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 5
1947, 1952, 1962, 1988, 2003
All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 1
All-Ireland Minor Football Championships: 3
1957, 1990, 1992

Monaghan - All Irelands
All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 2
2001, 2009
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 1

Has someone not been keeping the MONAGHAN wikipedia page up to date?? Surely ye have won SOMETHING?

Or have you just given up and are waiting till Meaths successful cycle comes around again?"
I'm willing to bet that posting this list of former glory is going to have the exact opposite effect to the one you were hoping for.

I'll give you a hint as to why:

Former accomplishments do not excuse present whinging. In fact, they do the opposite and stand them in stark contrast.

PS Thanks for the reminder of 2001. I was living and working in Dublin that year, and what a year it was.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/03/2020 21:41:12    2272263

Replying To festinog:  "I'm willing to bet that posting this list of former glory is going to have the exact opposite effect to the one you were hoping for.

I'll give you a hint as to why:

Former accomplishments do not excuse present whinging. In fact, they do the opposite and stand them in stark contrast.

PS Thanks for the reminder of 2001. I was living and working in Dublin that year, and what a year it was."
Well I am glad that I made your evening!

I am quite happy with the 4 all irelands that I witnessed in the flesh and I wouldnt swap that experience for anything. Sure we lost in 1991 and 2001 and, try as you might, I am over those games now. Most successful panels lose a few finals - well up until this dubs team.

If you have a bitterness towards me and Meath in general go ahead - I couldn't care less.

My post was about my surprise about a guy from a county that have won nothing having a laugh at us celebrating a division 3 cup etc.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 04/03/2020 22:50:02    2272273

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0302/1119731-galway-players-unable-to-train-due-to-hypothermia

Dublin and Tyrone had no such problems. Mind you, a bit of boxercise at half time does wonders for the circulation.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 05/03/2020 00:10:22    2272281