Does Anybody Give A S**T About Hurling Classic?

No. ...and I live under an hour from Fenway or 2.5-3 to NY & I'd rather have been at either of the two leinster matches yesterday let alone today's. Most frustrating parts are listening to Donal Og who turns into a babbling idiot when here & that terrible no point taking game when there are full size pitches, historic ones at that. I was tempted as a KK fan this year but still couldn't be bothered.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 01/12/2019 10:17:23    2252434

Replying To WildPundit:  "I think Limerick will be fine without the players involved in punch up and burning incident but the film maker and icon boxer would be a huge loss to the panel.
This happens in most if not all counties and look boys will be boys but sometimes things go too far and get out of hand.
Genuinely I hope this doesn't affect Limerick they are a fantastic team and will be for years another all Ireland or two in that team yet."
It's 4 players in 3 incidents? Is it them being idiots or are they being ruthlessly instigated? Not that it would excuse any of the behavior. JK must want to just walk away. I only know of one name but more than the loss of talent, loss of judgement has gotta be getting to some of them. Pity.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 17/12/2019 02:39:09    2255257

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "It's 4 players in 3 incidents? Is it them being idiots or are they being ruthlessly instigated? Not that it would excuse any of the behavior. JK must want to just walk away. I only know of one name but more than the loss of talent, loss of judgement has gotta be getting to some of them. Pity."
Ye had plenty of incidents in kilkenny during your golden age,all swept under the carpet, has Cody walked away, before you start looking into other people's houses, mind your own first.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 18/12/2019 18:43:39    2255523

Replying To cityman73:  "Ye had plenty of incidents in kilkenny during your golden age,all swept under the carpet, has Cody walked away, before you start looking into other people's houses, mind your own first."
In fairness, I doubt a Kilkenny hurler has assaulted a fan on a packed city street while one of his teammates filmed it on his phone.

TheImmortal (USA) - Posts: 24 - 18/12/2019 22:25:56    2255548

Replying To cityman73:  "Ye had plenty of incidents in kilkenny during your golden age,all swept under the carpet, has Cody walked away, before you start looking into other people's houses, mind your own first."
Name all these incidents that Kilkenny players were involved in?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 19/12/2019 11:48:37    2255584

If JK doesn't take strong and firm action he will loose the team. When Cody took over Kilkenny were a mess there was in house fighting and a poor management team. There was no discipline even though they got to the 98 final. Cody established an environment where nothing or no one comes before the team This attitude has stood to them for 20 yrs. The players were no angels they did plenty of stupid things I'am sure over 20 yrs. but in the back of their minds they knew they would be gone if it went over the top. John Mulhall made a fool of himself after the 11 All-Ireland i believe he never played for Kilkenny again. Mick Ryan did Tipp a favor dealing with Cathal Barrett the way he did. He took a short term hit for the greater good of Tipp hurling. JK is a smart man he will deal with these incidents in a way it will benefit Limerick hurling in the long run.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 19/12/2019 13:09:56    2255592

Replying To TheImmortal:  "In fairness, I doubt a Kilkenny hurler has assaulted a fan on a packed city street while one of his teammates filmed it on his phone."
That incident was truly disgusting. Any normal human being, you'd imagine, would have tried to break a fight involving one of his teammates, this Limerick hurler starts recording it on his phone and sends it out to his teammates. What sort of mentality does that?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/12/2019 13:56:31    2255595

Replying To gatha:  "If JK doesn't take strong and firm action he will loose the team. When Cody took over Kilkenny were a mess there was in house fighting and a poor management team. There was no discipline even though they got to the 98 final. Cody established an environment where nothing or no one comes before the team This attitude has stood to them for 20 yrs. The players were no angels they did plenty of stupid things I'am sure over 20 yrs. but in the back of their minds they knew they would be gone if it went over the top. John Mulhall made a fool of himself after the 11 All-Ireland i believe he never played for Kilkenny again. Mick Ryan did Tipp a favor dealing with Cathal Barrett the way he did. He took a short term hit for the greater good of Tipp hurling. JK is a smart man he will deal with these incidents in a way it will benefit Limerick hurling in the long run."
Cody's ship always looked a tight one. He would be mad at the man fighting for sure but utterly enraged at the fool with the phone. The Limerick lads are famous now and need a few lectures on how to deal with that.

As for the phone thing I young enough to have grown up with a mobile but I don't get when you see someone video someone else run to help in a car crash or whatever

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 19/12/2019 17:27:22    2255617

I said he must want/feel like it. One thing after another. That he's stressed. Not that he should. nor that he wants to. Just that it's a tough time. no stones were thrown. reading comprehension helps.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 20/12/2019 12:19:44    2255684

The incident was ugly for sure. However I could see it being a spontaneous reaction. Not offering that as an excuse. I don't think I would want the guy with the phone near my time as he is not capable of making good decisions.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 20/12/2019 13:25:14    2255688

Replying To ballydalane:  "That incident was truly disgusting. Any normal human being, you'd imagine, would have tried to break a fight involving one of his teammates, this Limerick hurler starts recording it on his phone and sends it out to his teammates. What sort of mentality does that?"
What sort of mentality does that?

An immature one... being an excellent hurler doesn't matter if you've no cop on..
He'll learn from this and hopefully be a lot wiser for it.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 20/12/2019 16:52:45    2255703