Devastating Last Minute Misses

Was talking to the Da the other day about the Ray Cosgrove last minute free miss of 2002 against Armagh that left me devastated for a number of weeks. A gut wrenching way to exit the championship. So close yet so far. I remember Dessie Dolan missing a last min free against Meath in 2003 that Stevie Wonder would have pointed. Dublin were playing in the second game of a double header that day and we were all cheering for Westmeath, as you do. Westmeath had never beaten the Royal in the championship and their supporters around us were inconsolable afterwards. It's like the sudden loss of a close relative.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/11/2019 18:26:51    2249124

Replying To Joxer:  "Was talking to the Da the other day about the Ray Cosgrove last minute free miss of 2002 against Armagh that left me devastated for a number of weeks. A gut wrenching way to exit the championship. So close yet so far. I remember Dessie Dolan missing a last min free against Meath in 2003 that Stevie Wonder would have pointed. Dublin were playing in the second game of a double header that day and we were all cheering for Westmeath, as you do. Westmeath had never beaten the Royal in the championship and their supporters around us were inconsolable afterwards. It's like the sudden loss of a close relative."
Remember Dessie missing that one was in canal end as he stood 20 meters out in front of the goals Westmeath supporters going beserk meath supporters stunned , he misses unbelievable

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 12/11/2019 09:07:11    2249188

Charlie having his penalty saved in '94 final, with a minute to go

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 12/11/2019 12:59:42    2249238

Joe Canning to level the All Ireland Vs Limerick in 2018!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 12/11/2019 14:04:42    2249245

Replying To Joxer:  "Was talking to the Da the other day about the Ray Cosgrove last minute free miss of 2002 against Armagh that left me devastated for a number of weeks. A gut wrenching way to exit the championship. So close yet so far. I remember Dessie Dolan missing a last min free against Meath in 2003 that Stevie Wonder would have pointed. Dublin were playing in the second game of a double header that day and we were all cheering for Westmeath, as you do. Westmeath had never beaten the Royal in the championship and their supporters around us were inconsolable afterwards. It's like the sudden loss of a close relative."
He got a nice bit of redemption against Cross in 2009 ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/11/2019 14:31:18    2249256

The 2 obvious ones that stand out as a Meath fan are:

1. Paul Bealin's missed penalty v Meath in 1997. It was the last kick of the game and Dublin trailed 1-13 to 1-10 after having made a great comeback from being 1-10 to 0-4 down at one stage. Bealin then had the chance to level the game with the very last kick only the see the ball smash off the crossbar. Great from a Meath point of view, especially given the intense rivarly and close competition at the time, heartbreaking from a Dublin point of view, with no backdoor in 1997 that was their summer over.

2. Dessie Dolan's missed point v Meath in 2003. He was a brilliant player, would have walked into any team in the country including the current Dublin team but in the face of history he just choked. It happens to the best of us and it happened to Dessie that day. But Westmeath would finally banish that ghost in stunning fashion in 2015.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/11/2019 14:55:37    2249264

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Charlie having his penalty saved in '94 final, with a minute to go"
Minute to go????
No.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/11/2019 15:06:35    2249267

wasn't last minute but was close enough, Keith Barr peno in 91
Christ it was horrible

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/11/2019 15:07:18    2249268

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "wasn't last minute but was close enough, Keith Barr peno in 91
Christ it was horrible"
Not a clutch kick put would have put is 6 or 7 up and game over. Was right behind that on the Canal End when he dragged it wide. A sickener.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/11/2019 17:46:03    2249299

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Charlie having his penalty saved in '94 final, with a minute to go"
His effort off the rebound was worse than the actual penalty. Real heartbreaker.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/11/2019 17:48:52    2249300

Replying To Joxer:  "His effort off the rebound was worse than the actual penalty. Real heartbreaker."
Not being a knowitall joxer but....it was Johnny Barr with the rebound, not Charlie!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/11/2019 19:28:51    2249314

Replying To Joxer:  "Not a clutch kick put would have put is 6 or 7 up and game over. Was right behind that on the Canal End when he dragged it wide. A sickener."
i'd say i wasn't 10 feet away from you!!
Was right behind it
Thought it had gone in!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/11/2019 19:29:34    2249315

Replying To Htaem:  "The 2 obvious ones that stand out as a Meath fan are:

1. Paul Bealin's missed penalty v Meath in 1997. It was the last kick of the game and Dublin trailed 1-13 to 1-10 after having made a great comeback from being 1-10 to 0-4 down at one stage. Bealin then had the chance to level the game with the very last kick only the see the ball smash off the crossbar. Great from a Meath point of view, especially given the intense rivarly and close competition at the time, heartbreaking from a Dublin point of view, with no backdoor in 1997 that was their summer over.

2. Dessie Dolan's missed point v Meath in 2003. He was a brilliant player, would have walked into any team in the country including the current Dublin team but in the face of history he just choked. It happens to the best of us and it happened to Dessie that day. But Westmeath would finally banish that ghost in stunning fashion in 2015."
Dessie was to say a few years later that his legs felt like jelly and his feet like lead. Let's be honest my gran would have put it over and she passed in 88. I

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/11/2019 21:35:07    2249336

Replying To The_DOC:  "Joe Canning to level the All Ireland Vs Limerick in 2018!"
Bit harsh to include that as a miss!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 13/11/2019 06:15:58    2249352

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dessie was to say a few years later that his legs felt like jelly and his feet like lead. Let's be honest my gran would have put it over and she passed in 88. I"
This is what Dessie himself said about it

"It wasn't easy to deal with it, it was tough. It meant an awful lot to an awful lot of people to beat Meath and I'd had the ideal opportunity to do it. So I was receiving things like hate mail. I was only 22 or 23"

Serious pressure on a young amateur sportsman's shoulders.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/11/2019 08:44:57    2249363

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Not being a knowitall joxer but....it was Johnny Barr with the rebound, not Charlie!"
There was me blaming Charlie for that all these years and it was Johnny plastic gun Barr all along. I wouldn't mind but I was at the game!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/11/2019 08:47:02    2249364

Cillian O'Connor's last minute free kick to level it against Dublin. By no means was that an easy free kick, infact it was an extremely difficult angle never mind the pressure of a last minute kick to level the game. Given the situation and how Mayo had come so close again I have to say I was gutted for him when it hit the post. Normally a very reliable free kick taker and fair play for taking the kick on at that stage of the game but devastating for Mayo as yet again they could get only get so close.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 13/11/2019 09:21:36    2249370

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dessie was to say a few years later that his legs felt like jelly and his feet like lead. Let's be honest my gran would have put it over and she passed in 88. I"
It was incredible, I was there that day myself and my only thought was how long will be left for us to get an equalizer, I never even considered that he'd miss from there. Granted it was great craic from our point of view when he did miss.

Dolan was a great player though and he seems quite likeable aswell, so hopefully he's not too well remembered for that miss, but rather all the great displays he did put in.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/11/2019 09:33:11    2249372

colm mc fadden skinning the post against kerry in 2014

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 13/11/2019 09:38:18    2249374

Replying To Joxer:  "This is what Dessie himself said about it

"It wasn't easy to deal with it, it was tough. It meant an awful lot to an awful lot of people to beat Meath and I'd had the ideal opportunity to do it. So I was receiving things like hate mail. I was only 22 or 23"

Serious pressure on a young amateur sportsman's shoulders."
Like all great sportsmen, Dessie learned from the experience and became better. The following year he helped Westmeath to a Leinster title.

For me, and its a miss of a different kind, but the way the Leinster Football Final of 2010 finished was a devastating as they come!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 13/11/2019 09:44:39    2249378